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Dogs-Hunting and Training

Allowing dogs to run at large is 
prohibited.

Persons may train dogs without 
firearms in daylight at any time except 
during any open firearm deer season.

No person shall train a raccoon or 
opossum hunting dog on WMAs other 
than during the periods of Sept. 1 to Oct. 
1 and from Mar. 1 to May 1 each year. 
Training hours shall be one hour after 
sunset to one hour before sunrise.

It is illegal to use dogs to pursue or run 
deer or black bear or to track wounded 
deer or bear.

wildlife management areas are on page 
82.

Delaware River, Hunting

Hunting on the Delaware River is 
restricted by state boundaries. A valid 
hunting license and any appropriate 
permit/stamp is required for your location.

Falconry

No person shall use a raptor for hunt-
ing without a falconry permit and a valid 
hunting license. No person under 14 years 
of age may hunt by means of a raptor. 
Hunting migratory birds with raptors on 
Sunday is prohibited.

Falconry permits will be issued only to 
persons who pass a comprehensive exami-
nation and who can provide proper facili-
ties for housing a raptor.

Beginning falconers must be sponsored 
by an experienced falconer.

Regulations

This is not the full law. Consult the 
Division of Fish and Wildlife for 

further details. All persons are reminded 
that the statutes, code and regulations 
are the legal documents.  

No person shall hunt except as pre-
scribed by law. See section Permits for 
Hunters with Disabling Conditions, page 
16, for special rules.

Persons required by law to wear cor-
rective lenses to operate a motor vehicle 
(as noted on a valid driver’s license) 
must wear corrective lenses when hunt-
ing with a bow or firearm of any kind. 

Bow and Arrow

“Bow” means any long bow, recurve 
bow or compound bow that is hand held 
and hand drawn, with no mechanical 
device built into it or attached to it that 
will enable the archer to lock the bow at 
a full or partial draw. All draw locking 
and draw holding devices are prohibited. 
Hand held release devices are permitted.

All bows must have a minimum draw 
weight of 35 pounds at the archer’s 
draw length, except compounds, which 
must have a minimum peak draw 
weight of 35 pounds. All arrows used 
for hunting deer, turkey, coyote, fox or 
woodchuck must be fitted with a well-
sharpened metal head with a minimum 
width of 3/4 inches.

Arrows fitted with heads other than 
specified for deer, turkey, coyote, fox or 
woodchuck may be carried in the woods 
and fields during the small game season 
or other seasons which overlap with the 
bow and arrow deer season.
It is unlawful to:

use a crossbow or variation without a 
special bow use permit
use or possess a poison arrow or one 
with an explosive tip
use a bow one-half hour after sunset 
until one-half hour before sunrise 
during any hunting season
use a bow and arrow from any vehi-
cle, moving or stationary
have both a firearm and bow in pos-
session or under control while hunt-
ing

Specifically Prohibited:
Carrying a loaded firearm or nocked arrow within 450 feet of an occupied building 
or any school playground is prohibited, except the owner or lessee of a building and 
persons specifically authorized by him in writing may hunt within 450 feet of the 

the possession of the written permission when hunting. (See p. 89 for diagram with 
complete safety zone explanation.)
Discharging a firearm or a bow and arrow on or across highways or roads. 
 Discharging a firearm or a bow and arrow from a motor vehicle.
Sights which project a spot or light onto the game animal.
Hunting for or shooting any wildlife by aid of a light, except when hunting raccoon, 
opossum while on foot or when hunting coyote/fox during the special coyote/fox 
season.
Hunting or shooting with the aid of a light attached to or carried in a vehicle.
On national wildlife refuges, the distribution of bait and/or hunting over bait. 
 Hunting with arrows, darts or any other device propelled by any means that is used 
for the purpose of injecting or delivering any type of drug into an animal.
Using electronic calling devices except when hunting for fox, raccoon, crow and 
coyote.
Possessing a loaded firearm in or on a motor vehicle, including all-terrain vehicles 
(ATVs.) Possession of a loaded firearm in or upon a vehicle is considered proof of 
pursuing or taking of wildlife.
 Transporting an uncased firearm in or on a motor vehicle or ATV.
 Shooting into a squirrel’s nest.

The Delaware Water Gap National Recreation Area, the following apply:

 Baiting is prohibited.
No permanent tree stands or screw-in steps are permitted.
 You cannot possess a loaded firearm while on any publicly traveled roadway within 
the area.
Trapping is prohibited.

General Hunting



August 2008  For more information contact New Jersey  New Jersey Fish & Wildlife Digest | 27
  Division of Fish and Wildlife at (609)292-2965 2008 Hunting and Trapping Issue  

No person shall possess a firearm while 
hunting with raptors.

For additional information, write to 
New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife, 
PO Box 400, Trenton, NJ 08625-0400 or 
call (908) 735-8793.

Farmer Regulations

See Farmer Hunting and Permit 
Information, page 29.

Firearms and Missiles

A person may not go into the woods or 
fields with a firearm except during pre-
scribed seasons.
Airguns are not legal hunting firearms.
It is unlawful to possess in the woods 
and fields shot larger than #4 fine shot 
except for hunting deer, bear, water-
fowl, woodchuck (farmers only) and 
coyote/fox during the Special Permit 
Coyote and Fox Season. 
Rimfire and centerfire rifles are not 
legal to hunt deer.
See sections on specific game animals 
for permitted firearms and ammunition.
No person shall use a shotgun capable 
of holding more than three shells at one 
time or that may be fired more than 
three times without reloading except 
for the September Canada goose season; 
see page 74.

