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Trotting Association and must hold a certificate of registration dated on 
or before the time of nomination. 

1.-4. (No change.) 
5. Supplemental nominations may be made to the New Jersey 

Standardbred Development Fund. Parties delinquent in paying on or 
before the May 15 yearling nomination fee date are given until September 
15 of the yearling year to fulfill the aforementioned conditions of 
nomination and pay the nomination fee along with an additional late fee 
of $500.00. For nominations received after September 15, but on or before 
February 15 of the two-year-old year, the cost will be $700.00 in addition 
to the original nomination fee. 

2:32A-2.6 Sustaining fees 
The sustaining fee schedule to the Standardbred Development Fund 

Program will be as follows: 
 

Age First Sustaining Fee Second Sustaining Fee 

Two and three $100.00 (February 15) $150.00 (April 15) 
   

 
The Board of Trustees of the New Jersey Sire Stakes Program may, at 

any time, in its sole discretion, reduce the amount of these fees as 
conditions warrant. 

2:32A-2.8 Eligibility 
(a) (No change.) 
(b) A two-year-old’s owner who makes the nomination payment but 

fails to make the first sustaining payment may regain his or her horse’s 
eligibility for its two-year-old and three-year-old seasons by payment of 
a penalty of $1,000 plus the amount of the first sustaining payment within 
30 days of the original due date of the payment.  

2:32A-2.15 Entry fees 
(a) Entry fees will be: 
1. Two-year-olds: $200.00; and 
2. Three-year-olds: $200.00. 
(b) Entry fees for Standardbred Development Fund Finals will be 

$500.00. Finals fee is waived if entry fees are paid for the first and second 
legs. 

(c) (No change.) 

2:32A-2.21 Final races 
(a) There will be a two- and three-year-old “Final” race in each 

Standardbred Development Fund division at a licensed facility approved 
by the New Jersey Racing Commission, as scheduled by the New Jersey 
Sire Stakes Board of Trustees. 

(b) (No change.) 
(c) Each Standardbred Development Fund Final will have a $500.00 

entry fee, subject to waiver consistent with N.J.A.C. 2:32A-2.15, and is 
open to the highest New Jersey Standardbred Development Fund point 
winners in the series that are declared in and can be drawn to a post 
position in the first tier. Trailers are not permitted to start in any New 
Jersey Standardbred Development Fund Finals. 

(d) (No change.) 
(e) In the event of less than five starters, the points shall be awarded in 

the same fashion as the purse breakdown with less than five starters at (d) 
above. 

(f)-(i) (No change.) 

2:32A-2.29 Payments, correspondence, and inquiries 
(a) (No change.) 
(b) All nominating and sustaining payments, correspondence, and 

inquiries shall be directed to: 
New Jersey Sire Stakes 
PO Box 330 
Trenton, NJ 08625. 
Inquiries may also be directed to (609) 913-6514. 

__________ 

(a) 
DIVISION OF MARKETING AND DEVELOPMENT 
Producers 
Adopted New Rules: N.J.A.C. 2:50 
Proposed: May 2, 2022, at 54 N.J.R. 755(a). 
Adopted: July 27, 2022, by the State Board of Agriculture and 

Douglas H. Fisher, Secretary, Department of Agriculture. 
Filed: July 28, 2022, as R.2022 d.105, without change. 
Authority: N.J.S.A. 4:1-11.1, 4:1-25, and 4:12A-1 et seq., 

specifically 4:12A-7 and 4:12A-20. 
Effective Date: September 6, 2022. 
Expiration Date: September 6, 2029. 
Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response: 

No comments were received. 
Federal Standards Analysis 

Executive Order No. 27 (1994) and P.L. 1995, c. 65 require State 
agencies that adopt, readopt, or amend State rules that exceed any Federal 
standards or requirements to include in the rulemaking document a 
comparison with Federal law. Because the adopted new rules increase the 
minimum price payable to the dairy producer above the price established 
by the Federal Milk Marketing Order in effect in New Jersey, the adopted 
new rules might be considered to exceed the Federal standards. 

The Agricultural Marketing Agreement Act of 1937 (AMAA), 7 
U.S.C. §§ 601 et seq., authorizes the Unites States Secretary of 
Agriculture to issue Federal milk market orders based on geographic 
locations, which establish minimum uniform producer prices for milk, 7 
U.S.C. § 608c(1) and (5). New Jersey is subject to the Northeast Milk 
Marketing Order, which sets a Class I milk price each month, as well as a 
statistical blend price which is the minimum amount of payment to 
producers for three and a half percent butterfat milk. With a classified 
pricing system, such as that used in the Federal Milk Marketing Order, 
processors pay different prices for milk in each category of use, all of 
which is collected in a central location, “the pool,” by the Federal Market 
Administrator’s Office. Producers are paid a weighted average, or 
“blend,” price for all uses of milk in a particular order or market. 
Processors pay into or draw out of the pool on the basis of their utilization 
of milk relative to market average utilization. Producers participating in 
the pool receive identical uniform blend prices, with adjustments for 
butterfat content and location of the plant to which the milk is delivered 
(the zone). In markets with multiple component pricing, adjustments also 
are made for protein and other solids. 

For example, the price of Class I milk for September of 2021 was 
$21.59 per hundred-weight (cwt) for the $3.15 zone price, while the New 
Jersey producers received a statistical blend price of $16.60 to $16.70 per 
cwt of raw milk produced in September 2021. Although the Federal Milk 
Marketing Order establishes the minimum price at which milk can be 
purchased from a producer, it does not prohibit states from setting a higher 
price to be paid to producers. 

The New Jersey Milk Control Law of 1941, N.J.S.A. 4:12A-1 et seq., 
independently authorizes the Director of the Department of Agriculture 
(Director) to fix the minimum prices of milk to be paid to New Jersey 
producers to ensure a sufficient quantity of fresh, pure, and wholesome 
milk to the inhabitants of the State. N.J.S.A. 4:12A-22. In so doing, the 
Director may take into consideration the amount of money necessary to 
yield a reasonable return to the producer. N.J.S.A. 4:12A-22. 

The Federal Milk Marketing Order for the Northeast does not fully 
protect New Jersey producers economically. The Northeast Federal Milk 
Marketing Order is only designed to fix the monthly blend price of milk a 
producer is due to receive from a handler, directly, or through an operating 
cooperative. In particular, the Federal Milk Marketing Order does not 
provide adequate compensation to the New Jersey producer because it 
fails to take into consideration the variation in cost of production based on 
location. New Jersey has higher than average costs of living, including 
high labor prices and high property taxes, and cost of production and 
processing is more expensive in New Jersey than elsewhere in the 
Northeast. 
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The adopted new rules seek to provide financial assistance above the 
Federal minimum by mandating that producers receive a fuel adjustment 
add-on that is in addition to the Federal market minimum price and any 
premiums currently received by the producer. This additional payment 
will be used by producers to support their costs of production and lessen 
the impact of the high cost of production in these times of low milk prices. 

The benefits of the adopted new rules to New Jersey’s dairy producers 
and the New Jersey citizens are substantial. Unless the new rules are 
adopted, many of the remaining dairy producers will be forced to go out-
of-business. Ultimately, the loss of the availability of local milk could 
cause much higher prices to consumers and loss of quality New Jersey 
milk, as dealers will be required to bring milk from more distant locations 
and pass the additional transportation costs on to the consumer. 

Full text of the new rules follows: 

CHAPTER 50 
PRODUCERS 

SUBCHAPTER 1. NOTICE TO DEALERS BY DAIRY FARMERS 

2:50-1.1 Dairy farmers notice to dealers of intent to discontinue sales 
of milk 

(a) Before a dairy farmer selling milk to New Jersey dealers may 
discontinue selling milk to such dealer, he or she shall give the dealer at 
least 28 days written notice of his or her intent to discontinue such sale. 

(b) The notice of discontinuance shall be sent to the dealer by letter or 
on forms supplied by the Division of Marketing and Development 
(Division). A copy of such letter or form shall be filed with the Division 
of Marketing and Development and the 28-day period shall begin on the 
date such notice is received by the Division. 

(c) The notice shall not be required from dairy farmers shipping to a 
cooperative association of which they are a member or when the 
termination is mutually agreeable to the dealer and the dairy farmer, 
provided that the Division of Marketing and Development is notified by 
both parties in advance of the change. 

(d) The notice shall not be required for dairy farmers shipping to 
dealers who fail to make full payment in the time and manner required by 
joint orders of the Division of Marketing and Development and the United 
States Department of Agriculture. 

(e) Upon written request by a dairy farmer or cooperative association, 
the notice provisions of this subchapter may be waived by the Secretary 
of the Department of Agriculture (Secretary) upon a finding of the 
following: 

1. Compliance with the notice provision at (a) above would adversely 
impact the dairy industry in New Jersey; 

2. Reasonable belief that dealer will fail to make payment to dairy 
farmers or cooperative associations based on dealer’s failure to make 
timely payments to other dairy farmers or cooperative associations in New 
Jersey or other jurisdictions; 

3. Filing of notice of bankruptcy by the New Jersey dealer; or 
4. A reasonable belief that there is a risk of interruption in the 

availability of an adequate supply of fresh, wholesome milk to consumers, 
as required by the Milk Control Act of 1941, N.J.S.A. 4A:12-1 et seq. 

(f) This rule shall not affect or interfere with any private contractual 
obligations between dairy farmers, cooperative associations, and milk 
dealers. 

SUBCHAPTER 2. NOTICE TO DAIRY FARMERS BY DEALERS 

2:50-2.1 Dealer notice to dairy farmers of intent to discontinue 
purchase of milk 

(a) Before a dealer purchasing milk from New Jersey dairy farmers 
may discontinue such purchase, he or she shall give the dairy farmer(s) at 
least 28 days written notice of his or her intent to discontinue such 
purchase. 

(b) The notice of discontinuance shall be sent to the dairy farmer and a 
copy filed with the Division of Marketing and Development on forms 
supplied by the Division for this purpose. The 28-day notice period shall 
begin on the day that such notice is received by the Division of Marketing 
and Development. 

(c) The notice shall not be required for a dealer to temporarily 
discontinue purchasing milk from a dairy farmer whose milk does not 
meet the quality standards of the appropriate health authority or when the 
termination is mutually agreeable to the dealer and the dairy farmer, 
provided that the Division of Marketing and Development is notified by 
both parties in advance of the change. 

2:50-2.2 Dealer to report names of new or discontinued dairy farmers 
A milk dealer purchasing milk from New Jersey dairy farmers shall 

send a notice to the Division of Marketing and Development of any new 
dairy farmer(s) and of any dairy farmer(s) discontinuing to sell milk to the 
dealer. Such information shall be filed monthly on or before the 10th day 
of each month. 

SUBCHAPTER 3. MEASURING AND SAMPLING OF MILK 
FROM FARM BULK TANKS 

2:50-3.1 Applicant for weigher and sampler certificate to pass 
examination 

(a) Before a person shall be approved by the Secretary of the 
Department of Agriculture, or authorized representative, to be competent 
to weigh, measure, and sample milk and cream pursuant to the provisions 
of N.J.S.A. 4:12-41.5, said person shall satisfactorily complete an 
examination to be conducted by the Secretary, or authorized 
representative. The examination shall consist of both a written test and 
satisfactory demonstration of proper performance of the actual weighing 
or measuring and sampling techniques herein required. 

(b) Failure to satisfactorily complete the written test shall make the 
applicant ineligible for the performance test, but failure to satisfactorily 
complete the performance test shall not require the applicant to be 
reexamined for the written test. Reexamination for either the written test 
or the performance test shall be made at the request of the applicant to the 
Secretary, or authorized representative, orally or, in writing, and will be 
given as soon as practicable at a time and place mutually agreeable to the 
Secretary, or authorized representative, and the applicant. 

(c) Upon the satisfactory completion of the examination, a certificate 
shall be issued to the applicant. Certificates shall be issued for the fiscal 
year ending June 30. Certificates, when renewed, shall be renewed for a 
period of two years. As a condition to renewal of the certificate, the 
Secretary may require attendance at a refresher course designed to train 
milk samplers in proper procedures and techniques of weighing, 
measuring, and sampling milk. 

2:50-3.2 Milk weighing, measuring, and sampling procedures 
(a) Weighing, measuring, and sampling milk should be performed 

pursuant to the procedures as set forth in the current “Standard Methods 
for Examination of Dairy Products,” published by the American Public 
Health Association, Inc., and, at a minimum, shall include the following: 

1. Before starting the agitator, carefully insert a clean, dry measuring 
stick, seating fully; withdraw and read to the nearest 1/32 inch. Record the 
measurement, weight, temperature, time of pickup, date, and producer’s 
name, and number. One copy of the weight ticket shall be left with the 
producer; 

2. Agitate for not less than five minutes and longer, if necessary, to 
disperse the butterfat uniformly throughout the tank. 

i. The person holding the weigher and sampler certificate issued by the 
Division of Marketing and Development shall be responsible for 
ascertaining that the milk is agitated for not less than five minutes and 
should periodically check the tank timer to determine whether it may be 
used as a guide; and 

ii. It is suggested that each truck carry a timing device that may be used 
for timing the agitation; and 

3. After milk has been agitated for at least five minutes with agitator 
running and before the outlet is open, take a universal sample. The sample 
shall be taken with a properly cleaned and sanitized stainless-steel dipper 
that is first dipped two or three times into the milk. This sample shall be 
at least one ounce (30 cubic centimeters). If composite samples are taken, 
on every day pickup, a 10 cubic centimeter dipper of milk shall be added 
to the composite daily. On every other day pickup, a 20 cubic centimeter 
sample shall be added to the composite at each pickup. 
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(b) When taking bacteria samples, special care shall be taken to prevent 
contamination of sample containers and/or equipment. The sampler’s 
clothes and hands must be clean and dry when sampling. Sterile sample 
containers and sampling equipment shall be kept protected at all times and 
properly identified. After milk has been agitated for taking butterfat 
samples, remove at least a 10 cubic centimeter portion with a properly 
sterilized device into the sterile sample container. This container shall be 
immediately placed in an insulated, properly iced, or refrigerated case 
ensuring that the water level is no higher than the milk in the sample 
container. 

2:50-3.3 Maintenance of milk samples 
(a) Each bulk tank truck used for farm pickup must be equipped with a 

sanitary compartment to hold the insulated sample case. This 
compartment must have a lock or the sample case itself must have a lock. 

(b) The butterfat sample case must be kept locked at all times, unless 
under the direct supervision of the certified sampler. 

(c) The insulated case shall have a rack which holds the sample 
container upright, and when bottles are used, a cover that rests on the 
sample bottle stoppers. 

(d) The bottle stoppers shall be of the hooded plug type or of a type 
which gives equivalent protection from moisture entering the bottle. 

(e) Each sample case shall contain one bottle filled with water for use 
in temperature checks. 

(f) The temperature of butterfat samples shall be maintained at between 
33 and 55 degrees Fahrenheit. 

(g) The temperature of the bacteriological samples should be 
maintained at between 32 and 40 degrees Fahrenheit. 

2:50-3.4 Additional methods for the determination of butterfat of 
milk or cream 

The Secretary shall approve the use of the automated light scattering 
method as set forth in “Official Methods of Analysis of the Association of 
Official Analytical Chemist,” the 17th edition, 2000, Section 33.2.31, 
incorporated herein by reference, as amended and supplemented. 

SUBCHAPTER 4. PREMIUMS AND OTHER PAYMENTS TO 
PRODUCERS 

2:50-4.1 Definitions 
The following words and terms, as used in this subchapter, shall have 

the following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise: 
“Department” means the New Jersey Department of Agriculture. 
“Director” shall mean the Director of the Division of Marketing and 

Development for the New Jersey Department of Agriculture. 
“Licensee” means any New Jersey processor required to be licensed 

pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:12-2 and 4:12A-28. 
“New Jersey processor” means any person, firm, partnership, 

association, or corporation who cans, freezes, dries, or otherwise 
preserves or processes, handles, hauls, carries, transports, or distributes 
New Jersey-produced milk and who is licensed pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:12-
2. 

“New Jersey-produced milk” means milk produced by a New Jersey 
producer. 

“New Jersey producer” means any person or entity meeting the 
definition of producer at N.J.S.A. 4:12-1. 

2:50-4.2 Payments for a fuel adjustment add-on 
(a) All licensees shall pay to a New Jersey producer a fuel adjustment 

add-on for all New Jersey produced milk, which shall be calculated 
monthly by the Director in accordance with (b) below. The new fuel 
adjustment add-on for Class I milk will be officially announced on the 
Department’s website at www.state.nj.us/agriculture the Friday before the 
23rd of each month and will also be published in the New Jersey Register 
for the month in which the fuel adjustment add-on is effective. Should the 
23rd of the month fall on a Friday, it will be announced on that day. 

(b) The fuel adjustment add-on shall be calculated as follows: 
1. Begin with the preceding month’s diesel fuel price. The preceding 

month’s diesel fuel price will be the price for the Central-Atlantic region 
as posted by the website of the Energy Information Administration of the 
U.S. Department of Energy, http://tonto.eia.doe.gov/dnav/pet/pet_pri_ 

gnd_dcus_nus_w.htm, for the last full month prior to the month of 
calculation; 

2. Subtract the base price of $1.403, which is the 2002 diesel fuel price 
for the Central-Atlantic region as posted on the website of the Energy 
Information Administration of the U.S. Department of Energy, 
https://www.eia.gov/dnav/pet/hist/LeafHandler.ashx?n=pet&s=emd_epd
2d_pte_nus_dpg&f=m; 

3. Calculate the premium by adding three cents for each 10 cents the 
fuel price increases over the base price or subtracting three cents for each 
10 cents the fuel price decreases. To do this, take the difference between 
the preceding month’s price and the base price and divide by 10. Round 
to the nearest whole number and multiply by three; and 

4. Adjust the premium calculation to reflect the existing average Class 
I utilization, which shall be calculated monthly. The actual average Class 
I utilization calculation will be announced on the Department’s website at 
www.state.nj.us/agriculture on the 14th of the month for the preceding 
month using the preceding month’s production and processing figures. If 
the 14th of the month falls on a weekend or holiday, it will, be announced 
on the next business day. The fuel adjustment add-on amount actually 
payable to the New Jersey producer per hundred-weight for the preceding 
month will also be announced on the 14th of the month. 

(c) An example calculation of how the fuel adjustment add-on will be 
calculated for February 2007, is as follows: 

1. Begin with the December 2006 diesel price of $2.72 per gallon, 
which is the last full month prior to calculation; 

2. Subtract the preceding month’s diesel price from the base diesel 
price, as follows: 

$2.72 (December diesel price) - $1.403 (base diesel price) = $1.317; 
3. Divide the price difference by 10 cent intervals and round to the 

nearest whole number, as follows: 
$1.317/10 cent intervals = 13.17 intervals (rounded to 13); 
4. Multiply the number of intervals by three cents to arrive at the fuel 

adjustment add-on, as follows: 
13 x $.03 per interval = $0.39; 
5. Adjust the fuel adjustment add-on to reflect the current month’s 

Class I utilization for New Jersey, as follows: 
$0.39 x 0.76 (sample average Class I utilization) = $0.2964 (rounded 

to $0.30). For purposes of this example, it was assumed that the Class I 
utilization was 76 percent; however, the actual Class I utilization for 
February may be different than that used in this example; and 

6. Thus, the fuel adjustment add-on for February 2007 is $0.30 per 
hundred-weight. Please note that as of the February 1, 2007, the original 
operative date of this subchapter, February’s actual Class I Utilization has 
not yet been calculated and as a result, the actual fuel adjustment add-on 
amount payable to the New Jersey producer may differ from that listed in 
this subsection. 

