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RESOLUTION 2024-281
IMPOSITION OF SANCTIONS AGAINST GREEN ANALYTICS NEW JERSEY LLC

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 24:61-35(a)(15), the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory
Commission (“Commission”) shall adopt rules and regulations, which shall include civil penalties
for the failure to comply with regulations adopted pursuant to this section; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.4(a), during an onsite assessment, a review of
financial records, or other Commission review of the license holder and its operations, if the
Commission identifies a violation of the Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and
Marketplace Modernization Act, P.L..2021, c.16, N.J.S.A. 24:61-31 et seq., (the “Act”) or the
implementing Personal-Use Cannabis Rules (the “Personal-Use Regulations”), the Commission
shall provide notice of the violation, including an official written report of the findings and the
nature of the violation, to the cannabis business or testing laboratory within seven business days
following the onsite assessment or other identification of the violation; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.4(b), unless otherwise specified by the
Commission, within 20 business days of receipt of the notice of violation, the cannabis business
or testing laboratory shall correct the violation(s) and notify the Commission, in writing, of any
corrective actions taken to correct the violations, and the date of implementation of such corrective
actions; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 24:61-19(e), until such time as the Commission
establishes, by regulation, standardized requirements and procedures for testing medical cannabis
and medical cannabis products, a licensed laboratory shall utilize the testing standards established
by another state with a medical cannabis program, which state shall be designated by the
Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Commission adopted Resolution 2021-9 on June 6, 2021, designating the
testing standards set by the State of Maryland, dated December 15, 2020, to serve as the
Commission’s interim testing standards required by N.J.S.A. 24:61-19(e); and

WHEREAS, the testing standards set by the State of Maryland require cannabis to be
tested for the pesticide ethephon; and

WHEREAS, the Commission adopted Resolution 2022-7 on January 27, 2022, amending
the required batch size for product testing under the interim testing standards and keeping the

1



remaining standards in effect; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.4(a), during an onsite assessment, a review of
financial records, or other Commission review of the license holder and its operations, if the
Commission identifies a violation of the Act or this chapter, the Commission shall provide notice
of the violation, including an official written report of the findings and the nature of the violation,
to the cannabis business or testing laboratory within seven business days following the onsite
assessment or other identification of the violation; and

WHEREAS, on June 25, 2024, a Notice of Violation was issued to Green Analytics New
Jersey for failing to test cannabis and cannabis items for the pesticide ethephone; and

WHEREAS, on July 11, 2024, Green Analytics New Jersey responded to the Notice of
Violation and provided a corrective action plan within 20 days of receipt of the Notice of Violation;
and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.5(a), in response to a violation of any
provision of the Act or this chapter, the Commission is authorized to take enforcement action or
impose sanctions upon a license holder. Sanctions may include, but are not limited to, civil
monetary penalties; suspension, revocation, non-renewal, or denial of a license; referral to State or
local law enforcement, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6, 20.7, and 20.8; or any combination
thereof; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(b), a monetary penalty imposed by the
Commission on a license holder pursuant to this subchapter may not exceed $500,000 per major
violation or $50,000 per any other license violation; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(c), a violation by each entity or person per
day shall constitute a separate incident for purposes of calculating the number of violations; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(d), the Commission may impose greater
penalties for successive violations up to the maximum amounts; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(f), the Commission may, in the
Commission's sole discretion, consider additional factors in determining the penalty for each
violation. Such factors may include, but are not limited to:

1. Any prior violations that the license holder has admitted to or was found to have engaged
1n;

2. Good faith measures by the license holder to self-report or prevent the violation;

3. The license holder's record of compliance with the laws and rules pertaining to personal
use cannabis;

4. Corrective action(s) taken by the license holder related to the current violation or prior
violations;

5. Willfulness and deliberateness of the violation;



6. Likelihood of reoccurrence of the violation; and

7. Violations involving damage or danger to the life, health, welfare, safety, or property of
any person; and

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.7(a), violations shall be categorized as
follows:

1. Category I, which is the exhibition of a pattern and practice of violating the requirements
of the rules, posing a serious risk of harm to the health, safety, or welfare of consumers or
personnel;

2. Category II, which is the failure to comply with administrative requirements, such that the
licensee or permittee poses an immediate and serious risk of harm or actual harm to the
health, safety, or welfare of consumers, personnel, or the general public, including, but not
limited to, transfer of cannabis to a person under 21 years of age;

3. Category III, which is the submission of fraudulent, false, or misleading information, as to
a material fact, to the Commission, or falsifying or concealing any record required to be
maintained by the license holder;

4. Category IV, which is the failure of any owner, principal, management services contractor,
employee, or volunteer of a cannabis business license holder or testing laboratory to
register with the Commission and be issued a Cannabis Business Identification Card; or
failure to complete training course, or failure to be in physical possession of their Cannabis
Business Identification Card while acting in the course of their duties; and

5. Category V, which shall consist of other violations of the Commission's rules, or violations
of valid ordinances established by municipalities that do not constitute a major violation;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory
Commission that Green Analytics New Jersey violated the Act and regulations by failing to adhere
to the requirements imposed by the regulations and the adopted interim testing standard. The
Commission further finds that the violation did pose an immediate and serious risk of harm or
actual harm to the health, safety, or welfare of consumers, personnel, or the general public.

The Commission has determined to impose a penalty of $10,000.00 against Green
Analytics New Jersey pursuant to N.J.S.A. 24:61-19 and N.J.A.C 17:30-20.4. A Notice of
Enforcement shall be provided to the license holder in accordance with this Resolution and the
Commission’s regulations.

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-20.6(i), the license holder may request an adjudicatory hearing
pursuant to the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1 et seq., and 52:14F-1 et seq., to
contest the Commission’s imposition of a civil monetary penalty for any license violation within
14 days of receipt of the Notice of Enforcement Action.

Submitted by:
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Dianna Houenou, Chair




CERTIFICATION

I hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of the Resolution adopted by the Cannabis
Regulatory Commission at its meeting held on the 19" day of September 2024.
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Dave Tuason, Chief Counsel

Vote on the Approval of
This Resolution

Motion

Second

Yes

No

Abstain

Absent

Recused

Commissioner Barker

Commissioner Del Cid-Kosso

Vice Chair Delgado

Chairwoman Houenou

Commissioner Nash
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