Contact the NJ Commission on National and Community Service
NJ Commission on National and
Community Service
P.O. Box 456
Trenton, NJ 08625

Tel: (609) 633-9627
Fax: (609) 777-2939

Email: Feedback@sos.state.nj.us

New Jersey AmeriCorps 2014-2015 Programs

Americorps LogoAmeriCorps programs will serve communities throughout New Jersey in the priority areas of education, disaster response, social services, and environmental stewardship.

Program
Slots
Program Description
Contact Info: Name/Address/EMail etc.
Great Oaks Charter School
20 FT
Great Oaks Charter School hosts 20 full time AmeriCorps members who tutor and mentor over 120 middle school youth daily in Newark. Serving Essex County.
Carly Gilfoil, Program Manager
24 Maiden Lane
Newark, NJ 07102
Phone: 973-565-9170
Fax: 973-565-9173
Email: cgilfoil@greatoakscharter.org
Jersey Cares
10 FT
Jersey Cares AmeriCorps members create and manage volunteer projects to address community identified needs throughout the state of New Jersey and help make New Jersey communities stronger and more vibrant.
Serving the State of NJ.
Joan Henderson, Program Manager
494 Broad Street, Suite 103
Newark, NJ 07102-3217
Phone: 973-424-1091, ext. 19
Fax: 973-424-1254
Email: joan@jerseycares.org

Brian Dean, Executive Director
Email: bdean@jerseycares.org
Jewish Renaissance Foundation
18

13 FT
5 HT
18 AmeriCorps members will be placed at sites to facilitate health education programming, and referral services to reduce food insecurity. Members will Implement workshops in life skills, economic self-sufficiency, and job readiness. Members will also improve volunteer recruitment and management strategies.
Serving Middlesex County.
Yamillet Febo-Gomez, Program Mgr
149 Kearny Avenue
Perth Amboy, NJ 08861
Fax: 732-324-0256
Phone: 732-324-2114, ext. 103
Email: yamillet@jrfnj.org

Alexandra Cross, Executive Director
Email: Alexandra.cross@jrfnj.org
Montclair State University
20 FT
20 AmeriCorps members will engage K-12 students in environmental education. Members strive to build a multi-site campus based service program that addresses education, environment, and economical development.
Serving Essex County
Krystal Woolston, Program Manager
1 Normal Avenue
309 College Hall
Montclair, NJ 07043-1624
Phone: 973-655-6831
Email: woolstonk@mail.montclair.edu

Brian Murdock, Program Director
Email: murdockb@mail.montclair.edu
United Way of Central Jersey
5 FT
5 AmeriCorps Members will provide early childhood home visitation services to children 16 months to 4 years old. Members will prepare children with the basic early literacy skills they will need to succeed in kindergarten. Serving Middlesex County and Franklin Township in Somerset County.
Sara Spatz, Program Manager
32 Ford Avenue
Milltown, NJ 08850
Phone:   732-247-3727 x13
Fax:       732-247-9855
Email:   sspatz@uwcj.org

Stuart Grant, Program Director
Email:  sgrant@uwcj.org
Phone:  732-247-3727 x 20
NJ Community Development Corporation
(Paterson Community Schools Corps)
30 FT
20 AmeriCorps members will provide students and parents in urban, community-based schools academic development, health/mental health support services, violence prevention to students and families.
Serving Passaic County.
Nicole Sweeney, Program Manager
32 Spruce Street, 3rd Floor
Paterson, NJ 07501
Phone:   973-413-1634
Fax:        973-413-1640
Email:   nsweeney@njcdc.org

Marquise Guzman, Asst. Program Mgr
Phone:  973-413-1626
Email:   mguzman@njcdc.org

Vicky Hernandez, Chief Program Officer
Phone: 973-413-1635
Email: vhernandez@njcdc.org
St. Paul's Community Development Corp
31

9 FT
22 HT
28 AmeriCorps members will serve SPCDC programs and 10 community partner agencies to address a variety of human needs. The members will serve as food pantry assistants, shelter aides, case management aides, volunteer recruiters, tutors, and as capacity builders. Serving Passaic County.
Cassandra Kendall, Interim Program Manager
451 Van Houten Street
Paterson, NJ 07501-2119
Fax:         973-684-0686
Phone:    973-710-3900 x448
Email:    ckendall@stpaulscdcnj.org

Richard C. Williams, Executive Director
Phone:    973-710-3900, ext. 433
Email:    rcwilliams@stpaulscdcnj.org
Center for Family Services
25

15 FT
10 HT
25 AmeriCorps members will provide one-on-one educational and behavioral classroom support, and help to build capacity through new school wellness initiatives, to preschool children ages 3-5 for Center For Family Services' Head Start Program. Serving Camden County.
Corry Gunson, Program Manager
Center for Family Services—Camden
584 Benson Street
Camden, NJ 08103
Fax:         856-309-5301
Phone:    856-964-2100 ext. 137
E-mail:    corry.gunson@centerffs.org

Tracy Mahan, Program Staff
Email:      tracy.mahon@centerffs.org
Phone:    856-964-2100 x115
Fax:        856-964-6543
The Salvation Army
32

22 HT
10 MT
32 AmeriCorps members serve economically disadvantaged youth aged 7-13, with literacy and other educational support .Members also serve as Emergency Disaster Services trainers throughout the state of NJ, recruiting, training, and supervising volunteers through Salvation Army disaster services. Serving Essex County
Drew Grisham, Program Manager
45 Central Avenue
Newark, NJ 07102
Phone:   973-623-5959
Fax:        973-623-7537
Email:   drew.grisham@use.salvationarmy.org
The College of NJ, Bonner Leaders
62

13 FT
7 HT
42 MT
62 AmeriCorps members provide literacy support to disadvantaged youth, offer job training to under and unemployed persons, and food security services to low income residents.  Serving Mercer and Middlesex Counties.
Kristi Cordier, Program Manager
10 Mercer Street
Princeton, NJ 08540
Phone:   609-924-6663
Fax:        609-683-4626
Email:   kcordier@bonner.org
NJ Dept. of Environmental Protection
20 FT
20 AmeriCorps members will perform visual & biological water quality stream assessments; give watershed education presentations to schools & community groups; and conduct multiple partnership projects (such as clean-ups & restorations) with the public. Serving 20 Watershed Management Areas statewide.
Kathy Giordano, Program Manager
401 E. State Street
PO Box 420
Mail Code 401-04I
Trenton, NJ 08625
Phone:    609-777-1406
Fax:        609-984-6505
E-mail:    kathy.giordano@dep.state.nj.us

Jennifer Noblejas, Program Staff
E-mail:   Jennifer.noblejas@dep.state.nj.us

Kim Cenno, Program Supervisor
E-mail:   Kimberly.cenno@dep.state.nj.us
United Way of Monmouth
26

24 FT
2 MT
26 AmeriCorps members will serve on the front-lines of the Superstorm Sandy rebuilding effort and gain first-hand experience with disaster recovery.  Under the supervision of a Construction Manager, Members will participate in every phase of the home rebuilding process- demolition, insulation, sheet-rock, basic framing, painting, and finish work.  Additionally, members will support groups of un-skilled volunteers through these projects, learning valuable leadership and volunteer management skills. Serving Monmouth and Ocean counties.
Jenna Johnston, Program Manager
1415 Wyckoff Road
Farmingdale, NJ 07727
Fax:         732-938-2850
Phone:    732-938-5988, ext. 2035
E-mail:    jjohnston@breakadifference.org

Adam Cox, Assistant Program Manager
Phone:    607-283-9657
E-mail:  adamcox@breakadifference.org