TRENTON , N.J. – Today, Department of Community Affairs Commissioner Susan Bass Levin announced the awarding of over $1 million in Smart Future Grants to 24 counties and municipalities in New Jersey.

“Smart Future Planning Grants are investments in our communities,” said Commissioner Levin.  “These grants will allow counties and towns throughout the state to work towards implementing smart growth strategies that will directly improve the quality of life for their residents.”

Smart Future Planning Grants are part of the Smart Future Initiative, which promotes smart growth planning between municipalities and counties throughout New Jersey. They are funded through DCA’s Office of Smart Growth, which is leading the effort to promote sustainable development, protect the environment, preserve open space and revitalize older communities.

The FY2006 Smart Future Grants focus on seven key categories: design guidelines for creating places; downtown and Main Street revitalization; green building; parking; transfer of development rights; charrettes; and greyfield redevelopment.

2006 Smart Future Grant Recipients

Absecon City


Buena Vista Twp


Teaneck Twp


Fair Lawn Borough Economic Development Corporation


Maywood Borough


River Edge Borough


Elmwood Park Borough


Englewood City


Delanco Twp


Medford Lakes Borough


Haddon Twp


Cumberland Development Corp.


W. Orange Twp


Alexandria Twp


Mercer County


Monmouth County


Wharton Borough


Washington Twp


Wanaque Borough


Stand Up For Salem (City of Salem Main Street Program)


Hillsborough Twp


Linden City


Washington Borough


Hackettstown Twp