Table 1: Elements of State Programs

Who Is Covered	Benefits For Participation	Limit on Cleanup Funds	Legislative Reference	Requirements for Cleanup	Pollution Prevention Requirements	Program Sunset
ALABAMA • Owner/operators of active drycleaners, including "dry stores," "route sales," or other facilities that have drycleaning performed off-site • Wholesale distributors of drycleaning agents and supplies • Adjacent land owners • Impacted third parties • Abandoned drycleaners	Participants are released from all state environmental liability (after cleanup). Funds are available to all participants for environmental restoration, based on a priority system.	\$250,000/year/site	Title 22, Code of Alabama 1975, as amended (Chapter 30E)	Volunteer to participate Pay fees (see Table 2) Upgrade facilities to the latest standards within five years of promulgation, which was May 26, 2000.	Drycleaning agents stored in appropriate containers Dikes or other containment structures around each drycleaning machine or storage area Floor surfaces around drycleaning machines and storage areas impervious to drycleaning agents Drycleaning agents delivered by drycoupled systems if available	2002 (two years from passage) if fund does not reach \$1,000,000 NOTE: Fund did not sunset; however, if fund balance falls below \$1,000,000, no funds can be expended.
• Active drycleaners • Inactive cleaners	Site cleanup	\$300,000 cap can be paid out in 1 year	Sec. 12-263M, Connecticut General Statutes	Compliance with CT DEP Remediation Standard Regulations	Best Management Practices Secondary containment	None
FLORIDA • Active drycleaners • Inactive cleaners • Property owners • Solvent suppliers	Cleanup liability protection Cleanup of site Tax credits for voluntary cleanup Applies to spills prior to July 1995 only	No limit per site	Chapter 376. 3078, Florida Statutes	Pay fees (see Table 2) Apply (of the 1,566 sites that have applied, 1,421 have been deemed eligible.) Provide proof of contamination and proof of operation No reported gross negligence	Secondary containment under and around machinery, waste storage and product storage	12/30/98 (for application to program) No termination date for cleanup activities

Who Is Covered	Benefits For Participation	Limit on Cleanup Funds	Legislative Reference	Requirements for Cleanup	Pollution Prevention Requirements	Program Sunset
ILLINOIS • Active drycleaners • Inactive cleaners • Property owners	Insurance program Remedial program for existing contamination	\$500,000, new spills \$300,000, existing contamination \$50,000, inactive sites	415.ILCS-135	License-includes fees Compliance with state and federal environmental requirements \$500,000 pollution liability insurance	Secondary containment under and around machinery and waste storage No wastewater to sanitary sewer Participate in council approved compliance program	1/1/20 (for program) 7/1/06 (filing for remedial benefits)
KANSAS • Active drycleaners • Abandoned cleaners • Property owner • Third parties	Cleanup of contaminated sites Liability protection from cleanup	\$5 million/site	65-34,141	Active drycleaners must pay fees (see Table 2) No reports of gross negligence or law violations Provide proof of contamination	Secondary containment under and around machinery and waste storage Deliver solvents in a closed, direct-coupled system Handle all wastes (except wastewater) as hazardous material No wastewater discharged to sanitary sewer Record-keeping	None
MINNESOTA • Active drycleaners • Inactive cleaners • Property owners	Funds for site cleanup Limited liability protection	No limit/site	115B.4751	Active drycleaners must pay fees (see Table 2) No reported law violations	None	None

Who Is Covered	Benefits For Participation	Limit on Cleanup Funds	Legislative Reference	Requirements for Cleanup	Pollution Prevention Requirements	Program Sunset
MISSOURI • Active drycleaners-chlorinated solvents only • Abandoned drycleaners-chlorinated solvents only • Property owners	Qualified cleanup liability protection Funds for site cleanup	\$1 million/site 25% of total fund moneys in any fiscal year	260.900 to 260.965 RSMo and 10 CSR 25-17.010 to 17.170	Payment of all applicable environmental surcharges Registration with the department Abandoned facilities must be documented to the department by July 1, 2009 in order to be eligible Compliance with law and rules/regulations promulgated pursuant to it Compliance with all applicable environmental laws and regulations Liability protection qualified based on application to the fund, determination of eligibility, approval of Corrective Action Plan Must obtain solvent only from a seller or provider who has paid the drycleaning solvent surcharge	None	August 12, 2012

Who Is Covered	Benefits For Participation	Limit on Cleanup Funds	Legislative Reference	Requirements for Cleanup	Pollution Prevention Requirements	Program Sunset
NORTH CAROLINA • Active drycleaners • Abandoned cleaners • Property owners • Solvent suppliers	Limited liability protection Funds for site cleanup Risk-based cleanups	\$200,000/site/year \$400,000/site/year if imminent threat	143-215.104	Document contamination Complete all activities under agreement Pay deductible and co-payment fees (see Table 2) Comply with minimum management practices Substantial compliance with all environmental laws and regulations	New PCE machines to be dry-to-dry or equivalent Spill containment under and around machinery and waste storage by 2002 Direct-coupled solvent delivery No wastewater discharged to sewers, etc. Handle all waste, except wastewater, as hazardous waste Refrigerated condensers for new machines Maintain waste management records	2010 - for tax collection; cleanup program sunset is 2012

Who Is Covered	Benefits For Participation	Limit on Cleanup Funds	Legislative Reference	Requirements for Cleanup	Pollution Prevention Requirements	Program Sunset
OREGON • Active drycleaners • Property owners • Listed inactive drycleaners • Dry stores	Immunity from cleanup liability Funds for site cleanup Immunity from 3 party liability	No limit/site	465.500	Pay fees (see Table 2) No reports of gross negligence or noncompliance Report releases Provide access to the facility Comply with pollution prevention requirements	Secondary containment under and around machinery and waste storage Direct-coupled solvent delivery All PERC wastes (except wastewater) handled as hazardous material Refrigerated condensers on PCE machines No PCE transfertype equipment No wastewater discharged to sanitary sewers, etc. Annual reporting	None
SOUTH CAROLINA • Active drycleaners • Inactive drycleaners linked to active drycleaner	Moratorium on cleanup liability Cleanups conducted by state	\$250,000/site/year	Title 44, Chapter 56	Register Pay fees (see Table 2) Document presence of contamination File an application No reports of gross negligence or violation of laws Third party insurance if available (Not Available)	Secondary containment under and around machines and waste storage by 5/24/04 for existing sites Spills over federal reportable quantity to be reported within 24 hours	None

Who Is Covered	Benefits For Participation	Limit on Cleanup Funds	Legislative Reference	Requirements for Cleanup	Pollution Prevention Requirements	Program Sunset
TENNESSEE • Active drycleaners • Abandoned drycleaners willing to pay fees • Chemical suppliers that pay fees • Third parties	Cleanup liability protection while in the program Funded cleanups	No limit on total/site, \$200,000/year/site reimbursable \$200,000	68-217-101	Submit application Use approved contractor Site is registered and current on all fees (see Table 2) Compliance with Best Management Practices No reports of gross negligence or violation of laws Have Certified Environmental Drycleaner (CED) staff member	Compliance with Pollution Prevention (P2) Best Management Practices (BMPs) Secondary containment under and around machinery and waste storage PCE delivery in a closed, direct-coupled system. PCE waste and wastewater managed as hazardous Drumming and removal of petroleum waste and wastewater Floors and drains sealed	All Tennessee departments and agencies are evaluated on a regular basis by the Legislature. The statutory maximum is eight years after which the legislature will decide whether or not to reauthorize the agency or department.
• Active drycleaners • Abandoned cleaners • Property owner • Former Property Owners	Historical releases eligible Liability protection Funded cleanup	\$5,000,000/site	Statute: Texas Health & Safety Code Chapter 374 Rule: Texas Administrative Code Chapter – Title 30 Chapter 337	Registration paid Apply f or ranking Meet performance standards No delinquent fees	Secondary containment, machines and storage No disposal to sanitary sewer Closed, direct-coupled delivery system for PCE	January 1, 2021

Who Is Covered	Benefits For Participation	Limit on Cleanup Funds	Legislative Reference	Requirements for Cleanup	Pollution Prevention Requirements	Program Sunset
wisconsin • Active drycleaner owners and operators • Owners and operators of abandoned facilities. • Property owners of licensed facilities (post '97)	Financial assistance to investigate and clean up contamination Oversight by DNR Project Managers	\$500,000/site	Statute 292.65 Code NR 169	Pay fees (see Table 2) Report discharges Notify the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) if want to participate in Fund program Investigate and clean up site per the DNR administrative rule requirements	Secondary containment for facilities built after 1997 No wastewater to sanitary sewer Closed, direct-coupled delivery system for PCE Wastes managed as hazardous waste Compliance with existing hazardous waste requirements Consultants hired using Qualification Based selection system and competitive bids.	6/30/32 Application deadlines: - For ALL FACILITIES, open or closed, 8/30/08 - Claims for Past Costs (incurred prior to 10/14/97) are no longer eligible.

Table 2: Fee Structures

Entities That Pay Fees	Fees	Average Total Fees per Drycleaner	Deductibles and Insurance Money	Original Projection versus Actual Revenue	Maximum Fund Balance
 ALABAMA Operating drycleaners Wholesale distributors Impacted third parties Owners of properties where abandoned drycleaning facilities were located (impacted third parties) pay \$5,000. 	Annual registration fees: • Active drycleaners pay an amount equal to 2% of their gross receipts, not to exceed \$25,000 • Wholesale distributors pay \$5,000.	Contact Alabama Fund Representative for this information.	\$10,000 deductible for active drycleaners and impacted third parties \$50,000 deductible for wholesale distributors	Unknown at this time	\$8 million
Connecticut • Active drycleaners	Gross sales tax: 1%		• \$10,000 (if release was reported to CT DEP after 13/31/90) • \$20,000 (if release was reported to CT DEP before 12/31/90)		None
FLORIDA • 1,600 active drycleaners • 16 wholesale suppliers (Note: About 309 former drycleaners and 911 dry stores are registered, but not required to pay fees)	Annual registration fees: • Active drycleaners pay \$100; \$75 late fee • Wholesale suppliers pay \$100. Solvent fees: \$5/gallon for PCE Gross receipts tax: 2% of the gross receipts for drycleaning services at active drycleaners	\$5,138	• \$1,000 (if applied before 6/30/98) • \$5,000 (if applied before 9/30/98) • \$10,000 (if applied before 12/31/98)	Actual revenue: Approx \$8 million/year Projected revenue: \$21-22 million	None
ILLINOIS • 1,400 active drycleaners	License fee: • \$1,500 to \$5,000 depending on type and amount of solvent used. For more detail see www.cleanupfund.org/services Solvent fees: • \$10.00/gallon (PCE) • \$2.00 (petroleum solvents) • \$1.75 (green solvents)	\$3,600 (Average shown includes a \$1,400 insurance premium, payment of which is voluntary)	• \$10,000 insurance Remedial Program: • \$5,000 site investigation • \$10,000 cleanup • \$10,000 inactive site investigation • \$10,000 inactive site cleanup	Actual revenue: \$3.6 million/year	None

Entities That Pay Fees	Fees	Average Total Fees per Drycleaner	Deductibles and Insurance Money	Original Projection versus Actual Revenue	Maximum Fund Balance
KANSAS • 135 active drycleaners • 150 dry stores	Annual registration fees: Active drycleaners pay \$100. Solvent fees: • \$5.50/gallon (PCE) • \$0.55/gallon (Non-Chlorinated solvents) Gross receipts surcharges: 2.5% surcharge on gross receipts Penalties: Fines are charged when facilities do not comply with the management practices outlined by the Fund program.	\$6,000	\$5,000	Actual revenue: \$1.4 million/year Projected revenue: \$1.2 million	Fees stop when Fund reaches \$6 million Fees start again when Fund drops to \$4 million
MINNESOTA • 222 active drycleaners	Annual registration fees: Active drycleaners pay annual fees based on full-time employees (FTEs): • \$1,250 (< 5 FTEs) • \$2,750 (5 to 10 FTEs) • \$4,250 (>10 FTEs) Solvent fees: • \$10.00/gallon (PCE) • \$5.00/gallon (hydrocarbon-based solvents) • \$1.00/gallon (non-aqueous solvents)	< \$3,000	\$10,000 Drycleaners subrogate insurance coverage to state.	Actual revenue: \$650,000/year. Projected revenue: \$650,000	None
MISSOURI • Active drycleaners who use chlorinated solvents (306) • Solvent suppliers (13)	Annual registration fee: • \$500 (<141 gal chlorinated) • \$1,000 (141-360 gal chlorinated) • \$1,500 (> 360 gal chlorinated) Solvent fees: • \$8/gallon (Chlorinated so lvents) Penalties & Interest on late payments: ? 15% penalty ? 10% interest per anum from prescribed due date until payment is actually made	Est. \$1,700	\$25,000	Projected revenue: \$680,000/year Avg. Actual Revenue: \$694,000/year	Above \$5 million, fees suspended until fund drops below \$2 million

