

STATE OF NEW JERSEY CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION

Philip D. Murphy *Governor* Sheila Y. Oliver *Lt. Governor* Deirdré L. Webster Cobb Chairperson

SUPPLEMENTAL AGENDA OF REGULAR MEETING OF THE CIVIL SERVICE COMMISSION DECEMBER 5, 2018

Deirdré L. Webster Cobb, Chairperson Dolores Gorczyca Daniel W. O'Mullan

SECTION B - MISCELLANEOUS MATTERS

B-13 AHMAD JONES - CSC DOCKET NO. 2018-2889

Ahmad Jones appeals his removal from the Fire Fighter (M1540T), Irvington Township eligible list on the basis of a falsified application.

ACTION:

B-14 STEPHEN SERIEUX - CSC DOCKET NO. 2019-55

Stephen Serieux appeals the removal of his name from the eligible list for Correctional Police Officer (S9988T), Department of Corrections, on the basis that he falsified his preemployment application.

ACTION:

B-15 W.J. - CSC DOCKET NO. 2017-531

W.J., represented by Daniel J. Zirrith, Esq., appeals his rejection as a Correctional Police Officer candidate by the Department of Corrections and its request to remove his name from the eligible list for Correctional Police Officer (S9988T) on the basis of psychological unfitness to perform effectively the duties of the position.

ACTION:

B-16 RAYMOND COLEMAN, III – CSC DOCKET NO. 2018-3142

Raymond Coleman, III, represented by Stuart J. Alterman, Esq., appeals the determination of the Division of Agency Services, which found that he did not meet the permanent service requirements for the promotional examination for Correctional Police Sergeant (PS6184I), Department of Corrections.

ACTION:

B-17 DANIEL BUTCHKO – CSC DOCKET NO. 2019-1283

The College of New Jersey, on behalf of Daniel Butchko, requests that he be permitted to participate in the intergovernmental transfer program and to complete his working test period as a Police Officer with Mount Laurel.

ACTION:

B-18 BERGEN COUNTY, NINE VARIOUS LISTS – CSC DOCKET NOS. 2019-697, ET AL.

Bergen County's failure to dispose of the certifications for nine lists, Bergen County, while provisionals are serving in the title, has been referred to the Civil Service Commission for enforcement. These lists include: Clerk 3 (Special/C0618T) (OL171076); Clerk 2 (Special/C0419S/C0856T) (OL160634); Clerk 2 Bilingual Spanish/English (C0712V) (OL180083); Counselor Juvenile Family Crisis Intervention (C0858S) (OL170324); Assistant Program Analyst (C0867R/C0316T) (OL170241); Social Service Technician (C0850U) (OL171189); Recovery Assistant Detoxification Unit (C0619S/C0601U) (OL170041); Investigator Consumer Protection (C0683T) (OL170041); and Fiscal Analyst (C0641T/C0920U) (OL170498).

ACTION:

B-19 ESSEX COUNTY, EIGHT VARIOUS LISTS - CSC DOCKET NOS. 2019-735, ET AL.

Essex County's failure to dispose of the certifications for eight lists, Essex County, while provisionals are serving in the title, has been referred to the Civil Service Commission for enforcement. These lists include: Admissions and Records Officer (C0448V) (OL171171); Keyboarding Clerk 4 (PC0520U) (PL161118); Administrative Analyst (C0259T) (OL160433); Office Services Manager (C0056U) (OL160819); Rent and Housing Coordinator Welfare (C0080T) (OL151056); Program Coordinator Special Events (C0155T) (OL151008); General Supervisor Public Works (C0498V) (OL171221); and Probate Assistant (C0934U) (OL170598).

ACTION:

B-20 JAIME VELEZ - CSC DOCKET NO. 2018-2778

The appeal of Jaime Velez, a Police Sergeant with Irvington Township, of his removal effective March 20, 2018, on charges, was heard by Administrative Law Judge Julio C. Morejon (ALJ), who rendered his initial decision on October 5, 2018. At its meeting on November 21, 2018, the Civil Service Commission (Commission) did not adopt the ALJ's recommendation to modify the removal to a three working day suspension. Rather, the Commission modified the penalty to a 30 working day suspension. The proposed decision is now submitted for the Commission's review.

ACTION:

B-21 CRISTINA ALLEN, ET AL. - CSC DOCKET NOS. 2019-908 ET AL.

Cristina Allen, Jose Borrero, Isaac Carrero, Edward Drzewiecki, Jonathan Huang, Stephen Indoe, Antonio Megaro, Jason Morozowski, Harmon Murphy Jr., William Searless, Alyce Serlick, Eddie Solis, Craig Sweetman, Brigham Tallmadge, Raquel Tirado and Christopher Whitlock, Senior Correctional Police Officers or Correctional Police Sergeants with the Department of Corrections, request reconsideration of the decision rendered on August 1, 2018, which dismissed their appeals of the determination of their salaries upon appointment to the title of Senior Correction Officer as untimely.

ACTION: