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RESOLUTION 2022-48
IMPOSITION OF SOCIAL EQUITY EXCISE FEES ON CLASS 1 CANNABIS
CULTIVATORS FOR THE 2023 CALENDAR YEAR

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:47F-1(a), there may be a Social Equity Excise Fee
imposed by the Commission on the cultivation of cannabis by any cannabis cultivator licensed pursuant
to the provisions P.L.2021, c.16 (C.24:61-31 et al.), or on the cultivation of cannabis for the personal-
use cannabis marketplace and not for the medical cannabis marketplace by any alternative treatment
center deemed to be licensed to engage in personal-use cannabis activities pursuant to section 7 of
P.L.2009, c.307 (C.24:61-7) and issued a Class 1 Cannabis Cultivator license by the Commission
pursuant to subparagraph (a) of paragraph (3) of subsection a. of section 33 of P.L.2021, ¢.16 (C.24:6I-
46); and

WHEREAS, the excise fee, if imposed by the Commission, shall be imposed on the receipts
from the sale, or equivalent value of the transfer, of usable cannabis by a cannabis cultivator to any
other cannabis establishment, other than another cannabis cultivator; and

WHEREAS, any sale by a cannabis cultivator for which the excise fee is imposed shall be
exempt from the tax imposed under the “Sales and Use Tax Act,” P.L..1966, ¢.30 (C.54:32B-1 et seq.);
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:47F-1(a)(1), immediately following the adoption of the
Commission’s initial rules and regulations pursuant to subparagraph (a) of paragraph (1) of subsection
d. of section 6 of P.L.2021, c.16 (C.24:61-34), there may be an excise fee imposed on a cannabis
cultivator’s sale or transfer in the amount of 1/3 of one percent of the statewide average retail price of
an ounce of usable cannabis for consumer purchase, and any fractional portion of an ounce sold or
transferred shall be subject to the fee on a proportional basis, during the calendar year the fee may be
imposed; and

WHEREAS, on August 19, 2021, by adopting the initial rules at N.J.A.C. 17:30-3.4(c),
the Commission imposed an initial Social Equity Excise Fee at the rate of 1/3 of one percent of
the statewide average retail price of an ounce of usable cannabis for consumer purchase; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-3.4(c), the initial imposed Social Equity Excise
Fee was published in the New Jersey Register and was determined to be $1.10 per ounce for the

2022 calendar year, which was based on a statewide average retail price per ounce of usable
cannabis of $329.17; and



WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:47F-1(a)(2), beginning nine months following the first
sale or transfer of usable cannabis subject to the excise fee that is made by a cannabis cultivator that is
not also an alternative treatment center issued a Class 1 Cannabis Cultivator license, the excise fee may
be adjusted annually based upon the statewide average retail price of usable cannabis for consumer
purchase; and

WHEREAS, as of August 1, 2022, the statewide average retail price of an ounce of usable
cannabis was $455.56. One-third of one percent of this amount is $1.52 per ounce;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory

Commission pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:47F-1 and N.J.A.C. 17:30-3.4, that the Social Equity Excise
Fee is adjusted to $1.52 per ounce for the 2023 calendar year.
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