The Carnival and Amusement Ride Safety Advisory Board advises the Commissioner on carnival and amusement ride safety and provides advice on the regulations that govern the safety program.

There are 13 Board members, including one ex officio member, the Department of Community Affairs. The other 12 seats are: ride manufacturer (2); mobile ride operator; fixed ride operator; amusement park representative; insurance underwriter; professional engineer; representative of water parks; and four public members. Terms are four years.

  • top of page
  • Board Members
    The mission of the Board is to ensure the safety of carnival and amusement rides that are used in New Jersey.



    William H. Gelhaus

    Amusement Park

    Lawrence D. Cohen

    Insurance Underwriter

    Leonard Turtora

    Fixed Ride Operator

    Al Belmont

    Mobile Ride Operator

    William J. Dauphinee

    Ride Manufacturer 1


    Ride Manufacturer 2


    Professional Engineer

    Nancy Sheridan

    Public Member 4


    Public Member 3

    Steven Hildner

    Public Member 2

    Debra Henderson

    Public Member 1

    Geoffrey Rogers

    Water Park/Registered Fair

    Edward M. Smith

    DCA Designee/Chair

    top of page
  • 2021 Board Meetings

    Dec 16 - Agenda

    top of page
  • Older Board Meetings
    2020 - 2016
    2015 - 2007
    top of page