Council On Local Mandates | Council Members
Home > Council Members

The Acting Chair of the Council is Hon. John A. Sweeney, Florence (Appointed by Chief Justice Stuart Rabner, term expires February 1, 2016), Assignment Judge of Burlington County from 2000 until his retirement in 2008. A graduate of Seton Hall University School of Law, Judge Sweeney previously served a term in the New Jersey General Assembly, was Chief Counsel to Governor Florio, and later Director of the Division of Gaming Enforcement. Appointed to the bench in 1992, Judge Sweeney served in the Family, Civil, and Criminal Divisions and General Equity Part in the Burlington Vicinage, before being selected as Assignment Judge. He is currently on the Board of Trustees of Virtua Health System and practices mediation and arbitration in the Philadelphia and South Jersey area with a Mount Holly law firm;

E-Mail: Telephone: (609) 864-1437

Other Council Members include:

Leanna Brown, Morristown (Appointed by Assembly Minority Leader John Bramnick, term expires February 1, 2016), Chair of Brown Global Enterprises and a syndicated Columnist and Political Commentator, who is also a member and former Chair of the New Jersey Advisory Committee to the US Commission on Civil Rights and a former Commissioner on the President's Commission on Civil Rights.  A graduate of Smith College, Ms. Brown previously served in the New Jersey State General Assembly (1980-1983) and Senate (1983-1993), and was a Commissioner on the New Jersey Casino Control Commission from 1993 until 1999;

E-Mail:  Telephone:  (973) 635-8660

Christopher Pianese, Wood Ridge (Appointed by Speaker of the General Assembly Asm. Vincent Prieto, term expires February 1, 2016), A graduate of St. Peter's College and Fairleigh Dickinson University where he received his MPA, Mr. Pianese has served as the Township Administrator in North Bergen for the past twelve years.  He has twenty five plus years of municipal experience and is certified through the Division of Local Government Services as a Municipal Finance Officer since 1991.

E-Mail:  Telephone: (201) 394-2810

Jack Tarditi, Haddonfield (Appointed by Senate President Stephen M. Sweeney, term expires February 1, 2016), Vice Chair of the Council, a Managing Director of Conner Strong Companies, LLC, Marlton, NJ. A graduate of Lycoming College, with an MBA from Drexel University, Mr. Tarditi served in the municipal government of Haddonfield for over 27 years, as Borough Commissioner (1978 - 2005) and Mayor (1981 - 1997). He was also Co-chair and Member of the Legislative Committee of the New Jersey State League of Municipalities and President of the New Jersey Conference of Mayors. He currently serves on the boards of many private, public and community service organizations;

E-Mail: Telephone: (856) 552-4792


Victor R. McDonald, III, Hamilton (Appointed by Senate Minority Leader Thomas H. Kean, Jr., term expires February 1, 2016), is the person who conceived of the Council on Local Mandates as the mechanism for enforcing state mandate - state pay; micromanaged drafting the State Mandate - State pay constitutional amendment and the enabling legislation creating the council; and shepherded both through the Senate.  He initiated the first mass elimination of unfunded state mandates through the enactment of the bipartisan "Omnibus State Mandate Relief Act" (P.L. 1995, c.259).  During his 31 years of  service with the New Jersey Legislature, Mr. McDonald worked extensively on local government issues.  He was elected to the Hamilton Township (Mercer County) Charter Study Commission (1973-74).  Mr. McDonald has both a B.A. in political science and M.A. in public administration from Rider College.

E-Mail:  Telephone: (609) 587-6598

With four vacancies (Appointees of the Governor terms expired February 1, 2015).