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The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 

 The Gramm-Leach-Bliley Financial Services Modernization Act of 1999, Pub. L. 

106-102, 113 U.S. Stat. 1338 (1999) (GLBA), provides for the modernization of the 

provision of various financial services, including insurance.  With respect to licensing of 

insurance producers, GLBA mandates that a majority of the states enact uniform laws and 

regulations governing the licensure of individuals and entities authorized to sell and 
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solicit the purchase of insurance within the State; or enact reciprocity laws and 

regulations governing the licensure of nonresident individuals and entities authorized to 

sell and solicit insurance within those states.  If states did not enact uniform laws and 

regulations or enact a system of reciprocal licensing by November 12, 2002, the National 

Association of Registered Agents and Brokers (NARAB) would be established to provide 

a mechanism through which uniform licensing, appointment, continuing education and 

other insurance producer qualification requirements and conditions can be adopted and 

applied on a multi-state basis.  

 In December 2002, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) 

adopted the Uniform Resident Licensing Standards in an effort to move all states from 

reciprocity to uniform licensing requirements consistent with GLBA.  The producer 

licensing working group created the Uniformity Subgroup in 2004 with the charge of 

working with all states to change laws, regulations and work processes to implement all 

uniform standards by December 2006.  Of the 37 uniform standards adopted by the 

NAIC, New Jersey has adopted 29.  The Department of Banking and Insurance 

(Department) is proposing amendments to N.J.A.C. 11:17-1 through 3 in order to 

implement the remaining eight standards.  These include: 

  1. Changing prelicensing education mandated class hours to 20 hours 

per line of authority; 

  2. Allowing self study and internet online courses for prelicensing 

education; 

  3. Allowing waiver of prelicensing education only (not testing) for 

several additional insurance professional designations; 
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  4. Requiring 24 hours of continuing education biennially for resident 

producers, with three of those hours in ethics;  

  5. Requiring that continuing education compliance be biennial and 

tied to the renewal date;  

  6. For limited lines that have been adopted as “core limited lines” by 

the NAIC, to use the uniform definition of such coverages; 

  7. Changing the producer licensing term to a biennial period; and 

  8. Changing expiration dates for new and existing individual 

licensees to the last day of the birth month of the producer, and for business entity 

licensees to May 31. 

 In addition, the Department is proposing amendments to update and clarify the 

rules and to make other necessary changes to reflect the amendments summarized herein, 

including the collection of an agency appointment and termination fees pursuant to 

N.J.S.A. 17:22A-44. 

 All of the amendments, summarized more completely below, will help ensure that 

New Jersey’s producer licensing requirements reflect the national standards adopted by 

the NAIC, consistent with the requirements of GLBA.  A summary of the proposed 

amendments follows. 

 

Subchapter 1.  General Provisions 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-1.2 is proposed to be amended to include definitions of 

“authorized submitter” (with respect to authorized submitters for online applications); 

“car rental insurance” and “travel insurance” (which will replace “ticket insurance”); 
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“electronic online submission;”  and “National Producer Number” or “NPN.”  The 

Department also is proposing a definition of “controlling interest” for purposes of 

N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32e to provide an ownership threshold of 10 percent or more.  This 

reflects the NAIC standard used elsewhere in the proposed amendments as set forth 

below, as well as NAIC standards and New Jersey law standards for determining control 

in other contexts (see N.J.S.A. 17:27A-1). 

 In addition, the definition of “branch office” is proposed to be amended to delete 

the reference to “resident” to clarify that nonresidents with New Jersey branch offices 

should register with the Department as well. 

 

Subchapter 2.  Licensing Rules 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1 is proposed to be amended to provide for a biennial license for 

licenses issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2007, with expiration on the last day of 

the birth month of the producer or, in the case of business entities, on May 31.  In 

addition, if the birth month biennially is less than 18 months from the date of issuance or 

renewal, the license shall expire in the birth month of the following year.  Similar 

provisions are proposed with respect to business entity licenses.  The existing procedures 

continue to remain for licenses issued or renewed prior to January 1, 2007.  These 

changes are intended to implement the uniform standards for two-year licenses, with birth 

month for expiration of individual licenses and a date certain for business entity licenses.  

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1(b) is proposed to be deleted as no longer necessary.  This 

subsection provides that each license issued shall contain an expiration date.  This is no 

longer necessary in that the Department intends to cease including an expiration date on 
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the actual license and issuing a new license document for each license period.  The 

license issued shall remain in effect subject to the requirements in proposed N.J.A.C. 

11:17-2.1(d).  The subsection proposed to be deleted also provides that an initial license 

shall be deemed effective as of the date of issuance of any temporary authority issued 

pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.4.  This provision is being revised and recodified at 

proposed N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1(e), which provides that an initial license shall be deemed 

effective as of the date of issuance of any temporary authority if the application for 

licensure and applicable fees are received by the Department prior to expiration of the 

temporary authority.  This proposed amendment codifies current practice that if a 

licensee receives temporary authority, the licensee must timely apply for licensure to 

keep the license in effect without lapse. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.1(d) is proposed to provide that an insurance producer license 

shall remain in effect unless revoked or suspended as long as the applicable renewal fee 

is timely paid and, in the case of resident individual insurance producers, education 

requirements are timely satisfied.  This proposed amendment similarly reflects current 

procedures and N.J.S.A. 17:22A-33b. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.2(a)9 is proposed to be amended to revise the definition of 

“limited lines” authority to add as limited lines “car rental insurance” and “travel 

insurance” for licenses issued or renewed effective on or after January 1, 2007.  These 

definitions will replace “ticket insurance” as a limited line, which will apply only for 

licenses issued or renewed prior to January 1, 2007.  These proposed amendments reflect 

the definitions of these terms adopted by the NAIC. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.2(c) is proposed to be revised to clarify that a person must 
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maintain an active producer license with variable life and variable annuity authority in 

order to be authorized to transact business regarding contracts on a variable basis.  In 

addition, references to producers licensed with life authority prior to November 4, 2002 

are proposed to be deleted as no longer necessary. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.2(d), which relates to insurers submitting requests for limited 

insurance representatives until June 30, 2003 and to registered limited insurance 

representatives qualifying and applying for licensure as a limited line producer by 

January 1, 2004, is proposed to be deleted as no longer necessary. 

 N.J.AC. 11:17-2.3(a)1 is proposed to be amended to specifically provide that 

applications may be in the form of electronic online submissions, refer to “authorized 

submitters” for electronic submissions, and to provide that application requirements 

apply to all producer applicants.  This paragraph is also proposed to be amended to 

provide that where a nonresident applicant submits a copy of the application submitted to 

the home state, it must be accompanied by a statement certifying to truthfulness and 

accuracy of all responses to the questions concerning the applicant’s character and fitness 

for licensure as of the date of the submission.  This requires that the applicant certify that 

relevant information has not changed from the time the original application was filed in 

the applicant’s home state to the time of application in this state.  In addition, paragraph 

(a)5, as well as paragraph (b)4, are proposed to be amended to recognize electronic 

fingerprinting as acceptable fingerprint forms to reflect current standards.  Further, 

paragraph (a)2 is proposed to be amended to provide that the applicant must apply for a 

license within one year of passing the examination.  This proposed amendment 

reinstitutes language inadvertently deleted as part of the adoption of amendments in 
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2002, and will once again reflect current practice.   

 The rule is also proposed to be amended at N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.3(a)2 to specifically 

refer to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-35 for purposes of waivers from prelicensing education and 

exam requirements for resident applicants. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.3(b)1 and 4 are proposed to be amended to require the name, 

address and license reference number, if any, of all persons owning 10 percent or more of 

a business entity, rather than five percent, to reflect the uniform standard developed by 

the NAIC. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.3(b)3 is proposed to be amended to provide that a business 

entity applicant applying for a non-resident license is required to provide a certification 

evidencing that the applicant is authorized in the home state to transact business with 

comparable authorities only if such verification is not available on the Producer 

Licensing Database maintained by the NAIC.  This eliminates filing information 

otherwise available to the Department. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.4(b) is proposed to be amended to extend the time within which 

a nonresident producer who changes his or her status to a resident of New Jersey must 

notify the Department to 30 days (from 20 days), require that such notification include 

not only change of addresses but contact information as well, and require that the 

producer notify the Department of the request to qualify as a resident within 90 days of 

the change in resident status.  The proposed amendments also require that the licensee 

submit completed criminal history requests and fingerprint forms, which includes 

electronic fingerprinting.  The proposed amendments also provide that the existing 

nonresident license shall remain in effect until receipt of the required information, upon 
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receipt of which, the status of the licensee is changed from nonresident to resident.  The 

existing provision that the licensee may continue to act as an insurance producer for a 

period of 90 days from the date of notification and the ability of Commissioner to extend 

this time is proposed to be deleted.  The proposed amendments reflect existing 

procedures for changes in resident status.  In addition, the subsection heading is proposed 

to be amended to add a reference to change in residence status as a matter of form. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.5 is proposed to be amended to reflect the ability of producers to 

renew licenses through electronic submissions and to add references to owner or 

designated responsible producer for a licensed business entity, and to refer to authorized 

submitters for online submissions, to reflect current terminology and other proposed 

amendments.  In addition, the Department proposes to revise the citation reference for 

continuing education requirements to correct a printing error. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.5(c) is proposed to be deleted.  This subsection provides that 

any licensee who does not desire to apply for license renewal shall notify the Department 

by submitting the renewal application signed, dated and marked “Do Not Renew.”  The 

Department believes that this requirement is no longer necessary in that if a license is not 

renewed, it expires.  This proposed change eliminates unnecessary filings.  In addition, 

existing subsections (d) and (e) are proposed to be recodified as subsections (c) and (d). 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.6 is proposed to be amended to provide for completing 

applications for additional authorities through an online electronic submission process.  

