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The agency proposal follows: 

Summary 
 
 On August 2, 2006, Governor Corzine signed into law N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.50 et seq., the 

New Jersey Real Estate Timeshare Act (Act).  This law establishes for the first time in New 

Jersey one comprehensive statutory framework regulating the sale and marketing of all types of 

timeshare offerings by placing all jurisdiction for timeshare regulation under the New Jersey 

Real Estate Commission (Commission).  Several other states, notably California, Texas and 

Illinois, have also recently updated and amended their timeshare laws to reflect new products and 

marketing programs. 
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 Prior to the Act, timeshare offerings in New Jersey were regulated under two separate 

statutes:  N.J.S.A. 45:22A-21 et seq., the Planned Real Estate Development Full Disclosure Act, 

(PREDFA) administered by the Department of Community Affairs (DCA) which regulated in-

State timeshares; and N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.27 et seq., the New Jersey Real Estate Sales Full 

Disclosure Act (RESFDA), administered by the Commission, which regulated out-of-State 

timeshares when offered in or into New Jersey.  These proposed new rules and amendments will 

effectuate the purposes and implement the provisions of the Act. 

 Further, this proposal will delete reference to timeshares found throughout Subchapter 9.  

Specifically, the definition of “time-share estates,” and a reference to timesharing in the 

definition of a “subdivision,” are deleted in N.J.A.C. 11:5-9.2.  Referenced to timeshares are also 

deleted from N.J.A.C. 11:5-9.4, 9.5 and 9.14.  In addition, language is added to N.J.A.C. 11:5-

9.4 and 9.5 to clarify that the proposed offers reference real estate interests subject to 

homeowners association assessments and not interests in homeowners associations themselves. 

 New Subchapter 9A is being promulgated by the Commission to implement the 

provisions of the New Jersey Real Estate Timeshare Act, N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.50 et seq.  The 

proposed rules shall apply to timeshare plans with an accommodation or component site in the 

State; and timeshare plans without an accommodation or component site in this State if these 

timeshare plans are offered to be sold within this State, regardless of whether the offer originates 

from within or outside of this State. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.1 sets forth the purpose and scope of the proposed new rules. N.J.A.C. 

11:5-9A.1(b) sets forth those timeshare plans to which the Act shall not apply. Specifically, the 

Act will not apply to timeshare plans, whether or not an accommodation or component site is 

located in the State, consisting of 10 or fewer timeshare interests. The Act also will not extend to 
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timeshare plans, whether or not an accommodation or component site is located in this State, the 

use of which extends over any period of three years or less.  For purposes of determining the 

term of a timeshare plan, the period of any automatic renewal shall be included unless a 

purchaser has the right to terminate the purchaser’s participation in the timeshare plan at any 

time and receive a pro rata refund, or the purchaser receives a notice, not less than 30 days, but 

not more than 60 days, prior to the date of renewal, informing the purchaser of the right to 

terminate at any time prior to the date of automatic renewal. 

In addition, the Act will not apply to timeshare plans, whether or not an accommodation 

or component site is located in the State, under which the prospective purchaser’s total financial 

obligation will be equal to or less than $3,000 during the entire term of the timeshare plan; 

component sites of specific timeshare interest multi-site timeshare plans that are neither located 

in nor offered for sale in this State, except that these component sites are still subject to the 

disclosure requirements of the Act; offers or dispositions of securities or units of interest issued 

by a real estate investment trust regulated under any State or Federal statute; and offers or 

dispositions of securities currently registered with the Bureau of Securities within the Division of 

Consumer Affairs in the Department of Law and Public Safety. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.1(c)  provides that all correspondence and inquiries related to the Act 

should be directed to the New Jersey Real Estate Commission, Bureau of Subdivided Land Sales 

Control, 20 West State Street,  P.O. Box 328, Trenton, NJ 08625-0328. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.2 sets forth the definitions used in the proposed new subchapter.  The 

defined terms include: "abbreviated registration," "accommodation,"  "act," "advertisement," 

“assessment," "association," "Commission," "common expense," "component site," "concurrent 

preliminary registration," "conditional order of registration,” "consolidated filing," 
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"Department," "developer," "dispose" or "disposition," "escrow agent," "incidental benefit," 

"managing entity," "offer," "person," "preliminary registration," "promotion," "purchase 

contract," "purchaser," "reservation system," "sales agent," "timeshare instrument," "timeshare 

interest," "timeshare period," "timeshare plan,"  and "timeshare property."  

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.3 sets forth the proposed new regulations concerning the documents 

required for registration of timeshare plans with the Commission. All registration statements of 

record submitted to the Commission shall be bound, referenced and properly indexed and, 

wherever possible, typewritten on one side of the paper only. The proposed new rule states that 

one copy of each exhibit or document shall be submitted, unless the Commission requests more 

than one copy, and all documents submitted to the Commission shall not exceed 8 1/2 x 14 

inches. Verified copies of original documents shall be submitted. N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.3(a)6 

requires that an affidavit or affirmation shall be executed for each of the following documents: 

the application for preliminary, comprehensive and abbreviated registrations; the annual report; 

the statement of non-conviction; the broker's application and the consent(s) to service of process. 

The acceptance of a registration and offering statement approved in another state may be 

conditioned upon an acceptable on-site inspection. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(a) states that a developer who sells, offers to sell, or attempts to 

solicit prospective purchasers in this State to purchase a timeshare interest, or any person who 

creates a timeshare plan with an accommodation in the State, shall register with the Commission, 

on forms provided by the Commission or in electronic formats authorized by the Commission, 

all timeshare plans which have accommodations located in the State or which are sold or offered 

for sale to any individual located in the State.  
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 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(b) sets forth proposed new regulation for preliminary registration 

which provide that, upon the submission of an application approved by the Commission, the 

Commission may grant a 90-day preliminary registration to allow the developer to begin offering 

and selling timeshare interests in a timeshare plan regardless of whether the accommodations of 

the timeshare plan are located within or outside of the State.  Upon submission to the 

Commission of a substantially complete application for an abbreviated or comprehensive 

registration under the Act, including all appropriate fees, prior to the expiration date of the 

preliminary registration, the preliminary registration will be automatically extended during the 

registration review period provided that the developer is actively and diligently pursuing 

registration under the Act.  The preliminary registration shall automatically terminate with 

respect to those timeshare interests covered by an approved public offering statement and a final 

order of registration issued before the scheduled termination date of the preliminary registration.  

The preliminary registration shall also terminate upon the issuance of any notice of rejection due 

to the developer’s failure to comply with the provisions of the Act.  N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(b) 

further states that upon termination of a preliminary registration order for any reason other than 

the issuance of a final order of registration all reservations executed under the preliminary 

registration will be null and void, and all funds obtained will be refunded to the purchaser within 

15 days of termination. Evidence of such refunds must be filed with the Commission within 30 

days of the date of termination.  

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(b)3 sets forth the proposed new regulations on the 

requirements for obtaining a preliminary registration.  The developer shall provide the 

reservation instrument to be used in a form previously approved by the Commission, which shall 

include provisions that provide for the following: (1) the right of both the developer and the 
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potential purchaser to unilaterally cancel the reservation at any time; (2) the payment to the 

potential purchaser of his or her total deposit within 15 days following the receipt of a valid 

notice of cancellation of the reservation by either party; (3) the placement of the deposit into an 

escrow account; and (4) a statement to the effect that the offering has not yet received final 

approval from the Commission. The reservation instrument must also state that no offering can 

be made until an offering plan has been filed with, and accepted by, the Commission. The 

developer must also provide to the Commission a preliminary offering statement with an 

agreement to provide each potential purchaser with a copy and an executed receipt before any 

money or other thing of value has been accepted by or on behalf of the developer in connection 

with the reservation; an agreement to provide a copy of the reservation instrument signed by the 

potential purchaser and by or on behalf of the developer to the potential purchaser; and evidence 

acceptable to the Commission that all funds received by the developer will be placed into an 

independent escrow account located within the State of New Jersey with instructions that no 

funds will be released until a final order of registration has been granted unless refunded to the 

purchaser upon cancellation of the reservation agreement or expiration of the preliminary 

registration. The developer must also submit the filing fee for a preliminary registration, which 

shall be in addition to the filing fees for an abbreviated or comprehensive registration as 

established by the Act and all advertisements to be utilized by the developer under the 

preliminary registration with the Commission before use. Lastly, the developer must furnish a 

statement indicating whether the applicant, or a parent or a subsidiary of the applicant, or any of 

their current officers or principals have, during the past 10 years, or any of their former officers 

or principals have during the last two years, been convicted of any criminal or disorderly persons 

offense involving any aspect of the real estate sales or real estate securities business. 
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 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(c) sets forth the proposed requirements for obtaining a comprehensive 

registration.  In order to obtain a comprehensive registration, the developer shall provide: the 

developer’s legal name, any alternate names used by the developer, and the developer’s principal 

office location, mailing address, primary contact person and telephone number; the name, 

location, mailing address, primary contact person and telephone number of the timeshare plan; 

and the name and principal address of the developer’s authorized New Jersey representative who 

shall be a licensed real estate broker licensed to maintain offices within this State.  The developer 

must include a declaration as to whether the timeshare plan is a single-site timeshare plan or a 

multi-site timeshare plan, and, if a multi-site timeshare plan, whether it consists of specific 

timeshare interests or non-specific timeshare interests. The name and principal address of all 

brokers within New Jersey who sell or offer to sell any timeshare interests in any timeshare plan 

offered by the developer to any person in this State, who shall be licensed as a real estate broker 

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 et seq., and who are the authorized representatives of the developer 

shall be included.  The developer shall include the name and principal address of all affiliated 

and non-affiliated marketing entities who, by means of inducement, promotion or advertisement, 

attempt to encourage or procure prospective purchasers located in the State to attend a sales 

presentation for any timeshare plan offered by the developer or authorized broker and the name 

and principal address of all managing entities who manage the timeshare plan. A public offering 

statement which complies with the requirements of the Act must be included as well as a form 

application provided by the Commission in which the applicant identifies the timeshare plan and 

the interest to be registered.  The application shall be accompanied by an affidavit, on a form 

provided by the Commission, signed by the applicant which affirms and attests that the applicant 

is familiar with the project being registered, the nature and content of the application for 
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registration, the Act and the rules promulgated thereunder, and that the contents of the 

application are true and correct and conform with those requirements.  A second affidavit, to be 

completed by the designated New Jersey broker of record, shall also accompany the application.  

