DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #


For More Information Contact the Public Information Office:
    Jon Zlock        
    Kathryn Forsyth, Director

For Release: April 4, 2007

Two New State Board Members Sworn-In

Edithe Fulton and Kenneth Parker were sworn-in this week as the newest members of the State Board of Education.

Fulton is a former New Jersey Education Association president and long-time New Jersey educator from Toms River, Ocean County.  She fills a vacant seat and her term expires in 2012. 

Fulton took her oath of office this morning at the State Board of Education meeting at the Department of Education headquarters in Trenton.

Parker is president of the Atlantic City Electric region of Connectiv and is a resident of Winslow Township, Camden County.  He replaces former board member Ed Taylor and his term also expires in 2012.

Parker took his oath of office Tuesday.

Fulton began her career in education in 1966 as a teacher in Lakehurst.  She is a current member of the Board of Directors for the following: New Jersey Reads; Literacy Volunteers of Ocean County; and Executive Women of New Jersey.  She served as NJEA president from 1981-1985 and again from 1993-2005.

Parker holds a bachelor’s degree in early childhood education from Delaware State University and is a member of the Board of Directors for the following: New Jersey State Chamber of Commerce; South Jersey Chamber Foundation; Special Olympics of New Jersey; and the Ronald McDonald House of Southern New Jersey.

For more information, please contact the Department of Education Public Information Office at (609) 292-1126.