Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs  
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection
DEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online 
nj ecycle
   
I WANT TO:
Recycle my electronics
Read the FAQs
Contact an Authorized Recycler
Contact New Jersey
E-Cycle
Submit my semiannual report
Other E-Cycle Resources
Subscribe
Sign up with your email address to receive news and updates
 
INFORMATION JUST FOR ME:
Consumer
Manufacturer
Retailer
Local Government
 
RETURN TO MAIN PAGE

MANUFACTURERS

This letter is to inform you that beginning on January 1, 2010, certain requirements of the State's new electronic waste management program under the "Electronic Waste Management Act" P.L.2007, c.347 as amended by P.L. 2008 c.130 (N.J.S.A. 13:1E-99.94 et seq.) (the Act) go into effect. (Letter to Manufacturers - PDF only)


REGISTRATION

Registration is required for manufacturers of covered electronic devices (CED) offered for sale for delivery in New Jersey, on or before January 1, annually. Any manufacturer that has not previously filed a registration shall file a registration with the department within 30 days of receiving notification of a market share pursuant to subsection a. of section 12 of P.L.2007, c.347 (C.13:1E-99.105)

A registration fee of $5,000.00 must be submitted with this registration form to the address listed above. Initial fee(s) for first time registrants shall be paid via check or money order payable to “Treasurer, State of New Jersey”.




     INITIAL REGISTRATION

     REGISTRATION RENEWAL



ANNUAL REPORT

Electronics Manufacturers (either individually or as part of a group) must submit an annual report to the Department by February 1 of the year following a calendar year in which it had a collection obligation. Please note that a television manufacturer's annual report shall include the total number and weight of all new televisions sold in the State in the previous program year.


     ANNUAL REPORT FORM



COLLECTION PLANS


Electronics Manufacturers (either individually or as part of a group) are required to submit Collection Plans each year for the Department’s review and approval.  Generally, Collection Plans are required to be submitted by June 1 to describe the Manufacturer’s (or group’s) collection of electronics waste for the following calendar year (Example: 2014 Collection Plans are due June 1, 2013).  These Plans are now required to be submitted electronically via NJDEP Online.

Note: If you haven’t already created an NJDEP Online account, configured your NJDEP Online services and added your facilities/companies, please see the NJDEP Online New User Instructions found here (RSP instructions)

     REQUIRED CONTENT OF A COLLECTION PLAN

A manufacturer that chooses to submit a collection plan as part of a group shall, at least 20 days prior to the submittal of each group collection plan, participate in the preparation and submission to the Department of a Group Designation Form.

     GROUP DESIGNATION FORM




COLLECTION OBLIGATIONS

The collection obligation for both manufacturers of televisions and manufacturers of covered electronic devices (other than televisions) is the total weight of televisions and/or covered electronic devices that a manufacturer is responsible to collect, transport and recycle each program year.


     
TELEVISION MANUFACTURERS

2011 2012 2013 2014
2015 2016    



     
COVERED ELECTRONIC DEVICE (other than televisions) MANUFACTURERS


2011 2012 2013 2014
2015 2016    




Program: Solid Waste Home| Program Contacts | Contacts by Subject |
Department: NJDEP Home | About DEP | Index by Topic | Programs/Units | DEP Online
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2015



Last Updated: October 11, 2017