In addition, references to filing the original license are proposed to be deleted since 

licenses are no longer printed in a way to allow changes to be made on them and returned 

to the Department.  In lieu thereof, notice with specified information is proposed to be 
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required as part of the application for additional authority.  In addition, the rule is 

proposed to be amended to provide language previously inadvertently deleted that 

applicants must apply for a license within one year of the examination.   

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.7(f) is proposed to be amended to provide that requirements for 

business addresses and notification of a change of mailing or location address, shall also 

include changes in phone number and e-mail address.  In addition, subsection (g) is 

amended to provide that a change in address may be provided through electronic 

submission or by submitting a written request signed by the producer or a licensed owner, 

officer, partner or designated responsible producer of the business entity indicating the 

change required and, in the event of a name change, appropriate supporting 

documentation of the change.  This is in lieu of returning a copy of the original license 

and noting a change on the original license for the reasons set forth above. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.8, regarding the registration of branch offices, is proposed to be 

amended to refer to car rental insurance and travel insurance, which will replace the 

designation of “ticket insurance” for licenses issued or renewed on or after January 1, 

2007; and to refer to registration of branch offices, rather than the issuance of a 

certificate, in that the Department no longer sends certificates of registration to individual 

offices.  Finally, the rule is proposed to be amended to extend the time for a licensee to 

notify the Department of the closing of any branch office to 30 days, rather than 20 days, 

to reflect the timeframes set forth elsewhere in the chapter. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.9(a)2 is proposed to be amended to provide that an insurer 

contracting with a licensed insurance producer shall be responsible to advise the 

Department of that relationship by filing the notice within 15 days after execution of the 
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contract or within 15 days of when the first insurance application is submitted by the 

producer.  This reflects the national standard adopted by the NAIC.  The rule is also 

proposed to be amended to refer to the license reference number as a matter of form.  In 

addition, the rule is proposed to be amended to provide for a fee, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 

17:22A-44 and as set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12, to be collected from the insurer for 

each appointment.  The Department notes that the New Jersey Insurance producer 

Licensing Act of 2001 (the Act), at N.J.S.A. 17:22A-44, provides that the Commissioner 

of Banking and Insurance (Commissioner) shall, by regulation, set reasonable, necessary 

and appropriate fees to be charged for filing agency appointments, as well as licensing 

insurance producers and processing any other filings or documents required to be 

submitted pursuant to the Act.  Although the proposed fees will be collected from the 

insurer, the insurer and producer may allocate this cost through the agreement between 

the parties. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.9(a)5 is proposed to be added to provide that all appointment 

notifications shall be renewed with the Department annually on May 1.  In addition, the 

proposed amendment provides that insurers shall utilize the online process available 

through the National Producer Registry, and references the applicable renewal fee set 

forth at proposed N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12 to be collected from the insurer.  The Department 

also notes that most states that require appointment also require that such appointments 

be renewed and charge a fee for the necessary processing.  Further, as noted above, the 

insurer and producer may allocate this cost through their agreement.  

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.9(a)6 (currently codified at N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.9(a)5) is proposed 

to be amended to refer to the proposed termination fee to be collected from the insurer at 
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N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12 as a matter of form.   

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.9(a)6 through 8 are proposed to be recodified as paragraphs (a)7 

through 9. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.11 is proposed to be amended to provide for the fingerprint 

requirements through electronic fingerprint scans through a vendor approved by the 

Department, with payment of the applicable fee.  The rule is also proposed to be amended 

to provide that fingerprints shall be submitted for each officer, director, partner or owner 

of 10 percent or more of the organization, rather than five percent as is currently 

provided.  This reflects the current procedures utilized for fingerprinting by the State 

Police and Federal authorities, which are no longer using or are phasing out the use of 

paper fingerprint cards, and reflects the NAIC uniform standards for ownership interest.  

In addition, the rule is proposed to be amended to provide that a licensed producer or a 

license applicant need only provide documentation pertaining to bankruptcies involving 

funds held on behalf of others to reflect the uniform application developed by the NAIC. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.11(a)5 is proposed to refer to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-45 as this statute 

also sets forth penalties that may be imposed by the Commissioner under the Act. 

 The Department is also proposing new N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.11(a)6 to provide that all 

licensed producers shall otherwise comply with the criminal and administrative action 

reporting requirements set forth at N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a(18) and 17:22A-47 as a matter 

form.  

 Similarly, N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.11(c) is proposed to be amended to require that 

business entities notify the Department within 30 days of the addition or deletion of 

licensed or unlicensed officers, directors, partner or owners of 10 percent, rather than five 
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percent, or more of the licensed organization, to reflect changes made to other rules in the 

chapter.  In addition, notification is expressly required only for resident business entities 

to reflect the Department’s existing requirements. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12 is proposed to be amended to revise and add new fees to 

reflect the new biennial license and to reflect the reduced costs to the Department for 

submission of applications and requests for changes through electronic online 

submissions rather than paper filings.  As noted above, N.J.S.A. 17:22A-44 provides that 

the Commissioner shall set reasonable and appropriate fees for processing filings, 

including agency appointments, and documents required to be submitted under the Act. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.13 is proposed to be amended to change the word “renewals” to 

read “renewal,” and to make other punctuation changes as a matter of form. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.14(d) is proposed to be amended to provide that in the event a 

license is lost or destroyed, the licensee may request a duplicate by submitting a “signed,” 

rather than “certified,” statement attesting to the loss, as a matter of form. 

 

Subchapter 3.  Professional Qualifications 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.1(c) is proposed to be amended to require that an application for 

approval of an insurance education provider shall also include copies of the course 

curriculum, and a description of the methods that the provider will use to document that 

the student has satisfactorily mastered the course content for each line of authority for 

which prelicensing education shall be offered.  In addition, N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.1(e)4 is 

proposed to be amended to provide that, as part of the renewal application of an insurance 

education provider offering prelicensing education, copies of the course curriculum must 
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be provided as is set forth above.  These provisions reflect the uniform standards adopted 

by the NAIC. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.2(a) is proposed to be amended to make appropriate references 

to classroom facilities to recognize that classes may also be provided online and that 

certain requirements set forth in the rule would only apply to classroom courses of study.  

In addition, the rule is proposed to be amended to provide that each provider offering 

prelicensing education courses shall provide each prospective student with a written 

outline of available remedies for students failing the State licensing examination during 

the registration process, or earlier upon request.  At paragraph (a)7, reference to N.J.A.C. 

11:17-3.4(k) is also proposed to be deleted as no longer necessary, as that rule is 

proposed to deleted in light of the availability of online classes.  Further, N.J.A.C. 11:17-

3.2(c) is proposed to be amended to provide that the insurance education program shall 

issue to each student a statement, rather than a signature of the student and the instructor, 

verifying completion of the course, and that the instructor is satisfied that the student 

knows the material.  In addition, the Department proposes to delete the requirement that 

the education provider provide a statement signed by an instructor that the student was 

instructed for the number of hours indicated on the certificate, that the instructor, based 

upon the results of an objective evaluation, is satisfied that the student knows the 

material, and that the student has received at least 70 percent minimum passing course 

grade with respect to the prelicensing test, as the Department believes this is no longer 

necessary. 

The Department also proposes to amend the rule to include a new subsection (d) 

to provide that education programs shall issue to each student who has successfully 
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completed a continuing education course a certificate verifying completion of the course, 

which may be provided by electronic means, and which shall contain the information set 

forth in the proposed amendment.  This change reflects current procedures. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4 is proposed to be amended to revise the number of hours for 

prelicensing education effective January 1, 2007 to be a minimum of 20 hours to reflect 

the uniform standards adopted by the NAIC, as well as to make other changes to the 

references to the licensing authorities to reflect the current designations.  In addition, 

N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(c)3 is amended to require producers applying for property authority to 

demonstrate satisfactory knowledge of flood insurance to qualify for licensure to comply 

with Section 207 of the Federal Flood Insurance Reform Act of 2004. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(e) is proposed to be amended to limit the exemption for 

prelicensing education or examination to the provisions set forth in N.J.S.A. 17:22A-35 

by restating those exemptions in the rule, and deleting the current exemption, to reflect 

the uniform standards adopted by the NAIC. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(g) is proposed to be amended to provide additional standards 

for waiver of the courses set forth in subsections (b), (c) and (d) to reflect the current 

standards adopted by the NAIC. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(h) is proposed to be amended to provide that applicants 

seeking a waiver from the courses otherwise required shall continue to submit a recent 

certification of license status or letter of “clearance” (rather than letter of “severance,” to 

correct a printing error) unless such information is available on the Producer Licensing 

Database maintained by the NAIC.  The subsection is also proposed to be amended to 

require that applicants seeking a waiver submit adequate proof of having earned one of 
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the required designations, which may include an official document or transcript issued by 

the organization conferring the designation.  

N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(i) is proposed to be amended to provide that, if a waiver is 

approved, the letter of approval shall be submitted when taking the examination for a line 

of authority, rather than attaching it to the producer license application when submitted to 

the Department, to reflect current procedures.  

N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(j) is proposed to be amended to provide that waivers shall 

expire in 90 days, rather than 60 days, from date of issuance.  The reference to extensions 

not exceeding an additional period of 30 days is proposed to be deleted.  These proposed 

changes reflect current procedures. 

N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(k), which provides for waiver of classroom study, is proposed 

to be deleted, in that classroom courses are no longer mandatory. 

N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(l) is proposed to be recodified at subsection (k). 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.5 is proposed to be amended to refer to travel insurance and car 

rental insurance, and to delete specific requirements related to examinations to provide 

more flexibility, including the number of times per month examinations must be offered, 

number of administration centers, and the specific locations of the examination centers.  

In addition, the rule is proposed to be amended to provide that the examination contract 

vendor shall provide score reports to all passing and failing candidates as soon as 

practical following the examination, but in no event more than five calendar days after 

each test date, rather than within 15 days.  This reflects current practice utilized by 

contract vendors. 

 The rule is also proposed to be amended to provide that the contract vendor 
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provide to the Department specified information in a format acceptable to the 

Department.  In addition, reference to the Department of Insurance is revised to read 

Department of Banking and Insurance to reflect the proper name of the Department.  

Furthermore, the rule is proposed to be amended to permit the contract vendor to deliver 

to the Department or its designee electronic records, in a format prescribed by the 

Department, of the test registration data, including to whom a temporary work authority 

has been issued, by the next business day following the date of the test, rather than within 

30 days of the test, to reflect current procedures with contract vendors and allow for 

applicants to make timely online application for licensure. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.5(c) is proposed to be deleted.  This provides that applicants 

holding a recognized professional designation described in N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.7 are 

exempt from the licensing examination requirements.  As noted previously, the only 

accepted standards for exemption are set forth in N.J.S.A. 17:22A-35.  In addition, 

subsection (d) is proposed to be deleted.  This subsection provides that applicants 

previously licensed as nonresidents who are applying as a resident shall apply for a 

waiver of prelicensing education and pass the New Jersey law and practice portion of any 

required examination for the authorities requested within 90 days of establishing New 

Jersey as a home state.  This provision is no longer necessary because testing for 

nonresidents becoming residents is not allowed under the uniform standards unless after 

90 days.  The exemptions from testing and education are now set forth in proposed 

N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(e).  Finally,  various changes to this rule are proposed to be made to 

reflect changes in codification. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6 is proposed to be amended to revise the time periods for 
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continuing education credits for licenses issued on or after January 1, 2007, to reflect the 

current uniform standards for continuing education.  

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(a) is proposed to be amended to require resident individual 

insurance producers who sell flood insurance to complete a three-hour continuing 

education course within the two-year period of initial license or renewal on or after 

January 1, 2007 related to flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance Program, in 

accordance with the requirements of Section 207 of the Federal Flood Insurance Reform 

Act of 2004. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(e) is proposed to be amended to refer to “license period” 

rather than “four years” to reflect differing periods of licensure. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(f)3 is proposed to be amended to provide that, effective 

January 1, 2007, each request for approval of a continuing education course shall be 

charged a processing fee of $20.00.  This reflects costs to the Department for review and 

approval of such courses.  It should be noted that most states charge for course 

submissions and approvals.  In addition, paragraph (f)6 is proposed to be amended to 

provide that, effective January 1, 2007, courses approved shall be approved for a period 

of two years from the approval date of the course.  The rule also provides for a renewal 

fee of $20.00.  This reflects the national standard for providing a limited approval period 

for courses and a fee to reflect processing costs to the Department. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(g) is proposed to be amended to provide that the insurance 

education director or authorized personnel for an approved education provider shall 

report the name and producer license reference number of persons completing the 

continuing education course within five business days of course completion, rather than 
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within 30 days, to reflect the current national standard and standards set forth elsewhere 

in the chapter. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(i) is proposed to be amended to provide that written 

notification from the Department to the licensee that information pertinent to his or her 

continuing education obligation is available at any time via a secure internet connection 

shall satisfy the requirement that the Department issue to individual resident producers an 

accounting which identifies certain information. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.6(k) is proposed to be amended to delete the provision that the 

Department shall, at least four months prior to renewal of a license, issue a statement to 

individual resident producers indicating whether the continuing education requirement 

for renewal has been met.  The Department believes that this is no longer necessary 

because producers will now have access online to this information at any time.  With 

respect to credits for courses that the producer asserts were not credited, this rule is also 

proposed to be amended to refer only to courses completed prior to the renewal of the 

producer’s license.  This reflects the requirement that continuing education requirements 

must be completed prior to renewal of the license. 

 The Department is proposing to make other changes to this rule as a matter of 

form. 

 Finally, N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.7, regarding recognized professional designations, is 

proposed to be repealed as no longer required.  This rule currently provides that 

individuals holding specified professional designations may qualify for waivers of the 

prelicensing education and testing requirements otherwise required.  The waiver 

provisions in proposed N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(e) reflect the uniform standards adopted by the 
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NAIC, which provide that applicants holding specified designations may be exempted 

from the prelicensing education requirements, but may not have the testing requirements 

waived. 

 A 60-day comment period is provided for this notice of proposal, and therefore, 

pursuant to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5, the proposal is not subject to the provisions of 

N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.1 and 3.2 governing rulemaking calendars. 

Social Impact 

 The proposed amendments and repeal revise the existing producer licensing rules 

to reflect the current uniform standards adopted by the NAIC and other states to help 

ensure consistency with the mandate of GLBA.  The Department believes that the 

proposed amendments and repeal will benefit producers, insurance education and 

examination providers, and the Department by providing a uniform set of standards for 

filing applications, education, testing and licensure, reflecting the national standard, 

including the ability to submit information online and provide and take classes online.  

This, in turn, will help provide more certainty to applicants, licensees, and insurance 

education and examination providers, as well as the Department, regarding the 

requirements for obtaining and maintaining an insurance producer license in this State.  

The framework proposed to be established will streamline the application and renewal 

process, thus benefiting applicants, producers, insurance education and examination 

providers, and the Department. 

Economic Impact 

 Generally, the proposed amendments and repeal should benefit applicants, 

licensees, and insurance education and examination providers.  These individuals and 



 

 

20

 

entities will continue to be required to bear any costs associated with complying with the 

existing rules and the proposed amendments, including paying the currently required and 

proposed new fees and providing information within the timeframes proposed to be 

prescribed.  However, the Department notes that the timeframes reflect the times 

currently utilized for the submission or provision of required information and the fees 

reflect costs to the Department in establishing and monitoring the system for the new 

biennial license required to be issued, as well as other requirements under the uniform 

standards reflected in the proposed amendments.  In addition, the proposed fees reflect 

that submission of information online is less costly to the Department than the 

submission and processing of paper applications and renewals.  Also, as noted in the 

Summary above, the fees for filings related to the appointment and termination of agents 

may be allocated by agreement between the appointing insurer and the agent.  All 

regulated entities have the option of complying with the required provisions either 

through electronic online submissions or through the continued use of paper filing.  The 

Department anticipates that, given the extensive use of electric online submissions in 

other contexts, such available procedures will be utilized with respect to the producer 

licensing requirements where provided.  This, in turn, will ultimately reduce costs to 

applicants, licensees, other regulated entities and the Department.  Furthermore, by 

providing the option for classroom instruction to be conducted via the internet rather than 

solely in a classroom, insurance education providers may reduce costs by providing 

courses online, rather than through maintenance and provision of physical structures and 

incurring costs related thereto.  Similarly, those seeking to take the courses can eliminate 

costs associated with travel to and from continuing education and testing centers. 
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 The Department will incur costs in establishing the new electronic systems set 

forth in the proposed amendments.  The Department anticipates that these costs will be 

partially defrayed by the fees proposed to be charged.  

Federal Standards Statement 

 A Federal standards analysis is not required because the proposed amendments 

and repeal are not subject to any Federal requirements or standards.  Although GLBA 

provides for ramifications if states do not adopt uniform standards, specific licensing 

standards are not established under any Federal law. 

Jobs Impact 

 The Department does not anticipate that any jobs will be generated or lost as a 

result of the proposed amendments.  However, to the extent that the regulatory 

framework for licensing of producers set forth the proposed amendments and repeal 

streamlines the process, it may encourage more individuals or businesses to enter into this 

area and obtain such licensing, thereby increasing the number of licensed insurance 

producers in this State and support personnel related thereto. 

 The Department invites interested parties to submit any data or studies concerning 

the jobs impact of the proposed amendments together with their written comments on 

other aspects of the proposal. 

Agriculture Industry Impact 

 The proposed amendments and repeal will not have any impact on the agriculture 

industry in this State. 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

 The proposed amendments and repeal will apply to “small businesses” as that 
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term is defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq.  The small 

businesses to which the proposed amendments and repeal will apply will be New Jersey 

resident business entity producers, insurance education providers, and independent 

examination vendors resident in this State.  These entities will be required to incur any 

costs associated with complying with the proposed amendments and repeal as set forth in 

the Economic Impact above.  The Department does not believe that addition professional 

services will be required in order to comply with the proposed amendments and repeal.  

Many of the costs of compliance with the proposed amendments and repeal are similar to 

those associated with compliance with the existing requirements. 

 The proposed amendments and repeal, as described in the Summary above, reflect 

the uniform standards adopted by the NAIC established pursuant to GLBA for states to 

adopt uniform standards for the licensing of insurance producers and continue to 

implement N.J.S.A. 17:22A-26 et seq.  The purpose of these requirements is to ensure 

that individuals and entities required to be licensed as insurance producers possess the 

requisite knowledge regarding the requirements associated with particular lines of 

insurance and otherwise are familiar with the requirements of New Jersey law regarding 

the sale, negotiation or effectuation of insurance in this State.  These requirements do not 

vary based on business size.  The existing regulatory framework established by N.J.S.A. 

17:22A-26 et seq. and implemented by N.J.A.C. 11:17-1 through 3 does not provide any 

differentiation in compliance requirements based on business size.  Accordingly, the 

proposed amendments provide no differentiation in compliance requirements based on 

business size. 

Smart Growth Impact 
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 The proposed amendments and repeal will not have an impact on the achievement 

of smart growth or the implementation of the State Development and Redevelopment 

Plan. 

Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions 

indicated in brackets [thus]): 

11:17-1.2 Definitions 

 (a) (No change.) 

 (b) The following words and terms, when used in this chapter, shall have the 

following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

… 

 “Authorized submitter” means a person authorized by a producer or 

applicant to enter the producer or applicant’s information onto electronic online 

applications, renewals  and other electronic transactions that are approved for use 

by the Department.  An authorized submitter shall obtain all information required 

in the electronic transaction from the applicant or named producer or, for business 

entities, from a designated licensed responsible producer, officer, director, partner 

or owner of  ten percent or more of the business entity.  

 “Branch office” means an office in New Jersey other than a principal office where 

a [resident] licensee conducts insurance business.  

… 

 “Car rental insurance” means insurance offered, sold or solicited in 

connection with and incidental to the rental of rental cars for a specified duration, 

whether at the rental office or by pre-selection of coverage in master, corporate, 
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group or individual agreements that: is non-transferable; applies only to the rental 

car that is the subject of the rental agreement; and is limited to the following kinds 

of insurance: 

  1. Personal accident insurance for renters and other rental car 

occupants, for accidental death or dismemberment, and for medical expenses 

resulting from an accident that occurs with a rental car during the rental period; 

  2. Liability insurance that provides protection to the renters and 

other authorized drivers of a rental car for liability arising from the operation or 

use of the rental car during the rental period; 

  3. Personal effects insurance that provides coverage to renters 

and other vehicle occupants for loss of, or damage to, personal effects in the rental 

car during the rental period; or 

  4. Roadside assistance and emergency sickness protection 

insurance. 

… 

 “Controlling interest” means, for purposes of N.J.S.A. 17:22A-32e, that an 

officer, director, partner or owner of an entity filing for a producer license owns 10 

percent or more of that entity. 

… 

 “Electronic online submission” means the submission of an initial 

application, renewal, or any other information required by this chapter submitted 

http://www.njdobi.org
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online through the Department’s website, www.njdobi.org, in accordance with the 

instructions therein. 

… 

 “National Producer Number” or “NPN” means a unique identifier assigned 

to each licensed producer by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.  

A producer’s NPN shall be the same in all states in which the producer is licensed.  

… 

 “Travel insurance” means insurance coverage for trip cancellation, trip 

interruption, baggage, life, sickness and accident, disability, and personal effects 

when limited to a specific trip and sold in connection with transportation provided 

by a common carrier. 

 (c) (No change.) 

 

SUBCHAPTER 2. LICENSING RULES 

11:17-2.1 Term of license 

 (a) [The] For licenses issued or renewed prior to January 1, 2007, the 

standard term of an insurance producer license shall be 16 licensing quarters.  Licensing 

quarters shall begin on the first day of February, May, August and November of each 

year.  Licenses shall expire in the fourth year on the last day of the quarter before the 

quarter in which the license was effective. 

 [(b) Each license issued shall contain an expiration date.  An initial license 

shall be deemed effective as of the date of issuance of any temporary authority issued 

pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.4.] 
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 (b) The terms of individual producer licenses are established as set forth 

below. 

  1. The first term of licenses that are initially issued, or of licenses 

that were previously in effect and are initially renewed, on or after January 1, 2007 

shall expire on the last day of the birth month of the producer in the year that will 

result in the term of the license being at least 18 months.   

  2. Commencing on the first license expiration on the last day of 

the birth month of an individual producer as set forth in (b)1 above, all such licenses 

shall thereafter expire biennially on the last day of the birth month of the individual 

producer that is two years subsequent to the preceding expiration date. 

 3. For example, a producer is initially licensed on February 1, 

2007.  His or her birth month is March.  The second birth month after the February 

1, 2007 issue date is March 2008 (less than 18 months).  In this case, the first renewal 

will be March 31, 2009, and subsequent renewals would be on March 31, 2011, 

March 31, 2013, and so on.  If the birth month was September, the second 

September 30 following the February 1, 2007 issue date would be September 30, 

2008, more than 18 months from issuance.  Thus, the license would initially renew 

on September 30, 2008 and thereafter on September 30, 2010, September 30, 2012, 

and so on. 

 (c) The terms of business entity producer licenses are established as set 

forth below. 

  1. The first term of licenses initially issued, or of licenses that 

were previously in effect and are initially renewed, on or after January 1, 2007 shall 
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expire on May 31 of the first year that will result in the term of the license being at 

least 18 months. 

  2. Commencing on the first license expiration on a May 31 date 

as set forth in (c)1 above, all such licenses shall thereafter expire biennially on the 

second May 31 date that is two years subsequent to the preceding expiration date. 

 3. For example, a business entity license renews on February 1, 

2007.  Since the second May 31 following this renewal (May 31, 2008) is less than 18 

months from the prior renewal date, the license would not expire until May 31, 

2009, and subsequent renewals would be on May 31, 2011, May 31, 2013, and so on.  

If the business entity renewed on October 31, 2007, the license would expire on May 

31, 2009, since the license term would be more than 18 months and, if renewed, 

again expire on May 31, 2011, May 31, 2013, and so on. 

 (d) An insurance producer license shall remain in effect unless revoked or 

suspended as long as the renewal fee set forth in N.J.A.C.  11:17-2.12 is timely paid 

and, in the case of resident individual insurance producers, education requirements 

are timely satisfied. 

 (e) An initial license shall be deemed effective as of the date of issuance of 

any temporary authority issued pursuant to N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.4(a) if the application 

for licensure and applicable fees are received by the Department prior to expiration 

of the temporary authority. 

 

11:17-2.2 License authorities 
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 (a) Producers licensed in accordance with the Act and this chapter shall be 

authorized to write the kinds of insurance designated, if qualified by each authority set 

forth below. 

  1. – 8. (No change.) 

  9. Limited lines Authority includes: 

   i. (No change.) 

   ii.  Car rental insurance, for licenses issued or renewed 

effective on or after January 1, 2007; 

   [ii.] iii.  (No change in text.) 

   [iii.] iv. Ticket insurance, for licenses issued or renewed 

prior to January 1, 2007; 

   v. Travel insurance, for licenses issued or renewed 

effective on or after January 1, 2007; 

 Recodify existing iv. – vii. as vi. – ix. (No change in text.) 

 (b)  (No change.) 

 (c) No person shall be authorized to transact business regarding contracts on a 

variable basis unless that person also holds a securities license as required by this State or 

any other state or Federal law, as applicable ,and maintains an active producer license 

in this State with variable life and variable annuity authority.  [Producers licensed 

with life authority prior to November 4, 2002, and who hold a securities license may 

continue to sell variable products until December 31, 2003.  These producers shall 
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qualify and apply for licenses as variable life and variable annuity producers by January 

1, 2004. 

 (d) Insurers may continue to submit requests for limited insurance 

representatives until June 30, 2003.  All limited insurance representatives registered with 

the Department must qualify and apply for licenses as limited line producers by January 

1, 2004.]  