Hunter Orange

Firearm hunters must wear a cap made 
of solid daylight fluorescent orange or 
an outer garment containing at least 200 
square inches of fluorescent orange mate-
rial visible from all sides at all times while 
engaged in hunting. A camo-orange hat 
alone is not adequate.

This applies to all persons while hunt-
ing with a firearm for deer, bear, rabbit, 
hare, squirrel, coyote, fox, railbirds, and 
game birds including while in a tree stand.

waterfowl, crow, wild turkey, coyote/fox 
(during the special permit season, page 
61), woodchuck nor bowhunters except 
that a bow hunter using a deer decoy must 
wear hunter orange, as described above, 
while transporting the decoy into and out 
of the woods and fields.

Muzzleloaders

It is unlawful to use smokeless pow-
der in a muzzleloader while hunting in 
New Jersey. Only black powder or black 
powder equivalents, such as Pyrodex and 
Triple Se7en, may be used with a muzzle-
loading firearm when engaged in hunting.

Properly licensed and permitted hunt-
ers 10 years and older may hunt with a 
muzzleloading rifle. A valid rifle permit 
must be possessed while hunting with a 
muzzleloading rifle. Permitted action types 
include percussion, flintlock and inline. 
For muzzleloader barrel types and legal 
hunting ammunition, see regulations for 
each game species.

It is unlawful to hunt with a muzzle-
loading rifle on WMAs, except for deer, 
bear, coyote/fox and squirrel hunting dur-
ing the special season in certain zones. For 
muzzleloader rifle squirrel hunting, see 
page 64. For muzzleloader deer hunting, 
see page 31. For rifle permit information, 
see page 15. For muzzleloader coyote/fox 
hunting, see page 61.

Non-Resident Game Removal

A non-resident licensee may remove 
from the state each day a daily bag limit 
of game. However, a non-resident may not 

take more than two day’s bag limit from 
the state after one week’s stay (Sunday to 
Saturday inclusive.) This does not apply 
to game raised or killed at a licensed com-
mercial preserve and legally tagged.

Possession Of Certain Wildlife By 
Persons, Taxidermists & Butchers

No person shall have in possession a 
deer, bear, migratory game birds or tur-
key that he himself or she herself did not 
kill unless it has a tag bearing the name, 
address, telephone number, license and 
permit numbers of the person who killed 
the deer, bear, migratory game birds or 
turkey. Those in the business of process-
ing deer, bear or turkey, that is butchers, 
taxidermists, etc., shall keep a ledger of 
all of their customers. Each customer’s 
name, current address, day and evening 
telephone numbers, hunting license num-
ber, and possession seal number of any 
black bear, deer or turkey being processed 
shall be included in the ledger. The led-
ger shall be made available for inspection 
upon request during the hours of 9 a.m. 
to 5 p.m. by any law enforcement officer 
or employee of the Division of Fish and 
Wildlife.

Regulations

General Hunting

(continued on page 28)
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wild birds and game animals or parts 
thereof is prohibited in New Jersey. 
Legally-trapped furbearers may be 
sold. Questions should be directed to a 
regional Fish and Wildlife law enforce-
ment office.

Property Damage

Hunters must not hunt in 
unharvested crops without first 
obtaining permission from the owner. 
Anyone causing damage to cultivated 
crops, orchards, fences, buildings or 
livestock may be arrested without 
warrant by the owner, occupant, lessee, 
or any officer of the law. Violators are 
liable for a fine of up to $2,000 and 
restitution to the property owner in 
addition to the loss of hunting privileges 
for a period of two years.

Rifles, .22 caliber

A valid rifle permit must be pos-
sessed while hunting with a .22 caliber 
rifle.

It is unlawful to possess and use 
.22 caliber rifle except while hunting 
woodchuck, (no rifle hunting on wildlife 
management areas)  hunting raccoon and 
opossum with hounds, and dispatching 
trapped animals other than muskrat.

A .22 caliber rifle must be loaded 
with short cartridges only, except when 
hunting woodchuck.

A .22 caliber rifle need not be 
plugged, but may be loaded with no 
more than three shells. No 10-17 year-
olds may hunt with any rimfire or cen-
terfire rifle.

See chart on page 64 for details on 
small caliber rifle ammunition legal for 
hunting woodchucks.

Safety Zone

No hunter may carry a loaded fire-
arm or knocked bow and arrow within 
the Safety Zone of 450 feet from a 
building or school playground, even if 

have written permission in possession 
from the owner or qualified lessee to be 
within the Safety Zone with a loaded 
firearm or nocked arrow. See Safety 
Zone Awareness, page 89. Shooting into 
a Safety Zone is prohibited.

Shotguns

Shotguns larger than 10-gauge are 
prohibited. Shotguns may not be capable 
of holding more than three shells except 
for September Canada goose hunting; see 
page 74. For information on legal shot 
sizes, see regulations for each game species 
to be hunted.

Sunday Hunting

No person may hunt with firearms 
or any other weapon or carry a gun in 
the woods or fields or on the waters 

commercial shooting preserve lands for 
the purpose of shooting stocked game; 
and when using a .22 rifle for dispatching 
trapped animals.

Persons are allowed to hunt raccoon or 
opossum between midnight on Saturday 
and one hour before sunrise on Sunday 
during the prescribed season.