(d) This premium shall be payable directly to the New Jersey producer 
by the licensee in the final payment to the New Jersey producer in 
accordance with the final payment requirements at 7 CFR 1001.73. 
Adjustments shall be made for those licensees who overpay or underpay 
based on Class utilization in accordance with this subchapter. This 
premium will be in addition to and shall not replace any premiums paid to 
the New Jersey producer or those acting on behalf of the producer as of 
October 1, 2006. 

(e) It shall be a violation of this subchapter for any licensee to change 
its premium program or divert milk to a different location for the purposes 
of circumventing this section or reducing the amount payable to a New 
Jersey producer pursuant to this section. 

(f) The impact of the fuel adjustment add-on shall be reassessed by the 
Department beginning August 1, 2007. 

2:50-4.3 Adjustment of the fuel adjustment add-on for Class I 
utilization 

(a) By the 10th day of each month, all licensees or their designees shall 
report, on forms provided by the Department for such purposes, the 
following information: 

1. The total volume of New Jersey milk purchased for the preceding 
month; 

2. The total amount paid to New Jersey producers pursuant to N.J.A.C. 
2:50-4.2; 
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3. The percent of Class I utilization of the plant for the preceding 
month; and 

4. Such other information as the Director may deem necessary for the 
proper calculation of the amount of the fuel adjustment add-on required 
to be paid by a licensee. 

(b) The Department will calculate the amount of fuel adjustment add-
on required to be paid by the licensee based on its Class I utilization of all 
New Jersey-produced milk received, in accordance with the following: 

1. The volume of milk actually used as Class I utilization milk will be 
multiplied by the fuel adjustment add-on required to be paid on Class I 
utilization milk; and 

2. The figure derived at (b)1 above will be subtracted from the amount 
of the fuel adjustment add-on actually paid to producers. 

(c) If the licensee has underpaid, it will be required to pay the 
difference to the Department, or its designee. If the amount the licensee 
paid was an overpayment, it will receive a reimbursement from the 
Department, or its designee, for the amount overpaid. 

(d) The Department, or its designee, must receive reimbursements 
from licensees who have underpaid based on the prior month’s 
calculations no later than the 15th of each month. Licensees who have 
overpaid will receive reimbursements from the Department, or its 
designee, by the 20th of each month. 

2:50-4.4 Reporting and requests for assistance 
(a) All licensees must report on forms provided by the Department for 

such purposes, the following information by March 1, 2007, regarding 
their existing premium programs for New Jersey producers: 

1. A list of all premiums paid to New Jersey producers under current 
premium programs in effect as of October 1, 2006; 

2. A description of the purpose for each premium listed; 
3. A description of how each premium is calculated to arrive at the 

amount payable to a New Jersey producer; 
4. A description of any changes made to each premium program, if any, 

since October 1, 2006, and the reason for such change; and 
5. Such other information as may be required by the Director in the 

administration and enforcement of N.J.A.C. 2:50-4.2 and 4.3. 
(b) All licensees shall report any changes to their premium programs 

for New Jersey producers on forms provided by the Department for such 
purposes, at least 15 days prior to the effective date of the proposed change 
and shall set forth the basis for the proposed change. 

(c) Any New Jersey producer who believes that a licensee has changed 
its premium program or has diverted milk to another location for the 
purposes of circumventing N.J.A.C. 2:50-4.2 or reducing the amount 
payable to a New Jersey producer pursuant to N.J.A.C. 2:50-4.2 may 
submit a request for assistance to the Department, on forms supplied by 
the Department for such purposes. The Department shall investigate said 
complaint, in accordance with N.J.S.A. 4:12-14 and 4:12-15. 

2:50-4.5 Penalties 
(a) When the Department receives evidence that any licensee has 

changed its premium program or diverted milk to another location for the 
purposes of circumventing N.J.A.C. 2:50-4.2, or reducing the amount 
payable to a New Jersey producer pursuant to N.J.A.C. 2:50-4.2, the 
Director shall hold a hearing pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:12A-35. 