 

11:17-2.3 Application filing requirements for initial licenses 

 (a) Requirements for a first time applicant for an individual license are as 

follows: 

  1. A properly completed application, in a form, including electronic 

online submissions, approved by the Department or the current version of the NAIC 

uniform application for individual [nonresident] producers in effect at the time of 

application, requesting issuance of an insurance producer license with one or more 

authorities, which shall contain the applicant’s legal name, home address, date of birth, 

social security number, business mailing and location address, business trade name, if 

any, and responses to questions concerning the applicant’s character and fitness for 

licensing. The application must be signed, dated and certified to be correct by the 

applicant or, in electronic online submissions, by the authorized submitter.  In lieu of 

the NAIC uniform application, a nonresident applicant may submit a copy of the 

application for licensure submitted to the home state with a statement certifying to the 

truthfulness and accuracy of all responses to the questions concerning the 

applicant’s character and fitness for licensure as of the date of the submission; 



 

 

30

 

  2. If a resident, when required, a certificate evidencing completion of 

an approved course of prelicensing education or a certificate evidencing waiver of that 

requirement; and a certificate evidencing that the applicant has passed the State licensing 

examination for the authority or authorities requested within one year of the 

examination date, or a certificate evidencing waiver of the examination requirement 

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 17:22A-35; 

  3. – 4.  (No change.) 

  5. If a resident, properly completed criminal history requests and 

fingerprint forms in a format prescribed by the Department, which shall include 

electronic fingerprinting;  and 

  6.  (No change)  

 (b) A first time applicant for a business entity license shall submit the 

following: 

  1. A properly completed application in a form, including electronic 

online submissions, approved by the Department or the current version of the NAIC 

uniform application for business entities in effect at the time of application, requesting 

issuance of an insurance producer license for one or more authorities, which shall contain 

the business entity’s legal name; business mailing and location address; other business 

names, if any; names, license reference numbers, if any, and license authorities of each 

licensed officer or partner; names, addresses and license reference numbers, if any, of all 

persons owning [five] 10 percent or more of the business entity; and responses to 

questions concerning the applicant’s character, fitness and financial responsibility.  The 
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application must be dated, signed and certified to be correct by all officers or partners of 

the organization that hold, or have applied for, New Jersey insurance producer licenses.  

In lieu of the NAIC uniform application, a nonresident applicant may submit a copy of 

the application for licensure submitted to the home state; 

  2. (No change.) 

  3. If the applicant is a business entity applying for a nonresident 

license, a certification evidencing that the applicant is authorized in the home state to 

transact insurance business with comparable authorities, if such verification is not 

available on the Producer Licensing Database maintained by the NAIC; 

  4. For resident business entities, properly completed fingerprint forms 

in a format prescribed by the Department, which shall include electronic 

fingerprinting, for each officer, director, partner or owner of [five] 10 percent or more of 

the applicant business entity; 

  5. – 6.  (No change.)  

  (c)  (No change.) 

11:17-2.4 Temporary work authority; change in residence status 

 (a) (No change.) 

 (b) A nonresident licensee, upon moving his or her residence or primary place 

of business into the State of New Jersey and [losing] requesting resident status in [the 

home state] New Jersey, shall within [20] 30 days thereof notify the Department of his or 

her change of address and contact information and [intent] , within 90 days of change 

in resident status  in the prior state, notify the Department of the request to qualify 
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as a resident insurance producer in New Jersey.  The licensee shall submit completed 

criminal history requests and fingerprint forms in a format prescribed by the 

Department, including electronic fingerprinting.  Upon receipt of this information, 

the licensee’s status shall be changed from nonresident to resident.  [Upon such 

notification, the licensee may continue to act as an insurance producer for a period of 90 

days from the date of such notification.  The Commissioner or his or her designee may, 

for good cause shown, extend this time.]  

 

11:17-2.5 License renewal 

 (a) A current licensee shall renew a license in the following manner: 

  1. At least 10 days before the license expiration date, each licensee 

shall submit a properly completed renewal application, including electronic online 

submissions, together with payment of renewal fees in accordance with N.J.A.C. 11:17-

2.12.  The renewal application shall be signed, dated and certified to be correct by the 

licensee or a licensed officer, [or] partner, owner or designated licensed responsible 

producer of a licensed business entity, or an authorized submitter for electronic 

online submissions.  The licensee shall certify that he, she or it continues to be qualified 

in accordance with the insurance laws of New Jersey. 

 (b)  (No change.)  

 [(c) Any licensee who does not desire license renewal shall notify the 

Department by submitting the renewal application signed, dated and marked on the face, 

“Do Not Renew”.] 

 [(d)] (c)  (No change in text.)  
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 [(e)] (d) An applicant who files a late renewal request within one year of 

the license expiration date shall be granted a waiver from the prelicensing education and 

examination requirement set forth in  N.J.A.C. 11:17-[3.2 and 3.3] 3.4 and 3.5. 

 

11:17-2.6 Additional authorities 

 (a) A currently licensed individual producer may obtain additional authorities 

as described in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.2 by submitting a written request to the Department 

or by completing an online application, and by providing the following: 

  [1. His or her current original license, marked to request the additional 

authority or authorities, dated, signed and certified to be correct by the applicant;]  

1.  The producer’s name, residence and business addresses, contact 

information  and New Jersey Producer License Reference Number or National 

Producer Number;  

  2. If a resident, a certificate evidencing completion of an approved 

course of prelicensing education, if required, or a certificate evidencing waiver of this 

requirement, and a certificate evidencing that the applicant has passed the State licensing 

examination for the authority or authorities requested within one year of the 

examination date, or a certificate evidencing waiver of this requirement; 

  3. If a nonresident, certification from the applicant that he, she or it 

holds a current license with comparable authority in the home state; and 

  4.  (No change.)  
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 (b) A currently licensed business entity producer may obtain additional 

authorities as described in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.2 by submitting a written request to the 

Department dated, signed and certified to be correct by a licensed officer, partner, 

owner or designated licensed responsible producer who holds or has applied for that 

authority or by completing an online application, and by providing the following: 

  [1. Its current original license, marked to request the additional 

authority or authorities, dated, signed and certified to be correct by a licensed officer or 

partner who holds or has applied for that authority;]  

1.  The business entity’s name, address, contact information  and New Jersey 

Producer License Reference Number or National Producer Number; and, if signed 

by the designated licensed responsible producer, the New Jersey Producer License 

Reference Number or National Producer Number of the designated licensed 

responsible producer; 

  2. – 3..  (No change.) 

11:17-2.7 Legal and business names; addresses 

 (a) – (e)  (No change.) 

 (f) The requirements for business addresses and notification of change of 

business mailing or location address [and], residence address, phone number and email 

address, are as follows: 

  1. All licensees shall provide the Department with a complete and 

current business mailing address, and, if different, a street or location address, phone 

number and, if applicable, email address.  Individual licensees shall also provide the 
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Department with a complete and current residence address, phone number and, if 

applicable, email address. 

  2. All licensees shall provide in the format prescribed by the 

Department notification of any change of business mailing or location address [and], 

residence address, phone numbers and email addresses.  within 30 days of the change 

and maintain a proof of notification for five years or until receipt of a [new or renewed] 

license or other documentation from the Department showing the new address. 

  3.  (No change.)  

 (g) A licensee shall advise the Department of a change of any legal name, 

business name or a change of the address which appears on the license by [noting the 

change on its current original license and returning it to the Department for cancellation 

and reissuance of a new license containing the updated information or by electronic 

means] electronic submission or by submitting a written request signed by the 

producer or a licensed owner, officer, partner or designated licensed responsible 

producer of the business entity indicating the change required and, in the event of a 

name change,  appropriate  supporting documentation of the change.  No fee shall be 

required for such changes.  If the notice is to change a legal or business name of a 

resident business entity, the business name shall be approved by the Department in 

accordance with (b) above and the hard copy request shall be accompanied by a copy of 

the document filed in the Department of Treasury, Division of Revenue Business 

Services, County Clerk or other authority evidencing that the change has been properly 

recorded or, if the notice is given by electronic means, a copy of the authority shall be 

immediately mailed to the Department. 
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11:17-2.8 Branch offices 

 (a) Except for licensees with authority in only ticket insurance, group 

mortgage cancellation insurance, legal insurance, credit insurance, car rental insurance, 

travel insurance or self-storage personal property insurance, licensees shall file with the 

Department by hard copy or electronic means a branch office registration form within 30 

days before business is first conducted there.  A branch office registration form shall be 

accompanied by the processing fee specified in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12.  The appropriate 

registration form will be prescribed by the Department. 

 (b) Upon receipt of a properly completed branch office registration form and 

fee, the Department shall [issue a branch office certificate] enter information 

confirming the registration of the branch office into its producer licensing database.  

Branch office [certificates] registrations shall expire contemporaneously with the 

producer’s own license.  The branch office [certificate] registration shall not authorize 

the transaction of business at any location other than that named on the accepted 

registration form. 

 (c) The licensee shall advise the Department in writing by hard copy or 

electronic means of the closing of any branch office within [20] 30 calendar days of the 

closing [by returning the branch office certificate for cancellation]. 

 (d) – (e)  (No change.)  

11:17-2.9 Business relationships 

 (a) The agency relationship between company and producer is subject to the 

following requirements: 
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  1.  (No change.)  

