|NEWARK – The state Board of Nursing has temporarily suspended the certification of a
homemaker-home health aide charged with manslaughter in connection with the stabbing death of a Paterson man.
Shaquana S. Bradley, 27, was charged with stabbing 31-year-old Kayson Scott in the chest on May 6. Scott was pronounced dead at St. Joseph’s Regional Medical Center in Paterson. In addition to aggravated manslaughter, Bradley was also charged with possession of a weapon for unlawful purpose and unlawful possession of a weapon.
The stabbing stemmed from a physical and verbal altercation with Scott’s uncle, whom Bradley had been dating, according to the Passaic County Prosecutor’s office.
Bradley signed an interim consent order of voluntary surrender of her certification on May 9, which was filed on May 10. The charges, if proven, would disqualify her from holding certification under state statute and provide additional basis for the Board to suspend or revoke her certification because convictions of such charges relate adversely to the activities of home health aides regulated by the Board of Nursing.
“Certified homemaker-home health aides are trusted to care for our most vulnerable loved ones, often without supervision,” said Attorney General Christopher S. Porrino. “The crime alleged here demands the immediate surrender of the certification of the accused.”
“The Board of Nursing acted quickly in this case to ensure the integrity of the entire home health aide profession and the safety of others,” said Steve Lee, Director of the Division of Consumer Affairs. “The Division and the Board are committed to ensuring the safety of New Jerseyans receiving in-home care.”
Under the terms of the consent order, Bradley cannot work as a homemaker-home health aide, including performing nursing tasks delegated by a licensed professional nurse. She also must surrender the wallet and wall certificates to the Board of Nursing.
The suspension of her license is temporary, pending the outcome of the charges against her. The Board of Nursing may take further disciplinary action, after the disposition of the criminal charges. The surrender of her license is not considered an admission of liability.
The Board of Nursing is charged with regulating nursing and homemaker-home health aide services in the State of New Jersey and making sure those who practice these professions are qualified and competent to do so.
The Division has also taken steps to help deal with unscrupulous behavior by care-givers, including in-home patient abuse. In December 2016, Attorney General Porrino and the Division launched the "Safe Care Cam" program that makes micro-surveillance cameras available for free 30-day loans to anyone who suspects their loved one is being abused or neglected by home health aides or other in-home caregivers.
Individuals who wish to participate in the Safe Care Cam program can call 973-504-6375 and leave a message in a voice mailbox that will be regularly monitored by Division staff responsible for the day-to-day operation of the program. Or they can call the Division on its toll-free line below and follow the voice prompts to leave a message.
Patients who believe that they have been treated by a licensed health care professional in an inappropriate manner can file an online complaint with the State Division of Consumer Affairs by visiting its website or by calling 1-800-242-5846 (toll free within New Jersey) or 973-504- 6200.
Follow the New Jersey Attorney General’s Office online at Twitter, Facebook, Instagram & YouTube. The social media links provided are for reference only. The New Jersey Attorney General’s Office does not endorse any non-governmental websites, companies or applications.