DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

Christie Administration Announces New Jersey's County Teachers of the Year for 2012-13

For Immediate Release Contact: Barbara Morgan
Rich Vespucci
Date: September 13, 2012 609-292-1126

Trenton, NJ – The Christie Administration today announced the selection of New Jersey's 21 County Teachers of the Year and the State Facility Teacher the Year for the 2012-13 school year.

"Most of us know how humbling and awe-inspiring it is to be a student or a colleague of an excellent teacher – these are the individuals who have the power and skill to change lives and bring out the best in us all.  I'd like to congratulate the twenty two teachers on their selection," Education Commissioner Chris Cerf said. "Through our teacher of the year selection process, which begins at the school and district levels, many more teachers are recognized and celebrated for the outstanding jobs they are doing for our children."

County teachers of the year are selected at the county level by panels representing a cross-section of administrators, teachers, parents and county education association representatives convened by the executive county superintendents of schools.

Each County Teacher of the Year submits a written application and a 15 minute video to the Department of Education for review by a state-level panel of educators who make the final selection of the 2012-13 New Jersey State Teacher of the Year. The announcement will be made at the October meeting of the State Board of Education and the winner will represent the state at the National Teacher of the Year competition.

New Jersey's State Teacher of the Year serves as an ambassador to the profession by articulating the many ways that teachers contribute to their field; communicating ideas about current issues and challenges that confront the profession; and sharing knowledge about specific programs and instructional strategies that benefit teachers and students.

New Jersey's 2012-13 County Teachers of the year and State Facility Teacher of the Year are as follows:







Bernadette Daley

Business & Computer Technology - grade 9th-12th

Mainland Regional High School District

Mainland Regional High School


Susan Toth

Physical Education & Dance - grade 6th-8th

Tenafly Public School District

Tenafly Middle School


Kimberly Murray

Chemistry - grade 10th-12th

Lenape Regional High School District

Leanpe Regional High School


Sandra Carro

Basic Skills - grade 5th-7th

Oaklyn Public School District

Oaklyn Public School

Cape May

Shelley Forsman

Language Arts - grade 8th

Upper Township School District

Upper Township Middle School


Stacey Musey

Biology - grade 10th

Vineland Public School District

Vineland High School North


Indira Bailey

Art - grade 9th-12th

Essex County Vocational School District

Bloomfield Tech


Susan Barry

English & Shakespeare Studies - grade 10th-12th

Clearview Regional High School District

Clearview Regional High School


Kristine Nazzal

ESL & Language Arts - grade 9th-12th

Union City School District

Union City High School


Mary Woods

English - grade 9th-12th

Hunterdon Central Regional School District

Hunterdon Central Regional High School


Angeline Sturgis

ESL - grade K-3rd

Lawrence Township School District

Eldridge Park School


Lauren Marrocco

Elementary - grade 4th

Perth Amboy School District

Edward J. Patten Elementary School


Amanda Galante

Technology - grade 9th-12th

Red Bank School District

Red Bank Regional High School


Thomas Koehler

Veterinary Science - grade 9th-12th

Morris County Vocational School District

Morris County School of Technology


Nancy Evans

Gifted & Talented - grade 1st-5th

Brick Township School District

Drum Point & Osbornville Elementary Schools


Mary Duffy

Elementary - grade 5th

West Milford Township Public School District

Marshall Hill School


Cherie Lower

Elementary & Special Education - grade 3rd

Woodstown-Pilesgrove School District

Mary S. Shoemaker Elementary School


Cynthia Sobreyra

Spanish - grade 11th-12th

Hillsborough Township School District

Hillsborough High School

State Facility

Bonnie Yates

Special Education - grade 9th-12th

NJ Department of Children and Families

DCF Atlantic Regional School


Vincent Stracquatanio

Science - grade 11th-12th

Vernon Township School District

Vernon Township High School


Sarah David

Social Studies - grade 7th

Springfield Public School District

Florence M. Gaudineer Middle School


Daniel Cullen

Special Education - grade 7th-8th

Warren Hills Regional School District

Warren Hills Regional Middle School

Additional information on the State Teacher of the Year program can be found on the NJDOE's website here: