NJ Home PageGRC Home PageOPRA Home PageNJ Home PageOPRA Home Page
Privacy Study Commission
Commission Members and Staff Commission Meetings Talk to the Commission

Privacy Study Commission Minutes

July 25, 2003

Chairman Litwin called the meeting to order at 10:38 a.m.

Chairman Litwin read the Open Public Meetings Statement.

Chairman Litwin led all present in the salute to the flag.

Ms. Buckelew called the roll as follows:

Commission Members Present: Chairman Larry Litwin, Grayson Barber, George Cevasco, Richard DeAngelis, Pamela McCauley, Rosemary Karcher-Reavey, Karen Sutcliffe, and H. Lawrence Wilson.

Commission Members Absent: Thomas Cafferty, Edithe Fulton, John Hutchison, William Kearns, and Jack McEntee.

Division of Local Government Services Staff Present: Matt Watkins - Director, Catherine Starghill - Legal Specialist, Jeannie Janukowicz – Administrative Assistant and Lori Buckelew - Staff.

Ms. Barber moved to approve the minutes of June 20, 2003 as amended with a second by Ms. McCauley. The motion was adopted on a call of ayes and nays.

Albin Wagner, Chief, Bureau of Records Management, Department of State, made a presentation on data practices in New Jersey. Mr. Wagner discussed databases, commercial use of public records, the creation of a register of public records and proposed revisions to Title 47 of the New Jersey Statutes.

Ms. Starghill noted that changes to the timeline were due to the absence of a meeting in August. Meeting presentations that were scheduled for August will be presented in September. Chairman Litwin stated that attendance at the September meeting is mandatory since the 2004 meeting dates will be established at that meeting.

Subcommittee Reports were discussed as follows:

Special Directive: Ms. Barber stated that July 31 st was the scheduled cut-off date for receiving public comments to be included in the Special Directive report. Ms. Barber further stated that the draft report will be available in September and released in October for public comment.

New Jersey Practices: Ms. Sutcliffe stated that the state liaisons have been established and a meeting will be held with them shortly to discuss the survey. The county and school liaisons will be established shortly.

Outside New Jersey: Ms. Barber stated that the subcommittee’s work of benchmarking the public records laws in other states had been completed and their findings (the large chart presented at previous meetings) will be included in the Commission’s final report.

Public Interest: Judge Karcher-Reavey stated that additional public hearings would be scheduled in the Fall. Ms. Starghill noted that the comments received by academic experts would be discussed at the September meeting if time permits. Ms. Starghill further noted that a sampling of the comments received as of July 24, 2003 and the transcripts of the public hearings are available on the Commission’s website.

Technology: Ms. Starghill reported that the Monmouth County Clerk’s technology demonstration included an online tour of the documents maintained by the County Clerk’s Office and the process used to handle the documents. Ms. Starghill also noted that a demonstration of a Geographical Information System had been scheduled for late July at the Somerset County Office.

Commercial Use: Ms. Starghill noted that the subcommittee is in the process of assessing its findings and drafting its report.

Chairman Litwin stated that the Commission must appoint a records custodian. Judge Karcher-Reavey moved to appoint Catherine Starghill as the Privacy Study Commission’s Records Custodian with a second by Ms. Barber. The motion was adopted on a call of ayes and nays as follows:

Ayes: Chairman Litwin, Ms. Barber, Mr. Cevasco, Mr. DeAngelis, Ms. McCauley, Judge Karcher-Reavey, Ms. Sutcliffe and Mr. Wilson.

Nays: None.

Ms. Starghill provided the Commission with a staff update. Ms. Starghill advised the Commission that an OPRA request form (or a link to OPRA Central) would be available on the Commission’s website to facilitate OPRA requests.

Chairman Litwin opened the meeting for public comment. Hearing none, Mr. Cevasco moved to adjourn, with a second from Mr. Wilson.

Chairman Litwin adjourned the meeting at 11:37 a.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Larry Litwin, Chairman


contact us privacy statement legal statement accessibility statement nj home