  2. An insurance company contracting with a licensed insurance 

producer shall be responsible to advise the Department of that relationship by filing a 

notice within 15 days after execution of the contract or within 15 days after the first 

insurance application is submitted by the producer, on a form prescribed by the 

Department or by using the online appointment and termination system available through 

the National Insurance Producer Registry, incorporated herein by reference, as amended 

and supplemented, located at http://www.licenseregistry.com containing the company’s 

name and license reference number; the producer’s name and license reference number; 

and the effective date of the contract. The form shall contain the name and title of the 

company official who signed and certified the notice.  The fee set forth in N.J.A.C. 

11:17-2.12 for each appointment shall be collected from the insurer.  

  3. – 4.  (No change.)  

  5. All appointment notifications shall be renewed with the 

Department annually on May 1.  An insurer shall utilize the online appointment 

renewal process available through the National Insurance Producer Registry, 

incorporated herein by reference, as amended and supplemented, located at 

http://www.licenseregistry.com  The renewal appointment fee as set forth in 

N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12 shall be collected from the insurer.  All active appointments on 

record with the Department as of April 1 of the same year shall be subject to 

renewal.  

  [5.] 6. The agency contract shall be deemed to continue in effect until a 

notice of termination of that contract is filed by the insurance company with the 

http://www.licenseregistry.com
http://www.licenseregistry.com
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Department on a form prescribed by the Commissioner or by using the online 

appointment and termination system available through the National Insurance Producer 

Registry, incorporated herein by reference, as amended and supplemented, located at 

http://www.licenseregistry.com.  The  fee set forth in N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.12 for each 

termination shall be collected from the insurer.   

 Recodify existing 6. – 8. as 7. – 9.  (No change in text.) 

 (b)  (No change.) 

11:17-2.11 Licensing information requirements 

 (a) The following requirements relate to the provision of criminal history 

information by licensed producers and license applicants. 

  1. An applicant for an initial individual resident license shall [submit 

with his or her initial application New Jersey State Police and Federal fingerprint cards 

and] complete an electronic fingerprint scan through the vendor approved by the 

Department, pay the fees required [to pay] for its processing, and upon request by the 

Department, submit proof of completion. 

  2. An applicant for a resident business entity license shall [submit 

with its application New Jersey State Police and Federal fingerprint cards and the fee 

required to pay for their processing,] complete an electronic fingerprint scan through  

the vendor approved by the Department, pay the fees required for their processing, 

and upon request by the Department, submit proof of completion for each officer, 

director, partner and owner of [five] 10 percent or more of the organization.  Applicants 

who contemporaneously submit resident business entity and resident individual 

applications need not submit duplicates. 

http://www.licenseregistry.com
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  3. – 4.  (No change.) 

  5. Failure to indicate a criminal conviction on the application for an 

insurance producer’s license shall constitute a material misrepresentation and subject a 

licensee to the penalties provided at N.J.S.A. 17:22A-40a and c and 17:22A-45. 

  6. All licensed insurance producers shall otherwise comply with 

the criminal and administrative action reporting requirements set forth at N.J.S.A. 

17:22A-40a(18) and 17:22A-47. 

 (b) Upon request by the Department, a licensed producer or license applicant 

shall supply copies of any documentation pertaining to any bankruptcy involving funds 

held on behalf of others, assignment to creditors, insurance related debt or child support 

action.  Failure to respond to any specific request or to submit documentation requested 

shall constitute grounds for denial of the license application or renewal of the license, or 

suspension or revocation of any current license. 

 (c) Licensed business entities shall notify the Department within 30 days of 

the addition or deletion of any licensed or unlicensed officer, director, partner or owner of 

[five] 10 percent or more of the licensed organization.  [Notification] For resident 

business entities, notification of the addition of any unlicensed officer, director, partner 

or owner of [five] 10 percent or more of the licensed business entity shall be 

accompanied by properly completed fingerprint forms together with the required fee.  

Licensed business entities shall retain evidence of notification for a period of five years 

or, until receipt of documentation from the Department verifying such change, if earlier. 

 (d)  (No change.)  
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11:17-2.12 Fees 

 (a) The following fees shall be payable as set forth in this chapter: 

  1. License fee, not limited line, for a four-year license issued or 

renewed prior to January 1, 2007: $ 300.00;  

  2.  License fee, not limited line, for a biennial license issued or 

renewed on or after January 1, 2007:  $150.00; 

  3.  License fee for limited line only, for a four-year license issued 

or renewed prior to January 1, 2007: $150.00; 

  4. License fee for limited line only, for a biennial license issued or 

renewed on or after January 1, 2007: $75.00; 

  [2.] 5.  Filing or processing initial application, electronic online 

submission: $ 20.00; 

  6. Filing or processing initial application, paper application: 

$40.00; 

  [3.] 7. Additional authority filing, electronic online submission: $20.00;  

  8. Additional authority filing, paper application:  $40.00; 

  [4.] 9. Reinstating terminated license before its stated expiration date, 

electronic online submission: $20.00; 

  10. Reinstating terminated license before its stated expiration date, 

paper submission:  $40.00; 

  [5.] 11.    Any branch office registration: $ 20.00; 
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  [6. Limited line license: $ 150.00;] 

  12. License renewal processing fee for paper renewals:  $20.00; 

  [7.] 13. Late renewal fee, not limited line: $ 100.00; [and] 

  [8.] 14.  Late renewal fee, limited line: $ 50.00; 

  15. Producer company appointment or termination fee, electronic 

online submissions: $25.00;  

  16. Producer company appointment or termination fee, paper 

submission: $35.00; and  

  17. Producer company appointment renewal fee: $25.00. 

 (b) – (d)  (No change.)  

11:17-2.13 Denial of license 

 (a) Whenever it appears from an application, renewal[s] form, attached 

documents or Department records that an applicant has not demonstrated the 

qualifications prescribed in the Act and this chapter, the Department shall advise the 

applicant in writing that the license requested is denied; shall specify the reason for 

denial; and shall further advise the applicant of the right to request a hearing in 

accordance with the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., and the 

Uniform Administrative Procedure Rules, N.J.A.C. 1:1, and the procedure for doing so. 

 (b) – (c)  (No change.)  

11:17-2.14 Surrender and cancellation of license; reinstatement after surrender 

 (a) – (c)  (No change.) 



 

 

42

 

 (d) In the event a license is lost or destroyed, the licensee may request a 

duplicate by submitting a [certified] signed statement attesting to the loss. 

 (e)  (No change.)  

 

SUBCHAPTER 3. PROFESSIONAL QUALIFICATIONS 

11:17-3.1 Approval of insurance education program 

 (a) – (b)  (No change.)  

 (c) Insurance education providers seeking approval to teach courses of 

prelicensing education shall also provide: 

  1.  (No change.)  

  2. The names of the courses, by license authority, which will be 

taught by the insurance education provider, if approved; [and] 

  3. A copy of the enrollment application for the insurance education 

provider, the student contract, and any other agreement between the insurance education 

provider and student; and 

  4.  Copies of the course curriculum and a detailed description of 

the methods that the provider will use to document that the student has 

satisfactorily mastered the course content for each line of authority for which pre-

licensing education shall be offered.  

 (d)  (No change.)  
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 (e) Applications for program approval shall be reviewed to determine 

compliance with the requirements prescribed in this subchapter.  An applicant shall 

supply such additional information or documentation as may be required by the 

Department to determine whether such requirements are met. 

  1. – 3.  (No change.)  

  4. At least 10 days prior to the renewal date, the provider’s insurance 

education director shall submit a properly completed renewal application; and, if 

offering prelicensing education, copies of the course curriculum and a detailed 

description of the methods that the provider will use to  document that the student 

has satisfactorily mastered the course content  for each line of authority for which 

pre-licensing education is offered; and the $ 300.00 renewal fee.  Applications for 

renewal shall be reviewed by the Department in accordance with the procedures 

established in this section for new insurance education provider approval.  Failure to 

submit the renewal application for receipt by the date of expiration shall be deemed to 

establish that the insurance education provider approval has expired, and the provider is 

not thereafter authorized to teach or offer insurance courses to satisfy professional 

qualification requirements for prelicensing or continuing education for producers. 

 

11:17-3.2 Insurance education provider duties and requirements 

 (a) Each approved insurance education provider (except as modified 

hereafter) shall: 

  1. – 4. (No change.)  
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  5. [Use] When using classroom facilities [with], provide sufficient 

lighting, desks, tables and other equipment which are conducive to learning.  Classroom 

facilities shall be open to the Commissioner or his or her designee for monitoring at any 

time; 

  6.  (No change.) 

7. Conduct and administer courses in a manner reasonably calculated to 

assure that certificates or reports of courses attended and completed accurately reflect 

the students’ attendance, for classroom courses of study, and performance.  [Except 

as may be provided consistent with the provisions of  N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.4(k), for 

prelicensing education and for] For classroom or seminar prelicensing education or 

continuing education offerings, an instructor shall be physically present in the 

classroom during the entire course including any tests or examinations; 

  8. (No change.)  

  9. If approved to teach prelicensing courses, provide remedies for 

students who have failed the State licensing examination, which may include review 

courses or additional full courses at reduced rates.  Each provider offering prelicensing 

education courses shall provide each prospective student a written outline of 

available remedies during the registration process or earlier upon request; and 

  10.  (No change.)  

 (b)  (No change.)  
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 (c) An approved insurance education program shall issue to each student who 

has successfully completed a prelicensing education course a certificate which shall 

contain the following: 

  1. – 3.  (No change.)  

  4. [Signatures of the student and] A statement from the instructor, 

authorized personnel, or the insurance education director of the program[;] verifying 

completion of the course and that, based upon the results of an objective evaluation, 

the instructor is satisfied that the student knows the material; and] . 

  5. The course completion date[; and]. 

  [6. A statement signed by an instructor that the student was instructed 

for the number of hours indicated on the certificate, that the instructor is satisfied that the 

student knows the material, and that the student has received at least a 70 percent 

minimum passing course grade on a final examination]. 

 (d) An approved insurance education program shall issue to each student 

who has successfully completed a continuing education course a certificate verifying 

completion of the course.  The certificate may be provided by electronic means and 

shall contain the following: 

  1.  The name and provider authorization number of the approved 

education provider; 

  2. The course name and authorization code; 

  3. The student’s name and New Jersey license reference number; 

  4. The course completion date; and 
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  5. The signature of the course instructor or authorized insurance 

education director of the approved education provider.    

 

11:17-3.4 Prelicensing education 

 (a) Except as provided in (e) through (g) below, each applicant for a resident 

insurance producer’s license that is not solely for a limited line product shall pass a 

course of prelicensing education with the appropriate number of hours of classroom 

instruction described in (b) and (c) below.  All changes in the appropriate number of 

hours for prelicensing education shall become effective as of [December 31, 2002] 

January 1, 2007. 

 (b)  [Prior to being licensed in New Jersey for the first time as a producer, an 

applicant shall complete a course] All prelicensing education courses listed in (c) 

below shall include content on regulation of the insurance industry in New Jersey [for a 

total of 15 classroom hours.  The course shall include], including the following topics: 

  1. – 6.  (No change.)  

 (c) [In addition, prior] Prior to being admitted to the State licensing 

examination to obtain a particular producer license authority, an applicant shall complete 

a course of prelicensing education for the specific authority or authorities with the 

minimum course hours as follows: 

  1. Life and/or variable authorities, for a total of [25 classroom] 20 

hours: 

   i. – v.  (No change.)  
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  2. [Health] Accident and health or sickness authority, for a total of 

[25 classroom] 20 hours: 

   i. ii.  (No change.)  

  [3.  Life, variable and health authorities, for a total of 50 classroom 

hours: 

   i.  General life insurance concepts; 

   ii.  Suitability; 

   iii.  Annuities; 

   iv.  Contracts on a variable basis; 

   v.  General health insurance concepts; and 

   vi.  New Jersey law and practice regarding life and health 

insurance.] 

  [4.] 3.  Property authority, for a total of [40 classroom] 20 hours: 

   i.  (No change.)  

   ii.  Health insurance concepts; [ and] 

   iii. Flood insurance and the National Flood Insurance 

Program; 

   [iii.] iv  (No change in text.)  

  [5.] 4.  Casualty authority, for a total of [40 classroom] 20 hours: 

   i. iii.  (No change.)  
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  [6.  Property and casualty authorities, for a total of 80 classroom hours: 

   i.  General property insurance concepts; 

   ii.  General casualty insurance concepts; 

   iii.  Health insurance concepts; and 

   iv.  New Jersey law and practice regarding property/casualty 

and health insurance.] 

  [7.] 5.  Title insurance authority, for a total of [45 classroom] 20 

hours: 

   i. – ii.  (No change.)  

  [8.] 6. Personal Lines authority, for a total of [50 classroom] 20 hours: 

   i. – iii.  (No change.)  

 (d) (No change.) 

 [(e) A person holding an approved insurance professional designation 

described in N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.7 shall not be required to complete the courses of 

prelicensing education.]  

(e) An individual who applies for an insurance producer license in this State who 

was previously licensed for the same lines of authority in another state shall not be 

required to complete any prelicensing education or examination.  This exemption is 

only available if the person is currently licensed in good standing in that state; or if 

the application is received within 90 days of the cancellation of the applicant’s 

previous license and  the prior state issues a certification that, at the time of 
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cancellation, the applicant was in good standing in that state or the state’s producer 

database records, maintained by the NAIC, indicate that the producer is or was 

licensed in good standing at the time of cancellation for the lines of authority 

requested. 

 (f) (No change.)  

 (g) Upon application to the Department, any of the courses in (b), (c) and (d) 

above may be waived for any license applicant who can demonstrate that he or she 

satisfies at least one of the following conditions: 

  1. – 3.  (No change.) 

  4.  For title insurance authority only, that he or she is an attorney at 

law admitted to practice in New Jersey[.]; 

  5.  For life authority, that the person holds the following 

professional designation(s): Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS); 

Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC); Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC); 

Certified Financial Planner (CFP); Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU); Fellow, Life 

Management Institute (FLMI); or LUTC Fellow (LUTCF);  

  6.  For accident and health or sickness authority, that the person 

holds the following professional designation(s): Registered Health Underwriter 

(RHU); Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS); Registered Employee 

Benefits Consultant (REBC); or Health Insurance Associate (HIA); 

  7.  For property, casualty, or personal lines authorities, that the 

person holds the following professional designation(s): Accredited Adviser in 
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Insurance (AAI); Associate in Risk Management (ARM); Certified Insurance 

Counselor (CIC); or Chartered Property & Casualty Underwriter (CPCU); and 

  8.  The Commissioner may grant a waiver based upon additional 

professional designation(s) upon finding that the education necessary for the 

designation(s) satisfies the program of study required for prelicensing education in 

the applicable line of authority.   

 (h) An application for waiver shall be made on a form prescribed by the 

Department and shall be submitted directly to the Department prior to registering for the 

State licensing examination or making application for an insurance producer license.  In 

addition to providing the information requested by the form: 

  1.  Applicants seeking a waiver authorized by (g) above shall submit a 

recent certification of license status or letter of [severance] clearance issued by the 

insurance licensing authority in the state where they hold or held an insurance license 

unless such information shall be available on the Producer Licensing Database 

maintained by the NAIC. 

  2. – 4.  (No change.)  

  5. Applicants seeking a waiver authorized by (g)5 through 7 

above shall submit adequate proof of having earned such designation, which shall 

include an official document or transcript issued by the organization conferring the 

designation. 

 (i) If a waiver is approved pursuant to (g) and (h) above, the Department shall 

issue a letter of approval waiving the prelicensing education requirement, which the 
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applicant shall [thereafter attach to the producer license application when submitted to the 

Department] submit when taking the examination for the line of authority for which 

the waiver is granted. 

 (j) Waivers shall expire in [60] 90 days from the date of issuance and shall 

thereafter be reissued or renewed for good cause only, upon presentation of evidence 

satisfactory to the Department.  [Any such extension shall not exceed an additional period 

of 30 days.]   

 [(k) For all authorities, classroom attendance at any course(s) in (b), (c) or (d) 

above shall be waived by the Department for any applicant who can demonstrate that he 

or she is a person with a disability as defined in “the American with Disabilities Act” (42 

U.S.C. §  12102) and that his or her disability substantially limits classroom attendance at 

the required courses.  In order to obtain a waiver, the following procedure must be 

complied with prior to participation in the self-study course(s): 

  1.  The applicant must file, in writing by hard copy or electronic 

means, a request for permission to take the course accompanied by a physician’s 

certification indicating the nature of the disability that substantially limits classroom 

attendance.] 

 [(l)] (k)  (No change in text.)  

11:17-3.5 State licensing examination; use of independent examination vendor; 

exemptions; retaking of examination 

 (a) Except for applicants seeking authority in only travel insurance, car 

rental insurance, ticket insurance, group mortgage cancellation insurance, legal 

insurance, credit insurance, or self-storage personal property insurance, all applicants for 
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a resident insurance producer license shall pass the State licensing examination, which 

may be given by the Department or by an independent vendor under contract to the 

Department. 

 (b) Any contract for development and administration of the New Jersey State 

insurance producer licensing examination shall include[,] the following terms and 

conditions. 

  1. (No change.)  

  2. Examinations shall be administered [not less than two times per 

month] throughout the State at such times and places as may be agreed upon by the 

Commissioner and the contract vendor.  The contract vendor shall provide the 

Commissioner or his or her designee with [at least four months’ prior notice of 

[scheduled] a schedule of test administration [dates] locations and hours. 

  3. The contract vendor shall: 

   i. Establish [at least four] sufficient test administration 

centers [within] throughout the State; 

   ii. – iii.  (No change.)  

  4.  At least one test administration center shall be [in] within a reasonable 

distance of each of the following areas of the State: 

   i. – iv.  (No change.) 

  5. – 7.  (No change.)  
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  8.  The contract vendor shall score examinations promptly, and shall 

provide score reports to all passing and failing candidates [within 15] as soon as 

practical following the examination but in no event more than five calendar days after 

each test date. 

  9.  (No change.) 

  10.  The contract vendor shall provide to the Department, in a format 

acceptable to the Department: 

   i.  [Alphabetical lists] Lists containing candidate names, 

addresses, identification numbers, school code numbers and scores on State producer 

licensing examinations of passing and failing candidates; and 

   ii.   (No change.)  

