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RESOLUTION 2024-302   
APPROVING THE REQUESTS FOR TRANSFERS OF OWNERSHIP  

 
WHEREAS, the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory Commission (“the Commission”), 

established pursuant to P.L. 2019, c.153, known and cited as the “Jake Honig Compassionate Use 
Medical Cannabis Act,” is charged with implementing the provisions of that Act as well as 
P.L.2021, c.16, known and cited as the “New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement 
Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization Act”; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3(a), from the submission of a conditional 
license conversion application or an annual license application to at least two years after the 
cannabis business commences operations, a license holder holding an annual license shall not 
make any change to more than 50 percent of its ownership interest, except that: 1. A transfer of 
ownership interest in a license applicant or license holder from a deceased owner to their heir shall 
not be prohibited, and 2. A transfer of ownership interest in a license applicant or license holder 
from a deceased owner to their surviving spouse, domestic partner, or civil union partner, if the 
license was issued jointly to both the parties, shall not be prohibited; and  

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3(b), from the submission of the conditional 
license conversion application or an annual license application to at least two years after the 
cannabis business commences operations, a license holder may add new loans from new or existing 
financial sources or gifts; and  

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3(c), until at least two years after the cannabis 
business commences operations, a diversely owned business license holder shall maintain all 
conditions required to qualify as eligible for its diversely owned business certification; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3(d), until at least two years after the cannabis 
business commences operations, a social equity business license holder shall maintain the 
conditions required to qualify for its social equity business status; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3(e), a license holder operating as a 
microbusiness shall not transfer ownership interest such that the license holder no longer qualifies 
as a microbusiness; and 

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-9.3(h), the Commission retains discretion to 
determine when a transfer of ownership interests has occurred; and 
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WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30-7.17(j)(3), the fee to apply for the transfer of 
more than 50 percent of ownership interest in a license holder is $20,000; and  

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.S.A. 24:6I-7(k)(2), the sale or transfer of any interest of five 
percent or more in a medical cannabis cultivator, medical cannabis manufacturer, medical cannabis 
dispensary, or clinical registrant permit shall be subject to approval by the Commission and 
conditioned on the entity that is purchasing or receiving transfer of the interest in the medical 
cannabis cultivator, medical cannabis manufacturer, medical cannabis dispensary, or clinical 
registrant permit completing a criminal history record background check pursuant to the 
requirements of the statute; and  

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30A-7.5, an Alternative Treatment Center (“ATC”) 
permit is not assignable or transferable without Commission approval, and it shall be immediately 
null and void if the alternative treatment center ceases to operate, if the alternative treatment 
center’s ownership changes or if the alternative treatment center relocates; and  

WHEREAS, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 17:30A-7.10, the fee to apply for the transfer of 
ownership for an ATC is $20,000; and 

WHEREAS, Garden State Botanicals, requests approval in which owner Patricia Nasshorn 
 of ownership stake in the company to Asha Shah , Ritesh 

Shah , Mita Pipalia , and Jayantilal Dhaduk , while Nasshorn would retain 
of ownership. Asha Shah, Ritesh Shah, Pipalia, and Dhaduk are owners of NJ Leaf 

Dispensary, LLC, an expanded Alternative Treatment Center formerly known as Monmouth 
Health and Wellness, LLC). If this transfer is approved, Asha Shah, Ritesh Shah, Pipalia, and 
Dhaduk would individually own less than  of both Garden State Botanicals and NJ Leaf 
Dispensary, LLC, satisfying the requirements of N.J.S.A. 24:6I-7(d)(ii) and 24:6I-46(c); and  

WHEREAS, Personal History Disclosure forms were filed by Asha Shah, Mita Pipalia, 
and Jayantilal Dhaduk and no derogatory information was found; and 

WHEREAS, Commission staff has completed a thorough investigation of the above 
proposed ownership transfers, as well as associated documents and materials, for compliance 
with the provisions of N.J.A.C. 17:30, et seq., N.J.A.C. 17:30A, et seq., and N.J.S.A. 24:6I-1 et 
seq; and 

WHEREAS, Commission staff has found no evidence that would preclude the 
aforementioned ownership transfer;  

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, by the New Jersey Cannabis Regulatory 
Commission, that the above proposed transfer of ownership is hereby approved. 

 Submitted by:   
 
 
 ____________________________ 
 Dianna Houenou, Chair 
 






