Members of Trenton High School’s Inspirational Choir accept Certificates of Honor from County Executive and Freeholders during the formal meeting on June 27, 2013. (Front Row L-R) Choir members: Taj Robinson, Alexis Rutherford, Jahneile Jackson, Diamon Brown, Gabrielle Armstrong; and Freeholder Pat Colavita, Jr. (Back Row L-R) County Executive Brian Hughes, Freeholders Anthony Carabelli, John Cimino, Sam Frisby, Lucy Walter and Ann Cannon.

The 2012- 2013 Trenton Central High School Inspiration Choir, under the direction of Gary Taylor, recently won first place in the Chorale Division of a national singing competition held in Atlanta, Georgia. The students were evaluated on various aspects of their vocal ability, including tone quality, intonation, diction-pronunciation and note accuracy. Their performance was so exceptional that they received a five minute standing ovation by an audience that included their competitors.  Eighth grade student Jaquan Colvin won an individual medal for best tenor soloist.

At the Freeholders’ June 27th formal meeting, County Executive Brian Hughes and the Board of Chosen Freeholders presented members of the choir with certificates honoring their achievement. Unable to attend the ceremony, but there in spirit, were Trenton High School’s Music Teacher and Chorale Director Gary Taylor and many of the students. A full list of the choir follows.

Choir Director:  Gary Taylor

Soprano Section
Trashawn Collins
Shayla Daniels
Denea Dixon
Tiani Edwards
Hawa Freeman
Kashea Jackson
Dor Luc
Niambi McCoy
Artisha Ramirez
Taj Robinson
Alto Section
Gabrielle Armstrong
Diamon Brown
Jahzae Brown
Stephanie Duarte-
Dezaree Glenn
Jahneile Jackson
Tori Richardson
Alexis Rutherford

Tenor Section
Ahmad Allen
Jaquan Colvin 
Andrew Holt
Raekwon Johnson
Wayne Lesther
Dashawn Neal
Samuel Portis, Jr.

 Bass Section
Zaire Bellamy
Saveon Campbell
Maurice Heads
Robert Ruffis
Montaniz Stills
Matthew Richards