Trenton, N.J. - Acting Governor Richard J. Codey and New Jersey Department of Community Affairs Acting Commissioner Charles A. Richman today announced fiscal year 2006 Extraordinary Aid awards.

“This Administration is dedicated to investing in our communities by creating jobs, increasing economic development and strengthening our municipalities,” Governor Codey said. “Together, we are moving the state in the right direction by providing much-needed property tax relief and support services to hardworking New Jerseyans across the state.”

DCA’s Extraordinary Aid program addresses a municipality’s need for additional state aid in order to decrease the property tax rate.

“Our communities need our help and support in relieving the tax burden that is placed on our residents,” Commissioner Richman said. “This funding will relieve the property tax burden our communities are faced with, and provide the support our local governments need to invest in their communities. “Working with our local governments, we can provide the property tax relief and support services New Jerseyans deserve.”

To receive aid, an applicant must demonstrate that, despite its efforts to provide property tax savings, the municipality has experienced circumstances beyond its control that warrant the additional assistance.

DCA’s Extraordinary Aid Program is implemented through the Division of Local Government Services, which works with local governments throughout the state to ensure their fiscal integrity and to support their efforts to comply with state laws and regulations.

Fiscal Year 2006 Extraordinary Aid Awards



Bayonne City


Bergenfield Borough


Berlin Township


Cherry Hill Township


Dunellen Borough


East Orange City


Edgewater Borough


Gloucester Township


Guttenberg Town


Hillside Township


Irvington Township


Keansburg Borough


Kearny Town


Lake Como Borough


Lawnside Borough


Millville City


North Brunswick Township


Orange Township


Passaic City


Perth Amboy City


Piscataway Township


Plainfield City


Rahway City


Ridgefield Borough


Roselle Borough


South Amboy City


South Plainfield Borough


Union Beach Borough


Vineland City


Weehawken Township


Woodbridge Township