

Chris Christie Governor

Kim Guadagno Lt. Governor

Allison Blake, PH.D., L.S.W Commissioner

## **JOB VACANCY POSTING**

**POSTING #:** 104-17 **ISSUE DATE:** June 23, 2017

TITLE: PRINCIPAL CLERK TYPIST CLOSING DATE: July 7, 2017

**LOCATION:** Department of Children and Families (DCF)

Office of the Assistant Commissioner of CP&P

50 East State Street Trenton, NJ 08625

POSITIONS: 1 RANGE: R12

**DISTRIBUTION:** STATE-WIDE **SALARY:** \$34,628.13 - \$48,398.13

**SCOPE OF ELIGIBILITY:** Open to employees who are permanent in a competitive title with underlying permanent State service as a promotional or lateral opportunity, subject to current promotional and hiring restrictions.

**DEFINITION:** Under direction of a supervisory official, does clerical work including typing of a complex and/or technical nature requiring knowledge of department laws, regulations, policies, and procedures as well as the frequent exercise of independent judgment, and/or has charge of the work of a clerical unit; does related work as required.

#### **REQUIREMENTS**

**EXPERIENCE:** Two (2) years of keyboarding experience which shall have included clerical work containing a relatively large proportion of difficult tasks.

**NOTE**: Successful completion of a clerical training program with a minimum of 700 classroom training hours or 30 semester hour credits in secretarial science from an accredited college or university may be substituted for one (1) year of general experience indicated above. Course work must include keyboarding skills, methods, and procedures, and other courses may include office procedures, word processing, and business English.

**LICENSE:** Appointees will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather than employee mobility, is necessary to perform the essential duties of the position.

**NOTE**: APPLICABLE SPECIAL RE-EMPLOYMENT LIST ESTABLISHED AS A RESULT OF A LAYOFF WILL BE USED BEFORE ANY APPOINTMENTS ARE MADE.

# **IMPORTANT NOTICE**

**RESIDENCY** - Effective 9/1/11, NJ PL 70 (NJ First Act), requires all State employees to reside in New Jersey, unless exempted under the law, or current employees who live out-of-state and do not have a break-in service of more than 7 calendar days, as they are "grandfathered." New employees or current employees who were not grandfathered and who live out-of-state have one year after the date of employment to relocate their residence to New Jersey or request an exemption. Current employees who reside in NJ must retain NJ residency, unless he/she obtains an exemption. Employees who fail to meet the residency requirements or obtain an exemption will be removed from employment.

### **Electronic Filing:**

Forward a cover letter and resume electronically to:

JobPosting@dcf.state.nj.us

Include the Job Posting # in the subject line of your email.

### **Alternate Filing:**

If unable to file electronically, applicants may forward a cover letter and resume (including Job Posting #) to:

Andrea Maxwell, Manager 2 Human Resources Department of Children and Families Office of Human Resources P.O. Box 717 Trenton, NJ 08625