DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Contact: Peter Peretzman
For Release: December 2, 2001

Sixteen Regional School Districts Face School Board Apportionment Changes Due to 2000 Census

The Department of Education has notified sixteen regional school districts that they face changes in the apportionment of school board member seats for some of their constituent districts. This change will be taking place because of population changes reflected on the 2000 census. The board configurations in 13 of the districts will change in time for the next school board election, which is scheduled for April 16, 2002. In the other three districts the three municipalities gaining a seat will do so in 2002 and the three municipalities losing a seat will not do so until 2003. These three districts will operate with ten members for one year.

The following regional school districts now face a change in their school board configurations subsequent to the April 2002 election:

  • Pascack Valley (Bergen)
  • Lenape (Burlington)
  • RancocasValley (Burlington)
  • Black Horse Pike (Camden)
  • Kingsway (Gloucester)
  • North Hunterdon/Voorhees (Hunterdon)
  • Red Bank (Monmouth)
  • Hanover Park (Morris)
  • Long Beach Island (Ocean)
  • Southern (Ocean)
  • Passaic/Manchester (Passaic)
  • Pennsgrove-Carneys Point (Salem)
  • Wallkill Valley (Sussex)

The following regional school districts will add a seat as a result of the April 2002 election and then will drop back to nine members with the April 2003 election.

  • Northern Burlington County Regional (Burlington)
  • Lower Cape May County Regional (Cape May)
  • Hopewell Valley (Mercer)