New Jersey Department of Education

DOE A to Z: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z #

NJ SMART Education Data System

NJ SMART Training and Support

Training and Support LogoNJ SMART Professional Development and Training

Each year, the New Jersey Department of Education provides over 300 NJ SMART trainings statewide via webinars on a variety of topics. In addition, new supplemental eLearning videos have been created to assist in self-paced learning. Each on demand eLearning video is designed to give a high level review of each topic and should be used in conjunction with the other NJ SMART tools and resources. Please see below for the links to the eLearning videos, trainings offered, their descriptions, and how individuals may participate in trainings. For documented resources, please see the Documents for Downloads Page.

NJ SMART eLearning Videos

Click on the links below to access the eLearning topic.

Submission Overview This 5-minute video provides a detailed timeline and overview of ID Managements and Submissions collected through NJ SMART.

New User Training This 20-minute video provides a functional overview of NJ SMART, including how to get started and how to navigate the portal to manage your LEA's data.

SID Management This 6-minute video covers why student level data is collected, who and what should be reported, when official data is collect, and the uses of SID Management data.

SMID Management This 5-minute video reviews why staff level data is collected, who and what should be reported, and when official data is collected.

State Assessment Registration Submission This 5-minute video looks at why State Assessment Registration data is being collected, who should be reported, when official data is collected, and how the Submission works with SID and SMID Management.

Course Roster Submission This 5-minute video provides an overview of why the student and staff course data is collected, what should be reported to the submission, and how the submission works with the End of Year SID and SMID Snapshot.

Course Roster Submission Technical Review This 5-minute video reviews the process of uploading and managing records to the Course Roster Submission and creating a successful link between the staff and student records.

State Submission This 5-minute video reviews who should be reported and how the data works with SID Management throughout the school year.

District Reports This video provides an overview of District Reports, how data is populated within the reports, and a functional review of how to run and read District Reports.

How to Participate in NJ SMART Webinars

Trainings are web-based and last approximately 60 minutes. You will need to register for a session following the directions outlined below. It is highly encouraged that users familiarize themselves with the appropriate data handbooks and guidance related to each respective topic prior to participating in training.

To register for a training session please follow these directions:

  1. Navigate to pcgus.webex.com
  2. Click on Training Center at the top of the home page, and then click Register next to the training session you are attending that corresponds to the time of your session.
  3. Enter your first name, last name, email address, four-digit district code and then click Register.
  4. You should then receive an email confirmation of your registration. This email is important because it will contain your Registration ID which you will need to enter when you log in to the training session.

To participate in a training session please follow these directions:

  1. Log on 5 minutes prior to the session start-time to pcgus.webex.com.
  2. Click on Training Center at the top of the home page, and then click on the Live Session link next to the training session you are attending that corresponds to the time of your session.
  3. Enter the Registration ID that you received in the confirmation email and the password. The password for each session is Letmein1.
  4. Once logged into the WebEx portion, an Audio Conference box should appear. From the drop down list select 'I Will Call In' to gain the information needed for the audio portion of the webinar.
  5. Dial the first toll-free number listed under 'I Will Call in' and, when prompted to do so, enter the meeting access code number and Attendee ID.
 2017-2018 Training Dates
April
SID Management Mon, Apr 2 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
State Submission Tue, Apr 3 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
State Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
District Reports Training Wed, Apr 4 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
District Reports Training 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Course Roster Submission Thu, Apr 5 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SMID Management Mon, Apr 9 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SMID Management 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Graduation Training Tue, Apr 10 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
Graduation Training 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
CTE Submission Wed, Apr 11 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
CTE Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SID Management Thu, Apr 12 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SID Management 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
NJ SMART Update Review Mon, Apr 16 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
NJ SMART Update Review 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
CTE Submission Tue, Apr 17 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
CTE Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Course Roster Submission Wed, Apr 18 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
State Submission Thu, Apr 19 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
State Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Course Roster Submission Mon, Apr 23 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SID Management Tue, Apr 24 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SMID Management Wed, Apr 25 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SMID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
New User Training Thu, Apr 26 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
New User Training 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Graduation Training Mon, Apr 30 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
Graduation Training 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
May
NJ SMART Update Review Tue, May 1 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
NJ SMART Update Review 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Course Roster Submission Wed, May 2 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
State Submission Thu, May 3 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
State Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
CTE Submission Mon, May 7 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
CTE Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SMID Management Tue, May 8 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SMID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SID Management Wed, May 9 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SID Management 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
District Reports Training Thu, May 10 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
District Reports Training 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
State Submission Mon, May 14 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
State Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
New User Training Tue, May 15 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
New User Training 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
Graduation Training Wed, May 16 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Graduation Training 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Course Roster Submission Thu, May 17 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SID Management Mon, May 21 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SID Management 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
CTE Submission Tue, May 22 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
CTE Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
Course Roster Submission Wed, May 23 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
State Submission Thu, May 24 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
State Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
Graduation Training Tue, May 29 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
Graduation Training 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SMID Management Wed, May 30 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SMID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SID Management Thu, May 31 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SID Management 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
June
Course Roster Submission Mon, Jun 4 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SMID Management Tue, Jun 5 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SMID Management 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
CTE Submission Wed, Jun 6 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
CTE Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
New User Training Thu, Jun 7 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
New User Training 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SID Management Mon, Jun 11 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
SID Management 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
Graduation Training Tue, Jun 12 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
Graduation Training 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
District Reports Training Wed, Jun 13 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
District Reports Training 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
CTE Submission Thu, Jun 14 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
CTE Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SMID Management Mon, Jun 18 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SMID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
Course Roster Submission Tue, Jun 19 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Course Roster Submission 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
State Submission Wed, Jun 20 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
State Submission 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
Graduation Training Thu, Jun 21 10:00 AM – 11:00 AM
Graduation Training 2:00 PM – 3:00 PM
SID Management Mon, Jun 25 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM
SMID Management Tue, Jun 26 9:00 AM – 10:00 AM
SMID Management 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM