PARKING THERE FOR “JUST A MINUTE ...
is 60 SECONDS TOO LONG!

GUIDE TO
ACCESSIBLE
PARKING

Never park in a space “reserved” for people with
disabilities UNLESS you have a person with a dis-
ability ID Card and identifying placard/plates. It’s
the courteous thing to do - - and it’s the law.

REMEMBER: Do not park in the striped access
aisles next to spaces reserved for people with
disabilities, even if you have a permit or plates.
The access aisles provide room for wheelchair
users to transfer safely to and from their vehicles.
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This publication is designed as a resource only;
it is not a substitute for the law or statutes
related to accessible parking.
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GUIDE TO ACCESSIBLE PARKING

Editors Note: Although NJ Law uses the term
“Handicapped” parking, the word “Handicapped”’ has
been changed to “Accessible” throughout this guide to
reflect person first language.

Reserved parking for people with disabilities ensures safe and equal
access to goods and services. Accessible Parking makes it possible for
individuals with a disability to use and benefit from the services offered
by public and private entities.

Accessible parking requirements in New Jersey are a combination of
New Jersey Statues and Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
Standards for Accessible Design. This guide has been updated to
reflect the revised NJ parking statues (effective August 1, 2013)**
and the most current revisions to both Titles II and III of the ADA
standards (Published September 15, 2010)*.

HIGHLIGHTS OF ACCESSIBLE PARKING
IN NEW JERSEY

NJ Statutes outline the following:

« Every application for the issuance or renewal of a
“person with a disability identification card” (see
Fig. 1), required every three years, must include med-
ical certification from a qualified practitioner that the
qualifying disability continues to exist. (C.39:4-205)**

The “Person with a Disability Identification Card” must be in the
vehicle or with the qualified person at all times as proof of disabili-
ty. This card is for the sole use of the individual with a disability
and is non—transferable. Abuse or misuse of this privilege will be
cause for immediate revocation of the ID card, placard and plates
and fines of at least $250.00. (C.39:4-205)

Permanent Placards (see Fig. 2) are required to be renewed every
three years and will clearly display the date on which they shall
become invalid. (C.39:4-206)%%*

* identifies revisions to ADA standards  ** identifies revisions to NJ Statues
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Temporary Placards (see Fig. 3) can be granted for short-term
mobility impairments. Written medical certification from a qualified
practitioner is required. Temporary Placards are valid for six
months, are renewable one time at the discretion of the issuing
authority, and are issued by the chief of Police of each municipality.
(C.39:4-206)

Parking motor vehicles in accessible spaces without special vehicle
identification is prohibited and punishable with an initial fine of
$250 and subsequent fines of at least $250 and up to 90 days of
community service. (C.39:4-197(3)c)

Municipalities may establish accessible spaces in front of resi-
dences, schools, hospitals, public buildings, and in shopping and
business districts. (C.39:4-197.5)

Municipalities may establish accessible parking zones in front of
residences occupied by people with disabilities, unless such parking
interferes with the normal flow of traffic. (C.39:4-197.6)

Law enforcement officers may enforce accessible parking laws on
both public and private property. (C.39:4-138.0)

Municipalities may set up parking enforcement units that concen-
trate on shopping centers and malls. (C.39.4-197.9)

Eligible individuals with a disability may request law enforcement
officers to arrange for the removal and storage of motor vehicles
unlawfully parked in accessible parking spaces or zones. (C.39:4-
207.7)

Access to parking spaces, curb cuts, or other improvements
designed to provide accessibility, shall be unobstructed. Owners or
controllers of public parking areas must remove snow or ice from
these areas within 24 hours after the weather condition causing the
snow and/or ice ceases. Violation of this act is punishable with
penalties of $500 to $1,000. (C.394:4-207.9)%*
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» No penalty shall be imposed on “eligible persons with a disability” REDESIGNED PERSON WITH A DISABILITY
for overtime parking in one location for up to 24 hours, as long as
ID CARD AND PLACARDS, EFFECTIVE

the person with the disability is either the driver or passenger of the

vehicle. (C.39:4-207) AUGUST 1, 2013

(Note: metered parking is delegated to local municipalities by
N.J.S.A. 39:4-197; The 24 hour limit is set forth in N.J.S.A. FIGURE 1

39:4-207) " Motor Votwcle 11 NEW JERSEY
¥ COETETHESRT

ADA Standards Outline the following:

+ Accessible parking spaces must be identified by signs that include
the International Symbol of Accessibility.

Access aisles must be marked so as to discourage parking in them. FIGURE 2 FIGURE 3
NEF -AFLY HEW JERSEY

An accessible route must adjoin each access aisle serving accessible HOTHE VEHIGLE COMMISS 0N MOTER NEHICLE £0M MRS IOH

parking spaces. The accessible route connects each access aisle to

accessible entrances.

