DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #


For More Information Contact the Public Information Office:
Jon Zlock      
    Kathryn Forsyth, Director

For Release: May 1, 2007

DOE Announces $9 Million in Grants for In-District Programs
for Students with Disabilities

Twenty-eight New Jersey school districts and regional special education public school providers will share $9 million in state and federal funds to enhance and expand in-district programs for students with disabilities, Education Commissioner Lucille E. Davy announced today.
In his FY2007 budget, Governor Jon S. Corzine dedicated $4.5 million for planning and start-up costs for districts seeking to enhance their special education program costs.  The DOE Office of Special Education provided an additional $4.5 million in federal funds obtained by the state under the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 2004 (IDEA).

“The Governor has made the availability of high quality special education programs a top priority,” said Commissioner Davy, noting that in February, the department awarded $15 million in grants to 55 districts for programs and services for students diagnosed with Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD).

“The grants announced today will be an enormous help to school districts in removing the barriers that prevent students with disabilities from being educated in general education settings,” Commissioner Davy said.  “The money will allow districts to provide the teacher training, technology and other innovative techniques to increase the opportunities for these students to participate in academic, non-academic and extra-curricular programs with their non-disabled peers.”

The grants range from $500,000 to $115,000, depending on the number of students with disabilities in the district and the proposal presented in the district’s grant application.

DOE received 186 applications for the program.  Each district application received a score based on an evaluation of five components:  The statement of need, the project description, the program activity plan, the budget and the district’s commitment and capacity to continue the inclusive programs after the 25-month grant program expires and the budget.

Click here for a list of districts receiving the awards.

Several districts have formed partnerships to implement the grant programs on a regional basis:

  • Delsea Regional is partnering with Elk Township.
  • Jackson is partnering with Point Pleasant Borough and Brielle.
  • The Morris-Union Jointure Commission is partnering with Berkeley Heights, Clark, Cranford, Florham Park, Somerset Hills, South Orange-Maplewood, Springfield, Summit, Union Township, and Watchung Borough.
  • Salem City will partner with Elsinboro, Lower Alloway’s Creek, Mannington and Quinton.
  • The South Bergen Jointure Commission will partner with Bogota, Carlstadt, Carlstadt/East Rutherford High School, Garfield, Hasbrouck Heights, Lyndhurst, Lodi, Moonachie, North Arlington, Rutherford, South Hackensack and Wallington.

For more information, please contact the Department of Education Public Information Office at (609) 292-1126.