

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION
AIR, ENERGY AND MATERIALS SUSTAINABILITY
DIVISION OF AIR ENFORCEMENT
BUREAU OF DIESEL ENFORCEMENT & EMISSION MEASUREMENT
2 Riverside Drive, Suite 201
Camden, NJ 08103

# **IDLING FACT SHEET**

#### What is idling?

Idling occurs when a motor vehicle with a diesel or gasoline engine is running but the vehicle is not in motion. Excessive idling causes an unnecessary release of air contaminants into the air in New Jersey, producing ground level ozone and particulate pollution. These can create asthma attacks, wheezing, coughing, lung cancer, and even premature death. New Jersey has laws which prohibit the idling of a vehicle for more than 3 minutes, with certain exceptions as explained below. \*

### What triggers an idling investigation?

You can report excessive idling, see below for contact information. The Department or your local health department will initiate an investigation in response to complaints from one or more citizens regarding an illegally idling vehicle.

# Do all idling complaints result in violations?

No. In order to verify a complaint and issue an enforcement action, an investigation must be performed and the investigator must verify that the idling exceeds the three-minute limit and is not allowed by one of the exceptions in the idling rule. Also, the Department cannot enforce the idling rule on public roadways or on residential property. Idling on public roadways can be enforced by State and local police departments.

## How do we investigate an idling complaint?

- 1. After receiving a complaint, the inspector will first go to the specific location and attempt to verify the idling at that location.
- 2. If the inspector observes idling that exceeds the three-minute standard, and it is not allowed by one of the exceptions in the idling rule, the driver of the vehicle will be issued a field Notice of Violation.
- 3. The registered owner of the vehicle will then be mailed a formal enforcement action, such as an Administrative Order or Settlement Agreement, with penalty, to cease any further idling.

#### Will a facility receive a penalty for an idling violation?

Yes. Verified violations for idling will result in assessed penalties of \$250 (first offense), \$500 (second offense), and \$1,000 (third & each subsequent offense) per violation. Both the registered owner of the vehicle and the owner of the property where the idling occurs may be subject to these penalties.

# Are there exceptions\* to the three-minute idling rule?

Diesel vehicles may idle for three minutes with the following exceptions:

- May idle for up to 15 consecutive minutes when the vehicle has been stopped for 3 or more hours and ONLY if temperature is <25 degrees F
- Buses may idle while actively discharging or picking up passengers for 15 consecutive minutes in a 60-minute period
- As of May 1, 2008, no idling is allowed in a parking space with available electrification technology

Three-minute idling limit does NOT apply to:

- Motor vehicles stopped in traffic (other than a school bus)
- Motor vehicles whose primary power source is utilized in whole or in part for necessary and
  prescribed mechanical operations (other than propulsion) such as refrigeration units for
  perishable loads, hydraulic lifts, "cherry pickers", or similar equipment
- Motor vehicles waiting to be examined by state or federal motor vehicle inspectors or motor vehicles while being repaired
- Vehicles that are actively performing emergency services, such as fire, police, military, snow removal, and utility vehicles
- A motor vehicle with a sleeper berth being used in non-residential area only until April 30, 2010
- Operation of auxiliary or alternate power systems for cabin comfort

# Is there additional information published anywhere?

Yes, the idling rules are available at:

For Diesel Vehicles: N.J.A.C. 7:27-14 Control and Prohibition of Air Pollution from

Diesel-Powered Motor Vehicles

For Gasoline Vehicles: N.J.A.C. 7:27-15 Control and Prohibition of Air Pollution from

**Gasoline-Fueled Vehicles** 

For more information visit **Stop the Soot** 

Who can I call if I wish to submit a complaint or have a question about idling?

CALL IN COMPLAINTS OF IDLING TO THE DEPS 24 HOUR TOLL-FREE ENVIRONMENTAL HOTLINE at 1-877 WARN DEP (1-877-927-6337)

You may contact the **Diesel Enforcement Program** at 856 843-6774 or Idling@dep.nj.gov

Idling Fact Sheet Revised 04-2025