Accessible parking spaces must be located on the shortest accessible _ _
route of travel to an accessible entrance. T8, S B A

Accessible parking spaces and the required accessible route should
be located where individuals with disabilities do not have to cross
vehicular lanes or pass behind parked vehicles to have access to an
accessible entrance. If it is necessary to cross a vehicular lane
because, for example, local fire engine access requirements prohibit
parking immediately adjacent to a building, then a marked crossing
running perpendicular to the vehicular route should be included as
part of the accessible route to an accessible entrance.

One in every six accessible parking spaces must be van accessible;
this is an increase from the previous standard, which required one in
every eight spaces to be van accessible.*

1201001 T 102001

* identifies revisions to ADA standards  ** identifies revisions to NJ Statues




GUIDE TO ACCESSIBLE PARKING

HOW ARE ACCESSIBLE PARKING
SPACES IDENTIFIED?

* Accessible spaces, reserved for use by individuals with dis-
abilities, are identified with a sign bearing the International Symbol
of Accessibility.

* In New Jersey, signage also should include a penalty sign indicating
fines for offenses. The penalty for the first offense is $250 and, for
subsequent offenses, a $250 minimum fine and/or up to 90 days
community service.

A PERMIT OR PLATE HOLDER CANNOT PARK
IN THE FOLLOWING AREAS:

¢ Striped access aisles adjacent to accessible parking spaces

¢ Parking meters without depositing a coin

¢ Parking meters beyond a 24 hour period

* Other areas prohibited by Law as outlined in C.39:4-138 (i.e. within
an intersection, on a crosswalk, in any area appropriately marked
“no parking”, within 50 ft. of a “stop” sign, within 10 ft. of a fire
hydrant, etc.)

Remember: Restricted parking permits and plates are to be used sole-
ly by the individual with the qualifying disability. If someone without
a disability uses another person's permit or plates, the Motor Vehicle
Commission or issuing locality may revoke the permit/plates, deny
renewal, and issue fines of at least $250.

WHAT ARE BUSINESS OR FACILITY OWNERS
AND OPERATORS REQUIRED TO DO?

* Owners or operators of any facility (e.g., restaurant, theater, library)
which provides public parking, whether an indoor or outdoor garage
or parking lot, are required to provide accessible parking spaces in
accordance with federal and state laws. Enforcement of motor vehi-
cle laws, including parking privileges, is a local matter.

COMPLAINTS ABOUT ILLEGAL PARKING
...WHAT CAN BE DONE?

Ask a state, county or municipal law enforcement officer to ticket
an illegally parked car and to arrange for the removal and storage of
the vehicle.
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* Complain to a shopping center manager or business owner (if at a
commercial site). Ask them to inform the local authorities.

* File a complaint with your local municipality.

FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS

(Q: How many accessible parking spaces are required and what
changes related to accessible parking occurred as a result of
the revised 2010 ADA standards?

: The number of accessible parking spaces required depends on the
total number of parking spaces in the lot or garage. While the
revised 2010 ADA standards did not change the total number of
accessible spaces required overall, the revisions did increase both
the required number of van spaces and the required width of van
space.

In accordance with the revised ADA standards of accessible
design, when there is new construction or an alteration (striping or
restriping) of previously constructed parking spaces beginning on
or after March15, 2012, it is required that at least one accessible
space in every parking lot and one in every six (1:6) accessible
parking spaces be van accessible, with increased dimensions of at
least 132 inches (11 feet) and an access aisle of at least 60 inches
(5 feet).

Total # spaces

Required # of
accessible
spaces

At least 1 in
each lot

Required # of
accessible van
spaces if
constructed or
altered prior to
3/15/2012

Required # of
accessible van
spaces if
constructed or
altered on or
after 3/15/2012

—_
(o)}

101-150

151-200

201-300

301-400

401-500

2
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51-1,000

2% of total

1in every 8

1in every 6

Over 1,000

20 + 1 for each
100 over 1,000

1in every 8

1in every 6
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: How must accessible parking spaces and access aisles be
marked?

: The parking spaces and access aisles must be painted in a color
(most often blue) contrasting with other spaces. Signage with the
International Symbol of Accessibility and the Penalty Sign must
be provided at each accessible parking space and must be perma-
nently installed 5 to 7 feet above the ground. Signs identifying
van parking spaces shall contain the designation “van accessible.”
The required “van accessible” designation is intended to be
informative, not restrictive, in identifying those spaces that are
better suited for van use. The access aisle for both accessible car
and van spaces is required to be a minimum of 60 inches (5 feet)
wide. Access aisles shall adjoin an accessible route, shall be
marked so as to discourage parking in them, and shall extend the
full length of the parking spaces they serve. Also, two parking
spaces may share a common access aisle.

: Can accessible parking spaces |
. . | L
be the same size as non-accessi-

ble spaces, as long as the appro- |
priate signs are placed in front
of the space?

