NJ State Special Education Advisory Council » NJ SSEAC Home

COUNCIL MEMBERSHIP

State law (NJSA 18A:46-2), provides that the Commissioner of Education shall appoint and work with a council of no more than fifteen members.  The members of the Council work in collaboration with the director of the Office of Special Education Programs. In addition, there are several resource representatives from various state agencies. Appointments to the council are made in accordance with guidelines established in P.L. 94-142 and the reauthorized IDEA amendments. Members are appointed for a minimum of two-year terms that can be renewed for a maximum of three terms. Each appointment to the council must be confirmed by the State Board of Education.

Tracy Amerman, Ed.D, Co-chairperson
Associate Professor
New Jersey City University
Department of Special Education, P350
2039 Kennedy Blvd.
Jersey City, New Jersey 07305
(201) 200-2445
tamerman@comcast.net

Melanie McGackin, Co-chairperson
Parent member
Coordinator of Training and Education
Family Support Center of New Jersey
2516 Route 35 North
Manasquan, New Jersey 08736
(732) 528-8080
melanie.mcgackin@fscnj.org

Michael Nevin
Motivational Speaker
1ST Cerebral Palsy of New Jersey (Belleville)
450 Passaic Avenue
Nutley, New Jersey 07110
nevinm313@aol.com

Lauren Agoratus
Parent Member
Coordinator, Family Voices
Statewide Parent Advocacy Network
35 Halsey Street, Newark, New Jersey 07102
1-800-654-7726, ext. 110
familyvoicesnj@aol.com

Bonni Rubin-Sugarman
Director of Special Education
Haddonfield Public Schools
Haddonfield Memorial High School
401 Kings Highway East, Haddonfield, New Jersey 08033
(856)429-4985, ext. 149
brubin@haddonfield.k12.nj.us

Beth Kelley
Lead Person/Principal
Riverbank Charter School of Excellence
1300 Hornberger Avenue
Roebling, New Jersey 08554
(609) 499- 4321
kelley@riverbank.charter.k12.nj.us

Myriam Alizo
Parent member
Parent Group Specialist & Northeast Region Parent to Parent Associate
Statewide Parent Advocacy Network
35 Halsey Street, Newark, New Jersey 07102
(201) 960-7159
malizo@spannj.org

Dr. Tekelah Sherrod
Director of Student Services
East Windsor Regional School District
25A Leshin Lane
Hightstown, New Jersey 08520
609-443-7717 Ext.2014
tsherrod@ewrsd.k12.nj.us

Mary Ann Comparetto
Parent Member
Director of Parent Programs
New Jersey Coalition for Inclusive Education (NJCIE)
9 Auer Court, Suite H
East Brunswick, New Jersey 08816
732-613-0400
njcie@njcie.net

Dr. Dorothy Van Horn
Executive Director/Superintendent
Brookfield Schools
1009 Berlin Road
Cherry Hill, NJ 08034
856-795-8228, ext 229
dkvh@comcast.net

RESOURCE REPRESENTATIVES

Tracy Nowlin
Deputy Director, Office of Education
New Jersey Department of Children and Families
PO Box 710
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0710
(609) 588-4579
Tracy.Nowlin@dcf.state.nj.us

Suzanne Canuso, RN, MSN
Public Health Consultant
New Jersey Department of Health & Senior Services
Family Centered Care Services
PO Box 364
Trenton, NJ 08625-0364
Phone: 609-777-7778; Fax: 609-292-3580
Suzanne.Canuso@doh.state.nj.us

Karen Carroll, LCSW
Program Planning Development Specialist
Division of Vocational Rehabilitation Services
New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development
John Fitch Plaza, 10th Floor
P.O. Box 398
Trenton, New Jersey 08625-0398
(609) 292-4967
karen.carroll@dol.state.nj.us

Susan Avny
Child Study Team Coordinator
Albert Elias RCH
188 Lindberg Road
Hopewell, New Jersey 08525
(609) 466-0740
susan.avny@njjjc.org