text only siteskip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey, Civil Service Commission
Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno
 
 

Scheduled Date: 
Thursday, December 14, 2018                                 

Location:
Mercer County Community College
1200 Old Trenton Rd, West Windsor

Scheduled Date:
Thursday, January 18, 2018

Location:
Mercer County Community College
1200 Old Trenton Rd, West Windsor

Cost Per Person: $159

Pre-Requisite:  None

Length: 6 hours

Time: 8:30am - 4:00pm

 

Course Description

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) is a federal law granting eligible employees the right to take job protected leave for qualifying reasons without the leave counting against them for any employment decision. Prior to the federal law, the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA) was enacted.  The NJFLA is similar to the federal law but has some differences in key areas. This six hour course will provide participants with an overview of both laws and critical information on how to effectively implement them in the New Jersey workplace. This offering is part of the HR Horizons certification series but can also be offered as a stand-alone course.

At the end of the program participants will be able to:

  1. Define the elements of the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA)

  2. Define the elements of the New Jersey Family Leave Act (NJFLA)

  3. Identify key differences between the two leave laws.

  4. Describe what constitutes a serious health condition.

  5. Identify some essential HR practices in the administration of the leave laws.
 
 
Registration

Please complete the HR-1 Training Authorization Form to request classroom training. Your direct supervisor, departmental training coordinator and fiscal officer must approve the form. HR-1's received without proper approval will be returned to the Department's Training Coordinator.

You are not scheduled for the requested classroom training until you receive an official email confirmation from the Civil Service Commission (CSC) Office of Training Registration.

Fax your form to 609-777-2336. For any questions, please call the Registration Team at 609-777-2225.

 

Training Authorization Form

 
 
OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: CSC Home  |  Job Seekers  |  Current Employees  |  Appointing Authorities and Employers  |  About Us
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2011