: No. The New Jersey Barrier Free

Subcode and the 2010 Americans

with Disabilities Act requires that '

accessible car parking spacesbe .

at least 96 inches (8 feet) wide ke

and accessible van parking spaces be at least 132 inches wide (11
feet). The access aisle for both accessible car and van spaces is

required to be a minimum of 60 inches (5 feet) wide.

Exception: Van Parking spaces shall be permitted to be a mini-
mum of 96 inches (8 feet) wide where the access aisle is a mini-
mum of 96 inches (8 feet) wide.

: If a parking lot does not have any spaces designated for people
with disabilities because it was paved a long time ago, before
these requirements were in place, does it now have to provide
accessible parking spaces?
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: Yes. Title III of the ADA requires private entities to remove barri-

ers in order to become compliant. Therefore, even if business
owners are not planning any type of construction, they are still
obligated to remove barriers that are readily achievable.

: Is my wheelchair symbol license plate/placard valid when

traveling outside of New Jersey?

: Not always. Check with the state you intend to visit. Reciprocity

is standard for some but not all states. For example, a NJ plac-
ard/pate is not valid on NYC Streets, as NYC requires their own
accessible parking permit. However, a motor vehicle with a spe-
cial license plate, placard or parking permit issued to a person
with a disability by another state, district or territory of the
United States, or by Canada shall be entitled to accessible parking
privileges in NJ. (39:4-207.5)

: Store owners and other businesses often receive complaints

from patrons about other customers who illegally park in the
accessible parking spaces or misuse the spots by parking in
the stripped area next to the space. What should they do?

: Instances in which individuals illegally park in a space marked for

accessible parking should be reported to the proper law enforce-
ment authorities. In your area, if the local police are responsible
for addressing violations, they should be notified as soon as pos-
sible. If a local security company staff patrols your parking area,
they should be notified.

The striped area next to the parking space is called an access aisle
and is strictly off limits for parking to everyone, regardless of
whether or not they have a wheelchair symbol license
plate/placard. The access aisle must be in place in order to ensure
that people who use wheelchairs have room to transfer in and out
of their vehicles. Only the accessible parking space itself is
reserved for those individuals who have proper identification on
their vehicles (i.e., placard/tag) indicating that they are authorized
to park in these designated areas. The access aisle or striped area
next to the parking space is NOT a parking space. Anyone who
parks in this area illegally should be reported to a local law
enforcement officer.
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: Do store owners or other business owners have to clear snow
and ice from the accessible parking spaces?

: Yes. Businesses are required to clear ice, snow, or any obstruc-
tions from accessible parking spaces and adjacent curb cuts with-
in 24 hours after the weather condition causing the snow or ice
ceases. New Jersey Parking Statues (C.39:4-207.9) mandate fines
from $500 to $1,000 for violations.

: Is a person with a wheelchair symbol license plate/placard
required to deposit money when parking at a metered space?

: Yes. When parking at a metered space, a driver with a disability
placard/license plate must put the appropriate amount of money in
the meter. If the vehicle will occupy the space for more than the
maximum amount of time allotted on the meter, the driver must
fill the meter to the maximum amount allowed. This will permit
the vehicle to occupy the space for up to 24 hours without having
to come back and refill the meter. A municipality may require the
vehicle to vacate the space after 24 hours.

(Note: metered parking is delegated to local municipalities by
N.J.S.A. 39:4-197; The 24 hour limit is set forth in N.J.S.A.
39:4-207)

To obtain an application for a persons with a disability
license plate or permanent placard:

* Go to http://www.state.nj.us/mvc/Vehicle/overview.htm
* Call (888) 486-3339
* Visit your nearest Motor Vehicle Commission facility

Temporary Placards can be granted for short-term mobility
impairments. Written medical certification from a qualified
practitioner is required. Temporary Placards are valid for six
months, are renewable one time at the discretion of the issu-
ing authority, and are issued by the chief of Police of each
municipality.
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FOR MORE INFORMATION

NJ Division of
Disability Services

PO Box 705 Trenton, NJ 08625-0705
(888) 285-3036 (Voice)
(609) 631-2487 (Voice)
(609) 631-4364 (TTY)
www.state.nj.us/humanservices/dds

Joseph M. Amoroso

Director

Dianna L. Maurone
Administrator of Information and Referral Services

New Jersey Motor Vehicles Commission
(888) 486-3339 (Voice) (In-state only)
(609) 292-6500 (Voice) (Out-of-state only)
(609) 292-5120 (TTY)
www.state.nj.us/mvc

ADA Information Line

(800) 514-0301 (Voice)

(800) 514-0383 (TTY)
www.ADA.gov

United Spinal Association
75-20 Astoria Blvd., East ElImhurst, NY 11370
(800) 404-2898 (Voice) (In-state only)
(718) 803-3782 (Voice and TTY)
www.unitedspinal.org




