Skip to main content

State of New Jersey

Department of State

Division of Elections Issues Press Guidance for June 5 Primary Election

TRENTON, N.J. – The New Jersey Division of Elections has issued the following press guidance for the New Jersey Primary Election, Tuesday, June 5.

  • Polls are open from 6:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m.
  • To find your polling place, use the Division of Election’s “Where Do I Vote?” link:
  • To confirm your voter registration status, use the Division of Election’s “Am I Registered” link:
  • For contact information for local county election official offices, use the Division of Election’s link:
  • Unofficial election results can be obtained by reaching out to the county clerks of the 21 counties. County results are posted online on each of the county websites, links to which can be found use the Division of Election’s link:
  • To vote in New Jersey, you must be:
    • a United States citizen, who is at least 18 years old, a resident of the county for 30 days before the election and you are not currently serving a sentence, probation or parole because of a felony conviction.
  • Regarding voters who move between counties at least 30 days before election:
    • Voter may vote in new election district because voter has satisfied the 30-day residency requirement under the State Constitution, but must be registered to vote in the new county by the 21st day before election.
  • Regarding voters who move between counties less than 30 days before the election:
    • Voter can go back to old election district and vote.
    • If a person moves into a county less than 30 days before the election and registers to vote for the first time in the State by the 21-day deadline, that person cannot vote because he or she has not satisfied the 30 day county residency requirement under the State Constitution.
  • Regarding unaffiliated voter in primary election:
    • New Jersey’s primary election law allows unaffiliated voters to select a party when voting in the Primary Election. However, voters registered as Democrats can only vote in the Democratic primary and voters registered as Republicans can only vote in the Republican primary. An unaffiliated voter who declares a party by voting in the primary can return to their unaffiliated status after the primary by re-registering as an unaffiliated voter.

If citizens should have any complaints, please contact the New Jersey Division of Elections at (609) 292-3760.