# What Landlords Need to Know About the New Jersey Tenants' Property Tax Rebate Program

New Jersey Division of Local Government Services

Many owners of rental properties with five or more units may soon receive a Rebate Notice from their municipal tax collector telling them that they have to rebate some money to their tenants. Why? Recent infusions of State aid to many municipalities and schools have resulted in property tax decreases or credits that the State's Tenants' Property Tax Rebate Program requires to be rebated to tenants.

With changes to the Program made in 1998 (P.L. 1998, c. 15) that went into effect on June 1, 1999, significant changes were made to reduce the number of properties and the circumstances under which landlords are required to rebate reductions in property taxes. See the sidebars that list the types of properties that are excluded from the program and the circumstances under which rebates do not have to be made.

Basically, owners of qualified properties with five or more units have to return to tenants property tax decreases that are the result of increases in State aid to municipalities and schools that reduce taxes. In addition, a new State program, the Regional Efficiency Aid Program (REAP) requires rebates even if taxes do no go down. Why? REAP is a new type of program (<u>N.J.S.A.</u> 54:4-8.76) that grants a reduction in property taxes directly to eligible properties, not to the budgets of local governments and schools. In 2000, in the 131 municipalities that participated in the program, Rebate Notices mailed to landlords will show the amount of REAP credits, that, regardless of whether or not total property taxes were reduced, must be passed through to tenants as rent credits or refunds. Information on the Rebate Notice contains information on REAP and how to make rebates.

Generally, rebates must be provided within 30 days of receiving the Notice and if the Notice is received by November 1, the rebate must be completed by the end of the year. Rebates

are proportionally shared among all tenants, based on the number of months the tenant occupied the rental unit. The Notice includes details on how to distribute the rebate.

The law provides penalties for landlords that fail to provide a rebate to his or her tenants when it is due, or who knowingly and willfully fails to provide or post any notice, certification, or information required by the law. Penalties are not more than \$100.00 for each offense.

Additional information on the program can be found on the State's web site at *www.state.nj.us/tenreb*. The State Division of Local Government Services also has a hotline at 609-984-5076 that can provide guidance, as can the tax collector in the municipality. The New Jersey Apartment Association can also provide assistance. Please remember that only the tax collector can provide information about the amount of any tax reductions; the State does not have that information.

### **Circumstances Under Which Rebates Must Be Made To Tenants**

A rebate is triggered is when the property tax rate in the current year has dropped, compared to 1998, which is called the "base year" (N.J.S.A. 54:4-6.3). The base year will often be later if the following circumstances are met:

- Any calendar year after 1998 in which property taxes levied for qualified property exceed the property taxes levied for 1998 for that property;
- The first calendar year after 1998 in which property taxes levied for qualified real rental property is first offered for rent or lease;
- The first full calendar year after 1998 in which qualified real rental property is no longer subject to a tax exemption or tax abatement program;
- A calendar year subsequent to 1998 in which the property tax calculation reflects an assessment reduction from the prior base year assessment; or
- A calendar year subsequent to 1998 in which the property taxes paid in the base year and the property taxes paid in the current year do not reflect consistent budgetary and tax lien components because sewer, solid waste or similar services provided through a taxing entity budget and reflected in the tax rate are changed to a separately billed user fee.
- The first year of municipality wide revaluation which resulted in a reduced assessment, and thus a lower property tax bill, and then only for the first year.

In addition, rebates are required anytime if the property receives a REAP property tax credit.

