GENERAL FILING REQUIREMENTS & CONSIDERATIONS
The following are the
general requirements and considerations for all filings affecting
the public record. These include formation/authorization documents
for a business entity, amendments to corporate filings, changes to
registered agents and office, name reservations and alternate name
filings, as well as merger and dissolution documents
or machine print all filings.
the correct amount for each filing. Fees may
vary depending on the business entity structure. The amount payable
is listed in the fee schedule and the form's instructions.
a delivery/return method:
mail -- If you are sending
work in via regular mail, use the correct address and call number:
New Jersey Division
PO Box 308
Trenton, NJ 08625-0308
All processed mail-in
work will be returned via regular mail. Providing a self-addressed
return envelope will speed processing. Be sure to indicate the return
address if other than the registered office.
****Remember that it
can take between 3 and 6 extra days for mail to reach the Division
as well as to be received from the Division. This is because mail
must first be processed through the State's central post office.
Also, remember that mail turnaround time must be added to the document
processing time required for regular mail-in work.
Expedited/Over-the-Counter -- If you are expediting a filing (8.5 business hour processing),
make sure that you:
- deliver the filing
to 33 West State Street, 5rd Fl., Trenton, NJ 08608-1214, or
have a courier/express mail service deliver to this address.
- do not use USPS overnight
delivery. This service does not deliver directly to our office.
- add an expediting
fee of $15.00 for each filing submitted by corporations, non-profits
and LPs and $25.00 per filing by LLCs, LLPs, and FLPs --i.e.,
add $15.00 to the filing fee for corporations or add $25.00 to
the filing fee by LLCs.
- provide instructions
as to how the filing is to be sent back to you. For regular mail,
allow 3 to 6 extra days for receipt of processed work.
For pick-up at 33 West
by a courier/express mail service-- be sure to provide package
and completed air bill showing your name or company name (in the
"to" and "from" blocks) and your account number. The state cannot
pay for return by courier/express mail.
Remember that expedited
processing entails review and acceptance or rejection of filing
submissions. It does not include the return of work within 8.5 business
hours unless the front desk pick-up option is chosen. Also, by law,
the Treasurer is not bound by the 8.5 hour processing turnaround
requirement in the event of computer downtime or other technical
Choose an acceptable payment method:
the required number of copies. Generally, filings for profit businesses are submitted in duplicate
and non-profit filings are done in triplicate.
- Check or money
order payable to the Treasurer/State of New Jersey
- Credit card options
are VISA/MASTER-CARD or DISCOVER. Be sure to provide the card number,
expiration date and name/address of card,holder.
- Depository account
as assigned by the Treasurer