New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection WPS Revisions: Appendix A – 1 Train-The-Trainer (TTT) Approval

Process & Criteria

All Train-The-Trainer materials must meet EPA Criteria and have received EPA approval prior to seeking NJDEP approval. As of January 2, 2017, only approved Train-the-Trainers and Certified Pesticide Applicators are qualified to train workers and handlers.

The training materials shall provide instruction that covers the worker training content, Appendix A-2, and/or handler training content, Appendix A-3.

In addition to meeting EPA Criteria, New Jersey TTT Approval requires the following:

- ❖ Trainers must have EPA Approval*
- Trainers must demonstrate knowledge of relevant New Jersey Pesticide Laws and Regulations to the Department. (Example: New Jersey requires a farm map be displayed at the central bulletin board location)
- ❖ Safety Data Sheet (SDS) requirement replaces the previous requirement to have "fact sheets" available.(new)
- Trainers must keep a roster for each worker and handler trained in NJ. Roster shall include the following information:
 - o Full name or the worker / handler trained
 - o Date of the Training
 - o Name of the Trainer
 - Worker / handler's native language
 - o Trainer ID number
 - o EPA material approval number (new)
 - o Worker/ handler's Date of Birth
 - Signature of the worker/ handler trained (new)
 - o Place of the Agricultural Employment (if available)
- ❖ Trainers shall submit training rosters within 30 days of training.
- Trainers must maintain all rosters for a minimum of 5 years. All records are required to be provided immediately upon request by the Department.

The Department may deny an application for recognition as a trainer; revoke recognition as a trainer; or suspend recognition as a trainer.

For more information on the TTT program or to submit materials to the Bureau of Pesticide Compliance, please use the following contact information:

The Bureau of Pesticide Compliance at 609-984-6568

Email: wpspesticides@dep.nj.gov

Fax: 609-984-6555

*This document is intended to summarize information regarding Train-The-Trainer Criteria and Approval process for New Jersey. Trainers must comply with both EPA and NJDEP requirements. For NJDEP requirements see: N.J.A.C 7:30-12.8(k)-(q). In situations where these regulations differ, the more stringent regulation must be complied with.