
 

 

 

VACANCY 

ANNOUNCEMENT 
The Department of Health has a career opportunity for qualified candidates for 

the following position: 
Title 

Regulatory Officer 4 
[Classified Non-Competitive] 

Salary 

P26 $67,290.04 - $95,729.23 

Posting Number 

74-19 

Position Number 

947021      

Number of Positions 

1 

Posting Period * 

From: 3/14/2019     To: 3/28/2019 

Location: 

Division of Certificate of Need & Licensing 
25 So. Stockton St., 2nd Floor 
Trenton, NJ 08625 

Scope of Eligibility/Open to: 

Applicants who Meet the Requirements 

GENERAL DESCRIPTION 
 

Responsibilities include general preparation of enforcement actions relative to all licensed healthcare facilities in New 
Jersey.  Those include application of Federal Medicare and Medicaid conditions of participation, as well as New Jersey 
State licensure requirements.  Additional responsibilities include investigation and evaluation of allegations of abuses, 
neglect and misappropriation of property by nurse aides, and presentation of cases at the Office of Administrative Law 
concerning revocation of nurse aide certificates, where the aide has been determined to have committed an act of abuse, 
neglect or misappropriation of property against a resident of a nursing home.  Other responsibilities consistent with the 
goals of the program including, but not limited to, performing legal research and   preparing documents, reports, 
summaries, memoranda and recommendations for court and administrative actions, performing related work.  
NOTE: Experience in a health care setting preferred. 

REQUIREMENTS (EDUCATION / EXPERIENCE / LICENSES) 
 

EDUCATION 
Graduation from an accredited law school with a Juris Doctor (J.D.) Degree. 
 
EXPERIENCE: 
One (1) year of experience in conducting legal research, analyzing and evaluating legal documents, rules, regulations, 
and/or legislation, or the review and analysis of regulatory matters in a government agency; or one (1) year of experience 
as an attorney. 
 
LICENSE: 
Appointee must be eligible to practice as an Attorney-At-Law in the State of New Jersey.  
Appointee must possess a current Certificate of Good Standing issued by the New Jersey Board of Bar Examiners, or 
other license to practice law issued by any State in the United States. 
 
Appointees will be required to possess a driver's license valid in New Jersey only if the operation of a vehicle, rather 
than employee mobility, is necessary to perform the essential duties of the position.  
     

IMPORTANT FILING INSTRUCTIONS 

If interested in this position, you can reply in one of two ways: 

• Forward the required documents electronically to: 

PSTHFEL@doh.nj.gov 

• Mail the required documents to: 
Christine Pogorzelski, Administrative Assistant 2 
Health Facilities Evaluation and Licensing 
Reference Posting #74-19 
New Jersey Department of Health 
PO Box 367 
Trenton, NJ 08625-0367 

Required documents:  

• cover letter 

• resume 

• completed application, found at: 
http://www.nj.gov/health/forms/dpf-663.pdf 

* Responses received after the closing date MAY 
be considered if the position is not filled. 
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➢ Newly hired employees must agree to a thorough background check that will include fingerprinting. 

➢ If you are a candidate for a position in our Public Health and Environmental Laboratories, you may be subject to pre- and /or post-
employment alcohol and drug testing. 

➢ If you are a candidate for a position that involves direct client care in one of the State facilities/programs, you may be subject to pre- 
and/or post-employment drug testing/screening. The cost of any pre-employment testing will be at the candidate’s expense. 
Candidates with a positive drug test result, or those who refuse to be tested and/or cooperate with the testing requirement, will not be 
hired.  

➢ In compliance with federal law, all persons hired will be required to verify identity and eligibility to work in the United States and to 
complete the required employment eligibility verification form upon hire. 

➢ In accordance with N.J.S.A. 52:14-7, the "New Jersey First Act", all employees must reside in the State of New Jersey, unless 
exempted under the law.  If you do not live in New Jersey, you have one year after you begin employment to relocate your residence 
to New Jersey. 

➢ The New Jersey Department of Health is an Equal Opportunity Employer. 

 

 

 

 
 


