BRENDAN MURPHY Chairman

LUIS A. QUINTANA Vice Chairman

ELIZABETH CALABRESE JOHN J. COSGROVE C. LAWRENCE CRUMP JAMES P. DORAN JOSEPH F. ISOLA HECTOR C. LORA THOMAS TUCCI JR Commissioners



GREGORY A. TRAMONTOZZI Executive Director

ALBERT LUKIN
Clerk

"Protecting Public Health and the Environment"

600 Wilson Avenue, Newark, New Jersey 07105 Phone: 973-344-1800; Fax: 973-344-2951 Website: www.nj.gov/pvsc

For Immediate Release:

May 12, 2025

Contact Information: Doug Scancarella dscancarella@pvsc.com, 973-817-5735

PVSC Holds Annual Reorganization Meeting Brendan Murphy Elected Chairman and Luis Quintana Re-Elected as Vice Chairman

Newark, NJ – Passaic County resident Brendan Murphy was unanimously elected to serve as the Chair of the Passaic Valley Sewerage Commission's ("PVSC") Board of Commissioners at the agency's May 6, 2025, Annual Reorganization Meeting. Murphy, who has served on the Board since 2019, succeeds Thomas Tucci, Jr. Tucci announced that he will resign from the Board, a position he has held since 2014, later this month due to his relocation outside of PVSC's service area. The Essex County resident's decade-long run as Chairman is the second longest in PVSC's 123-year history.

"On behalf of a very grateful PVSC, I would like to thank Chairman Tucci for his outstanding leadership and vision," PVSC Executive Director Gregory Tramontozzi said. "We have been extremely fortunate to have had such a dedicated and hardworking public servant at the helm for such a long period of time. He has been a tremendous friend to his fellow Board members and PVSC's management team, and he will always be remembered for his professionalism, his dignity, his sense of fairness, and for always doing what he thought was right for PVSC and its various stakeholders. He will be sorely missed by his PVSC family."

"During my tenure as Chairman I have marveled at the diligence and dedication that my fellow Commissioners, our management team, and our outstanding employees have constantly demonstrated," Tucci said. "The agency has always had a fine staff and the fact that the plant has been so well run is a credit to my fellow Commissioners and our incredible employees. Although I will miss serving as a Commissioner, Chairman Murphy is an outstanding public servant and I have every confidence that he will be an extremely effective Board Chairman. I wish Chairman Murphy, Vice Chairman Quintana, and our other fine Commissioners tremendous success as they continue to lead this outstanding agency and advance its critical role in protecting public health and the environment.

Chairman Murphy has served as a Totowa Councilman and as Chairman of Totowa's Public Works and Public Safety Committees. He is an accountant for Lerch, Vinci & Higgins in Fair Lawn, and is part owner of Murph's Tavern in Totowa.

"I would like to thank my colleagues on the Board of Commissioners for electing me Chairman. Taking on this role at the fifth-largest wastewater treatment plant in the United States is a tremendous privilege and honor," Murphy said. "I look forward to continuing to work with my fellow Commissioners, our Executive Director, and the rest of PVSC's leadership team."

"I am extremely pleased that Commissioner Murphy will serve as PVSC's Chairman," said Tramontozzi. "As a Commissioner since 2019, and as an experienced municipal leader, he has consistently demonstrated strong,

forward-minded leadership. I know he will continue to make a very positive impact as Chairman, and I look forward to working closely with him as we continue to plan for the future."

In addition, PVSC's Board of Commissioners re-elected Luis Quintana as Vice Chairman and Commissioner Elizabeth Calabrese as Treasurer. Commissioners John Cosgrove, C. Lawrence Crump, James Doran, Joseph Isola, and Hector Lora, as well as several members of the PVSC senior management team, were also present at the virtual meeting.

"I am very proud to be a part of this leadership team," added Vice Chairman Quintana. "I'm looking forward to working alongside Chairman Murphy, the other seven commissioners, and our very talented employees working in the various departments and units that comprise this agency."

Vice Chairman Quintana has been a Commissioner since 2015 and Vice Chairman since 2018. Commissioner Calabrese has served as a commissioner since 2015, Commissioners Doran and Isola have served as commissioners since 2017, Commissioners Cosgrove and Lora have served as commissioners since 2019, and Commissioner Crump has served as a commissioner since 2023.