Trespass Law

Hunters and trappers must have 
permission (oral or written) from the 
landowner or lessee prior to entering 
either posted lands or agricultural lands 
(which are not required to be posted.) 
Hunters also must obtain permission to 
enter posted land and agricultural land to 
recover deer. Hunters and trappers may 
not enter unposted land after having been 
forbidden to trespass by the owner, lessee 
or occupant.

If a hunter or trapper is charged with 
trespass, they must provide documenta-
tion of written permission in court for 
their defense. See page 83 for the Hunt 
SMART Courtesy Card.

Wildlife

It is illegal to capture, kill, injure or 
have in possession any wild bird other 
than a game bird.

No one may rob a bird’s nest.
The removal of the skin or feathers or 

mutilation of any wild bird or mammal in 
the woods or fields for the purpose of con-
cealing sex or identity is illegal.

All nongame mammals, reptiles, birds 
and amphibians are protected. Penalties 
for taking these species range from 
$250-$5,000.

There is no open season on bobcat. It 

is illegal to kill, attempt to kill or possess 
bobcats except parts of bobcats legally 
taken in other states may be possessed but 
not sold in New Jersey.

The sale of wild birds or game animals 
or parts thereof is prohibited except as 

specific information, refer to our Web site, 
www.NJFishandWildlife.com.

Wildlife Damage Control

Property owners and occupants of 
dwellings, or their agents designated in 
writing, suffering damage from squirrel, 
raccoon, opossum, skunk, weasel, wood-
chuck, gray fox, red fox and coyote may 
control these animals by lawful procedures 
at any time subject to state law and local 
ordinances. Farmers or their agents may 
also control the above species by law-
ful procedures when found destroying 
livestock, crops or poultry at any time 
subject to state and local ordinances. 

notify a Fish and Wildlife Regional Law 
Enforcement Office within 24 hours. 

Regulations

General Hunting

(continued from page 27)

Tune into Realtree’s new

Monster Bucks Television on 

Outdoor Channel for your chance 

to score a $1000 shopping spree 

in our Score This Buck contest. 

For more details, go to

realtree.com/scoreit.
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Farmer regulations

Farmer Hunting and Permit Information

Farmer License Exemption 

A farmer and the immediate members 
of the family who also reside on the farm 
may hunt, trap and fish on the farm with-
out being licensed or possessing a valid 
rifle permit. (See page 35 for a cut-out 
farmer deer transportation tag.) All hunt-
ing, fishing and trapping must be conduct-
ed in the manner provided by law during 
the prescribed seasons. A farm is defined 
as an area of at least five acres and hav-
ing gross income of at least $500, and tax 
assessed as farmland. This exemption does 
not apply to a tenant or employee who is 
not an immediate family member.

Farmer Regulations

The occupant of a farm may allow his 
or her dog to run at large on land he or 
she occupies, except during the firearm 
deer seasons.

Farmers and their lessees occupying 
or farming their land, members of their 
immediate families, or their farming 
employees may kill crows, woodchuck 
and fox on farm property at any time 
when found destroying livestock or crops. 
However, they must use legal firearms, 
ammunition and other lawful procedures. 
See also Wildlife Damage Control, page 28. 
See also General Regulations, page 26.

Farmers must possess the appropriate 
permit to legally hunt the farm during any 
hunting or trapping season which requires 
a permit. Permits are provided free to all 
qualified farmers for the following sea-

and Permit Shotgun deer seasons plus the 
spring and fall Turkey Permit seasons.

Farmers may trap fox destroying 
poultry, crops or property at any time, 
subject to state law and local ordinances. 
Farmers or their agents may shoot or 
trap coyotes by lawful procedures at any 
time when found destroying livestock 
or crops. A regional Fish and Wildlife 
Law Enforcement office must be notified 
within 24 hours of killing a coyote. See 
Telephone Directory page 96.

Permits for Farmers 

Fish and Wildlife maintains a farmer 
database. Farmers who received farmer 
deer or turkey permits in 2006, 2007 
or 2008 are in our database already and 

need not reapply.
New farmers or farmers who have not 
received permits since 2006 MUST 
apply. Applications are available on 
Fish and Wildlife's Web site at www.
NJFishandWildlife.com/farmer.htm or 
at your local county agricultural exten-
sion office.
The preferred application period for 
farmers is June 1 - August 1. 
Once approved and in the new license 
system, farmers may claim their farmer 
permits by going to any license agent. 
The dates when permits will become 
available are listed below.

Farmer Deer Permits
Farmers may claim deer permits begin-
ning Monday, Oct. 6, 2008 at 10 a.m. 
at any license agent.
Approved farmers are eligible for one 
free bow, shotgun and muzzleloader 
permit and one free Antlered Buck 
Permit for each of the three permit 
seasons. See Farmer License Exemption, 
above. See also Farmer Regulations, 
above.
Two types of farmer permits - occupant 
and non-occupant farmer- allow the 
applicant to decide for which permit it 
is easiest to qualify; see below. Farmers 
who must change the occupancy status 
for their deer permit should call the 
Permit Hotline at (609) 292-9192. 
Only a qualified farmer or the spouse 
or children of that farmer who reside in 
the farmer's household, are eligible to 
apply for occupant and non-occupant 
farmer deer permits. 
Farmers may also apply for (or purchase 
at any license agent) regular deer per-
mits in addition to the free farmer per-
mits. See Deer Season Permits, page 17.

