
 

 

New Jersey Boat Regulation Commission Meeting 
May 10, 2023 

Spray Beach Yacht Club 
23rd & Long Beach Blvd. 
Beach Haven, NJ 08008 

 
I.    ROLL CALL 
 Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr.  
            Christopher Wozniak 
            Bruce Strigh 
 Roland Gehweiler Jr. 
 Leonard Mangiaracina 
 Shaun Blick 
  

STAFF 
 DAG Kevin Dronson          Office of the Attorney General 
 Sergeant Robert Frake                           NJSP, Marine Services Bureau 
 Sergeant Karen Fahy     NJSP, Marine Services Bureau 
  

PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE 
 
 
II.     SUNSHINE LAW ANNOUNCEMENT (OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS LAW) 
 

The meeting was called to order at 10:17 AM by Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr., at 
which time he also announced that this meeting is being held in compliance with the 
provisions of Chapter 231, Public Law 1975, known as the Open Public Meetings Act.  
Notice of this meeting was filed with the Secretary of State, various news media outlets 
via the New Jersey State Police Office of Public Information, the New Jersey State Police 
website, and posting at State Police Headquarters, West Trenton, NJ. 
 

 
III.    MINUTES OF MARCH 2023 MEETING 
 

Minutes from the March 08, 2023, Boat Regulation Commission Meeting were Approved 
by Roland Gehweiler Jr., and the motion was seconded by Bruce Strigh.  

 
 
IV.     UNFINISHED BUSINESS 
 

 Vessel Transactions and the Motor Vehicle Commission (12:7-34.45 Change of 
address of owner; status of vessel) 



 

 

Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. reminded the Commission that this item still 
needed to be addressed.  He requested the status of the issue, and Sergeant Karen 
Fahy responded by informing the Commission the New Jersey State Police held a 
meeting with members of the NJMVC two months prior and was waiting to hear back 
reference requests for action.  She advised the topic would need tobe tabled until the 
next meeting. 

 
 Safety Concern for Children 13 to Under 16 Years of Age Operating High-

Powered Electric Motors on Vessels (12:7-61) 
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. spoke on the topic of high-powered electric 
motors being operated by children 13 to under 16 years of age.  Sergeant Fahy stated 
during the last meeting we had discussed the options of restricting operators between 
the ages of 13 to under 16 years of age to operate at slow speed, no wake, similar to 
the path Pennsylvania had taken.  Otherwise, we could consider an adjustment to the 
statute (12:7-61).  She advised the statue currently reads “(a) a power vessel powered 
solely by an electric motor: or (b) a power vessel which is 12 feet or greater in length 
and powered by a motor, or combination of motors, of less than 10 horsepower.”  She 
recommended the statue could read “(a) a power vessel powered by a motor, or 
combination of motors, of less than 10 horsepower or the equivalent of less than 10 
horsepower.”  Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. stated restricting the horsepower for 
young persons may be effective. 
 
Sergeant Fahy spoke of the nature of the Pennsylvania regulation which restricts their 
operation to slow speed, no wake.  She advised the restriction is placing a lot of responsibility 
on young people to make good decisions, as opposed to adjusting the statute and limiting 
what they can operate.  Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. agreed that we cannot limit or 
restrict young people with horsepower restrictions. 
 
Christopher Wozniak advised the Commission he would like to see the equivalent of 
the horsepower used to regulate the high-powered electric motors.  He mentioned the 
regulation could potentially be like the New Jersey regulation of low-speed electric 
bicycles limiting the power to less than 750 watts.  He further stated the industry is 
changing and regulations may require change.  However, he added, it will take time 
to amend Title 12.   

 
Leonard Mangiaracina posed a question regarding the possibility of a boat dealer to 
address the Boat Regulation Commission and provide some insight regarding this 
topic.  Paul Terzian, a member of the Marine Trades Association of New Jersey, and 
representative of Causeway Marine in Manahawkin, Ocean County, advised he hasn’t 
gotten into the “E” stuff reference sales, so he is not well versed in electric motors. 
Paul Terzian suggested that to use the equivalent of horsepower in order to restrict the 
age of the operator, would prove to be most useful, using whatever rule applies under 
horsepower for a gas-powered engine.  

 
Sergeant R. Frake #5696 read Title 12:7-61(a):   
“Operation of power vessels, personal watercraft; boat safety course requirements; 
violations. (a) A person who is under 16 years of age shall not operate a power vessel 



 

 

on the waters of this State, except that: (1) a person who is under 16 years of age but 
at least 13 years of age and possesses a certificate certifying that person’s successful 
completion of a boat safety course approved by the Superintendent of State Police in 
the Department of Law and Public Safety may operate: (a) a power vessel powered 
solely by an electric motor; or (b) a power vessel which is 12 feet or greater in length 
and powered by a motor, or combination of motors, of less than 10 horsepower; (2) A 
person who is under 16 years of age and has successfully completed an approved boat 
safety course prior to July 1, 1996 may operate a power vessel on the tidal waters of 
this State, provided that the person complies with all other requirements of law, rule 
and regulation; (3) A person who is under 16 years of age and was issued an 
operator’s license pursuant to section 7 of P.L.1954, c.236 (C.12:7-34.7) before July 
1, 1996 may operate a power vessel equipped with an outboard motor until the 
expiration date of that license; and (4) A person who is under 16 years of age but at 
least 13 years of age and who possesses a certificate certifying the person’s successful 
completion of a boat safety course approved by the Superintendent of State Police in 
the Department of Law and Public Safety, or a person under 16 years of age but at 
least 13 years of age who is an out-of-State resident or resident of a foreign country 
who possesses proof of successful completion of a boat safety course as provided in 
paragraph (2) of subsection b. of this section may operate a power vessel on the tidal 
and nontidal waters of this State while actually competing in an authorized race held 
under the auspices of a duly incorporated yacht club or racing association conducted 
under the rules of a national boat racing association in accordance with rules and 
regulations prescribed by the New Jersey Boat Regulation Commission in 
consultation with the Division of State Police in the Department of Law and Public 
Safety and pursuant to a permit issued by that division. Such permit may include 
limitations on age, vessel type, and horsepower.”  

 
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. responded that the current statute gives young 
people the ability to operate a power vessel propelled solely by an electric motor 
which could be operated at a high rate of speed, and this is the cause for concern.  
Paul Terzian re-stated his thoughts to just limit the usage to the horsepower 
equivalent.  Sergeant Frake expressed agreement with the horsepower equivalent.  
Christopher Wozniak agreed we should just calculate the conversion formula and use 
the equivalent.  Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. concurred.  

 
Christopher Wozniak stated the statue falls under Title 12, not Title 13.  
Consequently, it will take time and would be required to be sent up through 
legislation. We can make the motion, but it will need to be sponsored by a politician.  
Leonard Mangiaracina inquired about the wording for a motion.  Christopher 
Wozniak deferred to Deputy Attorney General Kevin Dronson, reference being on the 
right track, who responded in the affirmative.  Christopher Wozniak stated the State 
Police Marine Services office would come up with the appropriate verbiage and 
would bring it back to the next meeting.  Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. 
concurred.  He stated the Commission would re-visit this matter during the next 
meeting when the State Police comes back with sound verbiage.  

 



 

 

 
 Status of 13:82 Rule Changes Approved in 2022 by Commission 

Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. reminded the Commission, last year we had 
implemented some changes to the Administrative Code 13:82. Sergeant Frake advised 
that Title 13:82 was approved through the legislature.  This would include mandatory 
PFD (Personal Flotation Device) winter wear and could potentially take effect 
November 1st of this year, if approved. 

 
 

 Jet Levitation Vessels (Proposed N.J.A.C. 13:82-5.2) 
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. announced that last year the commission 
discussed Jet Levitation Devices on which they had proposed regulations.  He 
mentioned they also had regulations proposed on parasailing. 

 
Sergeant Fahy described the New Jersey 2014 Proposed Jet Levitation Vessel 
regulations found in the Proposed New Rule N.J.A.C. 13:82-5.2, as well as the 
Maryland 2021 Boating Regulations which stipulate Jetpack Vessel Requirements.  
She advised at the time of the proposed New Jersey regulation; Maryland also 
implemented temporary rules for Jetpacks that were similar in nature to the New 
Jersey proposed regulations.  Maryland did, however, move forward with legislation 
on these temporary rules to currently be included in Maryland Boating Regulation.  
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. made a motion to re-propose the regulations that 
we made some time ago pertaining to the jet levitation devices.  Leonard 
Mangiaracina seconded the motion.  All members were in favor.  

 
To be clear on the regulations that were proposed on the Jet Levitation Devices in 
2014, Sergeant Fahy read the proposed statue for 13:82-5.2, Jet Levitation Vessels: 
(a) For the purpose of this chapter “jet levitation vessel” means a power vessel 
defined as a Class “A” vessel by the United States Coast Guard, which:  
1. Is equipped with an internal combustion engine which powers a water jet pump; or 
2. Consists of a separately registered personal watercraft or an integrated streamline 
hull that acts as the power unit and not intended to be ridden; and 

3. Is connected by a high-pressure water hose to a jet-propelled device, which is the 
portion of the apparatus where the rider is either seated or standing and allows the 
rider to levitate above the surface of the water, and includes, but is not limited to 
backpacks, boards or water bikes. 
(b) Private non-commercial operation of jet levitation vessels is restricted to the 
Atlantic Ocean, not less than three-eighths nautical mile from the shore.  Jet levitation 
vessels shall be accompanied by an observer vessel, which shall maintain a distance 
of not less than 100 feet or more than 300 feet from the jet levitation vessel.  The jet 
levitation vessel shall maintain a distance of not less than 600 feet from vessels other 
than the observer vessel.  The observer vessel shall display two stacked pennants 
yellow in color and triangular in shape not less than 12 inches on any dimension, at 
least four feet above the vessel’s highest point during jet levitation operations.  
Vessels other than the observer vessel shall not approach within 600 feet of the jet 
levitation vessel.  This restriction shall not apply to law enforcement vessels.   



 

 

(c) A person shall not operate or permit another to operate a non-commercial jet 
levitation vessel on the waters of this State other than as permitted in (b) above. 
(d) Subject to the requirements applicable to personal watercraft specified in N.J.A.C. 
13:82-5.1, including N.J.A.C. 13:64, a person may operate a rented jet levitation 
vessel on the waters of the State under the following conditions: 
1. The jet levitation device shall remain at all times under the control of a qualified 

supervisor as defined in N.J.A.C. 13:64-2.2 in an observer vessel; 
2. The person in the air does not exceed a height of 20 feet off the water as indicated 

by a four-inch-wide mark orange in color on the hose 20 feet from the operator; 
3. The area of operation is a minimum depth of eight feet mean low water;  
4. If the commercial owner permits “porpoising”, the minimum depth is 25 feet 

mean low water; and 
5. Notwithstanding N.J.A.C. 13:64-2.2(c), supervisors shall display two stacked 

pennants orange in color and triangular in shape not less than 12 inches on any 
dimension, at least four feet above the supervisor vessel’s highest point during jet 
levitation operations.   

(e) A person shall not operate or give permission to operate a jet levitation vessel 
unless the rider is wearing a water sports helmet and a high impact Type I, Type II or 
Type III personal flotation device approved by the United States Coast Guard.   
(f) Jet levitation vessel operators are subject to all other boating laws and regulations 
applicable to power vessels, including the requirement for a boat safety certificate, 
except as otherwise provided under N.J.A.C. 13:64 for rented personal watercraft. 

 
Christopher Wozniak mentioned the need to amend the wording, “Type I, Type II and 
Type III personal flotations devices” to “US Coast Guard Approved flotation device.”  
Sergeant Frake agreed that the language was just recently changed under Title 13.  
Paul Terzian of the Marine Trades Association of New Jersey asked about the 25 foot 
stipulation that was mentioned in the proposed statue.  Acting Chairperson Ed 
Harrison Jr. advised the 25 feet is reference porpoising, in regard to safety and water 
depth.  Paul Terzian asked if that includes the Bay.  Christopher Wozniak responded 
that the bays are excluded due to their shallow depths. 

 
 Parasailing (13:82-6.3) 

Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. mentioned the topic of Parasailing.  He advised 
the Commission touched on this last meeting and stated that we may need to do some 
research on this for the next meeting. Roland Gehweiler Jr. said that the Commission 
may have been discussing the length of the tether.  Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. 
reiterated this could be researched for the next meeting.  He asked the Commission if 
there was anything else that was touched on in the past that should be re-visited.  
Christopher Wozniak stated that is already updated in the statue, 13:82-6.3 Parasailing 
Operation and Equipment.  Sergeant Frake informed the Commission that his office 
would email everyone the current Title 13 Statutes.  He further stated his 
understanding of relaying the most recent updated information, and we will make 
certain the Commission is aware of final changes in the statues in the future.   

 
V.      NEW BUSINESS 



 

 

 
 BRC@njsp.gov Email Communications Inbox Report 

Sergeant Frake provided an update regarding the Commission’s email inbox and 
advised it was negative for relevant comments or questions for the Commission.   
 

 Cape May Canal Safety Concerns / Ferry Wake Surfing  
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. stated the Commission members were forwarded 
video from the New Jersey State Police Marine Services Bureau office.  He re-visited 
the discussion from the last meeting, of not allowing non-motorized vessels to operate 
in the Cape May Canal.  He reminded the Commission the Trooper who presented the 
topic wanted a similar statute to implement as in the Point Pleasant Canal.  He 
advised there is a lot of current and turbulence in the Point Pleasant Canal, and the 
restriction is due to a safety issue.  He stated he wasn’t sure if the same safety issues 
apply to the Cape May Canal.  The Statue for the Point Pleasant Canal, Ocean 
County, is Administrative Code 13:82–3.21 which needs to be adopted for the Cape 
May Canal.  Administrative Code 13:82-3.21 states “No person shall operate a canoe, 
kayak, rowboat or other non-motorized vessel in the confines of the Point Pleasant 
Canal, except in an emergency.”   

 
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. described the video featuring a 17-year-old male 
attempting to surf the Cape May Canal.  The intention was to surf the ferry wake.  
Officers made contact with the 17-year-old and indicated they can’t take action due to 
his age.  He added, this is an issue we may want to address. 

 
Leonard Mangiaracina agreed and advised proper wording would be needed.  
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. said we can just use verbiage restricting non-
motorized vessels surfing wake of commercial vessels.  Leonard Mangiaracina 
followed up with concern for the safety of the ferry operators, passengers, and the 
surfers.  He also expressed concern regarding the operators attempting to avoid the 
surfers.  Christopher Wozniak questioned existing statues for wake surfing and 
inquired if this activity is just present in the Cape May Canal.  Sergeant Fahy advised 
the activity has been captured on video in other areas, such as New York City.  Shaun 
Blick asked how pervasive the issue is.  Sergeant Fahy explained she has not been 
advised of any other incidents in the Cape May Canal but was waiting on further 
information from members of the Delaware River and Bay Authority. She advised 
law enforcement personnel have tools, or statutes, that can be used to discourage 
people from ferry wake surfing while we wait the summer months to see if the issue 
becomes more pervasive.  Christopher Wozniak added that the New Jersey State 
Police are in touch with the ferry captains.  Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. stated 
the Commission can table this discussion for now. 