Entities That Pay Fees	Fees	Average Total Fees per Drycleaner	Deductibles and Insurance Money	Original Projection versus Actual Revenue	Maximum Fund Balance
NORTH CAROLINA • 700 active drycleaners • Public paying for drycleaning services	Solvent fees: • \$10.00/gallon (PCE) • \$1.35/gallon (hydrocarbon-based solvents) • 60% of the 4% state sales tax collected for drycleaning services		Active facilities: \$5,000 to \$15,000, depending on the number of full-time equivalent employees Solvent distributors: \$25,000 Abandoned facilities: \$25,000 Small co-payments (1-3%) for costs between \$200,000 and \$1,000,000	Actual revenue: \$9.9 million/year	\$100,000 minimum No maximum
OREGON • 310 active drycleaners • 130 dry stores • 15 inactive facilities	Annual registration fees: • Any solvent on site prior to 1998, \$500 • PCE on site in the last year, \$500 • 1% gross revenue Solvent fees: PCE: \$10,00 Other: \$2.00	\$1,700	• \$5,000 (if less than 5 employees • \$5,000 (if more than 5 employees), plus \$1,000 for each additional employee up to \$10,000. • Inactive facility, \$10,000	Actual revenue: \$750,000/year Projected revenue: \$1.2 to \$1.5 million	None
SOUTH CAROLINA Registration underway summarized by wholesalers (Note: Drycleaners using petroleumbased solvent had option not to participate.)	Annual registration fees: • \$750 (0 to 4 employees) • \$1,500 (5 – 10 employees) • \$2,250 (> 10 employees) • PLUS 1% tax on retail sales of drycleaning Wholesalers: • \$30/year Solvent fees: • \$10/gallon (PCE) • \$2/gallon (petroleum solvents)	Unknown because of new sales tax	• \$1,000 (if applied before 11/24/05) • \$25,000 (if applied after 11/24/05 until 11/24/06) Deductibles for former sites same as for active sites (based on application date)	Actual revenue: \$1.6 million/yr	1% sales tax to be suspended when fund reaches \$5 million balance; restarts when fund balance < \$1 million.

Entities That Pay Fees	Fees	Average Total Fees per Drycleaner	Deductibles and Insurance Money	Original Projection versus Actual Revenue	Maximum Fund Balance
TENNESSEE • 500 active drycleaners • 20 abandoned drycleaners that have registered and pay fees • 3 chemical distributors	Annual registration fees: • Active drycleaners: Category 1 – \$500 (<75 gal DNAPL, <750 gal LNAPL) Category 2 – \$1,000 (75 to 150 gal DNAPL, 750 to 1,500 gal LNAPL) Category 3 – \$1,500 (>150 gal DNAPL, >1,500 gal LNAPL) • Abandoned drycleaners pay \$1,500. • In-state wholesale distributors pay \$5,500. Solvent fees: • \$1/gallon (LNAPL) • \$10/gallon (DNAPL) Late payment penalties: Payment penalties of up to \$50/day can be charged for every day that a facility is late paying their annual fees or solvent fees. Civil penalties: Solvent suppliers who sell or deliver solvents to unregistered drycleaning facilities can be charged up to \$10,000/incident.	\$2,600	Cat. 1– 5% of the cleanup costs, up to a maximum of \$5,000/site Cat. 2 – 10% of the cleanup costs, up to a maximum of \$10,000/site Cat. 3 – 15% of the cleanup costs, up to a maximum of \$15,000/site If abandoned facility or solvent supplier, 25% of the cleanup costs, up to a maximum of \$25,000 (Note: The deductible percentage is pro-rated until the maximum deductible amount is reached.)	Actual revenue: \$1.3 million/year Projected revenue: \$2.3 million/year	\$100,000 Min. \$10 million Max.
TEXAS • 3,851 registered facilities or drop stations (FY06) • 29 solvent distributors	Annual registration fee: DC Facility \$2,500 (receipts > \$100,000) \$250 (receipts < \$100,000 \$250 (opted-out facilities) Drop Stations \$750 (owned by facility); \$250 (not owned by facility) \$150 (opted-out drop stations) CO2 facilities not registered Solvent fees: \$15/gal (PCE) \$5/gal (petroleum)	Est. \$1,900	\$5,000	Actual revenue: \$7.3 million/year Projected revenue: \$6.1 million/year	NA NA

Entities That Pay Fees	Fees	Average Total Fees per Drycleaner	Deductibles and Insurance Money	Original Projection versus Actual Revenue	Maximum Fund Balance
WISCONSIN • 238 licensed drycleaners • 10 solvent suppliers	Annual license fee: 1.8% of their gross receipts on drycleaning services. Solvent fees: • \$5.00/gallon (PCE) • \$0.75/gallon (other solvents) One-time solvent inventory fee: In 1998, an inventory fee was collected from drycleaners for solvents that were in their possession on October 14, 1997	\$3,400	\$10,000 if the cleanup is less than \$200,000 Additional 8% if the cleanup costs are between \$200,000 and \$400,000 Additional 10% if the cleanup costs are over \$400,000	Actual revenue: \$1.1 million/year Projected revenue: \$1.0 to \$1.2 million/year	None