(b) Any licensee who has been found to have changed its premium 
program or diverted milk to another location for the purposes of 
circumventing N.J.A.C. 2:50-4.2, or reducing the amount payable to a 
New Jersey producer pursuant to N.J.A.C. 2:50-4.2, in violation of any of 
the provisions of N.J.S.A. 4:12A-35, the licensee shall be subject to the 
following penalties: 

1. First offense: suspension of the license required pursuant to N.J.S.A. 
4:12A-28, until such time as the licensee fully corrects the violation as 
determined by the Director. 

2. Each subsequent offense: suspension of the license required 
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:12A-28, until such time as the licensee fully 
corrects the violation, as determined by the Director, except that after the 
second violation of any of the provisions at N.J.S.A. 4:12A-35 by the 
same licensee within a three-year period, the Director shall permanently 
revoke the license required pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:12A-28. 

(c) The Director shall make the initial determination as to whether to 
suspend or revoke a license pursuant to N.J.S.A. 4:12A-35, as provided at 
(b)2 above. 

(d) Any licensee who is aggrieved by the determination of the Director 
pursuant to this section shall, upon written request, transmitted to the 
Department within 20 days of the decision to suspend or revoke the 
license, be afforded the opportunity for a hearing thereon in the manner 
provided for contested cases pursuant to the Administrative Procedure 
Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., and 52:14F-1 et seq., and the Uniform 
Administrative Procedure Rules, N.J.A.C. 1:1. 

SUBCHAPTER 5. CONFIDENTIALITY 

2:50-5.1 Confidentiality 
The New Jersey Department of Agriculture will hold confidential any 

information obtained pursuant to this chapter, which constitutes 
proprietary commercial or financial information, or is otherwise protected 
from disclosure under 7 CFR 205.501 and 205.504 or the Open Public 
Records Act, N.J.S.A. 47:1A-1 et seq., subject to the limitations set forth 
therein. 

__________ 

COMMUNITY AFFAIRS 
(a) 

DIVISION OF CODES AND STANDARDS 
Uniform Construction Code 
Adopted Amendments: N.J.A.C. 5:23-3.14, 3.16, 

3.17, 3.18, 3.20, 3.21, and 3.22 
Proposed: April 18, 2022, at 54 N.J.R. 677(a). 
Adopted: August 1, 2022, by Lt. Governor Sheila Y. Oliver, 

Commissioner, Department of Community Affairs. 
Filed: August 12, 2022, as R.2022 d.111, with non-substantial 

changes not requiring additional public notice and comment (see 
N.J.A.C. 1:30-6.3). 

Authority: N.J.S.A. 52:27D-119 et seq. 
Effective Date: September 6, 2022. 
Expiration Date: February 9, 2029. 
Summary of Public Comments and Agency Responses 

Comments were received from the American Chemistry Council; Rico 
Fisher, Barnegat Township; International Code Council (ICC); Mitchell 
Malec, a retired former employee of the Department of Community 
Affairs (Department); New Jersey Realtors; David T. Phelan, 
Manahawkin; Richard A. Soltis, Jr., Hamilton Township; and Scott 
Williamson, Hillsborough Township. 
General Comments 

1. COMMENT: The International Code Council (ICC) expressed 
support for the adoption of the 2021 International Building Code (IBC), 
International Residential Code (IRC), International Energy Conservation 
Code (IECC), International Mechanical Code (IMC), and International 
Fuel Gas Code (IFGC). The ICC also thanked Lieutenant Governor Sheila 
Y. Oliver, Commissioner; Director Edward Smith; Assistant Director 
Kevin Luckie; and Robert Austin for their time and effort in reviewing 
and updating these codes and ensuring the State continues to be a 
nationally recognized leader in guaranteeing the highest building safety 
standards for all residents. 

RESPONSE: The Department thanks the ICC for their continued 
support in adopting the latest editions of the national model codes. 

2. COMMENT: One commenter felt that there should be no 
amendments to the body of any of the national model codes. The 
commenter stated that the codes are developed through consensus 
meetings made up of parties that enforce the codes on a daily basis and 
noted that the updates often ensure that special interest groups cannot 
insert their particular agendas into the body of the codes. The commenter 
also stated that there have been several instances where New Jersey-
specific issues have been incorporated into the national model codes. 


