
New Jersey Safe Haven

Pregnant?  
Call 1-877-652-2873 

for medical care and counseling.

For social services in your area, 
call 211 or visit www.nj211.org

Parents Anonymous of New Jersey
Family Helpline
1-800-THE KIDS

Domestic Violence Hotline
1-800-572-SAFE

Child Abuse Hotline
1-877-NJ ABUSE

Safe Haven Hotline 
1-877-839-2339

NO SHAME   .    NO BLAME   .    NO NAMES 

New Jersey has designated  
safe havens for infants.

Leave the baby with staff at any hospital,  
police station, fire station, ambulance  
or rescue squad staffed 24 hours a day,  

7 days a week.

SAFELY - LEGALLY - ANONYMOUSLY

DON’T  PANIC!
njsafehaven.org      (877) 839-2339



What is Safe Haven?
It’s a state law that allows a parent to anonymously give up an 
infant at a Safe Haven location.  If the baby is less than 30 days 
old, the parent may surrender the infant and will not be arrested 
or prosecuted for doing so.

Where can I find a Safe Haven?
Safe Havens in New Jersey are hospital, police station, fire 
station, ambulance, or rescue squad staffed 24 hours a day, 
seven days a week.  Call the Safe Haven Hotline at 1-877-839-
2339 for more information.

Must a parent bring in the baby?
No.  It can be anyone the parent chooses.

Do I have to call first?
No.  Walk in anytime.

What do I have to tell the people taking the baby?
You only need to tell us that you have a Safe Haven baby, but 
it does help us care for the baby to know the baby’s race, date 
of birth, place of birth, and health status and the medical history 
of the parents.  You can provide this information on a voluntary 
and anonymous medical questionnaire available at any Safe 
Haven site. 

What happens to the mother?
If she brings the baby, the mother will be offered medical and 
social services.  She is free to accept or decline these services.  
Once she has turned over the baby, the mother is free to go. 

What happens to the baby?
The infant receives a medical exam.  The New Jersey 
Department of Children and Families takes custody of and 
places the infant in a foster or pre-adoptive home.

What happens if a woman voluntarily identifies herself? 
If a woman voluntarily provides identifying information, her 
anonymity will no longer be protected under the law.  The state 
may search for and contact the infant’s father and/or relatives. 

Why does New Jersey do this?
New Jersey created Safe Havens to protect unwanted babies 
from unsafe abandonment. Unsafe infant abandonment is 
dangerous and illegal.

What if a relative or the mother wants to regain custody?
Call the Safe Haven Hotline at 1-877-839-2339.

Don’t let another baby be abandoned. If you or 
someone you know is considering surrendering 
an infant, learn about your options.

Safe Haven Frequently Asked Questions

njsafehaven.org      (877) 839-2339