# Definition of "Qualified" Properties for the Tenants' Property Tax Rebate Program

Only residential rental properties in which five\* or more dwelling units are rented or offered for rent are eligible for the Tenants' Property Tax Rebate. Excluded are:

- Hotels, motels, and other guesthouses serving transient or seasonal guests;
- Buildings or structures which are subject to an abatement agreement under which reduced or no property taxes are paid on the improvement pursuant to statute, notwithstanding that payments in lieu of taxes are paid in accordance with the agreement;
- Buildings or structures located in municipalities in which a rent control ordinance that does not provide for an automatic
  increase in the amount of rent permitted to be charged by a property owner upon an increase in the amount of property tax
  levied upon the property is in effect for the base year and the current year;
- Dwelling units in a residential cooperative or mutual housing corporation;
- Dwelling units in a condominium, other than those occupied by qualified tenants under the "Tenant Protection Act of 1992." P.L. 1991, c. 509 (<u>N.J.S.A.</u> 2A:18-61.40 et seq.);
- Dwelling units in a continuing care retirement community;
- Dwelling units within residential health care facilities, assisted living facilities, facilities with a Class C license pursuant to the "Rooming and Boarding House Act of 1979" [P.L. 1979, c. 496 (<u>N.J.S.A.</u> 55:13B-1 et al)], or similar facilities for which occupancy is conditioned on receipt of medical, nursing or personal care services for the residents and the cost thereof is included in the rent.

Owners of rental properties with less than five dwelling units for rent are excluded from the Tenants' Property Tax Rebate Program.

\* At this writing the law has a limit of four; a bill that is expected to be signed into law in late August will increase it to five.

### County Municipality County Municipality County Municipality County Municipality Atlantic Absecon City Burlington Bordentown Township Gloucester Clayton Borough Morris Boonton Township Buena Vista Township Edgewater Park Township Elk Township Long Hill Township Egg Harbor City Hainesport Township Franklin Township Montville Township Medford Lakes Borough Glassboro Borough Estell Manor City Wharton Borough Galloway Township Medford Township Mantua Township Ocean Barnegat Light Borough Hamilton Township North Hanover Township Woodbury Heights Borough Jackson Township Margate City Willingboro Township Hudson Guttenberg Town Ocean Township Mullica City Barrington Borough North Bergen Township Plumsted Township Camden Pleasantville City Berlin Borough Union City City Point Pleasant Borough Somers Point City Clementon Borough Weehawken Township Passaic Ringwood Borough Bergen Allendale Borough Gibbsboro Borough West New York Town Totowa Borough Wayne Township Bogota Borough Haddon Heights Borough Delaware Township Hunterdon Carlstadt Borough Hi-nella Borough Frenchtown Borough Salem Mannington Township Elmwood Park Borough Lindenwold Borough Lebanon Borough Carneys Point Township Lebanon Township Englewood City Magnolia Borough Penns Grove Borough Garfield City Pine Hill Borough Mercer Ewing Township Pennsville Township Hasbrouck Heights Borough Hightstown Borough Somerdale Borough Pittsgrove Township Ho-Ho-Kus Borough Waterford Township Hopewell Township Salem City Upper Pittsgrove Township Lodi Borough Woodlynne Borough Pennington Borough Lyndhurst Township Avalon Borough Middlesex Cranbury Township Somerset Bridgewater Township Cape May Maywood Borough Lower Township Dunellen Borough Franklin Township Midland Park Borough Middle Township Highland Park Borough Green Brook Township Moonachie Borough Woodbine Borough Jamesburg Borough Manville Borough New Milford Borough Cumberland Hopewell Township Metuchen Borough North Plainfield Borough Ramsey Borough Shiloh Borough Monroe Township Raritan Borough River Edge Borough Upper Deerfield Township South Amboy City Somerville Borough Saddle Brook Township Vineland City Allentown Borough Sussex Franklin Borough Monmouth South Hackensack Township Essex Maplewood Township Brielle Borough Hardyston Township Waldwick Borough Montclair Township Howell Township Vernon Township Wood-Ridge Borough Warren Newark City Manasguan Borough Allamuchy Township Wyckoff Township Orange City Sea Bright Borough Hackettstown Town South Orange Village Shrewsbury Borough Hardwick Township Spring Lake Borough Knowlton Township

Tinton Falls Borough

## Municipalities Receiving REAP Property Tax Credits in 2000