Contact the NJ Commission on National and Community Service
NJ Commission on National and
Community Service
P.O. Box 456
Trenton, NJ 08625

Tel: (609) 633-9627
Fax: (609) 777-2939

Email: Feedback@sos.nj.gov

New Jersey AmeriCorps 2015-2016 Programs

Americorps LogoAmeriCorps programs will serve communities throughout New Jersey in the priority areas of education, disaster response, social services, and environmental stewardship.

Program
Slots
Program Description
Contact Info: Name/Address/EMail
Camden PowerCorp
10

10 FT
Camden PowerCorps AmeriCorps members will maintain parks, stormwater inlets and other green infrastructure project in Camden City.
Serving Camden County.
Annie Duklewski, Program Manager
Center for Family Services- Camden
Camden, NJ 08103
Office: 856-964-1990
Fax: 856-494-1442
E-mail: aduklewski@centerffs.org

Merilee Rutolo, Chief Operations Officer E-mail: mrutolo@centerffs.org
Center for Family Services
34

16 FT
18 HT
34 AmeriCorps members will provide one-on-one educational and behavioral classroom support, and help to build capacity through new school wellness initiatives, to preschool children ages 3-5 for Center For Family Services' Head Start Program.
Serving Camden County.
Corry Gunson, Program Manager
Center for Family Services—Camden
584 Benson Street
Camden, NJ 08103
Fax: 856-964-2484
Office: 856-964-2100 ext: 10137
E-mail: corry.gunson@centerffs.org

Tracy Mahan, Program Staff
E-mail: tracy.mahan@centerffs.org
Phone: 856-964-2100 ext: 115
Fax: 856-964-6543
College of NJ, Bonner Leaders
62

13 FT
7 HT
42 MT
62 AmeriCorps members provide literacy support to disadvantaged youth, offer job training and TASC (formally known as GED) tutoring sessions to under and unemployed persons, and food security services to low income residents.
Serving Mercer and Middlesex Counties.
Kristi Cordier & Elvis Diaz, Program Managers
10 Mercer Street
Princeton, NJ 08540
Office: 609-924-6663
Fax: 609-683-4626
E-mail: kcordier@bonner.org
E-mail: elvis@bonner.org
Food Corps
12

12 FT
FoodCorps AmeriCorps members will connect children in public schools to healthy food through nutrition education, school gardens, and improved school lunch offering throughout New Jersey.
Ashley Taylor, Program Manager
2544 NW Upshur St
Portland, OR 97210-2550
Office: 212-596-7045 ext: 127
E-mail: ashley.taylor@foodcorps.org
Great Oaks Charter School
20

20 FT
Great Oaks Charter School hosts 20 full time AmeriCorps members to provide daily tutoring in Great Oaks Charter School in Newark to reach 120 youth.
Serving Essex County.
Yemi Olorunnipa, Program Manager
24 Maiden Lane
Newark, NJ 07102
Office: 973-565-9170
Fax: 973-565-9173
E-mail: yolorunnipa@greatoakscharter.org

Jared Taillefer, Executive Director
E-mail: jtaillifer@greatoakscharter.org
Jewish Renaissance Foundation
18

13 FT
5 HT
18 AmeriCorps members will be placed at sites to facilitate health education programming, and referral services to reduce food insecurity. Members will Implement workshops in life skills, economic self-sufficiency, and job readiness. Members will also improve volunteer recruitment and management strategies.
Serving Middlesex County.
Yamillet Febo-Gomez, Program Manager
149 Kearny Avenue
Perth Amboy, NJ 08861
Fax: 732-324-0256
Office: 732-324-2114, ext. 103
E-mail: yamillet@jrfnj.org

Alexandra Cross, Executive Director
E-mail: Alexandra.cross@jrfnj.org
Montclair State University
20

20 FT
20 AmeriCorps members will engage K-12 students in environmental education. Members strive to build a multi-site campus based service program that addresses education, environment, and economic development.
Serving Essex County.
Krystal Woolston, Program Manager
1 Normal Avenue
309 College Hall
Montclair, NJ 07043-1624
Office: 973-655-6831
E-mail: woolstonk@mail.montclair.edu

Danielle Dapiran, Program Director
Office: 973-655-7882
E-mail: dapirand@mail.montclair.edu
NJ Community Development Corporation
(Paterson Community Schools Corps)
20

20 FT
20 AmeriCorps members will provide students and parents in urban, community-based schools academic development, health/mental health support services, violence prevention to students and families.
Serving Passaic County.
Nicole Sweeney, Program Manager
32 Spruce Street, 3rd Floor
Paterson, NJ 07501
Office: 973-413-1634
Fax: 973-413-1640
E-mail: nsweeney@njcdc.org

Marquise Guzman, Asst. Program Mgr.
Office: 973-413-1626
E-mail: mguzman@njcdc.org

Victoria Hernandez, Chief Program Officer
Phone: 973-413-1602
E-mail: vhernandez@njcdc.org
The Newark Preschool Council
25

25 FT
The Newark Preschool Council will provide enhanced services for its STEAM Literacy initiative to increase School Readiness. Members will deliver direct educational services by executing STEAM activities that will focus on individualized learning, social-emotional development and school readiness.
Serving Essex County.
Silvia Canabal, Program Manager
570 Broad St, 9 Floor
Newark, NJ 07012-4532
Office: 973-848-5009
E-mail: scanabal@newarkpreschool.org

Karen Highsmith, Executive Director
Office: 973-848-5001
E-mail: khighsmith@newarkpreschool.org
NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection
20

20 FT
The NJ Watershed Ambassador Program trains 20 AmeriCorps members to serve throughout the state. They engage the community, fostering watershed stewardship by: -Offering watershed education presentations to the public, including schools, scouts, and other organizations; -Organizing community partnership projects (such as cleanups, restorations, and rain barrel workshops); and -Performing visual & biological water quality stream assessments.
Serving All Counties.
Kathy Giordano, Program Manager
401 E. State Street
PO Box 420
Mail Cod 401-041
Trenton, NJ 08625
Office: 609-633-1441
Fax: 609-984-6505
E-mail: kathy.giordano@dep.state.nj.us

Jennifer Noblejas, Program Staff
E-mail: Jennifer.noblejas@dep.state.nj.us

Patricia Ingelido, Program Supervisor
E-mail: Patricia.Ingelido@dep.nj.gov
St. Paul's Community Development Corp
29

11 FT
18 HT
29 AmeriCorps members will serve SPCDC programs and 10 community partner agencies to address a variety of human needs. The members will serve as food pantry assistants, shelter aides, case management aides, volunteer recruiters, tutors, and as capacity builders.
Serving Passaic County.
Cassandra Kendall, Program Manager
456 Van Houten Street
Paterson, NJ 07501
Office: 973-710-3900, ext. 448
Fax: 973-684-0686
E-mail: ckendall@stpaulscdcnj.org

Richard C. Williams, Executive Director
Phone: 973-278-7900, ext. 433
E-mail: rcwilliams@stpaulcdcnj.org
The Salvation Army
33

21 HT
12 MT
AmeriCorps members serve economically disadvantaged youth aged 7-13, with literacy and other educational support .Members also serve as Emergency Disaster Services trainers throughout the state of NJ, recruiting, training, and supervising volunteers through Salvation Army disaster services.
Serving Essex County.
Drew Grisham, Program Manager
45 Central Avenue
Newark, NJ 07102
Office: 973-623-5959
Fax: 973-623-7537
E-mail: drew.grisham@use.salvationarmy.org
Relay Graduate School of Education
20

20 FT
Relay Graduate School of Education will host 20 full-time professional AmeriCorps members who will participate in the innovative teacher residency across NJ. These members will be prepared and certified to serve as full-time teachers of record, poised for career improving educational and life outcomes for students in low-income communities.
Serving Newark & Camden Counties.
Danijel Bule, Program Manager
72 Central Avenue
Newark, NJ 07102
Office: 212-228-1888 ext: 195
E-mail: dbule@relay.edu

Rachel Webb, Program Director
Office: 212-228-1888 ext: 132
E-mail: rwebb@relay.edu
TEAM Academy Charter Schools
11

11 FT
KIPP NJ (formerly TEAM Charter Schools) AmeriCorps members who will provide small-group instruction, classroom assistance and school-wide special project support in NJ. Members will be responsible for students meeting their individualized MAP and reading growth goals.
Serving Essex & Camden Counties.
Meaghan Bertsch, Program Manager
60 Park Place, Suite 802
Newark, NJ 07102
E-mail: mbertsch@kippnj.org

Ben Calvert, Program Manager
E-mail: bcalvert@kippnj.org
Urban League of Essex County
10

10 FT
AmeriCorps members will serve in Newark’s West Ward neighborhood of Fairmount Heights. The Corps members will help provide 100 job seekers with outreach, food and housing insecurity intervention assistance, Affordable Care Act enrollment assistance, GED preparation and tutoring, soft skills and life skills training, and financial literacy education to improve employability.
Serving Essex County.
Rosa Higgins, Program Manager
508 Central Avenue
Newark, NJ 07107-1430
Office: 973-624-9535 ext: 118
E-mail: rhiggins@ulec.org