DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #


For More Information Contact the Public Information Office:
    Tarah Ortley
    Kathryn Forsyth, Director

For Release: July 18, 2006


192 Byrd Scholars Announced by Acting Commissioner Davy

The Department of Education is pleased to announce the 192 New Jersey students selected as the 2006 Robert C. Byrd Scholarship winners.

“I would like to extend my congratulations to the talented winners of our Byrd Scholarships for 2006,” said acting Commissioner Lucille E. Davy. “I am certain this group of recipients will excel during their college experiences and will go on to have very successful and promising careers in their respective fields. Their school community and parents have every reason, as do we, to be proud of their accomplishments.”

A list of the award recipients is available from the department’s website at:

The federal scholarship program is administered by the Department of Education. The scholarships are awarded to members of high school graduating classes based on academic merit. Students competed against each other within each of New Jersey’s 13 congressional districts. 

Scholarship winners receive $1,500 a year, contingent on federal funding, for up to four years of study at any accredited college or university in the United States. Students who maintain full-time status and exhibit satisfactory academic progress are entitled to renew the scholarship each year.

More than 1,600 students applied this year.

Winners were selected by grade point average, SAT scores, class rank, course difficulty based on each school, grades in advanced placement classes and advanced placement tests, and other factors that can be determined by a review of the students’ transcripts.

Applicants must be legal New Jersey residents and be nominated by their schools.

For more information, please contact the Department of Education Public Information Office at (609) 292-1126.