Table 3: Program Administration

State and Contact Name	Annual Administration Costs	Lead Programs / Web Page	Prioritization	Number of Applicants	Assessment Initiated	Remedial Action Initiated	Sites Closed (NFA)
ALABAMA Pamela Wilson 334-271-7987	\$180,000/year	Department of Environmental Management/Environmental Assessment Section www.adem.state.al.us	Give information to DC oversight board; ADEM does it based on score from Initial Investigation	101 as of 05/01/05	11	1	1
CONNECTICUT Dimple Desai 860-270-8151	\$100,000	Connecticut Department of Economic and Community Development http://www.state.ct.us/ecd/infrastructure/drycleaning.htm	Evaluated by DECD staff: • Risk to public health • Magnitude of problem • Effectiveness of proposal • Availability of funds				
FLORIDA William E. Burns, Jr. 850-245-8927	\$550,000 5.5%	Department of Environmental Protection Division of Waste Management <u>www.dep.state.fl.us/waste/categories/drycleaning</u>	DRASTIC – scoring system based on distance to water supply well and capacity of well	1,566 Applicants 1,422 Eligible	305	150	100
ILLINOIS Pat Eriksen 712-224-3292	\$890,000 18%	Illinois Dry Cleaner Environmental Response Trust Fund Council www.cleanupfund.org	Numerical score based on risk to human health and the environment	788	788	25	122

State and Contact Name	Annual Administration Costs	Lead Programs / Web Page	Prioritization	Number of Applicants	Assessment Initiated	Remedial Action Initiated	Sites Closed (NFA)
KANSAS Leo Henning 785-296-1914	\$175,000 14%	Department of Health and Environment Bureau of Environmental Remediation www.kdhe.state.ks.us/dryclean	Numerical score based on risk to human health and the environment	121	64	28	8
MINNESOTA Allen Dotson 651-296-7735	\$24,000 3%	MN Pollution Control Agency Superfund Program/Voluntary Investigation and Cleanup Program http://www.pca.state.mn.us/cleanup/dryclean.html	Not a problem yet	54	40	29	12
MISSOURI Scott Huckstep 573-522-1597	Avg. of \$229,000/year	Missouri Department of Natural Resources Hazardous Waste Program http://www.dnr.mo.gov/env/hwp/dert/hwpvcp-dryclean.htm	Numerical score based on cost-benefit analysis, risk to human health and the environment, and present and future use of affected aquifer or surface water	23	11	2	0

State and Contact Name	Annual Administration Costs	Lead Programs / Web Page	Prioritization	Number of Applicants	Assessment Initiated	Remedial Action Initiated	Sites Closed (NFA)
NORTH CAROLINA John Powers 919-508-8470	\$672,000 Up to 20% (\$1.98 million) allowed	Department of Environment and Natural Resources Division of Waste Management/Superfund Section www.ncdsca.org	Numerical system based on risk to human health and the environment	149	130	12	0
OREGON Dick DeZeeuw 503-229-6240	\$105,000 14%	Department of Environmental Quality Land Quality Division www.deq.state.or.us/wmc/cleanup/ dry0.htm	Numerical score based on risk to human health and the environment	47	30	21	15
SOUTH CAROLINA Lisa Appel 803-896-4060 866-DHECDRY	\$111,000 13%	South Carolina Department of Health and Environmental Control Bureau of Land and Waste Management http://www.scdhec.net/eqc/lwm/html/dryclean.html	Numerical system based on risk to human health through groundwater, surface water and direct contact exposure mechanisms Also tier-based prioritization system based on risk	404	40	7	3

State and Contact Name	Annual Administration Costs	Lead Programs / Web Page	Prioritization	Number of Applicants	Assessment Initiated	Remedial Action Initiated	Sites Closed (NFA)
TENNESSEE Nancy Frazier 615-253-3876	\$200,000 16%	Department of Environment and Conservation Division of Remediation www.state.tn.us/environment/permits/dcerp. shtml	Numerical score based on risk to human health and the environment	75	70	32	18
TEXAS Mike Leckie 512-239-2273 Dan Switek 512-239-4132	15% (year 1) 10% (after year 1)	Texas Commission on Environmental Quality Remediation Division, Site Assessment and Management Section www.tnrcc.state.tx.us/permitting/remed/vcp/dryclean.html	Ranking and other factors to be determined	N/A	NA	NA	NA
WISCONSIN Jeff Soellner 608-266-1967	\$240,000 22%	Department of Natural Resources Bureau for Remediation and Redevelopment www.dnr.state.wi.us/org/aw/rr	Date of application High, Medium, Low Risk	134	134	57	22