skip to main contentskip to main navigation
State of New Jersey Deapartment of Human Services title graphic  
Division of Developmental Disabilities
New Jersey Helps
NJ 211 Community Resource Website
New Jersey Housing Resource Center
New Jersey Mental Health Cares Hotline
NJ Family Care
New Jersey Lottery

An Overview:

The New Jersey Division of Developmental Disabilities administers seven residential developmental centers (DCs). They are:

·        Green Brook Regional Center in Somerset County

·        Hunterdon Developmental Center in Hunterdon County 

·        New Lisbon Developmental Center in Burlington County 

·        North Jersey Developmental Center in Passaic County 

·        Vineland Developmental Center in Cumberland County 

·        Woodbine Developmental Center in Cape May County 

·        Woodbridge Developmental Center in Middlesex County 

The DCs are home to approximately 2,151 individuals. Residents have intensive needs related to their developmental disabilities, and many also have co-occurring mental health, behavioral and/or medical needs. The average age is 51, and a recent survey indicated that more than 80 percent of the residents have lived in a DC since childhood. Many residents are non-ambulatory and must use a wheelchair for mobility.

OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: DHS Home  |  DHS Services A to Z  |  Consumers & Clients - Individuals and Families  |  Important Resources  |  Divisions & Offices  |  Commissioner & Key Staff  |  Disaster & Emergency Help & Information  |  Press Releases, Public and Legislative Affairs, & Publications  |  Providers & Stakeholders: Contracts, Legal Notices, Licensing, MedComms  |  Get Involved with DHS!
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2008