  11. – 13.  (No change.)  

  14.  At the request of the Department, the contract vendor shall defend 

and indemnify in whole or in part the Department of Banking and Insurance, the State of 

New Jersey and its agents, officers and employees from all claims, actions, damages, 

liability and expenses in connection with loss of life, personal injury, damage to property 

and/or failure to comply with the requirements of “The Americans with Disabilities Act” 

arising out of the ownership, occupancy or use by the contract vendor of any facilities 

used as test administration centers, occasioned wholly or in part by any act or omission of 

the contract vendor, its agents, contractors or employees. 

  15. – 16.  (No change.)  
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  17.  The contract vendor shall transmit to the Department, in a form 

satisfactory to the Department, information collected during the test registration process 

to aid in prompt licensing of passing candidates, and may issue to passing candidates, on 

a form prescribed by the Department, a temporary work authority.  The contract vendor 

shall deliver to the Department or its designee electronic records, in a format 

prescribed by the Department, of the test registration data of passing candidates to 

whom a temporary work authority has been issued [within 30 days of] by the next 

business day following the date of the test. 

 [(c) Applicants holding a recognized professional designation described in  

N.J.A.C. 11:17-3.7 are exempt from the licensing examination requirements. 

 (d) Applicants previously licensed as nonresidents who are applying as residents 

shall apply for a waiver of prelicensing education and pass the New Jersey law and 

practice portion of any required examination for the authority(ies) requested within 90 

days of establishing New Jersey as the home state.  The Department may, upon finding 

good cause pursuant to a timely, written request for an extension of time from the 

applicant, extend this time.]  

 Recodify existing (e) and (f) as (c) and (d)  (No change in text.)  

11:17-3.6 Continuing education 

 (a) [No] For licenses issued for a four-year term, no resident individual 

insurance producer licensed with life, accident and health or sickness, property, casualty, 

surplus lines, title, variable life and variable annuity or personal lines authority shall be 

renewed unless the renewal applicant demonstrates that he or she has completed 48 credit 

hours of approved continuing education courses during the previous four years, [24 of 
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which shall be in approved courses in the authorities for which the producer is licensed 

and ] six of [those 24 ] which shall be in approved courses related to insurance fraud, 

professional ethics or any other subject matter required by the Commissioner for the 

protection of consumers.  Producers licensed as of November 4, 2002 shall have until the 

second renewal following November 4, 2002 to comply with the requirement to obtain 

[24 credits in the authorities for which the producer is licensed, with] six [of those 24] 

credits in approved courses related to insurance fraud, professional ethics or any other 

subject matter required by the Commissioner for the protection of consumers.   

 1. For licenses initially issued on or after January 1, 2007 and, 

subject to (a)2 below, for renewals on or after January 1, 2007, no resident 

individual insurance producer licensed with life, accident and health or sickness, 

property, casualty, surplus lines, title, variable life and variable annuity or personal 

lines authority shall be renewed unless the renewal applicant demonstrates that he 

or she has completed 24 credit hours of approved continuing education courses 

during the previous license term, three of which shall have been in approved courses 

related to professional ethics.   

 2.  During the transition period from four-year license terms to 

two-year license terms based upon the individual producer’s date of birth as set 

forth in N.J.A.C. 11:17B-2.1(b), if the term of their expiring license was four years, 

in order to qualify for renewal, a resident individual producer licensee shall 

demonstrate that he or she has completed 48 hours of continuing education credits 

during the prior license term, six of which shall have been in approved courses 

related to professional ethics.  If the term of their expiring license was two years or 
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longer as described in N.J.A.C. 11:17B-2.1(b), in order to qualify for renewal, such a 

licensee shall demonstrate that he or she has completed 24 credit hours of 

continuing education courses during the previous license term, three of which shall 

have been in approved courses related to professional ethics.   

 3. With respect only to the first renewal following the initial 

issuance or initial renewal of a license on or after January 1, 2007, no resident 

individual insurance producer with property authority who writes flood insurance 

shall be renewed unless the renewal applicant demonstrates that, as part of their 

total continuing education obligation as set forth above, he or she has completed a 

three credit hour approved continuing education course related to flood insurance 

and the National Flood Insurance Program during the previous license term. 

 (b) – (d)  (No change.)  

 (e)  Producers who fulfill the continuing education requirements for a 

professional insurance designation approved by the Department shall be awarded 12 

credit hours for each full year of the [four years] license period preceding renewal for 

which these requirements were fulfilled.  Application to obtain such approval shall be 

made on a form approved by the Department and accompanied by an official document 

or transcript from the organization awarding such designation. 

 (f) Approved insurance education providers shall submit courses for approval 

by the Department at least 30 days prior to the date the course is to begin.  This 30-day 

requirement may be waived upon a showing by the program of unusual circumstances 

that require immediate action: 

  1. – 2.  (No change.)  
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  3.  Effective January 1, 2007, each request for approval of a 

continuing education course shall be charged a processing fee of $20.00.  The 

Commissioner may determine the billing and collection format for periodic 

collection of course processing fees from providers.   

  [3.] 4.  (No change in text.)  

  [4.] 5.  Approval shall be considered for courses that include information 

on types of insurance products, insurance practices, ethics, insurance fraud, insurance 

taxation, relevant state or national laws, claims or underwriting practices or procedures or 

other topics directly related to the business of insurance.  Approval shall not be granted 

for credit hours for course[s] content dealing in whole or in part with sales training, 

motivation or personal enrichment, or computer or business skills not specifically related 

to insurance, nor shall primarily social activities be considered in computing course 

length. 

  [5. All new courses submitted for approval after November 4, 2002 

shall be processed and, if qualified, approved as conferring one credit per hour of course 

time.  Classes approved prior to November 4, 2002 shall retain their previously assigned 

credit hours until submitted by the insurance education provider for reevaluation.  All 

insurance education providers shall submit all courses for which credit was not computed 

on a one class hour to one credit hour basis for reevaluation by December 31, 2002.]  

  6.  Effective January 1, 2007, courses approved pursuant to this 

subsection shall be approved for a period of two years from the approval date of the 

course.  If the provider wishes to continue to use the course following expiration, it 

must submit a request to renew the approval of the course in a format prescribed by 
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the Department and pay a renewal fee of $20.00.  The Commissioner may determine 

the billing and collection format for periodic collection of course approval renewal 

processing fees from providers.   

 (g) The insurance education director or authorized personnel for an approved 

insurance education provider shall report the names and producer license reference 

number of those persons completing each continuing education course within [30] five 

business days of course completion or certification of continuing education credits, 

whichever is later.  The instructor teaching the course may be deemed to have completed 

it for the purpose of securing continuing education credit.  Instructors may only receive 

credit once for teaching any one approved course once during each [four-year] license 

cycle.  The report shall be made to the Department, or its designee, in a format prescribed 

by the Department, and shall include the following information: 

  1. – 3.  (No change.)  

 (h) Producers who request continuing education credit for successful 

completion of an insurance course from an accredited college or university or for 

successful completion of a course of study and examination for a course leading to 

attainment of an approved professional insurance designation shall submit to the 

Department, [on] in a [form] format prescribed by the Department, the request together 

with a transcript or other documentation certifying completion of the course and credits 

awarded. 

 (i) At least once each year, the Department, or its designee, shall issue to 

individual resident producers an accounting which shall identify and include[:] the 

information in (i)1 through 4 below.  Written notification to the licensee that the 
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information is available at any time via a secure Internet connection shall satisfy the 

requirements of this provision. 

  1.  The number of continuing education credits completed, the course 

or courses taken, and the school code where the credits were completed; 

  2.  The total number of continuing education credits completed; 

  3.  The total number of continuing education credits remaining to be 

completed; and 

  4.  The license renewal date of the producer. 

 (j)  (No change.) 

 (k)  [At least four months prior to the renewal of license, the Department, or its 

designee, shall issue to individual resident producers a statement indicating, based on 

current records, whether the continuing education requirement for renewal has been met.]  

In the event the producer asserts that credit has not been recorded for a certified 

continuing education course completed prior to the renewal of the producer’s license, 

it shall be the sole responsibility of the producer to request the insurance education 

provider of the approved program where the course was taken to file with the 

Department, or its designee, a supplemental report of continuing education credits. 

 (l)  (No change.)  

[11:17-3.7 Recognized professional designations 

 (a) The Department recognizes the following professional designations as 

acceptable substitutes for the producer education and examination requirements except 

continuing education: 
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  1.  For life, accident and health or sickness, variable life and variable 

annuity authorities, a Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU) or a Chartered Financial 

Consultant (ChFC) designation conferred by the American College of Life Underwriters; 

  2.  For property, casualty, personal lines, bail bonds and surplus lines 

authorities, a Chartered Property/Casualty Underwriter (CPCU) designation conferred by 

The American Institute for Chartered Property Casualty Underwriters and The Insurance 

Institute of America. 

 (b)  An applicant seeking to rely on a recognized professional designation to 

satisfy any education or examination requirements in accordance with (a) above, shall 

submit adequate proof of such achievement which shall include an official document or 

transcript issued by the organization conferring the designation.] 
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