New Jersey Statewide Navigation Bar
NJ Office of the Attorney General
Division of Consumer Affairs
DCA Highlights Search Licensees Complaint Forms Consumer Information Professional Boards and Advisory Committees DCA News Contact Information
Division of Consumer Affairs A-Z List

VOLUME 37, ISSUE 19
ISSUE DATE: OCTOBER 3, 2005
RULE ADOPTIONS
LAW AND PUBLIC SAFETY
DIVISION OF CONSUMER AFFAIRS
AUDIOLOGY AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGY ADVISORY COMMITTEE

37 N.J.R. 3836(b)

Adopted Amendments: N.J.A.C. 13:44C-7.2A and 8.1

Scope of Practice: Fiber Optic Endoscopic Examination of Swallowing (FEES); Recordkeeping

Proposed: April 18, 2005 at 37 N.J.R. 1164(a).

Adopted: July 14, 2005 by Kimberly Ricketts, Director, Division of Consumer Affairs.

Filed: September 8, 2005 as R. 2005 d.339 ,without change.

Authority: N.J.S.A. 45:3B-24.

Effective Date: October 3, 2005.

Expiration Date: December 15, 2008.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:
The official comment period ended June 17, 2005. The Director received no comments.

Federal Standards Statement

A Federal standards analysis is not required because there are no Federal laws or standards applicable to the adopted amendments.

Full text of the adoption follows:

13:44C-7.2A Scope of Practice: Fiber Optic Endoscopic Examination of Swallowing (FEES)

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) FEES shall only be performed by a licensed speech-language pathologist who is certified in Basic Life Support (BLS) and who has:

1.-2. (No change.)

3. Successfully performed 25 FEES procedures under the supervision of a speech pathologist who has met the requirements of this section or a physician, at a licensed healthcare facility that requires that a healthcare professional have privileges to perform the FEES procedure.

(d)-(f) (No change.)

13:44C-8.1 Recordkeeping

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) Licensees shall provide access to patient treatment records to a patient or person whom the patient has designated to receive records in accordance with the following:

1. (No change.)

2. The licensee may require that a record request be in writing and may charge a fee for the reproduction of records, which shall be no greater than $ 1.00 per page or $ 100.00 for the entire record, whichever is less. If the record requested is less than 10 pages, the licensee may charge up to $ 10.00 to cover postage and the costs associated with retrieval of the record;

3. (No change.)

4. The licensee shall not refuse to provide a patient record on the grounds that the patient owes the licensee an unpaid balance.

(d) (No change.)



Contact Us | Privacy Notice | Legal Statement | Accessibility Statement
division: dca home | complaint forms | licensing boards | adoptions | proposals | minutes | consumer protection
departmental: lps home | contact us | news | about us | FAQs | library | employment | programs and units | services a-z
statewide: nj home | my new jersey | people | business | government | departments | search

Page last modified:
New Jersey Home My New Jersey People Business Government Departments