DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #


Contact: Richard Vespucci
For Release: October 4, 2000

Commissioner Announces Pilot Program
to Enhance Hiring of School Administrators

Commissioner of Education David Hespe today announced creation of a pilot program to expand the pool of qualified school administrators in urban school districts throughout the state. The plan will permit eligible school boards to seek permission to substitute a candidate’s work experience for current requirements for a school administrator’s certificate.

"We are aware that local school boards are having a difficult time filling chief school administrator vacancies," Commissioner Hespe said. "As a result, we will be initiating a pilot program to provide flexibility in the hiring process and give us additional information to guide our future review of the licensing code.

"We believe that the most urgent need for expanding the pool of qualified superintendent candidates is currently in our urban districts and this pilot program will focus on that group of districts," the Commissioner said.

Under the pilot, urban boards seeking to hire school administrator candidates who do not hold school administrator certificates will be able to file an equivalency application to the county superintendent of schools for review and submission to the department for consideration. Each request will be considered on a case-by-case basis.

Candidates will still need to apply for the issuance of a certificate through the department’s Office of Licensing and Credentials.

NOTE: Attached is a list of urban school districts in New Jersey that are eligible to participate in the pilot program.

Urban Districts Eligible for Pilot School Administrator Program

Asbury Park City
Bayonne City
Belleville Township
Bloomfield township
Brick township
Bridgeton City
Camden City
Carteret Borough
East Orange City
Elizabeth City
Garfield City
Glassboro Borough
Gloucester City
Gloucester Township
Hackensack City
Hillside Township
Hoboken City
Irvington Township
Jersey City
Keansburg Borough
Kearny Town
Lakewood Township
Lindenwold Township
Lodi Borough
Long Branch City
Monroe Township (Cumberland)
Millville City
Montclair Township
Mount Holly Township
Neptune City
Neptune Township
New Brunswick City
Newark City
North Bergen Township
Old Bridge Township
Orange City Township
Passaic City
Paterson City
Pemberton Township
Penns Grove Borough
Pennsauken Township
Perth Amboy City
Phillipsburg Town
Plainfield City
Pleasantville City
Rahway City
Roselle Borough
Salem City
Trenton City
Union City
Vineland City
Weehawken Township
West New York Town
Willingboro Township
Winslow Township
Woodbridge Township
Woodbury City