Occupant Farmer Deer Permits
Applicants must be the owner, lessee or 
immediate family (spouse and children 
only) who actually reside on the farm 
property.
Land must be at least five acres, tax-
assessed as farmland.
Occupant permits are valid only on 
the farm property where the applicant 
resides.

Non-Occupant Farmer Deer Permits
Applicants are not required to live on 
the farm property.
Farmer(s) and their immediate family 
members (spouse and children only) 
may qualify, up to a total of five 
people.
Must actively till at least 30 acres of 
land which is tax-assessed as farm-
land.
Woodlots do not qualify.
To apply for hunting leased 
farmland, a copy of all leases 
authorizing the agricultural and 
hunting uses of the land must be 
attached to the application.
Non-occupant permits are valid in 
the entire zone for which the permit 
was applied. 
An applicant who lives on a farm 
and actively tills at least 30 acres may 
apply either as an occupant or a non-
occupant.

Farmer Turkey Permits
Farmers may claim fall season turkey 

permits beginning Monday, Oct. 6, 
2008 at 10 a.m. at any license agent. 

Qualified farmers may apply only 
if their land is in a turkey hunting area 
open to hunting.

Farmer turkey permits are available 
only to the farmer and immediate fam-
ily who reside on the farm.

For the purpose of farmer turkey 
permits, “immediate family” includes 
the spouse, mother, father, child, 
stepchild, stepparent, legal guardian, 
mother-in-law, father-in-law, son-in-
law, daughter-in-law, grandparent, great 
grandparent, brother, sister, stepsister, 
stepbrother, brother-in-law and sister-
in-law of the farm owner or lessee who 
resides thereon. 

Farmers may also apply for (or 
purchase at any license agent) regular 
turkey permits in addition to the free 
farmer permits. See the turkey permit 
supplement, distributed each January or 
on our Web site for details. 
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Regulations

Only one antlered deer may be 
taken per season statewide, except 

during the Six-Day Firearm Season, 
regardless of the number of  antlered 
buck permits in possession. To be legal, 
all deer harvested must be registered at 
an official deer check station (see page 
58) and have a metal possession seal 
affixed to the deer. Only after register-
ing the first deer may a hunter take or 
attempt to take another deer, where 
legal, unless specifically written as an 
exception.

Key Concepts and Definitions

Antlered deer is defined as any deer 
with at least one antler measuring at 
least three inches in length as defined 
below.
Antler length is defined as the maxi-
mum length of a deer antler mea-
sured from the lowest outside edge 
of the antler burr along the outer 
curve to the most distant point of 
what is or appears to be the main 
antler beam. For the purposes of this 
definition, the antler length does 
not include the pedicel or portion 
of skull between the skull plate and 
base of the antler point.
Antler point is defined as any point 
at least one inch long from its tip 
to its base line, and the length must 
exceed the width at some location at 
least one inch down from the tip.
Antlerless deer is defined as any deer 
that does not have an antler length 
measuring at least three inches. For 
the purposes of this definition, adult 
male deer that have shed their ant-
lers, button bucks and adult males 
with antlers less than three inches are 
considered antlerless deer.
Antlered Buck Muzzleloader Permit, 
Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit or 
Antlered Buck Bow Permit refers to 
the antlered buck permits available 
for purchase which are valid only 

when used in conjunction with the 
regular, antlerless, zone-specific deer 
season permit. The antlered buck 
permits contain an antlered deer 
transportation tag and allows for the 
pursuit and harvest of an antlered deer 
only.
Earn-A-Buck regulations are reduced 
in Zones 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 
36, 41, 49, 50 and 51. The hunter’s 
first deer harvested from these zones 
during the early Fall Bow Season only 
(through October 3, 2008 ) must still 
be an antlerless deer as defined above; 
the second deer may be antlered. Earn-
A-Buck is removed from Permit Bow 
and Permit Muzzleloader seasons. Earn-
A-Buck is a tool to reduce the growth 
of deer herds in areas where the harvest 
of antlerless animals under regular har-
vest guidelines is insufficient to reach 
desired population levels. 
Antler Point Restriction zones include 
Zones 3, 9, 13, 27, 29, 35, 37, 40, 63 
and 67. The harvest of antlered deer 
from these zones during any open sea-
son is restricted to deer with at least 
one antler having a minimum of three 
antler points as defined above. The goal 
of the antler point restriction strategy, 
as part of Quality Deer Management, 
is to reduce harvest pressure on the 11⁄2 
year-old antlered deer in the expecta-
tion that they will survive to produce 
larger antlers as older animals. 

Six-day Firearm Season 
Dec. 8 – 13, 2008

Special Areas Deer Management zones 
include Zones 37, 38, 39, 40, 53, 54, 
56, 57, 58, 61, 64, 66, 67, 68, and 
70. They are generally small, publicly-
owned properties administered by 
county, federal or state agencies (other 
than Fish and Wildlife) where deer 
season dates, bag limits or regulations 
differ from those of the surrounding 
deer management zone. See page 47 for 
details.

Youth Hunter status applies to the pos-
sessor of a valid Youth Hunting License 
(or the immediate member of a quali-
fied occupant farmer who is at least 10 
years of age) and continues until Dec. 
31 of the year in which he or she turns 
16 years of age. The Youth Bow Deer 
Hunt Day is Saturday, Sept. 27, 2008. 
The Youth Firearm Deer Hunt Day is 
Saturday, Nov. 22, 2008. The bag limit 
for youth hunters on this day is one deer 
of either sex. Antler Point Restrictions 
do not apply for deer taken on this day 
by youth hunters. See page 35 for a cut-
out youth transportation tag.