 
V. PUBLIC COMMENT 
 

Marty Kane, of the Lake Hopatcong Foundation, stated he had good news to report.  He 
elaborated there was no ice in Lake Hopatcong.  He further stated they had a great 
meeting with the New Jersey State Police and the Morris County Sheriff’s office. The 



 

 

Sheriff’s office has put new boats on the Lake, and the residents are pleased with the 
safety of the area.  He added Hopatcong Police Department has put undercover officers 
on docks, however, they just don’t have a ton of boats. He explained the PD is looking at 
uniform noise ordinances.  Marty Kane shared news that the Lake has a new boat 
company coming to the Brady Bridge area.  They also have some dredging operations 
and some sewer operations up and coming.  He included the Department of 
Environmental Protection is assisting with the dredging and sewer operations and it will 
help Jefferson Township.  He advised they are planning a large lakeside clean-up effort 
on November 4th.  Marty Kane expressed that the Lake Foundation is available to assist 
with legislation and additionally they are looking forward to hosting the Boat Regulation 
Commission Meeting in July.  Lastly, he added that there will be questions regarding the 
status of wake surfing. 

 
. Sergeant Thomas Fiorello, New Jersey State Police, Marine Service Bureau, Point 

Pleasant Station addressed his concern regarding locating home addresses, on lagoons, 
when responding from the water in emergent situations.  He indicated minutes and 
seconds count when responding to some calls for service. Sergeant Fiorello stated that his 
Navionics program has taken him four houses away from the actual call location address 
when responding to an emergency situation.  He was hopeful the Commission could 
recommend to certain townships to request homeowners to place their numeric address 
on the rear dock or bulkhead of a home on a lagoon.  Sergeant Frake asked Marty Kane if 
residents on the Lake do anything similar.  Marty Kane responded that the residents do 
have voluntary dock numbering.  He elaborated that they had a situation where a home 
burned down because of a late response.  He stated the numbering is completely 
voluntary and they have about 45% cooperation from residents.  Additionally, numbers 
were generated for residents to make the request more affordable.  Christopher Wozniak 
advised we could potentially address this issue with individual townships.  Sergeant 
Frake mentioned the concern would be added to the public comment. 

 
Christopher Wozniak stated that moving forward into the next meeting, we will not be 
able to do much with the wake boards at that time.  Marty Kane asked if the Commission 
could just present the changes with Title 13:82 at the next Commission meeting.  
Sergeant Frake referred to the N.J.A.C. 13: 82- 3.1 and read the statue and proposed 
changes for the permissible uses of waterskiing and wake surfing as follows:  The 
division proposes to amend this section to increase the distance from 100 feet to 200 feet 
to update the recommended safety standard.  Sergeant Frake also mentioned other 
changes within the Administrative Code, such as the verbiage regarding PDF types to be 
amended to “USCG approved PFD;” N.J.A.C. 13:82-1.4 reference Mandatory Winter 
Wear, requiring all persons on board certain vessels to wear a USCG approved PFD 
between November 1 and May 1.  Lastly, he read N.J.A.C. 13:82-1.13(b), which prohibits 
operators from allowing passengers to ride in dangerous positions.  The Commission 
proposes to amend N.J.A.C. 13:82-1.13(b) to prohibit a person to ride between the 
operator and the steering controls of a personal watercraft.  This amendment is to increase 
safety.  He added that this change prohibits a child sitting in front of a mother while 
seated on a PWC.  Marty Kane requested the commission to announce the 200-foot 
change at the next meeting, then that would be satisfactory.    



 

 

 
 

VII. EXPRESSION OF APPRECIATION 
 
Acting Chairperson Ed Harrison Jr. expressed his appreciation to the providers of the 
facility and to the staff for the accommodations for the meeting.    

 
VIII. AGENDA FOR THE NEXT MEETING  

 
The agenda for the next meeting will be posted publicly on the New Jersey State Police 
website and at State Police Headquarters, West Trenton, NJ.   

 
IX. DATE, TIME AND LOCATION OF THE NEXT MEETING  
 

The next Boat Regulation Commission meeting is posted publicly on the New Jersey 
State Police website, www.njsp.org, under Public Information, Marine Services, New 
Jersey Boat Regulation Commission Annual Schedule of Meetings. The July 12, 2023, 
Boat Regulation Commission meeting is scheduled to take place at 10:00AM at the Lake 
Hopatcong Yacht Club, 75 North Bertrand Road, Mount Arlington, New Jersey 07856. 

 
X. ADJOURNMENT 
 
 The meeting was adjourned at 11:51 AM 
 
 
 
 
 


