DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #


For More Information Contact the Public Information Office:
    Jon Zlock
    Richard Vespucci
    Ron Rice


For Release: December 9, 2003

Commissioner Librera, DOE Honor State’s Top Award-Winning Teachers
State Lauds Award Winners and Finalists at First-Ever Ceremony

Commissioner of Education William L. Librera today proudly honored 29 New Jersey award winners and finalists in the following programs for their ongoing excellence in education: the Milken Family Foundation National Educators program winners; the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching program finalists; and the Teacher of the Year program winners.

The Commissioner and Department of Education (DOE), supported by Gov. James E. McGreevey’s continued commitment to recognizing educational excellence, honored the award winners as part of the DOE’s first Recognizing Educator Achievement and Leadership (REAL) celebration.

"We are so very pleased to recognize the who’s who among educational leaders in New Jersey," Commissioner Librera said. "Their continued dedication to their craft and their excellence in their field should be recognized. These award winners and finalists should be emulated and their successes should be shared."

In addition to the awards luncheon, Commissioner Librera and the DOE hosted a morning forum with several professional workshops, held at the Ramada Inn National Conference Center in East Windsor.

For more information about the award winners, please click on the following Web links:

  • Milken Family Foundation National Educator Award winners:

  • Presidential Awards for Excellence in Math and Science finalists:

  • Teacher of the Year and County Teachers of the Year award winners:

For more information about the day’s events, please contact the Department of Education Public Information Office at (609) 292-1126.