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As Director of the Division of Medical Assistance and Health Services, I

have reviewed the record in this matter, consisting of the Initial Decision, the

documents in evidence, the contents of the OAL case file and Petitioner's

exceptions to the Initial Decision. Procedurally, the time period for the Agency

Head to file a Final Agency Decision is February 19, 2015 in accordance with

N.J.S.A. 52:146-10, which requires an Agency Head to adopt, reject, or modify
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the Initial Decision within 45 days of receipt. The Initial Decision was received on

January 5, 2015.

Based upon my review of the record, I hereby ADOPT the Initial Decision

in its entirety and incorporate the same herein by reference. The income

standard for the New Jersey Care . . . Special Medicaid (New Jersey Care)

program is $973 per month for an individual. Consequently, Petitioner's

countable monthly income of $976 exceeds the $958 income limit for an

individual under the New Jersey Care program, which had been established in

accordance with the poverty income guidelines set by the U.S. Department of

Health and Human Services pursuant to the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act

of 1981 (Pub.L. 97-35) and which information was disseminated by Respondent

via Medicaid Communication No. 13-01 (dated February 19, 2013).1

The monthly standard is one-tenth of the annual poverty income guideline

rounded down to the next whole dollar amount for household unit sizes of one

and two for aged, blind, and disabled individuals. Id. However, if the countable

income of an individual applicant exceeds the federal poverty income guideline

for one person, that individual is ineligible for benefits and income deeming (i.e.,

the consideration of household composition) does not apply. N.J.A.C. 10:72-

4.4(d)1. The state regulatory framework is consistent with the Social Security

Act, which provides that, to be eligible for Medicaid benefits, an individual's

income must not exceed the level established by a state. 42 U.S.C.A Section

1396(m)(2)(A) (emphasis added).

1 Shortly after Morris County Board of Social Services issued its February 27, 2014 termination notice, the
income standard was increased to $973. Morris County reevaluated Petitioner's redetermination, but
determined that his monthly income exceeded the new standard by $3.



In this case, the ALJ and the Morris County Board of Social Services

(MCBSS) correctly concluded that Petitioner was ineligible to receive benefits

because his monthly income exceeds the New Jersey Care program income

limit. However, Petitioner should consult with the MCBSS regarding a possible

reapplication for benefits in February or March 2015, once the Federal guidelines

establishing poverty levels are issued. It is possible that Petitioner's monthly

income may fall below the new poverty levels making him eligible for benefits

under the New Jersey Care program.

THEREFORE, it is on this 3^day of JANUARY 2015,

ORDERED:

That the Initial Decision AFFIRMING the termination of Medicaid benefits

based upon excess income is hereby ADOPTED.

Valerie J. Harr, Director
Division of Medical Assistance

and Health Services


