skip to main content skip to main navigation
Photo of Francisco Allende being sworn in to the NJ State Board of Agriculture - Click to enlarge
For Immediate Release: May 31, 2011
Contact: Lynne Richmond
(609) 633-2954

(TRENTON) – South Jersey peach farmer, Francisco J. Allende, was sworn in to a seat on the New Jersey State Board of Agriculture during a board meeting at Dorsett Farm in Woolwich Township May 25.

Allende was selected for the position by the delegates attending the February 2010 New Jersey State Agriculture Convention.  He was then nominated by Governor Chris Christie and approved by the state Senate.  His term on the board will expire in 2014.

“Francisco Allende brings a wealth of experience and a unique perspective to the State Board of Agriculture,” said New Jersey Secretary of Agriculture Douglas H. Fisher.  “His experience and expertise will be great assets as the Board tackles issues that will impact the future of the agriculture industry.”

Allende is co-manager and co-owner of Gala farms in Salem and Cumberland Counties, with more than 200 acres of peaches planted.  He is General Manager and co-owner of Sunny Valley Int., Inc., a Glassboro fresh fruits and vegetables distributor, as well as co-manager and co-owner of Eastern Propak, a Glassboro storage and packing facility.

“At this time my main goal is to learn as much as possible and broaden my knowledge and understanding of New Jersey Agriculture as a whole,” said Allende. 

Allende is a director and past chairman of the New Jersey Peach Promotion Council, a director on the New Jersey Blueberry Growers Industry Advisory Council, and is a Board member of the U.S. Highbush Blueberry Council.

Allende has a degree in commercial engineering from the University of Santiago in Chile.  He currently resides in Moorestown. 

The State Board of Agriculture, comprising eight members, is the policy-making body of the New Jersey Department of Agriculture. Its members serve for four years, with two members being replaced each year. By law, at least four of its members must represent the top commodity groups in the state.  Members serve without salary, but may be reimbursed for expenses.  For more information, visit