Licenses and Permits 

See License, Permits and Stamps, page 
10, for details and for Hunter Education 
requirements.
Additional hunting licenses may not be 
purchased in order to harvest additional 
deer.
Although hunters may purchase mul-
tiple deer permits, they are limited 
to only one regular, zone-specific 
ANTLERLESS permit per zone dur-
ing each of the permit seasons. 
For example, a hunter may buy an 
ANTLERLESS muzzleloader permit for 
each of Zones 18, 21 and 24. A hunter 
may purchase a bow permit, a muzzle-
loader permit and a shotgun permit 
for Zone 24; however, they may not 
purchase two ANTLERLESS bow per-
mits (nor two shotgun permits nor two 
muzzleloader permits) for Zone 24. 
It is unlawful to use a bow and arrow 
for hunting deer while using a fire-
arm license or while using a shotgun 
or muzzleloader deer permit. A bow 
and arrow license and permit (when 
required) must be in possession using 
this hunting equipment.
The regular, zone-specific Bow, Muzzle-  
loader and Shotgun Permits are valid 
ONLY for the pursuit and harvest 

Legal Deer Hunting Hours: half hour before sunrise to half hour after sunset

Deer Hunting
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Deer Hunting
Regulations

of ANTLERLESS deer. Hunters who 
want to pursue and take an antlered 
deer during any of these seasons must 
purchase an additional Antlered Buck 
Bow, Antlered Buck Muzzleloader or 
Antlered Buck Shotgun Permit. Hunters 
may purchase only one Antlered Buck 
Permit per season. An Antlered Buck 
Permit must be used in conjunction 
with regular, zone-specific antlerless 
permit. The Antlered Buck Permit is 
not zone-specific; it is valid for use in 
any zone for which the a hunter already 
holds a regular, zone-specific antlerless 
season permit, but only one buck may 
be harvested per season. Adult deer 
permits are $28; youth deer permits are 
$12. 

IMPORTANT: Antlered Buck Permits 
must be purchased by 11:59 p.m. on the 
following dates: Nov. 1 for Permit Bow; 
Dec. 1 for Permit Muzzleloader and Dec. 
17 for Permit Shotgun seasons, UNLESS 
you are buying your first zone-specific 
antlerless permit AND an Antlered Buck 
Permit at the same time on a later date. 

Firearms, Ammunition and Sights

See page 26 for general hunting regula-
tions which also apply to deer hunting.
All firearms must be cased and unload-
ed while being transported in vehicles, 
including on all-terrain vehicles. A 
muzzleloader is considered unloaded 
when, in the case of a percussion cap 
rifle or shotgun, the percussion cap has 
been removed from the nipple; in the 
case of a flintlock, when the powder is 
removed from the pan and a boot or 
cover made of nonmetallic material is 
placed over the frizzen.
Hunters using or possessing any shotgun 
slug in the field during the deer seasons 
must have a shotgun with adjustable 
open iron or peep sights or a scope 
affixed to the shotgun.
Telescopic sights of any magnifica-
tion (scope power) are permitted for 
deer hunting on all firearms, including 
muzzleloader rifles and smoothbore 
muzzleloader shotguns. No permits are 
required for telescopic sights.
Any sight or device that casts a beam of 
light upon the deer is prohibited.

Shotgun shells containing single spheri-
cal projectiles referred to as pumpkin 
balls are prohibited.
While deer hunting with a shotgun, it is 
illegal to have in possession any ammu-
nition not authorized for deer hunting.
When hunting during the overlapping 
firearms seasons for deer and when in 
possession of the proper permits for the 
current seasons, hunters may carry the 
firearms legal for the current seasons. 
For example, when Six-day Firearm and 
Permit Muzzleloader seasons run con-
currently, a hunter may be in possession 
of a shotgun and either a muzzleloading 
rifle or smoothbore muzzleloader. 
Double-barreled muzzleloading rifles 
are not permitted during the Six-day 

Firearm or Permit Muzzleloader 
seasons.
Only one muzzleloading rifle or 
smoothbore muzzleloader may be in 
possession while deer hunting, but 
not both simultaneously. 
Only black powder or black powder 
equivalents, such as Pyrodex and 
Triple Se7en, may be used with a 
muzzleloading firearm when engaged 
in hunting. Modern smokeless powder 
is strictly prohibited while hunting 
game with a muzzleloading firearm. 
Special Areas Deer Management 
Zones may have regulations that dif-
fer from the state-wide regulations. 
See page 47 for details. 

