Governor Chris Christie • Lt.Governor Kim Guadagno  
The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page
Disclaimer



2009 Homestead Benefit Amount for Homeowners
Under Age 65 and NOT Disabled on December 31, 2009


The homestead benefit calculation is based on the applicant's:

  • 2009 New Jersey gross income,
  • 2009 filing status (single, married, filing jointly, head of household, etc.),
  • Age/disability status (whether applicant was age 65 or older and/or disabled on December 31, 2009),
  • Property taxes paid in 2006 on principal residence.

The State Budget requires that the 2009 benefit be based on 2006 property taxes. For purposes of calculating the 2009 benefit, the 2006 property taxes for the dwelling that was the applicant’s principal residence on October 1, 2009, will be used. If no property taxes were assessed on that dwelling for 2006, the Division of Taxation will determine the amount of property taxes that would have been due for 2006 by using the current assessed value and the 2006 property tax rate.

Under the terms of the Budget, the 2009 benefit amount, when annualized, cannot exceed the homestead rebate amount paid for 2006 unless there has been a change in an applicant’s filing characteristics. “Filing characteristics” means a reduction in income range, a change in age/disability status or filing status, or an increase in percentage of ownership. If the homeowner did not receive a 2006 homeowner rebate, it cannot be taken into account to determine the 2009 benefit.

Multiple Owners/Multiple Units. When the property is owned by more than one person (other than husband and wife/civil union partners), only the proportionate share of property taxes for an applicant’s percentage of ownership in the property is used when calculating the benefit. For a property that contains more than one unit, only the proportionate share of property taxes for the unit the applicant occupies as their principal residence will be used.



Homeowners Under Age 65 and NOT Disabled

The homestead benefit for 2009 will be paid will be paid as a one-time credit
applied to the property tax bill for the second quarter of 2011.


If your 2009 New Jersey gross income* is...

Your benefit amount** is calculated by …

Not over $50,000


Multiplying the amount of your 2006 property taxes
paid (up to $10,000) by 20% and then dividing by 4


Over $50,000
But not over $75,000

Multiplying the amount of your 2006 property taxes
paid (up to $10,000) by 13.34% and then dividing by 4


Over $75,000


Not eligible

*Spouses/civil union partners who file separate income tax returns but maintain the same principal residence must combine their incomes when calculating the benefit amount. If spouses/civil union partners maintain separate principal residences, their incomes should not be combined.

**The benefit amount, when annualized, cannot be more than the amount of property taxes actually paid.

Information about 2009 Benefit Amounts for Homeowners Age 65 or Older and/or Disabled


Last Updated: Friday, 07/15/11



Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
Statewide:
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.


Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification