DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Educator Recruitment, Preparation, and Recognition

»Home »Recognition »Educator Recognition »Milken National Educator Awards


Educator Recognition

Milken National Educator Awards

Photo of five people holding a big check

Photo courtesy of the Milken Family Foundation - From left: New Jersey Department of Education Commissioner Kimberley Harrington; recipient Toni-Ann Palmisano; New Jersey Assembly Speaker Vincent Prieto; Secaucus Mayor Michael Gonnelli; and Dr. Jane Foley, senior vice president of the Milken Educator Awards.

Lowell and Michael Milken and members of the Milken families conceived the National Educator Award program in the early 1980s. They saw the importance of recognizing great educators and developed a program that provides public recognition and financial rewards to outstanding educators. The first awards were presented to 12 California educators in 1987. Each educator in the program is given a $25,000 unrestricted financial award and the opportunity to participate in ongoing professional development at yearly state conferences, an annual National Education Conference, and through state networks of educators, state agency personnel, legislators, university personnel, business partners, and foundation staff. Since 1987, the program has awarded over $68 million to more than 2,700 outstanding teachers, principals, and educators.  New Jersey joined the Milken National Educator Awards in 2002 as the 45th state to participate.


Milken Educator Awards Program | Frequently Asked Questions | Milken Family Foundation

2017 Honorees

2016 Honorees

2015 Honorees

2014 Honorees

2013 Honorees

2012 Honorees

2011 Honorees


2010 Honorees

2009 Honorees

2008 Honorees

2007 Honorees

2006 Honorees

2005 Honorees

2004 Honorees

2003 Honorees

2002 Honorees