(continued on page 32)

Firearms, Bows and Ammunition Legal for Deer Hunting:
Season(s) Weapon Type Gauge, Caliber or Weigh Projectile(s) Firearm sights; 
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Bow—long, recurve or 
 compound

35 pounds pull at 
archer’s draw length 
(long and recurve bows) 
or peak weight (com-
pound bow)

Arrows must be  fitted 
with a well-sharpened 
metal broadhead with a 
minimum width of 3/4”

Hand-held release 
devices are  permitted
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Flintlock,  percussion 
and in-line  ignitions 
permitted. Double-barrel 
firearms  prohibited

Rifle–not less than .44 
 caliber 
Smoothbore–not smaller 
than 20 gauge and not 
larger than 10 gauge

Must be loaded with a 
 single projectile only

Telescopic sights  
 permitted

S
ix

-d
ay

 F
ir

ea
rm

Shotgun–single or 
double barrel, rifled bore 
or smoothbore

Not smaller than 20 
gauge and not larger 
than 10 gauge, capable 
of holding no more than 
three shells

Slugs–lead, lead alloy 
or copper rifled slug or 
 sabotted slug 
Buck shot–sizes not 
 smaller than #4 (0.24”) 
nor larger than #000 
(0.36”)

Shotgun must have an 
adjustable open iron or 
peep sight or a scope 
affixed if hunter is hunt-
ing with or in  possession 
of slugs

Muzzleloader– single-
shot, single barrel rifle 
OR  single or double-bar-
rel smoothbore shotgun. 
Flintlock,  percussion and 
  in-line  ignitions permitted

Muzzleloading rifle–
single shot not less than 
.44  caliber 
Smoothbore–single or 
 double-barrel not smaller 
than 20 gauge and not 
 larger than 10 gauge

Muzzleloading rifle–
single  projectile 
Smoothbore–buck shot 
not smaller than #4 
(0.24”) nor larger than 
#000 (0.36”) or a single 
projectile

Telescopic sights  
permitted

P
er

m
it

 S
h
ot

gu
n Shotgun–single or 

double barrel, rifled bore 
or smoothbor  e

Not smaller than 20 
gauge and not  larger 
than 10 gauge, capable 
of holding no more than 
three shells

Slugs–lead, lead alloy 
or copper rifled slug or 
sabot slug 
Buck shot–sizes not 
 smaller than #4 (0.24”) 
nor larger than #000 
(0.36”)

Shotgun must have an 
adjustable open iron or 
peep sight or a scope 
affixed if hunter is hunt-
ing with or in  possession 
of slugs

Muzzleloader– single or 
double-barrel smooth-
bores only (no rifles.) 
Flintlock, percussion and 
  in-line  ignitions permitted

Not smaller than 20 
gauge and not  larger 
than 10 gauge

Buck shot–sizes not 
 smaller than #4 (0.24”) 
nor larger than #000 
(0.36”) or a single pro-
jectile
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Regulations

Baiting

Baiting is allowed for deer hunting. 
Hunters may hunt for deer while in 
a tree, on the ground or in a struc-
ture and from any height and any 
distance from the bait pile. Hunters 
should check with the landowner or 
administrative agency before placing 
bait on their hunting area as baiting 
is not allowed on properties such as 
national wildlife refuges.

Decoys and Electronic Devices

Persons may hunt with the aid of 
deer decoys statewide in those zones 
open for deer hunting only dur-
ing the Fall Bow, Permit Bow and 
Winter Bow seasons. When carrying 
or moving deer decoys for the pur-
pose of hunting, persons must wear 
a fluorescent orange hat or outer gar-
ment consisting of at least 200 square 
inches of fluorescent orange material, 
which shall be visible from all sides 
as currently required for firearm deer 
hunting.
It is unlawful to hunt for deer with 
the aid of an electronic calling device 
or any device that casts a beam of 
light upon the deer.

Bag Limits

For all seasons except Six-day 
Firearm, properly licensed and per-
mitted hunters are limited to taking 
one antlered buck per season, regard-
less of the number of antlerless, zone-
specific permits purchased, when 
applicable. 
Bowhunters may take two antlered 
deer legally on a bow or all-around 
license, one antlered deer each dur-
ing the Fall Bow and Winter Bow 
seasons. Hunters who want to pursue 
and harvest an antlered deer during 
the Permit Bow Season must pur-
chase an Antlered Buck Bow Permit 
valid only when used in conjunction 
with the regular, zone-specific ant-
lerless Bow Permit. For permit pur-
chasing deadline, see Deer Season 
Permits, page 17.
Firearm hunters legally may take 
two antlered deer during the Six-

day Firearm Season on a firearm or 
all-around license. Hunters will receive 
a supplemental tag upon checking 
in their first Six-day Firearm Season 
buck, allowing the pursuit and harvest 
of a second buck. Hunters who want 
to harvest an antlered deer during the 
Permit Shotgun or Permit Muzzleloader 
seasons must purchase an Antlered 
Buck Shotgun or Antlered Buck 
Muzzleloader Permit, valid only when 
used in conjunction with the regular, 
zone-specific antlerless Shotgun or 
Muzzleloader Permit. If hunters who 
take a second antlered deer during the 
Six-day Firearm Season, their Shotgun 
Permit Season bag limit is then restrict-
ed to antlerless deer only. For purchas-
ing deadlines, see Deer Season Permits, 
page 17.
Remember, although two antlered 
bucks may be taken during the Six-Day 
Firearm Season, when that occurs, the 
antlered buck bag limit for the Permit 
Shotgun Season is then zero. Hunters 

either two antlered 
bucks during Six-day Firearm Season, 
or one antlered buck during Six-day 
Firearm Season and one antlered buck 
during Permit Shotgun Season (while 
possessing an Antlered Buck Permit.) 
The antlerless bag limit for these permit 
seasons will be one, two or unlimited 
depending on the zone and season. See 
Regulation Sets, page 44.
Two deer may be taken at a time in 
Zones 5, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 
17, 19, 25, 36, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 48, 
49, 50, 51, 54, 56, 64, and 66 and 68 
during the Permit Muzzleloader and 
Permit Shotgun seasons (in those zones 
open for both of those seasons) until 
the season concludes. See Regulation 
Sets, page 44.

Tagging Requirements - 
Transportation Tag

Immediately upon harvesting any deer, 
hunters must complete in ink all informa-
tion requested on the Transportation Tag 
either attached to your license, the regular, 
zone-specific deer permit, the Antlered Buck 
Permit, or the supplemental tag. Be sure to 
use the Transportation Tag corresponding 
to the hunting season in which the deer was 
harvested. 

(continued from page 31)

What should 
be done when 
a deer is recov-
ered too late to  
register at a 
check station? 

Go home and  1. 
immediately call the 
nearest NJ Fish and  
Wildlife Law 
Enforcement Office.
Call the Northern Region Law  
Enforcement Office at  
(908) 735-8240 for deer harvested 

Bergen Morris Union
Essex Passaic Warren
Hunterdon Somerset 
Hudson Sussex 

Call the Central Region Law 
Enforcement Office at  
(609) 259-2120 for deer harvested 

Burlington Monmouth

Mercer Ocean

Middlesex

Call the Southern Region Law 
Enforcement Office at  
(856) 629-0555 for deer harvested 

Atlantic Cumberland
Camden Gloucester
Cape May Salem

Leave a message2.  on the recorder 
with your name, phone number, 
hunting license number, sex 
of deer and from which deer 
management zone the deer was 
taken. 
Check your deer the following 3. 
morning at the deer check sta-
tion closest to your home. If 
weather conditions necessitate 
butchering the deer immedi-
ately, the hunter must bring the 
head and hide to be checked the 
next day.

Deer Hunting
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(continued from page 35)

Deer Hunting
regulations/CWD

A valid transportation tag first must 1. 
be detached from your license or per-
mit then securely attached to the deer 
immediately after it has been killed.
Youth and farmer hunters2.  creating a 
hand-written transportation tag must 

Conservation ID number, date, hunting 
season, gender of deer, number of antler 
points, county, township and deer man-
agement zone. See page 35 for a printed 
Youth/Farmer Transportation Tag.
Transportation Tags from 3. 2008 per-
mits are valid for the entire length of 
the Permit Bow, Permit Muzzleloader 
and Permit Shotgun seasons, including 
January and February 2009, if the zone 
specified on the original permit is open 
for hunting during these dates. 
All Supplemental Deer Transportation 4. 
Tags are valid  on the day of issuance for 
taking another deer.
See 5. Mandatory Deer Check Station 
Requirement below.

After Harvesting a Deer: Mandatory 
Deer Check Requirement

Immediately upon harvesting a deer, 
hunters must complete in ink all required 
tags. 

All hunters are required to register har-1. 
vested deer. Bring your deer to the clos-
est official deer check station (see Deer 
Check Stations, page 58.
Be discrete 2. when transporting your deer 
to and from a check station, butcher or 
taxidermist; rinse away excess blood, 
turn the field-dressed side to face in 
toward your vehicle and push the 
tongue back into the deer’s mouth.
Deer must be taken to the check sta-3. 
tion by the hunter who killed the deer  
on the day killed, by 8 p.m. during the 
regular Fall Bow Season, and by 7 p.m. 
during all other seasons.
Transportation Tags must be surren-4. 
dered to the check station operator. 
Check station personnel will attach a 
legal metal possession seal to the deer, 
and, if applicable, will issue a New 
Jersey Supplemental Transportation Tag 
for the harvest of another deer. It is the 
hunter’s responsibility to confirm that 
the seal is attached and locked on the 
deer. 

 Bring your hunting license 
and applicable deer season permit(s) to 
the deer check station.

Af te r  check ing  your  deer  — 
Possession/Sale 

Metal possession seals (affixed to deer 
at check stations) must be kept until all 
venison is consumed and as long as you 
keep any part or parts, including antlers. 
Persons with deer mounts should write 
their name, legal possession seal num-
ber, date of kill and season of harvest on 
back of the mounting plate for future 
reference.
It is illegal to sell deer meat, deer ant-
lers or any part of a deer except deer 
hides. However, nonprofit organizations 
conducting wild game dinners for social 
and fundraising events may offer game 
or furbearer meat (the sale of which 
is otherwise prohibited) provided that 
the meat  been harvested, stored and 
processed in accordance with applicable 
laws and regulations.

Spotlighting 

Spotlighting deer during hours of dark-
ness from a vehicle is illegal while in 
possession of a weapon capable of kill-
ing deer, whether the weapon is cased, 
uncased or in a locked compartment. 
This does not apply to the regular use 
of headlights when traveling in a normal 
manner on public or private roads.

Chron i c  Was t ing  D i sease  
(CWD) Guidance

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) 
affects the central nervous system of deer 
family species. Most scientists believe the 
disease is caused by an infectious protein 
or prion. CWD has been diagnosed in 
mule deer, white-tailed deer, black-tailed 
deer and mule deer, white-tailed deer 
hybrids and North American elk. Moose 
have been experimentally infected through 
oral inoculation. 

There is no evidence linking CWD 
to disease in humans; however, the 
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and 
Prevention and the World Health 
Organization recommend that people do 
not consume meat from an apparently 
sick deer, elk or any animal found dead or 
known to be positive for CWD. Also, as 

a precaution in areas where CWD has 
been identified, hunters are advised not 
to eat tissues known to harbor CWD 
prions (lymph nodes, tonsils, spleen, 
pancreas, brain, and spinal cord) and to 
“bone out” the meat.

