New Jersey Statewide Navigation Bar
NJ Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
DCA Highlights Search Licensees Complaint Forms Consumer Information Professional Boards and Advisory Committees DCA News Contact Information
Division of Consumer Affairs A-Z List

NEW JERSEY REGISTER
VOLUME 39, ISSUE 3
ISSUE DATE: FEBRUARY 5, 2007
RULE ADOPTIONS
LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY
Division of Consumer Affairs
New Jersey State Board of Accountancy

Adopted Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5 and 1A.9

Fees; Public School Accountant's License; Renewal; Suspended License; Reinstatement; Inactive Status

Proposed: May 15, 2006 at 38 N.J.R. 2020(a).

Adopted: October 19, 2006 by the New Jersey State Board of Accountancy, John E. Tully, President.

Filed: January 10, 2007 as R. 2007 d. 52, without change.

Authority: 45:2B-48, 45:2B-73 and 45:1-15.1

Effective Date: February 5, 2007.

Expiration Date: October 27, 2010.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:
The Board received no comments on the proposal.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because the adopted amendments are governed by N.J.S.A. 45:2B-42 et seq., and are not subject to any Federal standards or requirements.

Full text of the adoption follows:

13:29-1.5 Fees

(a)-(c) (No change.)

(d) Fees for Public School Accountants are as follows:

1. Initial license fee: $ 50.00;

2. Triennial registration fee: $ 50.00;

3. Reinstatement of license: $ 150.00;

4. Late renewal fee: $ 50.00;

5. Inactive status renewal: $ 45.00;

6. Replacement license: $ 25.00.

(e) Entities filing an application to become sponsors of continuing professional education shall pay a fee of $ 100.00 on a triennial basis for administrative costs and evaluation of programs submitted.

13:29-1A.9 Public School Accountant's license; renewal; suspended license; reinstatement; inactive status

(a) The holder of a license as a Certified Public Accountant, Public Accountant or Registered Municipal Accountant shall be granted a Public School Accountant's license upon application to the Board, and the payment of the initial licensefee set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5.

(b) The holder of a Public School Accountant's license shall renew the license for a period of three years from the last expiration date. The licensee shall remit a renewal application to the Board, along with the renewal fee set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5, prior to the date of license expiration. A licensee who submits a renewal application within 30 days following the date of license expiration shall submit the renewal fee, as well as the late fee set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5. A licensee who fails to submit a renewal application within 30 days of the date of license expiration shall have his or her Public School Accountant license suspended without a hearing.

(c) A licensee who continues to practice with a suspended license shall be deemed to be engaging in unauthorized practice and shall be subject to the penalties set forth in N.J.S.A. 45:1-25 et seq.

(d) A licensee who has had his or her license suspended pursuant to (b) above may apply to the Board for reinstatement following the date of license expiration. A licensee applying for reinstatement shall submit:

1. A renewal application, including an affidavit of employment listing each job held during the period of license suspension, including the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of each employer;

2. All past due renewal fees set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5;

3. The reinstatement fee set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5;

4. Any outstanding penalties imposed by the Board; and

5. Evidence of having completed 120 continuing professional education credit hours in the three-year period prior to reinstatement.

(e) The Board shall send a notice of renewal to each licensee at least 60 days prior to the expiration of the license. If the notice to renew is not sent at least 60 days prior to the expiration date, no monetary penalties or fines shall be imposed upon the licensee for failure to renew.

(f) A Public School Accountant holding an active Certified Public Accountant, Public Accountant or Registered Municipal Accountant license may, upon application to the Board, choose inactive Public School Accountant licensure status. A Public School Accountant holding an inactive Certified Public Accountant, Public Accountant or Registered Municipal Accountant license, consistent with N.J.A.C. 13:29-1A.10 or 2.3, shall elect inactive status. A Public School Accountant electing inactive status shall not engage in active public school accounting practice in New Jersey for the entire triennial registration period unless the licensee applies to the Board to resume active practice. A Public School Accountant on inactive status seeking to resume the practice of public school accounting in New Jersey shall apply to the Board and shall submit:

1. A renewal application, including an affidavit of employment listing each job held during the period of license inactivity, including the names, addresses, and telephone numbers of each employer;

2. The renewal fee for the current triennial registration period set forth in N.J.A.C. 13:29-1.5;

3. Evidence of having completed 120 continuing professional education credit hours in the three-year period prior to reinstatement; and

4. Evidence of an active Certified Public Accountant, Public Accountant or Registered Municipal Accountant license.

(g) A Public School Accountant who has elected inactive status shall not use, in any form, the title or designation of public school accountant or any other title or designation that implies that the person holds a valid, active Public School Accountant license from the Board. Inactive Public School Accountant licensees may use such titles or designations provided the titles or designations contain the word inactive.



Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
division: dca home | complaint forms | licensing boards | adoptions | proposals | minutes | consumer protection
departmental: lps home | contact us | news | about us | FAQs | library | employment | programs and units | services a-z
statewide: nj home | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search

Page last modified:
New Jersey Home My New Jersey People Business Government Departments