PHILIP D. MURPHY Governor SHEILA Y. OLIVER Lt. Governor TRENTON, N.J. 08625-0360

www.nj.gov/health

JUDITH M. PERSICHILLI, RN, BSN, MA Commissioner

On April 15, 2006, the "New Jersey Smoke-Free Air Act" (Act), N.J.S.A. 26:30-55 et seq., took effect. The Act prohibits smoking in an indoor public place or workplace.

The Act also prohibits smoking in any building and/or on the grounds of any public or non-public elementary or secondary school.

The Act and the Smoke-Free Air Rules at N.J.A.C. 8:6 require these establishments to direct a person smoking in violation of the Act to stop smoking. The rules further requires these establishments to remove from the premises any person who continues *to* smoke in violation of the Act after having been directed to stop smoking, and to enlist the assistance of local law enforcement or peace officers, if necessary, to assist in the removal.

Persons who violate the Act are subject to a complaint being filed against them and being summoned to appear in the municipal court of this jurisdiction. Persons found to be in violation or the Act are subject to fines and penalties, established by the Act, of \$250 for a first offense. \$500 for a second offense and \$1,000 for each subsequent offense.

Judith M Persichilli, RN, BSN, MA, Commissioner New Jersey Department of Health