Core Curriculum Content Standards

CCCS History | CCCS Home | Search:

Introduction | Standards Resources | Professional Learning | Preschool Standards | Revised Timeline | Content Coordinators

About the Preschool Standards

The 2009 revision of the Core Content Curriculum Standards marks the first year that the New Jersey Department of Education aligned standards for preschool learning with the standards for grades K-12. While the document entitled Preschool Teaching and Learning Standards presents the complete text of the preschool standards, preschool indicators are also included in the P-12 documents for five Core Curriculum Content Standards areas:

  • Visual and Performing Arts (Standard 1)
  • Comprehensive Health and Physical Education (Standard 2)
  • Science (Standard 5)
  • Social Studies (Standard 6)
  • Technology (Standard 8)

The inclusion of the preschool standards in these five content area documents was intended to assist districts seeking to align curricula from grades P-12. These aligned preschool standards and the preschool standards for Social/Emotional Development1, Language Arts Literacy2, Mathematics3, and World Languages4 can all be accessed through the Core Content Curriculum Standards search engine.

In most cases, the preschool indicators are worded the same way in both Preschool Teaching and Learning Standards and in the P-12 content area documents. However, in some cases, the language of the indicators was adapted in the P-12 documents to accentuate the alignment with later learning. For the writing of preschool curricula and the teaching of preschool children, districts should rely on Preschool Teaching and Learning Standards.

  • 1  Social/Emotional Development is not addressed by the Core Curriculum Content Standards for grades K-12. Thus, a unique content area number, 0, has been designated for these preschool indicators.
  • 2, 3  New Jersey adopted the Common Core State Standards for English Language Arts & Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects and Mathematics on June 16, 2010. These standards address grades K-12 only. The numbering of the New Jersey preschool standards in these subject areas makes use of the Language Arts and Mathematics content area numbers (4 and 5, respectively). However, the organization and numbering of the preschool Language Arts and Mathematics standards does not reflect the organization or numbering of the Common Core State Standards.
  • 4  The World Languages content standard is organized by proficiency level, rather than by grade. It begins with the Novice-Mid level. Like other young learners, preschool students learn world languages with the goal of reaching the Novice-Mid level by second grade. However, the focus of language learning for preschool students differs from the focus of language learning for students in grades K-2. The preschool standards point only to the specific ways in which preschoolers learn world languages. Thus, the numbering of the preschool CPIs adopts the World Languages content area number (7), but uses grade-level P instead of proficiency-level NM in its numbering system.