CWD has been diagnosed in deer 
and elk in 13 states and two Canadian 

Colorado1 Alberta, Canada2

llinois3 Nebraska1 
Kansas2 New Mexico3

New York1 Minnesota2

Utah3  South Dakota1

Montana2 Wisconsin1

Oklahoma2 West Virginia3

Wyoming1* 
Saskatchewan, Canada1

1 CWD in both captive and wild  
      deer

2 CWD in captive deer only
3 CWD in wild deer only
* captive research herd  

CWD can be transmitted among 
adult deer, and the prions have been 
found in the brain, eyes, spinal cord, 
spleen, tonsils and lymph nodes. Prions 
in these tissues of infected deer can 
potentially infect other deer if they are 
disposed of improperly.

To ensure you do not inadvertently 
spread CWD prions from the above-

Follow the rules of the states in which 
you hunt to ensure you do not spread 
CWD 
Bring back to New Jersey only hides, 
capes and boned meat free of spinal 
cord, brain and associated lymph 
nodes
Bring back to New Jersey skull plates 
free of brain residue and disinfected 
by soaking in a 30 percent Clorox 
solution for 15 minutes
Do not dispose of carcasses (particu-
larly skull, brain, spinal cord, lymph 
nodes) in the wild when you return to 
New Jersey. The remains of an evis-
cerated butchered deer or elk must 
be disposed of in the household trash 
where it will be delivered to an appro-
priate landfill. 
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New Jersey Division of  
Fish and Wildlife has used 
this technique to estimate 
deer populations in several 
areas. Locations include 
deer browse study sites, 
such High Point State Park, 
Sussex County; suburban 
municipalities where 
Community Based Deer 
Management programs were 
in place such as Watchung 
Borough, Somerset County 
and in county parks where 
deer culls have occurred, 
such as South Mountain 
Reservation, Essex County.

Although the technique is easy, it is 
also time-consuming. Frequently, wildlife 
personnel drive the survey route multiple 
times over the course of  several evenings 
to obtain the proper sample size.

The number of  miles driven, the number of  
deer seen and the distances from the observer 
to the deer are entered into Distance 5.0, a 
computer program which calculates the deer 
population estimate of  the survey area.

Distance sampling is a survey technique used by wildlife 
biologists to estimate the number of  deer in an area. At 
night, roads are driven through the survey area maintaining 
a speed of  10 – 12 miles per hour. Observers use spotlights 
to find and count deer, then measure the distance between 
observer and deer with a laser range finder.

There is a decreasing 
probability of  seeing deer as they 
are further from the road. To 
obtain a valid population estimate, 
at least 50 groups of  deer must be 
observed.
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Farmer/Youth Tag

Deer Hunting

YOUTH / FARMER DEER TRANSPORTATION TAG 
For use as 1st tag in Fall Bow Six-day Firearm, and Winter Bow  

or Youth Hunt Days seasons ONLY

Name  _______________________________

Address  _____________________________  

____________________________________

Youth License # ________________________

OR

Conservation # ________________________

Date Deer Killed  _______________________

Signature  ____________________________

Please check only one box: Button 
Buck

Shed

Antlered

Total Antler Points  ____________________

Deer Mgmt. Zone  ____________________

County  ____________________________

Township  __________________________

Female

Male

YOUTH / FARMER DEER TRANSPORTATION TAG
For use as 1st tag in Fall Bow Six-day Firearm, and Winter Bow  

or Youth Hunt Days seasons ONLY

Name  _______________________________

Address  _____________________________  

____________________________________

Youth License # ________________________

OR

Conservation # ________________________

Date Deer Killed  _______________________

Signature  ____________________________

Please check only one box: Button 
Buck

Shed

Antlered

Total Antler Points  ____________________

Deer Mgmt. Zone  _____________________

County  ____________________________

Township  __________________________

YOUTH / FARMER DEER TRANSPORTATION TAG
For use as 1st tag in Fall Bow S  ix-day Firearm, and Winter Bow  

or Youth Hunt Days seasons ONLY

Name  _______________________________

Address  _____________________________  

____________________________________  

Youth License # ________________________

OR
Conservation # ________________________

Date Deer Killed  _______________________

Signature  ____________________________

Please check only one box: Button 
Buck

Shed

AntleredTotal Antler Points  ____________________

Deer Mgmt. Zone  ____________________

County  ____________________________

Township  __________________________

Female

Female

Male

Male

Butchers must use food-waste dumpsters for appropriate disposal of larger quantities of deer remains in landfills. 
Taxidermists must not dispose of curing salts, deer or elk carcasses or body parts in the wild where deer may find them. Taxidermists with 
larger quantities of animal parts must use food-waste dumpsters for appropriate disposal.
For the latest CWD information, visit our Web site at www.NJFishandWildlife.com/cwdinfo.htm. 

(continued from page 33)

We specialize in Trailers and also carry
Tree Stands, Deer and Cargo Carriers

The Nation’s Largest Dealer of  Cargo, Utility & Boat 
Trailers, Truck Accessories and RV Rentals. 

N. Plainfeild
Rte.22 & Jefferson Ave.
N. Plainfield, NJ. 07060
(908) 757-1700

W. Portal
1074 Route 173
W.Portal, NJ. 08802
(908) 735-5995

www.campoutinc.com

Two NJ Locations:

Our W. Portal location is home to 
Jugtown Mountain Campsites and is 

a NJ Deer Check Station.


