The Governor's Council for Medical Research and Treatment of Autism

Select textsizemediumlargelarger

Scientific Advisory Committee

As part of its enabling legislation, the Executive Director of the Council is responsible for establishing a Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC). Members of the SAC are nationally renowned experts in autism; three biomedical research scientists with demonstrated achievements in biomedical research and two medical clinicians whose practice is primarily devoted to the treatment of individuals with autism. The SAC makes recommendations to the Council, through the Executive Director, on the most promising research studies for biomedical research, diagnosis and treatment for ASD. These recommendations by the SAC are intended as guidance to the deliberations of the Council, which is responsible for decisions on funding of programs and grants.

Scientific Advisory Committee Members

Ted Abel, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
Director, Biological Basis of Behavior Program
Center for Autism Research
University of Pennsylvania
Translational Research Center
Philadelphia, PA

Joseph D. Buxbaum, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychiatry, Neuroscience, Genetics and Genomic Sciences
Director of the Seaver Autism Center for Research and Treatment
Mount Sinai School of Medicine
New York, NY

Susan L. Hyman, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
Division Chief, Neurodevelopmental & Behavioral Pediatrics
Golisano Children’s Hospital
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, NY

Alex Paciorkowski, M.D.
Assistant Professor
Department of Neurology
University of Rochester Medical Center
Rochester, NY

Catherine E. Rice, Ph.D.
Developmental Disabilities Branch on Detail with Prevention Research Branch
National Center on Birth Defects and Developmental Disabilities
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
Atlanta, GA