Governor Chris Christie Praises New Jersey’s “National Blue Ribbon” Schools

  • Thursday, September 15, 2011
  • Tags: Education
Trenton, NJ – Governor Chris Christie today released the following statement, praising the 14 New Jersey schools named “National Blue Ribbon Schools” by the US Department of Education:

“Today, the US Department of Education named 14 New Jersey schools ‘National Blue Ribbon Schools’ based on their overall academic excellence or for their success in closing achievement gaps. This national distinction is well deserved, and is a tremendous accomplishment for the teachers, administrators, and students in these schools. Public education is meant to be the great equalizer to make sure that all children, no matter where they’re born, have an equal shot at life. Our goal is to ensure that every student in New Jersey, regardless of the zip code in which they are born, graduates from high school ready for college and a career. These schools have demonstrated what is possible in education, and we applaud them on their accomplishment.

This week, I’ve travelled the state talking about the four building blocks of reform for our schools – academics, performance and accountability, talent, and innovation. We know that there is no more important in-school factor affecting student learning than the quality of a student’s teacher. We owe an enormous debt of gratitude both to the teachers of these schools, as well as the countless teachers across the state that each day are helping to prepare New Jersey students for success in college and career.”

New Jersey schools awarded a “National Blue Ribbon” include:

  • Holy Trinity Interparochial School (Westfield, Union County)
  • Lincoln Elementary School (Ridgefield Park, Bergen County)
  • New Providence High School (New Providence, Union County)
  • Our Lady of Mercy Academy (Park Ridge, Bergen County)
  • Our Lady of the Lake School (Verona, Essex County)
  • Rumson-Fair Haven Regional High School (Rumson, Monmouth County)
  • Saint Elizabeth School (Wyckoff, Bergen County)
  • Saint John's Academy (Hillsdale, Bergen County)
  • St. John the Apostle School (Clark, Union County)
  • St. Joseph School (Oradell, Bergen County)
  • Terence C. Reilly School No. 7 (Elizabeth, Union County)
  • Tewksbury Elementary School (Califon, Hunterdon County)
  • Thomas Jefferson Elementary School (Hawthorne, Passaic County)
  • Watchung School (Montclair, Essex County)
Press Contact:
Michael Drewniak
Kevin Roberts

Stay Connectedwith Social Media

Stay Connectedwith Email Alerts

Share With Your Friends