The broker’s affidavit shall state that he is familiar with the registration and its contents or has 

physically inspected the property, or both, that he is familiar with the Act and the rules 

promulgated thereunder, and with the New Jersey Real Estate License Act, and that he is not 

aware of any information that would lead him to believe that the information in the registration 

application does not provide full and fair disclosure of the offering. A statement by the applicant 

confirming that all monies paid by New Jerseys residents to the applicant or his agents prior to 

closing will be held in an escrow account, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.57(e) or be guaranteed 

by some means acceptable to the Commission shall be included.  The statement shall specify the 

name and location of the institution where the escrow account is maintained as well as the name 

and address of any trustee or escrow agent. The developer must also include an irrevocable 

appointment of the Commission to accept, on behalf of the applicant, service of any lawful 

process in any proceeding arising under the Act against the applicant or his agents.   

The proposed new regulation at N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(c)1ix through xxvi mirror the 

statutory requirements and identify specific additional documents to be filed.  These include: 

copies of certificates of incorporation or comparable documents for other forms of business 

entities; deeds or other instruments establishing title and related title assurances; encumbrance 

and financial documents affecting the creation of timeshares; and statements regarding access to 

and any adverse conditions on the property.  The submission of nondiscrimination statement, a 

list of pending legal or administrative actions and pending or issued court orders, administrative 

orders, judgments or decrees affecting the sale or development of the offering or the financial 
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stability of the applicant, and budget and official contact information are also required. These and 

other document requirements are identical to corresponding requirements in the rules 

implementing the Real Estate Sales Full Disclosure Act found at N.J.A.C. 11:5-9.4.  Proposed 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(c)1 also provides for the submission of such other additional information as 

the Commission may require, after review of an application for registration, to assure full and fair 

disclosure. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.4(d) sets forth the proposed requirements for an abbreviated 

registration.  In order to obtain an abbreviated registration, the developer shall provide all of the 

following: a broker of record affidavit in which the broker states that he or she is familiar with 

the registration and its contents or has physically inspected the property, or both, that he or she is 

familiar with the Act and the rules promulgated thereunder and with the Real Estate Brokers and 

Salespersons Act, N.J.SA. 45:15-1 et seq., and that she or he is not aware of any information that 

would lead him or her to believe that the information in the abbreviated application does not 

permit full and fair disclosure of the offering; an irrevocable appointment of the Commission to 

accept, on behalf of the developer, service of any lawful process in any proceeding arising under 

the Act against the applicant or his agents; a statement as to the status of all applications for 

permits and/or compliance with any permits required to be issued by any Federal, state or local 

agencies or similar organizations which have the authority to regulate or issue permits, approvals 

or licenses which may be material to the development, sale or other disposition of the timeshare 

interest to be registered and the existing or proposed facilities, common areas or improvements 

thereof; copies of all contracts, agreements and acknowledgements which a purchaser or lessee 

may be required to execute in connection with the offering; such additional or supplemental 

documentation the Commission may require in order to resolve any discrepancies between local 
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law and the requirements of the Act; a statement or listing of any pending administrative actions, 

litigation, and pending or issued court orders, administrative orders, judgments or decrees which 

materially affect the sale or development of the offering or the financial stability of the applicant; 

a statement indicating whether the applicant, or a parent or a subsidiary of the applicant, or any 

of their current officers or principals have, during the past 10 years, or any of their former 

officers or principals have during the last two years, been convicted of any criminal or disorderly 

person offense involving any aspect of the real estate sales or real estate securities business; and 

a statement confirming that all monies paid by New Jersey residents to the applicant or his or her  

agents prior to closing will be held in an escrow account pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.57(e) or 

be guaranteed by some other means acceptable to the Commission.  The statement shall specify 

the name and location of the institution where the escrow account is maintained as well as the 

name and address of any trustee or escrow agent. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5 sets forth the proposed regulation for amendments to registrations 

and public offering statements. N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5(a) states that the registrant shall immediately 

file with the Commission amendments to its registration application and/or public offering 

statement reflecting any material or adverse change(s) in previously supplied information or 

documents, in order that the information provided purchasers is current.  

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5(b) defines material change to mean any significant change, whether 

beneficial or adverse, in the size or character of the interest being offered or anything having a 

significant affect on the regular duties or obligations of the registrant, developer or purchaser and 

provides a list of examples of material changes. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5(c)  defines adverse changes to include any material change to the 

timeshare plan that substantially reduces benefits or increases costs to purchasers.  If the change 
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is determined by the Commission to be both material and adverse to the purchasers of the 

timeshare plan as a whole, no closing shall occur until the amendment relating to the material 

and adverse change has been approved by the Commission.    

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5(d) lists as examples of changes not considered “material” or 

“adverse”: the correction of any typographical errors that do not affect the rights or obligations 

of purchasers; changes in selling prices or advertising materials; timely completion of promised 

improvements as represented in a previously approved public offering statement; and increases 

of less than 15 percent in the fees payable by purchasers with the exception of special 

assessments. All special assessments shall be considered material. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5(e)  states that unless otherwise permitted by the Act, no revised public 

offering statement shall be given to prospective purchasers without the approval of the 

Commission. Applications for approval of an amended or corrected public offering statement 

shall be made by filing a red-lined copy of the proposed revised public offering statement with 

the Commission and an application update. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5(f)  states that the Commission shall process and review requests for 

amendments to orders of registration and public offering statements in accordance with the 

standards and procedures established in the Act and this subchapter for the review of applications 

for registration.  Requests for approval of amendments shall be accompanied by a fee of $300.00 

as provided in N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5(g) provides that the developer shall update the public offering 

statement to reflect any changes to the timeshare plan that are not material or adverse at the time 

of the filing of next annual report. 
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 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.6 sets forth the proposed new regulations concerning public offering 

statements. N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.6(a)  states that no person shall dispose of any timeshare interest in 

a registered timeshare plan unless he or she delivers a current public offering statement and 

affords the purchaser a reasonable opportunity to read the same before the purchaser signs the 

contract or purchase agreement. In all cases where a New Jersey purchaser has not had contact 

with an authorized New Jersey broker, registrants shall maintain the signed and dated receipt for 

the New Jersey public offering statement and a copy of the contract which the New Jersey 

purchaser signed for a period of seven years. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.6(b) states that the public offering statement shall disclose fully and 

accurately the characteristics of the timeshare plan offered and shall make known to prospective 

purchasers all unusual and material circumstances and features affecting the timeshare plan.  The 

public offering statement shall be in clear and concise language and combine simplicity and 

accuracy in order to fully advise purchasers of their rights, privileges, obligations and 

restrictions. The proposed regulations itemizing the documents to be included with and the 

reporting requirements pertaining to, public offering statements as set forth in N.J.S.A. 45:15-

16.59(b), (c) and (d). 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.7(a)  provides that any person who believes that an offering may be 

exempt from the provisions of the Act, or who is contemplating marketing property in New 

Jersey which he or she believes may be exempt, may apply to the Commission for a letter of 

exemption.  The rule provides that such application shall be in written affidavit form and shall 

list the reasons why the offering or proposed offering may be exempt from the Act.  Such an 

application for exemption shall be accompanied by a non-refundable fee of $100.00. In the event 

the Commission shall determine that the offering is exempt from the Act, it shall issue a letter of 
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exemption setting forth the facts upon which the determination is based. In the event the 

Commission shall determine that the offering is not exempt from the provisions of the Act, it 

shall deny the request for exemption in writing, setting forth therein the facts upon which the 

determination is based, and shall send such writing to the applicant via certified mail, return 

receipt requested. The Commission shall issue a determination as to whether an offering is or is 

not exempt within 30 days of its receipt of a complete request for exemption with the appropriate 

fee. Any person who is aggrieved by such a determination is entitled to a hearing on such 

determination, provided said hearing is requested in writing no later than 30 days from the date 

of the applicant’s receiving notice of such determination.  

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.7(b) states that if the nature of the proposed offering indicates that the 

applicant would be subject to the registration requirements of the Act, the applicant may apply to 

the Commission for a limited exemption.  If the Commission determines that enforcement of the 

entire Act and all of these rules is not necessary in the public interest or for the protection of 

purchasers due to the small amounts involved or the limited character of the offering, it may 

issue a limited exemption from registration to the applicant. A limited exemption may be granted 

by reason of the limited character of the offering where the nature of the property, or of the 

prospective purchasers to whom the timeshare interest will be offered, is such that it is likely 

prospective purchasers will have expert advice concerning the purchase independent of that 

supplied by the applicant or his agents.  An application for a limited exemption for this reason 

shall include a copy of any prospectus, offering statement or other such solicitation.  A limited 

exemption granted for this reason shall be confined to the group of offerees specified in the 

application. An application for a limited exemption shall specify the particular timeshare 

interests for which exemption is sought.  Any limited exemption granted shall be confined to 
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those timeshare interests so specified. An application for a limited exemption shall include a 

narrative description that clearly describes the nature of the offering and the factual basis and 

reasons why the limited exemption should be granted. Any limited exemption granted shall 

remain in effect for a period of two years from the date of issuance indicated in the letter of 

exemption, unless revoked as described below. Any limited exemption granted shall permit the 

recipient to offer the timeshare interests covered by the limited exemption to New Jersey 

residents without obtaining an order of registration.  A limited exemption shall not deprive the 

Commission of jurisdiction to enforce any other provision of the Act or this subchapter, or to 

revoke the limited exemption after notice and opportunity to be heard. A $300.00 non-refundable 

fee shall be tendered with any application for a limited exemption.  

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.7(c)  sets forth the procedure whereby a developer may offer and 

dispose of an interest in a timeshare plan created by that developer that is not located in New 

Jersey and not registered under the Act to a person in this State who is a current owner of an 

interest in a timeshare plan registered by that developer. The parties to whom such offers may be 

directed must own an interest either in a timeshare plan that is currently registered under the Act 

or in a plan that was previously registered under the Act or N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.27 et seq. or 

45:22A-21 et seq. and was terminated in good standing.  The developer shall: file a notice with 

the Commission identifying the timeshare plan that it intends to offer; submit a fee of $300.00; 

and certify that all purchasers shall be provided with all disclosure documentation required by 

law to be provided in the jurisdiction in which the timeshare plan is located. In addition, the 

developer shall certify that New Jersey purchasers shall be provided with a right to rescind their 

purchase within seven days after the purchase contract is signed and all documents required 

under this Act and local and municipal law are delivered, whichever is later.  If local or 
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municipal law grants a longer rescission period, then the longer period would apply.  Only 

unregistered timeshare plans that are located outside the State of New Jersey may be offered 

pursuant to this rule and any such offering may only be made to those persons who are current 

bona fide owners of an interest in a timeshare plan as set forth above.   

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.8 sets forth the regulations concerning advertising and sales 

promotions with respect to the sale and marketing of registered timeshare plans. N.J.A.C. 11:5-

9A.8(a) states that advertisements that refer to the purchase price of a timeshare interest shall 

state the full purchase price and shall disclose any known or estimated additional assessments or 

costs to the purchaser. Advertisements shall not refer to a price increase unless the amount and 

date of the increase are indicated. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.8(b) states that advertisements shall not refer to any common element 

or facility that does not presently exist unless that fact is prominently stated in the 

advertisements, accompanied by the proposed date of completion, which shall also appear 

prominently in the advertisement. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.8(c)  states that advertisements shall not contain photographs, sketches 

or artist’s conceptions unless the fact that these are conceptions is stated immediately adjacent to 

them in the advertisement. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.8(d) states that any model unit that is used as part of a promotional plan 

shall be in substantial conformity with the units that are subsequently constructed unless 

otherwise noted in the contract of sale. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.8(e)  states that when advertisements for timeshare plans that are not 

registered with the Commission, nor wholly or partially exempt from the Act, are placed in any 

media which is distributed in or broadcast into the State of New Jersey, a disclaimer shall be 

  



 16

included, indicating that the properties or interests are not registered with the New Jersey Real 

Estate Commission and that the advertisement is not an offer to New Jersey residents. The 

regulation further provides that the owners of such properties or interests shall not make or cause 

to be made, an offer or disposition of the properties or interests originating outside of this State 

to a person or resident within this State. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.8(f) states that any advertisement, including those which contain offers 

of reimbursement of travel expenses and/or offers of premiums or other inducements, must also 

comply with the provisions of the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act, N.J.S.A. 56:8-1 et seq. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.8(g) states that registrants who advertise in a language other than 

English shall make available to prospective purchasers all disclosure documents including, but 

not limited to, the public offering statement, and the sales contract written in the same language 

as that used in the registrant’s advertisements. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.9 sets forth the proposed regulations for the inspection of timeshare 

offerings. N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.9(a) states that the Commission, at its discretion, may make on-site 

inspections of any timeshare plan which is the subject of an application for registration, either 

before an order of registration has been issued or thereafter.  The Commission may in its 

discretion conduct subsequent on-site inspections. N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.9(b) states that the costs of 

inspections shall be paid by the applicant who shall provide a deposit when requested by the 

Commission.  After the inspection the Commission shall provide the applicant/registrant with a 

statement of costs incurred and a refund of any portion of the deposit not expended or a request 

for additional funds if required. 

 N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10 sets forth the fees which all applicants for registration shall pay. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10(b) states that any request for approval of a material change in, or an 
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amendment to an application for registration and/or an order of registration and/or a public 

offering statement shall be accompanied by a fee of $300.00.  No fee shall be charged for 

amendments to applications or proposed public offering statements made prior to the issuance of 

an order of registration. If applications for approval of a material change and/or an amendment to 

an order of registration and/or an amendment to a public offering statement are made 

simultaneously, only one fee will be payable. If applications are made for approval of multiple 

material changes, and/or multiple amendments to an order of registration, and/or multiple 

amendments to a public offering statement simultaneously, only one fee will be payable. 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10(c) states that the Commission shall maintain, in accordance with 

N.J.A.C. 15:3, a copy of every application for registration, together with all approved 

amendments thereto, of a timeshare plan that has been and is currently registered and shall make 

them reasonably available for public inspection during ordinary business hours at the 

Commission’s office.  The Commission will furnish to the public, upon request, a copy of the 

statement of record of any registered subdivision at a cost in accordance with the copying fees 

set forth in N.J.S.A. 47:1A-5(b). 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10(d) states that all fees paid are non-refundable. 
 
N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10(e) sets forth the following fees which are charged pursuant to the 

Act: 
 
  Description     Fee

Comprehensive registration   $1,000 plus 
      $50.00 per timeshare interest, up to a 

       maximum of $7,500 
 

Preliminary registration,   $3,000 if filed separately   
 
Concurrent preliminary registration  $500 in addition to 

comprehensive or    
 abbreviated registration   
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Abbreviated registration   $1,000 plus 
      $50.00 per timeshare interest, up to a 

       maximum of $7,500 
 

Amendments to registration   $300 
 
Exemption to market to current owners $300.00 
 
Limited exemption    $300.00 
 
Statutory exemption    $100.00 

 
 
 This rule proposal provides for a comment period of 60 days, and, therefore, pursuant to 

N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5, is not subject to the provisions of N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.1 and 3.2 governing 

rulemaking calendars. 

 

Social Impact 

 Timesharing has grown extensively from the old concept of a single fixed week to the 

multi-site (and multi-state) and point based offerings now popular.  Of the recent timesharing 

properties that have opened in New Jersey, all are interconnected via internal exchange, 

developer entity, or use rights to out-of-State properties.  As these timeshare offerings have 

become more complex and expensive, effective and consistent regulation is essential to protect 

the interests of New Jersey consumers. 

 The Act removes the regulation of timeshares from other statutes and consolidates the 

authority to regulate timeshares into a single statute exclusively addressing timeshares under the 

sole jurisdiction of the New Jersey Real Estate Commission. 

 The Act and these proposed rules effectively update and clarify definitions and licensing 

requirements (especially for the new non-fee and points based offerings) while retaining and in 

many cases enhancing the significant consumer protections in prior laws, including a minimum 
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seven-day right to rescind a purchase contract, mandatory protection of deposit monies until 

expiration of the recession period and conveyance of title, full disclosure documents and 

requirements for adequate sureties to complete promised improvements and reduce liens. 

 

Economic Impact 

 The proposed new rules codify the fees mandated by the Act. These rules will have an 

impact on out-of-State timeshares registrant in that maximum filing fees under the New Act are 

now capped at $7,500 rather than $3,000.  However, the fee structure for in-State timeshares will 

likely decrease as these filings are now capped, whereas under PREDFA they were not.  Also, 

fees for filing amendments and some exemption applications have been increased. 

 Registrants will also incur the costs of preparing registration applications.  Some 

registrants may incur additional costs through use of professionals such as attorneys to prepare 

and file registration documents or other services such acting as escrow agents.  However, the use 

of professionals is at the discretion of registrant and is not required under the Act or these 

proposed rules. 

 Those entities whose timeshare offerings were registered in good standing under 

PREDFA or RESFDA at the time of the enactment of the Act will not have to re-register as their 

valid registration orders are “grandfathered in.”  However, they will be subject to annual 

reporting and amendments requirements as incorporated in the Act and these proposed rules.  As 

such, their costs for compliance with these proposed rules should be minimal. 

 Because the scope of the Act is similar to regulations recently enacted in other 

jurisdictions, the overall result will be a simpler and a more cost efficient registration process for 
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the industry.  Similarly, by consolidating registration jurisdiction into a single regulatory agency, 

consumer complaints can also be more efficiently addressed. 

 The new law will also allow for a limited owner referral program which will permit 

unlicensed timeshare owners to collect non-monetary and resort oriented compensation for 

referring friends and relatives. 

 

Federal Standards Statement 

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the Act and these proposed rules and 

amendments are not subject to any Federal requirements or standards. 

 

Jobs Impact 

The Commission does not anticipate the creation or loss of any jobs as a result of the 

adoption of these new rules and amendments. 

 

Agriculture Industry Impact 

The proposed rules and amendments will have no impact on the agriculture industry.  

 

Regulatory Flexibility Analysis 

 All properties or interests that meet the statutory definition of a timeshare, whether 

owned by a small business as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et 

seq., or otherwise, are subject to the jurisdiction of this Act and these proposed rules and 

amendments.  Compliance requirements are discussed in the Summary above. 
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 Timeshare offerings that were previously exempt under the old laws may have to file new 

registrations and comply with all reporting requirements of the Act and these rules.  These 

offerings will be subject to additional costs as noted in the Economic Impact statement. 

 As discussed above, applicants may at their discretion use professionals to comply with 

all or some of the requirements of the Act and proposed rules. 

 Real estate brokerages, some of whom may meet the definition of a small 

business, that engage in the sale of timeshare interests under the Act will have to comply with 

reporting and documentary requirements. 

  

Smart Growth Impact 

This Act and the proposed rules and amendments are designed to address consumer 

protection issues and will not affect State and local laws regulating development, building codes, 

zoning and construction. The Commission does not believe that the proposed rules and 

amendments will have any impact on the achievement of smart growth and the implementation 

of the State Development and Redevelopment Plan. 

 

 Full text of the proposal follows (additions indicated in boldface thus; deletions indicated 

in brackets [thus]): 

 

SUBCHAPTER 9.  RULES INTERPRETING AND IMPLEMENTING THE REAL 

ESTATE SALES FULL DISCLOSURE ACT, N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.27 ET SEQ. 

 
11:5-9.2 Definitions 
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   The following words and terms, as used in this subchapter, shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

. . . 

["Time-share estates" includes both "fee simple" and "right to use" time-share interests 

and means: 

1. An "interval estate" meaning a combination of an estate for years in a lot, parcel or 

unit, during the term of which title rotates among the time-share owners, coupled with a vested 

undivided fee simple interest in the remainder in that unit as established by the declaration or 

deed creating the interval estate; or 

2. A "time-span estate" meaning a combination of an undivided interest in a present estate 

in fee simple in a lot, parcel or unit established by the declaration or deed creating the time-span 

estate, coupled with the exclusive right to possession and occupancy of the parcel or unit during 

a regularly recurring period; or 

3. A "vacation license" meaning the exclusive right to possession and occupancy of a lot, 

unit or parcel during a regularly recurring period established by club membership, lease or 

license.] 

. . .  

"Subdivision" and "subdivided lands" mean any land situated outside the State of New 

Jersey whether contiguous or not, if one or more lots, parcels, units or interests are offered as 

part of a common promotional plan of advertising and sale and expressly means and includes 

such units or interests commonly referred to as a "condominium" defined in the "Condominium 

Act" P.L. 1969, c.257 (N.J.S.A. 46:8B-1 et seq.). In addition to condominiums, this definition 

shall also specifically include, but shall not be limited to, any form of homeowners association, 
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any housing cooperative, and any community trust or other trust device [and any form of time-

sharing]. 

 

11:5-9.4  Contents of application for registration 

   (a) All applications for registration shall contain the following documents and 

information: 

1.- 2. (No change.)  

3. A statement by the applicant confirming that all monies paid by New Jersey 

residents to the applicant or his agents prior to closing will be held in an escrow account, 

or in trust by an attorney licensed to practice law in this State or the state or country 

where the property is located, or be guaranteed by some means acceptable to the 

Commission. The statement shall specify the name and location of the institution where 

the escrow account is maintained as well as the name and address of any trustee or 

escrow agent. The statement shall include the applicant's acknowledgment that he shall 

hold all funds in escrow or in trust until the closing and delivery of the deed or until the 

applicant posts a bond or some other guarantee acceptable to the Commission to ensure 

New Jersey purchaser deposits, which bond shall be separate from and in addition to any 

bond or assurance for the completion of infrastructure and promised improvements. In 

the event that interests in the subdivision, [including fee simple interests in timeshare 

projects,] are offered through installment sale contracts where closing and delivery of 

deed or deed in trust are postponed until three or more installment payments, including, 

but not limited to, monthly payments for licenses, memberships or other non-fee interests 

in the subdivision, have been paid, the statement shall confirm: 
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 i. –ii.  (No change.) 

4.-19. (No change.) 

20. A copy of the proposed budget for the operation and maintenance of the 

common elements and facilities based upon full occupancy together with the estimated 

annual assessment and monthly charges to be assessed to each type of unit. If the 

proposed offering is a condominium[, time-share] or other interest in real estate that is 

subject to the authority of or to assessments by a homeowners association, or involves 

any common ownership interest, the budget shall specifically state the amount set aside 

as reserves for the replacement of the common elements and facilities, as certified by an 

independent public accountant, or property manager or other independent expert. The 

budget should also indicate whether the applicant is subsidizing the maintenance fee or 

plans to subsidize the maintenance fee during sales prior to transfer of control to any 

association, and if so, the amount of the subsidy and the probable effect of the applicant's 

discontinuing the making of such payments upon the maintenance fee payable by each 

owner.  The budget shall be accompanied by a letter of adequacy issued by an 

independent public accountant, or certified property manager, attesting that the budget 

was prepared in good faith and a letter from an independent insurance agent or broker 

confirming that the insurance coverage meets any standards required in the project 

documents and as required by situs state law; 

 21. -22. (No change.) 

 

11:5-9.5  Public Offering Statements 

(a) - (d) (No change.) 
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(e) The Public Offering Statement shall contain the following information: 

 1. -5. (No change.) 

6. A statement of the proposed method of operation and management of the 

common elements and facilities, and of all fixed, estimated or proposed fees, 

assessments, and reserves for future replacement and repair of common elements. If there 

are no provisions for reserves, a statement indicating same shall be included. If the 

proposed offering is a condominium[, time-share] or other interest in real estate that is 

subject to the authority of or to assessments by a homeowners association, or involves 

any common ownership interest, in addition to the amount set aside as reserves for the 

replacement or repair of the common elements and facilities, the risk to purchasers if the 

applicant fails to sell out shall also be stated. A statement indicating whether the 

applicant is subsidizing the maintenance fee or plans to subsidize the maintenance fee 

during sales prior to transfer of control to any association, and if so, the amount of the 

subsidy and the probable effect of the cessation of the payment of the subsidy upon the 

maintenance fee payable by each owner shall also be included; 

7.-21. (No change.) 

(f) - (i)       (No change.) 

 

11:5-9.14 Advertising and sales promotions with respect to the sale and marketing of  

  registered properties 

 (a) - (g) (No change.) 

 (h) Advertisements which contain offers of premiums or of reimbursement of travel 

expenses in cash or merchandise shall be subject to the following: 
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1. The promotional material shall clearly and conspicuously state the necessity of 

attendance at or submission to a sales promotion, the minimum length of time required to 

be spent at such sales promotion in order to qualify for reimbursement or other premium 

or inducement, the terms and conditions of the offer, and the retail value of any premiums 

offered; 

i. Such advertisements shall also include a statement indicating that the 

promotion is a solicitation for the sale of [timeshares,] condominiums, lots, or 

other interests in real estate as applicable, the name of the project and the 

registration number assigned to the project by the Commission preceded by: "N.J. 

Reg. No." 

  2. - 3. (No change.) 

 (i)  (No change.) 

 

 
SUBCHAPTER 9A.       RULES INTERPRETING AND IMPLEMENTING THE NEW  
        JERSEY REAL ESTATE TIMESHARE ACT, N.J.S.A. 45:15- 

       16.50 ET SEQ.    
 

11:5-9A.1 Purpose and scope 

(a) The rules in this subchapter implement the provisions of the New Jersey Real 

Estate Timeshare Act, N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.50 et seq.  These rules are applicable to: 

  1. Timeshare plans with an accommodation or component site in this 

State;  and 
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2. Timeshare plans without an accommodation or component site in this 

State if these timeshare plans are offered to be sold within this State, regardless of 

whether the offer originates from within or outside of this State. 

  

 (b) This Act shall not apply to any of the following: 

1. Timeshare plans, whether or not an accommodation or component site is 

located in the State, consisting of 10 or fewer timeshare interests; 

 2. Timeshare plans, whether or not an accommodation or component 

site is located in this State, the use of which extends over any period of three years 

or less.  For purposes of determining the term of a timeshare plan, the period of any 

automatic renewal shall be included unless a purchaser has the right to terminate 

the purchaser’s participation in the timeshare plan at any time and receive a pro 

rata refund, or the purchaser receives a notice, not less than 30 days, but not more 

than 60 days, prior to the date of renewal, informing the purchaser of the right to 

terminate at any time prior to the date of automatic renewal; 

 3. Timeshare plans, whether or not an accommodation or component 

site is located in the State, under which the prospective purchaser’s total financial 

obligation shall be equal to or less than $3,000 during the entire term of the 

timeshare plan; 

 4. Component sites of specific timeshare interest multi-site timeshare 

plans that are neither located in nor offered for sale in this State, except that these 

component sites are still subject to the disclosure requirements of the Act; 
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 5. Offers or dispositions of securities or units of interest issued by a real 

estate investment trust regulated under any State or Federal statute; and 

6. Offers or dispositions of securities currently registered with the 

Bureau of Securities within the Division of Consumer Affairs in the Department of 

Law and Public Safety. 

 

 (c) All correspondence and inquiries related to the Act should be directed to:  

   New Jersey Real State Commission 

    Bureau of Subdivided Land Sales Control 

    20 West State Street 

    P.O. Box 328 

    Trenton, NJ 08625-0328. 

 

11:5-9A.2 Definitions 

 The following words and terms, as used in this subchapter, shall have the following 

meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise. 

“Abbreviated registration” means an expedited filing procedure for those out-of-

State filings that are located in a State or jurisdiction where the disclosure requirements 

are substantially equivalent or greater than those required under the Act.   

“Accommodation” means any apartment, condominium or cooperative unit, cabin, 

lodge, hotel or motel room, or other private or commercial structure containing toilet 

facilities therein that is designed and available, pursuant to applicable law, for use and 
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occupancy as a residence by one or more individuals which is a part of the timeshare 

property.  

"Act" means the New Jersey Real Estate Timeshare Act, N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.50 et 

seq.   

“Advertisement” means any written, oral or electronic communication that is 

directed to or targeted to persons within the State and contains a promotion, inducement 

or offer to sell a timeshare plan, including, but not limited to, brochures, pamphlets, radio 

and television scripts, electronic media, telephone and direct mail solicitations and other 

means of promotion. “Advertisement” does not mean: 

1. Any stockholder communication such as an annual report or interim 

financial report, proxy material, a registration statement, a securities prospectus, a 

registration, a property report or other material required to be delivered to a 

prospective purchaser by an agency of any local, state or Federal government; 

2. Any oral or written statement disseminated by a developer to 

broadcast or print media, other than paid advertising or promotional material, 

regarding plans for the acquisition or development of timeshare property.  

However, any rebroadcast or any other dissemination of such oral statements to 

prospective purchasers by a seller in any manner, or any distribution of copies of 

newspaper or magazine articles or press releases, or any other dissemination of such 

written statements to a prospective purchaser by a seller in any manner, shall 

constitute an advertisement; or 

3. Any communication addressed to and relating to the account of any 

person who has previously executed a contract for the sale or purchase of a 
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timeshare interest in a timeshare plan to which the communication relates shall not 

be considered advertising under this Act, provided they are delivered to any person 

who has previously executed a contract for the purchase of a timeshare interest or is 

an existing owner of a timeshare interest in a timeshare plan. 

“Assessment” means the share of funds required for the payment of common 

expenses which is assessed from time to time against each timeshare interest by the 

association. 

“Association” means the organized body consisting of the purchasers of interests in 

a timeshare property. 

“Commission” means the New Jersey Real Estate Commission. 

“Common expense” means casualty and liability insurance, and those expenses 

properly incurred for the maintenance, operation, and repair of all accommodations and 

common areas and facilities constituting the timeshare plan and any other expenses 

designated as common expenses by the timeshare instrument. 

“Component site” means a specific geographic location where accommodations 

which are part of a multi-site timeshare plan are located.  Separate phases of a single 

timeshare property in a specific geographic location and under common management shall 

be deemed a single component site. 

"Concurrent preliminary registration" means a preliminary registration filed 

concurrently with a substantially complete comprehensive or abbreviated registration. 

 “Conditional order of registration” means the authorization to allow sales of 

interests in a timeshare plan where the comprehensive or abbreviated registration 

application is substantially complete and only minor deficiencies remain. 
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"Consolidated filing" means the registration of additional timeshare interests 

pursuant to a previously registered plan by the filing of the supplemental information 

necessary to register the additional interests and the payment of an additional 

comprehensive or abbreviated registration fee, as applicable. 

 “Department” means the Department of Banking and Insurance. 

“Developer” means and includes any person or entity who creates a timeshare plan 

or is in the business of selling timeshare interests, or employs agents or brokers to do the 

same, or any person or entity who succeeds to the interest of a developer by sale, lease, 

assignment, mortgage or other transfer, except that the term shall include only those 

persons who offer timeshare interests for disposition in the ordinary course of business. 

“Dispose” or “disposition” means a voluntary transfer or assignment of any legal or 

equitable interest in a timeshare plan, other than the transfer, assignment or release of a 

security interest. 

“Escrow agent” means an independent person, including an independent bonded 

escrow company, an independent financial institution whose accounts are insured by a 

governmental agency or instrumentality, or an independent licensed title insurance agent 

who is responsible for the receipt and disbursement of funds in accordance with the Act.  If 

the escrow agent is not located in the State of New Jersey, then this person shall subject 

himself or herself to the jurisdiction of the Commission with respect to disputes that arise 

out of the provisions of the Act. 

“Incidental benefit” means an accommodation, product, service, discount, or other 

benefit which is offered to a prospective purchaser of a timeshare plan or to a purchaser of 
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a timeshare plan prior to the expiration of his or her rescission period pursuant to the Act 

and which is not an exchange program, provided that: 

1. Use or participation in the incidental benefit is completely voluntary; 

2. No costs of the incidental benefit are included as common expenses of 

the timeshare plan; 

3. The good faith represented aggregate value of all incidental benefits 

offered by a developer to a purchaser shall not exceed 20 percent of the actual price 

paid by the purchaser for his or her timeshare interest; and 

4. The purchaser is provided a disclosure that fairly describes the 

material terms of the incidental benefit.   

The term “incidental benefit” shall not include an offer of the use of the 

accommodations of the timeshare plan on a free or discounted one-time basis. 

“Managing entity” means the person who undertakes the duties, responsibilities and 

obligations of the management of the timeshare property. 

“Offer” means any inducement, solicitation, or other attempt, whether by 

marketing, advertisement, oral or written presentation or any other means, to encourage a 

person to acquire a timeshare interest in a timeshare plan, for gain or profit. 

“Person” means a natural person, corporation, limited liability company, 

partnership, joint venture, association, estate, trust, government, governmental subdivision 

or agency, or other legal entity or any combination thereof. 

“Preliminary registration” means a procedure by which any applicant may obtain 

an authorization to commence a limited marketing program for the purpose of soliciting 
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non-binding reservations in a timeshare plan prior to completing an abbreviated or 

comprehensive registration. 

“Promotion” means a plan or device, including one which creates the possibility of a 

prospective purchaser receiving a vacation, discount vacation, gift, or prize, that is used by 

a developer, or an employee of a developer, or an agent or independent contractor acting 

on behalf of the developer, in connection with the offering and sale of timeshare interests in 

a timeshare plan. 

“Purchase contract” means a document pursuant to which a person becomes legally 

obligated to sell, and a purchaser becomes legally obligated to buy, a timeshare interest. 

 “Purchaser” means any person, other than a developer, who by means of a 

voluntary transfer acquires a legal or equitable interest in a timeshare plan other than as 

security for an obligation. 

 “Reservation system” means the method, arrangement or procedure by which a 

purchaser, in order to reserve the use or occupancy of any accommodation in a multi-site 

timeshare plan for one or more timeshare periods, is required to compete with other 

purchasers in the same multi-site timeshare plan, regardless of whether the reservation 

system is operated and maintained by the multi-site timeshare plan managing entity or any 

other person. 

“Sales agent” means any person who performs within this State as an agent or 

employee of a developer any one or more of the services or acts as set forth in the Act, and 

includes any real estate broker, broker salesperson or salesperson licensed pursuant to 

N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 et seq., or any person who purports to act in any such capacity. 
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“Timeshare instrument” means one or more documents, by whatever name 

denominated, creating or governing the operation of a timeshare plan. 

 “Timeshare interest” means and includes either: 

1. A “timeshare estate,” which is the right to occupy a timeshare 

property, coupled with a freehold estate or an estate for years with a future interest 

in a timeshare property or a specified portion thereof; or 

2. A “timeshare use,” which is the right to occupy a timeshare property, 

which right is neither coupled with a freehold interest, nor coupled with an estate 

for years with a future interest, in a timeshare property. 

“Timeshare period” means the period or periods of time when the purchaser of an 

interest in a timeshare plan is afforded the opportunity to use the accommodations of a 

timeshare plan. 

“Timeshare plan” means any arrangement, plan, scheme, or similar device, whether 

by membership agreement, sale, lease, deed, license, or right to use agreement or by any 

other means, whereby a purchaser, in exchange for consideration, receives ownership 

rights in or the right to use accommodations for a period of time less than a full year 

during any given year on a recurring basis, but not necessarily for consecutive years.  A 

timeshare plan may be: 

1. A “single-site timeshare plan,” which is the right to use 

accommodations at a single timeshare property; or 

2. A “multi-site timeshare plan,” which includes: 

i. A “specific timeshare interest,” which means an interest 

wherein a purchaser has, only through a reservation system: 
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(1) A priority right to reserve accommodations at a specific 

timeshare property without competing with owners of timeshare 

interests at other component sites that are part of the multi-site 

timeshare plan, which priority right extends for at least 60 days; and 

(2) The right to reserve accommodations on a non-priority 

basis at other component sites that are part of the multi-site timeshare 

plan; or 

ii. A “non-specific timeshare interest,” which means an interest 

wherein a purchaser has, only through a reservation system, the right to 

reserve accommodations at any component site of the multi-site timeshare 

plan, with no priority right to reserve accommodations at any specific 

component site. 

“Timeshare property” means one or more accommodations subject to the same 

timeshare instrument, together with any other property or rights to property appurtenant 

to those accommodations. 

 

11:5-9A.3 Forms of documents 

(a) Provisions concerning documents with respect to the registration of 

timeshare plans  with the Commission are as follows.  With the exception of the affidavits 

or affirmations referenced in (a)6 below, the documents may be filed on a properly 

bookmarked and indexed computer disc (CD ROM) or other electronic medium acceptable 

to the Commission.  
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1. All registration statements of record submitted to the Commission 

shall be referenced and properly indexed and, if submitted on paper, properly 

bound. 

2. All paper documents submitted to the Commission for filing shall, 

wherever possible, be typewritten on one side of the paper only. 

3. One copy of each exhibit or document shall be submitted, unless the 

Commission requests more than one copy. 

4. All paper documents submitted to the Commission shall not exceed 8 

1/2 x 14 inches. 

5. An applicant shall submit verified copies of original documents. 

6. An affidavit or affirmation as prescribed in the Commission’s forms 

shall be executed for each of the following documents: 

i. An application for preliminary, comprehensive and 

abbreviated Registrations; 

ii. An annual report; 

iii. A statement of non-conviction; 

iv. A consent(s) to service of process; and 

v. A broker's affidavit, including an application for a broker’s 

release. 

7.     The acceptance of a registration and offering statement approved in 

another state may be conditioned upon an acceptable on-site inspection. 

 

11:5-9A.4 Registration filings 
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(a) A developer who sells, offers to sell, or attempts to solicit prospective 

purchasers in this State to purchase a timeshare interest, or any person who creates a 

timeshare plan with an accommodation in this State, shall register with the Commission, on 

forms provided by the Commission or in electronic formats authorized by the Commission, 

all timeshare plans which have accommodations located in this State or which are sold or 

offered for sale to any individual located in this State. 

 

(b) Preliminary registration requirements are as follows: 

1. Upon the submission of an application approved by the Commission, 

the Commission may grant a 90-day preliminary registration to allow the developer 

to begin offering and selling timeshare interests in a timeshare plan regardless of 

whether the accommodations of the timeshare plan are located within or outside of 

the State.  Upon submission to the Commission of a substantially complete 

application for an abbreviated or comprehensive registration under the Act, 

including all appropriate fees prior to the expiration date of the preliminary 

registration, the preliminary registration shall be automatically extended during the 

registration review period provided that the developer is actively and diligently 

pursuing registration under the Act.  The preliminary registration shall 

automatically terminate with respect to those timeshare interests covered by an 

approved public offering statement and by a final order of registration that is issued 

before the scheduled termination date of the preliminary registration. The 

preliminary registration shall also terminate upon the issuance of any notice of 

rejection due to the developer’s failure to comply with the provisions of the Act. 
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2.  Upon termination of a preliminary registration order for any reason 

other than the issuance of a final order of registration and public offering statement, 

all reservations executed under the preliminary registration shall be null and void, 

and all funds obtained shall be refunded to the purchaser within 15 days of 

termination. Evidence of such refunds must be filed with the Commission within 30 

days of the date of termination.  

3. To obtain a preliminary registration, the developer shall provide all of 

the following: 

i. The reservation instrument to be used, in a form previously 

approved by the Commission and supplied with the preliminary registration 

application, which shall, at a minimum, provide for the following: 

(1) The right of both the developer and the potential 

purchaser to unilaterally cancel the reservation at any time; 

(2) The placement by the developer of any deposit paid by 

the purchaser  into an escrow account maintained in accordance with 

(b)3iv below;  

(3) The repayment to the potential purchaser of his or her 

total deposit within 15 days following the receipt of a notice of 

cancellation of the reservation by either party; and 

(4) A statement to the effect that the reservation concerns 

an offering plan that has not yet received final approval from the 

Commission, and that no offering of the timeshare interest referenced 
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in the reservation instrument can be made by the developer until an 

offering plan has been filed with, and accepted by, the Commission; 

ii. A preliminary public offering statement in a form approved by 

 the Commission with an agreement to provide each potential 

purchaser with a copy of the preliminary public offering statement and an 

executed receipt for a copy before any money or other thing of value has 

been accepted by or on behalf of the developer in connection with the 

reservation; 

iii. An agreement to provide a copy of the reservation instrument 

signed by the potential purchaser and by or on behalf of the developer to the 

potential purchaser; 

iv. A fully executed escrow agreement, acceptable to the 

Commission, stating that all funds received by the developer shall be placed 

into an independent escrow account to be maintained in a financial 

institution located within the State of New Jersey under the control of an 

attorney, real estate broker or title company licensed to practice in new 

Jersey.  This agreement must state that no funds shall be released until a 

final order of registration has been granted unless refunded to the purchaser 

upon cancellation of the reservation agreement or expiration of the 

preliminary registration.  The name and address of the financial institution, 

and escrow account number must also be provided; 

v. The filing fee for a preliminary registration, specified at 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10(e), which filing fee shall be in addition to the filing fees 
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for an abbreviated or comprehensive registration as established in that 

subsection; 

vi. Any advertisements to be utilized by the developer while the 

preliminary registration is in effect.  All such advertisements shall be 

provided to the Commission before use;  

vii.       If the timeshare plan is located wholly or in part outside of the 

State of New Jersey, a fully executed consent to service of process, along with 

evidence of compliance with all laws governing the offering of a timeshare 

plan in that jurisdiction;  

viii.  A statement indicating whether the applicant, or a parent or a 

subsidiary of the applicant, or any of their current officers or principals 

have, during the past 10 years, or any of their former officers or principals 

have during the last two years, been convicted of any criminal or disorderly 

persons offense involving any aspect of the real estate sales or real estate 

securities business; and 

ix. Such other information as the Commission may require from a 

particular developer in order to further the provisions of the Act, to assure 

full and fair disclosure and protect the interests of purchasers.  

 

(c) Comprehensive registration requirements are as follows: 

1. In addition to the required documentation under N.J.S.A. 45:15-

16.57(d), to obtain a comprehensive registration, the developer shall provide all of 

the following: 
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i. The developer’s legal name, any alternate names or other 

names under which the developer has operated or is operating, and the 

developer’s principal office location, mailing address, primary contact 

person and telephone number; 

ii. The name, location, mailing address, primary contact person 

and telephone number of the timeshare plan; 

iii. The name and principal address of the developer’s authorized 

New Jersey representative who shall be a licensed real estate broker licensed 

to maintain offices within this State; 

iv. A declaration as to whether the timeshare plan is a single-site 

timeshare plan or a multi-site timeshare plan and, if a multi-site timeshare 

plan, whether it consists of specific timeshare interests or non-specific 

timeshare interests; 

v. The name and principal address of all brokers within New 

Jersey who sell or offer to sell any timeshare interests in any timeshare plan 

offered by the developer to any person in this State, who shall be licensed as a 

real estate broker pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-1 et seq., and who are the 

authorized representatives of the developer; 

vi. The name and principal address of all affiliated and non-

affiliated marketing entities who, by means of inducement, promotion or 

advertisement, attempt to encourage or procure prospective purchasers 

located in this State to attend a sales presentation for any timeshare plan 

offered by the developer or authorized broker; 
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vii. The name and principal address of all managing entities who 

manage the timeshare plan; 

viii. A public offering statement which complies with the 

requirements of the Act; 

ix. A form application provided by the Commission in which the 

applicant identifies the timeshare plan and the timeshare interests to be 

registered.  The application shall be accompanied by an affidavit, on a form 

provided by the Commission and signed by the applicant, which affirms and 

attests that the applicant is familiar with the project being registered, the 

nature and content of the application for registration, the Act and the rules 

promulgated thereunder, and that the contents of the application are true 

and correct and conform with those requirements.  A second affidavit, to be 

completed by the designated New Jersey broker of record, shall accompany 

the application.  The broker’s affidavit and application for a broker’s release 

shall state that he or she is familiar with the registration and its contents or 

has physically inspected the property, or both, that he or she is familiar with 

the Act and the rules promulgated thereunder, and with the New Jersey Real 

Estate License Act, and that he or she is not aware of any information that 

would lead him or her to believe that the information in the registration 

application does not provide full and fair disclosure of the offering; 

x. A statement by the applicant confirming that all monies paid 

by New Jerseys residents to the applicant or his agents prior to closing shall 

be held in an escrow account pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-16-57(e), or be 
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guaranteed by some means acceptable to the Commission.  The statement 

shall specify the name and location of the institution where the escrow 

account is maintained as well as the name and address of any trustee or 

escrow agent; 

xi. An irrevocable appointment of the Commission to accept, on 

behalf of the applicant, service of any lawful process in any proceeding 

arising under the Act against the applicant or his agents; 

xii. Copies of the developer’s certificate or articles of 

incorporation, with all amendments thereto, if the applicant is a corporation; 

copies of all instruments by which the trust is created or declared, if the 

developer is a trust; copies of the articles of partnership or association and 

all other organization papers if the applicant is organized under another 

form.  In the event the applicant is not the holder of the legal title to the 

property being registered, the above documents shall be submitted for both 

the applicant and the legal title holder; 

xiii. Copies of the deed or other instruments establishing title in the 

developer or other record owner and any escrow agreement required 

pursuant to this section, and a current title search, title report, title insurance 

policy, title opinion from an independent attorney, or certificate or binder 

issued by a licensed title insurance company.  The Commission may also 

require a copy of any agreement which grants the applicant the right to 

dispose of the timeshare interest on behalf of the title holder; 
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xiv. In the event there is, or shall be, a blanket encumbrance 

affecting the property or a portion thereof, a copy of the document creating it 

and a statement of the consequences to a purchaser of a failure of the person 

bound to fulfill the obligations under the instrument, and of the manner in 

which the interest of the purchaser is to be protected in the event of such 

failure; 

xv. Copies of any association documents and instruments creating 

or affecting the timeshare plan; 

xvi. A statement or listing of any pending administrative actions or 

litigation and pending or issued court orders, administrative orders, 

judgments or decrees which materially affect the sale or development of the 

offering or the financial stability of the applicant; 

xvii. A statement that the interests in the timeshare plan shall be 

offered to the public and sold or alienated without regard to age, ancestry, 

color, creed (religion), disability (including AIDS and HIV infection), 

atypical hereditary cellular or blood trait, familial status, liability for 

military service, marital status, domestic partnership status, nationality, 

national origin, race, sex, and affectional or sexual orientation; 

xviii. A statement of the present condition of access to the property 

and of the existence of any adverse conditions that affect the property, or 

unusual conditions relating to noise or safety which affect the property that 

are known to the applicant, or should reasonably be known, or are readily 

ascertainable; 
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xix. Copies of all contracts, agreements and acknowledgments 

which a purchaser or lessee may be required to execute in connection with 

this offering; 

xx. The audited financial statements of the applicant for the 

immediately preceding fiscal year.  The term “financial statements” includes, 

but is not limited to, the following statements:  auditor’s report, balance 

sheet, statement of income, statement of changes in retained earnings, 

statement of changes in financial position, statement of changes in owner’s 

equity, notes to financial statements and current profit and loss statement.  

The filing of the audited consolidated financial statements of a parent 

company of an applicant may be permitted if the parent company is the 

registrant, applicant, co-registrant or guarantor.  In the discretion of the 

Commission, it may accept or require alternative information evidencing the 

applicant’s ability to complete the promised improvements to the 

development in lieu of the audited financial statements; 

xxi. A statement concerning any filing for or adjudication of 

bankruptcy during the last five years by or with regard to the applicant, its 

predecessor, parent or subsidiary company and any principal owning more 

than a 10 percent interest in the timeshare plan at the time of the filing of the 

application for registration.  These requirements shall not extend to limited 

partners or those whose interests are solely those of passive investors; 

xxii. A statement as to the status of all applications for permits 

and/or compliance with any permits required or issued by any Federal, state, 
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or local agencies or similar organizations which have the authority to 

regulate or issue permits, approvals or licenses which may be material to the 

development, sale or other disposition of the timeshare interests to be 

registered and the existing or proposed facilities, common areas or 

improvements thereof; 

xxiii. A copy of the proposed budget for the operation and 

maintenance of the common elements and facilities based upon full 

occupancy together with the estimated annual assessment and monthly 

charges to be assessed to each type of unit.  The budget shall specifically state 

the amount set aside as reserves for the replacement of the common elements 

and facilities, as certified by an independent public accountant or other 

independent expert.  The budget should also indicate whether the applicant 

is subsidizing the maintenance fee or plans to subsidize the maintenance fee 

during sales prior to transfer of control to any association, and if so, the 

amount of the subsidy and the probable effect of the applicant’s 

discontinuance of the subsidy payments upon the maintenance fee payable by 

each owner.  The budget shall be accompanied by a letter of adequacy issued 

by an independent public accountant attesting that the budget was prepared 

in accordance with generally acceptable accounting principles and a letter 

from an independent insurance agent or broker confirming that the 

insurance coverage meets any standards required in the project documents 

and as required by situs state law;  
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xxiv. A covering letter specifying the following information with 

regard to the project: 

(1) The nature of the project; 

(2) The individual to whom all correspondence should be 

directed, with an address; and 

(3) The individual to whom annual report notices; and 

forms should be sent, with an address and telephone number;  

xxv. Such additional information as the Commission may require, 

after review of an application for registration, to assure full and fair 

disclosure; and  

xxvi. A statement indicating whether the applicant, or a parent or 

subsidiary of the applicant, or any of their current officers or principals 

have, during the past 10 years, or any of their former officers or principals 

have, during the last two years, been convicted of any criminal or disorderly 

persons offense involving any aspect of the real estate sales or real estate 

securities business in this State, the United States or any other state or 

foreign jurisdiction and whether the applicant has been subject to any 

permanent injunction or final administrative order restraining a false or 

misleading promotional plan involving real property disposition, or any final 

administrative order or judgment by any court finding that the applicant or 

any such persons have engaged in any unfair acts and/or fraudulent or 

deceptive practices involving the disposition of real property or of other 

products or services. 
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(d) Abbreviated registration requirements are as follows: 

1. In addition to the required documentation under N.J.S.A. 45:15-

16.57(f), to obtain an abbreviated registration, the developer shall provide all of the 

following: 

i. A broker of record affidavit in which the broker states that he 

or she is familiar with the registration and its contents or has physically 

inspected the property, or both, that he or she is familiar with the Act and 

the rules promulgated thereunder and with the Real Estate Brokers and 

Salesmen Act, and that he or she is not aware of any information that would 

lead him or her to believe that the information in the abbreviated application 

does not permit full and fair disclosure of the offering; 

ii. A statement confirming that all monies paid by New Jersey 

residents to the applicant or his agents prior to closing shall be held in an 

escrow account pursuant to N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.57(e) or be guaranteed by 

some other means acceptable to the Commission.  The statement shall specify 

the name and location of the institution where the escrow account is 

maintained as well as the name and address of any trustee or escrow agent; 

iii. An irrevocable appointment of the Commission to accept, on 

behalf of the developer, service of any lawful process in any proceeding 

arising under the Act against the applicant or his agents; 

iv. A statement as to the status of all applications for permits 

and/or compliance with any permits required to be issued by any Federal, 
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state or local agencies or similar organizations which have the authority to 

regulate or issue permits, approvals or licenses which may be material to the 

development, sale or other disposition of the timeshare interests to be 

registered and the existing or proposed facilities, common areas or 

improvements thereof; 

v. Copies of all contracts, agreements and acknowledgements 

which a purchaser or lessee may be required to execute in connection with 

the offering. The Commission may require additional or supplemental 

documentation in order to resolve any discrepancies between local law and 

the requirements of the Act; 

 vi.     A statement or listing of any pending administrative actions, 

litigation and pending or issued court orders, administrative orders, 

judgments or decrees which materially affect the sale or development of the 

offering or the financial stability of the applicant; and 

vii. A statement indicating whether the applicant, or a parent or 

subsidiary of the applicant, or any of their current officers or principals 

have, during the past 10 years, or any of their former officers or principals 

have during the last two years been convicted of any criminal or disorderly 

persons offense involving any aspect of the real estate sales or real estate 

securities business in this State, the United States or any other state or 

foreign jurisdiction and whether the applicant has been subject to any 

permanent injunction or final administrative order restraining a false or 

misleading promotional plan involving real property disposition, or any final 
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administrative order or judgment by any court finding that the applicant or 

any such persons have engaged in any unfair acts and/or fraudulent or 

deceptive practices involving the disposition of real property or of other 

products or services. 

 

11:5-9A.5 Amendments to registrations and to public offering statements 

(a) The registrant shall immediately file with the Commission amendments to its 

registration application and/or public offering statement reflecting any material or adverse 

change(s) in previously supplied information or documents, in order to ensure that the 

information provided to purchasers is current. 

 

(b) Material change means any significant change, whether beneficial or 

adverse, in the size or character of the interest being offered or anything having a 

significant affect on the regular duties or obligations of the registrant, developer or 

purchaser. 

1. Material change includes, but is not limited to: 

i. A change of the developer or registrant; 

ii. A change of exchange company or association with an 

additional exchange company; 

iii. Any substantial change in the accommodations and/or 

amenities that are part of the timeshare plan; 

iv. An increase or decrease in the number of timeshare interests in 

the timeshare plan; 
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v. A change of escrow agent, type of escrow or alternative 

assurance, or a change in any substantive provisions of the escrow agreement 

between the registrant and escrow agent; 

vi. An increase in assessments of 15 percent or more; 

vii. A change in management company or a change to a 

substantive provision of the management agreement; 

viii. The transfer of control of the association to the owners of 

interests in the timeshare plan by the registrant; 

ix. A filing of bankruptcy on the part of the developer, registrant, 

or management entity; 

x. Substantive changes in the procedures for obtaining 

reservations or access to the accommodations that are part of the timeshare 

plan; 

xi. The refinancing of or the placing of any additional mortgages 

or blanket encumbrances on the timeshare property or interests subsequent 

to registration approval; and 

xii. Any special assessments. 

  

 (c) Adverse changes include any material change to the timeshare plan that 

substantially reduces benefits or increases costs to purchasers. 

1. If the change is determined by the Commission to be both material 

and adverse to the purchasers of the timeshare plan as a whole, no closing shall 
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occur until the amendment relating to the material and adverse change has been 

approved by the Commission. 

 

(d) “Material” or “adverse” changes do not include: 

1. Correction of any typographical errors that do not affect the rights or 

obligations of purchasers; 

2. Changes in selling prices or advertising materials;  

3. Timely completion of promised improvements as represented in a 

previously approved public offering statement; and  

4.  With the exception of special assessments, any increase in fees payable 

by a purchaser of less than 15 percent. 

  

 (e) Unless otherwise permitted by the Act, no revised public                        

offering statement shall be given to prospective purchasers without the approval of the 

Commission. 

1. Applications for approval of an amended or corrected public offering 

statement shall be made by filing a red-lined copy of the proposed revised public 

offering statement with the Commission and an application update. 

 

(f) The Commission shall process and review requests for amendments to orders 

of registration and public offering statements in accordance with the standards and 

procedures established in the Act and this subchapter for the review of applications for 

registration.  Requests for approval of amendments to orders of registration and revisions 
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to public offering statements shall be accompanied by a fee of $300.00 as provided in 

N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.10. 

 

(g) The developer shall update the public offering statement to reflect any 

changes to the timeshare plan that are not material or adverse at the time of the filing of 

next annual report. 

 

11:5-9A.6   Public offering statements 

(a) No person shall dispose of any timeshare interest in a registered timeshare 

plan unless he or she delivers a current public offering statement and affords the purchaser 

a reasonable opportunity to read the same before the purchaser signs the contract or 

purchase agreement. 

1. In all cases where a New Jersey purchaser has not had contact with an 

authorized New Jersey broker, registrants shall maintain the signed and dated 

receipt for the New Jersey public offering statement and a copy of the contract 

which the New Jersey purchaser signed for a period of seven years. 

 

(b) The public offering statement shall disclose fully and accurately the 

characteristics of the timeshare plan offered and shall make known to prospective 

purchasers all unusual and material circumstances and features affecting the timeshare 

plan.  The public offering statement shall be in clear and concise language and combine 

simplicity and accuracy in order to fully advise purchasers of their rights, privileges, 

obligations and restrictions. 
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1. The public offering statement shall be in a form designated by the 

Commission.  No change in form shall be made without the consent of the 

Commission. 

2. The Commission may require an applicant to alter or amend the 

proposed public offering statement in order to assure full and fair disclosure to 

prospective purchasers. 

3. A public offering statement shall not be deemed current unless it 

contains all amendments approved by the Commission. 

4. Applicants and registrants shall immediately report to the 

Commission any material change, as defined in N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5, in the 

information contained in any proposed or approved public offering statement and 

shall simultaneously submit a request for approval of the appropriate amendments. 

5. The Commission shall process and review requests for amendments to 

public offering statements in accordance with the standards and procedures 

established in N.J.A.C. 11:5-9A.5. 

6. The public offering statement shall not be used for any promotional 

purposes before registration of the project, and thereafter only if used in its entirety. 

7. No public offering statement shall indicate, and no person shall 

represent or imply, that the Commission approves the merits of, or recommends the 

purchase of, an interest in the properties described in the offering. 

8. Prior to distributing a public offering statement as required under the 

Act in a language other than English, registrants who advertise in a language other 

than English shall file with the Commission copies of the public offering statement 

  



 55

approved by the Commission printed in both English and in the language in which 

the advertising appears.  The filing shall be accompanied by a certification attesting 

to the accuracy of the translation of the text of the public offering statement.  The 

certification shall be in a form as specified by the Commission and signed by an 

authorized representative of the registrant and a qualified translator. 

9. The public offering statement shall contain a statement, printed in 10 

point type or larger and conspicuously located indicating that within seven days 

after receipt of the public offering statement or execution of the purchase contract, 

whichever is later, a purchaser may cancel any purchase contract for a timeshare 

interest from the developer. The statement shall also contain the name and street 

address to which the purchaser shall mail any notice of cancellation. If by 

agreement of the parties in the contract, and/or if local law in the jurisdiction where 

the timeshare interest is located provides for a cancellation period of greater than 

seven days, then the longer cancellation period shall apply and the public offering 

statement shall so state. 

10.  All public offering statements shall contain a glossary defining the 

key terms in the offering statement and timeshare plan. This glossary shall be 

located prior to the narrative portion of the offering statement. 

11.  The following documents, if applicable, shall be contained in the 

public offering statement or simultaneously provided to the purchaser: 

i. The timeshare instrument; 

ii. The association articles of incorporation; 

iii. The association bylaws; 

  



 56

iv. The association rules; 

v. Copies of any leases or contracts, excluding the purchase 

contract and loan documents, required to be signed by the purchaser; 

vi.  The actual or estimated operating budget for the timeshare 

plan containing the information required under N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.59(b)13, 

and the schedule of purchaser’s expenses; 

vii. The form of any applicable agreement for the escrow of ad 

valorum tax escrow payments; 

viii. Documents detailing the procedures and methods by which a 

purchaser’s use and access to the accommodations is scheduled; and 

ix. For accommodations located in New Jersey, all documentation 

required to be given to purchasers under the New Jersey Condominium Act, 

N.J.S.A. 46:8B-1 et seq., and any other laws governing the transfer of 

interests in real property, including interests in common interest ownership 

communities in New Jersey. 

12. A signed and dated receipt for the public offering statement and 

required documents shall be maintained by the developer, along with an executed 

copy of the purchaser contract for a period of seven years. If the documents are 

delivered in an alternative format as permitted under N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.59(a), a 

signed receipt evidencing the purchaser’s acceptance of the documents in the 

alternative format, shall also be maintained by the developer.  
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11:5-9A.7 Exemptions 

(a) Any person who believes that an offering may be exempt from the provisions 

of the Act, or who is contemplating marketing property in New Jersey which he or she 

believes may be exempt, may apply to the Commission for a letter of exemption.  Such 

application shall be in written affidavit form and shall list the reasons why the offering or 

proposed offering may be exempt from the Act.  Such an application for exemption shall be 

accompanied by a non-refundable fee of $100.00. 

1. In the event the Commission shall determine that the offering is 

exempt from the Act, it shall issue a letter of exemption setting forth the facts upon 

which the determination is based. 

2 In the event the Commission shall determine that the offering is not 

exempt from the provisions of the Act, it shall deny the request for exemption in 

writing, setting forth therein the facts upon which the determination is based, and 

shall send such writing to the applicant via certified mail, return receipt requested. 

3. The Commission shall issue a determination as to whether an offering 

is or is not exempt within 30 days of its receipt of a complete request for exemption, 

with the appropriate fee. 

4. Any person who is aggrieved by such a determination is entitled to a 

hearing, in accordance with the Administrative Procedures Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 

et seq, and the Uniform Administrative Procedure Rules, N.J.A.C. 1:1, on the 

determination, provided said hearing is requested in writing no later than 30 days 

from the date of the applicant’s receipt of notice of such determination. 
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(b) If the nature of the proposed offering indicates that the applicant would be 

subject to the registration requirements of the Act, the applicant may apply to the 

Commission for a limited exemption.  If the Commission determines that enforcement of 

the entire Act and all of these rules is not necessary in the public interest or for the 

protection of purchasers due to the small amounts involved or the limited character of the 

offering, it shall issue a limited exemption from registration to the applicant. 

1. A limited exemption may be granted by reason of the limited 

character of the offering where the nature of the property, or of the prospective 

purchasers to whom the timeshare interest shall be offered, is such that it is likely 

prospective purchasers shall have expert advice concerning the purchase 

independent of that supplied by the applicant or his agents.  An application for a 

limited exemption for this reason shall include a copy of any prospectus, offering 

statement or other such solicitation.  A limited exemption granted for this reason 

shall be confined to the group of offerees specified in the application. 

2. An application for a limited exemption shall specify the particular 

timeshare interests for which exemption is sought.  Any limited exemption granted 

shall be confined to those timeshare interests so specified. 

3. An application for a limited exemption shall include a narrative 

description that clearly describes the nature of the offering and the factual basis and 

reasons why the limited exemption should be granted. 

4. Any limited exemption granted shall remain in effect for a period of 

two years from the date of issuance indicated in the letter of exemption, unless 

revoked as described below. 
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5. Any limited exemption granted shall permit the recipient to offer the 

timeshare interests covered by the limited exemption to New Jersey residents 

without obtaining an order of registration.  A limited exemption shall not deprive 

the Commission of jurisdiction to enforce any other provision of the Act or this 

subchapter, or to revoke the limited exemption after notice and opportunity to be 

heard. 

6. A $300.00 non-refundable fee shall be tendered with any application 

for a limited exemption. 

7. All applications for a limited exemption shall comply with the 

following minimum requirements. 

i. The filing of a limited exemption application affidavit-

questionnaire; 

ii. The filing of proof of title specifying the units or interests to be 

exempted; 

iii. The filing of satisfactory proof of surety and/or financial 

assurances for any promised improvements or amenities; 

iv. The advertisement standards and procedures established by 

this Act; and  

v. The filing of any other documents that the Commission shall 

deem necessary. 

8. No limited exemption granted hereunder shall be effective until a 

letter of limited exemption is issued by the Commission to the applicant for the 

exemption. 
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9. Any material change in the information reflected on the application 

for a limited exemption or on any documentation submitted in support of such 

application, shall immediately void any exemption issued based upon such 

application. 

 

(c)  Any offering under this subsection may only be made to those persons who are 

current bona fide owners of an interest in a timeshare plan currently registered under the 

Act or  previously registered under the Act, or under N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.27 et seq. or the 

Planned Real Estate Development Full Disclosure Act, N.J.S.A. 45:22A-21 et seq., by the 

same developer making the offer.   A developer of a timeshare plan that either is or was so 

registered may offer and dispose of an interest in another timeshare plan created by that 

developer that is located outside of this State and not registered under the Act to a person 

in this state who is a current owner of an interest in the currently or previously registered 

timeshare plan provided that: 

1. The developer files a notice with the Commission identifying the 

timeshare plan that it intends to offer; 

2. The developer certifies that all purchasers shall be provided with all 

disclosure documentation required by law to be provided in the jurisdiction in 

which the timeshare plan is located; 

3. The developer certifies that New Jersey purchasers shall be provided 

with a right to rescind their purchase within seven days after the purchase contract 

is signed and all documents required under this Act and local and municipal law are 
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delivered, whichever is later.  If local or municipal law grants a longer rescission 

period, then the longer period would apply; 

4. The developer submits a fee of $300.00; and 

5. If the offer is made to owners of interests in a previously registered 

timeshare plan, the registration of that plan was terminated in good standing as 

provided in N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.60c, 45:15-16.40c or 45:22A-31, as applicable. 

 

11:5-9A.8 Advertising and sales promotions with respect to the sale and       

marketing of registered timeshare plans 

(a) Advertisements that refer to the purchase price of a timeshare interest shall 

state the full purchase price and shall disclose any known or estimated additional 

assessments or costs to the purchaser. 

1. No advertisement shall refer to a price increase unless the amount and 

date of the increase are indicated. 

 

(b) No advertisement shall refer to any common element or facility that does not 

presently exist unless that fact is prominently stated in the advertisement, accompanied by 

the proposed date of completion, which shall also appear prominently in the advertisement. 

 

(c) No advertisement shall contain photographs, sketches or artist’s conceptions 

unless the fact that these are conceptions is stated immediately adjacent to them in the 

advertisement. 
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(d) Unless otherwise noted in the contract of sale, any model unit that is used as 

part of a promotional plan shall be in substantial conformity with the units that have been 

or are subsequently constructed. 

 

(e) The owners of timeshare plans that are not registered with the Commission, 

nor wholly or partially exempt from the Act, shall not make or cause to be made an offer or 

disposition of any timeshare interest in such a plan to a person or resident within this State 

regardless of whether the offer or disposition originates within or outside of this State. 

1. When advertisements for such properties or interests are placed in 

any media which is distributed in or broadcast into this State, a disclaimer shall be 

included indicating that the properties or interests are not registered with the New 

Jersey Real Estate Commission and that the advertisement is not an offer to New 

Jersey residents. 

 

(f) Any advertisement, including those which contain offers of reimbursement of 

travel expenses and/or offers of premiums or other inducements shall also comply with the 

provisions of the New Jersey Consumer Fraud Act, N.J.S.A. 56:8-1 et seq. 

 

(g) Registrants who advertise in a language other than English shall make 

available to prospective purchasers all disclosure documents, including, but not limited to, 

the public offering statement, and the sales contract written in the same language as that 

used in the registrant’s advertisements. 
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11:5-9A.9 Inspection of timeshare offerings 

 (a) As provided in N.J.S.A. 45:15-16.84, the Commission, at its discretion, may 

make on-site inspections of any timeshare plan which is the subject of an application for 

registration, either before an order of registration has been issued or thereafter.  The 

Commission may in its discretion conduct subsequent on-site inspections. 

 

(b) The costs of inspections shall be paid by the applicant who shall provide a 

deposit when requested by the Commission.  After the inspection, the Commission shall 

provide the applicant/registrant with a statement of costs incurred and a refund of any 

portion of the deposit not expended or a request for additional funds if required. 

 

11:5-9A.10 Fees 

(a) All applicants for registration shall pay application fees as prescribed in 

N.J.S.A. 48:15-16.64 and in (e) below. 

 

(b) Any request for approval of a material change in, or an amendment to, an 

application for registration on the basis of which an order of registration has been issued 

and/or an order of registration and/or a public offering statement shall be accompanied by 

a fee of $300.00.  No fee shall be charged for amendments to applications or proposed 

public offering statements made prior to the issuance of an order of registration. 

1. If applications are made simultaneously for approval of a material 

change and/or an amendment to an order of registration and/or an amendment to a 

previously approved public offering statement, only one fee shall be payable. 
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2. If applications are made for approval of multiple material changes, 

and/or multiple amendments to an order of registration, and/or multiple 

amendments to a public offering statement simultaneously, only one fee shall be 

payable. 

 

(c) In accordance with the provisions of N.J.A.C. 15:3, the Commission shall 

maintain a copy of every application for registration of a timeshare plan that is currently 

registered together with all amendments thereto and shall make them reasonably available 

for public inspection during ordinary business hours at the Commission’s office. 

1. The Commission shall furnish to the public, upon request, a copy of 

the statement of record of any registered subdivision at a cost in accordance with 

the copying fees set forth in N.J.S.A. 47:1A-5(b). 

 

(d) All fees paid are non-refundable. 

 

(e) Fees charged pursuant to the Act are listed in the table below: 

 

 Description     Fee 

 Comprehensive registration   $1,0000 plus     

       $50.00 per timeshare interest, up to a  

       maximum of $7,500 

 
Preliminary registration   $3000 if filed separately  
 
Concurrent preliminary registration $500.00 in addition to comprehensive or 
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      abbreviated registration fee 
             
 
Abbreviated registration   $1,000 plus 

     $50.00 per timeshare interest, up to a  
      maximum of $7,500. 

 
Amendments to registration   $300.00 

Exemption to market to current owners $300.00 

Limited exemption    $300.00 

Statutory exemption    $100.00 

 (f) The fee for a consolidation filing shall be the same as for a comprehensive or 

abbreviated registration as set forth in (e) above. 
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